We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place for a Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #7 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place for a Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I booked our trip through Apple Vacations and were pleased with the entire experience. The staff was exceptionally friendly. We felt pampered and very relaxed.

BEACH - the beach is both wide and deep. There are no seashells to watch our for,but you do have to avoid seaweed (we often saw crews picking up and removing the seaweed). If you want a lounge chair on the beach with a table and shade umbrella, you have to put your towel or bag down between 7-8 a.m. to reserve your spot). We noticed the same thing at the pool. You can walk quite a ways past other resorts along the beach. At the end of the resort row along either end, expect to be hit with requests to see shops (one person invited us to the "Dominican Wal-mart"). We found the sellers less pushy than in some other places, yet still persistent. Just don't be afraid to say "thank you, but not today." There really is no snorkeling right off the beach, but you will be asked if you want to buy a snorkel tour, go parasailing, etc.

POOL - The swim up bar gets quite busy in the afternoon. Staff are friendly and always working hard. They offer a drink of the day which is fun to try. We were often without cash (as this is an all-inclusive resort), but noticed quite a few people tipping the waiters on the beach and by the pool. However, we never felt pressured by the servers for a tip. We loved the "Lazy River" layout of the pool. Just like the lounge chair, people tended to "claim" water rafts in the early a.m. We just asked to borrow a few in the afternoon for our "twice go-round" and never had a problem... it is a little annoying though.

ROOM - the room was quite large and our king bed was comfortable. They provide robes and slippers. There is a jacuzzi tub on the balcony (we were on the 2nd floor). They provide a small coffee maker in the room as well as a small fridge they keep stocked with some beer, sodas and water. Room service (limited menu) is provided 24 hours. We had trouble with our TV not working, but the problem was quickly resolved. Same thing with the stopper for our tub. While the room was nice, this is the Carribean, so don't expect 5-star American luxury.

FOOD - We found the buffet quite nice. If you request to be seated outside, you'll get a beautiful view of the ocean. There are servers everywhere quickly refilling coffee, oj, etc. They serve filtered water at the resturants We ate our meals at a different restaurant each night. Secrets guests are allowed to go to all the restaurants at the neighboring NOW Larimar resort (just a short walk down a hallway). In general, the food was good, but not spectacular. Our favorite was the French restaurant - note the men must wear closed shoes, no sandals and they are quite particular about this. Other resaurants seemed more lax in the their dress code standards. The Italian restaurant (go to the NOW lobby and they will take you there by golf cart) had a wonderful appetizer buffet. We also enjoyed an afternoon cappucino at the bar just outside the lobby. Delish!

INTERNET - I was worried about being able to contact home during our trip, but we bought an Internet plan that allowed us to Facetime with our kids. It was $25 for 25 hours of time. As long as you log out each time you are done using the Internet, this will probably last you an entire week. If you are spending more time than that on the Internet, you need to dump the iPad and remember that you are supposed to be on vacation!

ENTERTAINMENT - We did not view much of the nightly entertainment, but what we did see (and hear from our room at night) was mediocre. We really didn't mind as we weren't really interested in seeing a lot of shows. Our room was closer to the lobby and you could hear the music until it ended at about 10 p.m. each night. There is also entertainment on the NOW side as well as a casino, bowling alley and night cllub. The daytime beach staff were fun for 10 a.m. beach stretching, dancing lessons, etc. Typcial resort stuff.

WORKOUT FACILITIES
The workout room is on the NOW side of the resort. It's clean, but small. I think 3-4 treadmills, some free weights, an exercise bike, some other equipment. The air was not very strong in the room and when it was busy, could get quite hot. I would have liked a larger facility.

TIMESHARE - be aware that near the lobby you will be asked to attend a timeshare presentation. We knew to expect this up front and politely declined. They left us alone after that.

Overall, I'd definitely recommend this resort for an adults-only getaway and would love to go back for a visit myself!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jlhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our general manager we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana and take your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to read about your amazing stay with us and your satisfaction with all our services. Please, do not hesitate to contact us again before your next visit, so we can arrange a warm welcome back home for you.

Best Regards,


Jazmin Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,840
    1,804
    687
    190
    102
See reviews for
911
6,672
175
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,540)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Three of us (all adults in one family) just came back from this resort after a 5 day stay. Generally we had a great time. The nightly entertainment was good, food was great, property is great, service very good, cleanliness very good, beach - great nice white sand. Generally a pretty positive experience. An added plus was being on the Secrets property which allowed us to take advantage of all Now Larimar and Secrets had to offer. However, a couple of concerns: 1) the website advertises activities such as archery, driving range, putting green, rifle range - none of these were available and the staff knew nothing about this. 2) WIFI is not available in the lobby or anywhere on site for free unless you go for an expensive upgrade to preferred club. Now a days this is a drawback. You can get WIFI but it is overpriced and in the room connectivity is not great. The balcony connection was better. Also slowed considerably with the number of people on. 3) the website also advertises an inflatable climbing iceberg and ocean trampoline - none of which are available.

Don't get me wrong this is a great resort and I would go back now that I know what truly is available. Finally, be aware that you are on the ocean side of the island and the ocean is not calm any of the time we were there. This adds another dimension to snorkeling or kayaking. On the other hand the breeze was great and kept the humidity down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our General manager we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana as your vacation destination and taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate your review an are more than happy to know that you have an amazing time with us, about those little points that didn't meet your expectations, we check on our website as I remember talking to you personally about it, and the Driving range, Putting green, archery and rifle field are not listed in our website, but in the Now Larimar one under a announcement of "coming activities August 2013", that is why they are not available and as they have not been officially comment to all the staff, probably a few of them don't know about it yet.

The internet is a services already contracted with an external company, but we are working to make it free at least in our lobby very soon. The inflatable climbing iceberg and ocean trampoline are also listed in the Now Larimar hotel (next door) Website, and both are available by the Corezone club and beach in they side.

We hope those points being clarify could feel your expectations and if we have you by the time we expect to open those services in our sister hotel, you can enjoy them as expected. Do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit in order to arrange a warm welcome back home for you.

Best Regards,


Jazmín Rojas M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you're looking to vaca @ an Adults Only destination in PC - this is your place. 1 piece of advice? Upgrade. Get the Butler. Get The Cabana. You WON'T be disappointed.
Mamosas & fruit in the morning - with a "butler" from 10am until 5pm bringing every meal, snack, drink, whim, and everything you can think of: it's a No-Brainer

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Januar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our general manager we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana and take your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read about your amazing stay with us and so happy to know that our butler and its services in the Cabana went above and beyond your expectations and you enjoyed all.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit in order to arrange a warm welcome back for you.

Best Regards,


Jazmin Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Twp. Mi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were met with champagne and a cool towel. Although our room was not what we requested. They made every accommodation to make us happy. Ben at the front desk was wonderful. It was our delayed honeymoon and he pulled out all the goodies for us. Service was stellar. Every one of our needs were anticipated and met with a smile. Evening entertainment was average. Although we did enjoy an amazing circus show at the adjoining resort Now Lorimar. Secrets allows you to enjoy this resorts restaurants and pool. While on our visit we decided how fortunate we were to be staying at Secrets. Adults only was the key to our relaxation.
Pros: Service, super clean beach, security keeping any riff raff away, clean rooms, amazing staff, great pool, fun activities, good drinks
Cons: Food- reheated and served over. Was not thrilled with the way it was prepared and quality of taste was minimal. However there was a beach grill which helped make up for the bad. Strange combos for breakfast like mashed potatoes? Unfortunately my husband became ill with stomach issues about 5 days into the vacation. We believe it may have had to do with not being used to the food. A risk we all take when going into another country. This is no way stopped us from enjoying the beautiful resort.
a special hats off to Ben, Santa, Fernando, and my favorite Ranfi! These folks work long days with too little pay for all the work they do. I would love to see the resort reward them with more money and days off!! As a former business owner I know how far happy and well rested employees can go all out for your business. Then I would give Secrets 5 rather that 4 stars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexac2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our general manager we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana and take your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read about your amazing stay with us and your satisfaction with all our services and staff friendliness. We hope to see you back with us in a near future.

Best Regards,


Jazmin Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Secrets Royal Beach is a beautiful resort with an exceptional pool area and garden. The service is excellent, especially around the pool and in the restaurant areas. The rooms are comfortably appointed, but rather plain by 5 star resort standards. While the ground level rooms with a pool view are nice, I would recommend a 3rd floor room, as it is quite noisy. (Comment for the hotel, invest in felt pads for the room chairs, including those on the balcony's!) Also, request a room overlooking the garden/pool area, as they would be the best rooms. The food is excellent, especially, the sushi restaurant and don't discount the buffet, as each night is different and you can choose from a variety of different fresh items for the chef to cook.

For those of you that would like to try the food in the Now resort, the Mexican and French restaurants are excellent, but definitely avoid the American restaurant. The entertainment is standard resort fare, although, they do bring in specialty acts, e.g., guitar, which was excellent.

The Dominican is a beautiful island with friendly people and we will definitely visit again.

If you are around the pool and you get a chance, say hello to Junior and Angel for us, as they made the trip so much more enjoyable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank therogersfamily44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

First of all, don't bother with bad reviews. Some people think they are so important that the sun shines out of their....
Bottom line, you get what you put into it.

Some light Cons:
-beach has seaweed which you will encounter when you go for walks. If you are a beach walk freak and want perfect color water and clean beach, may not work. Resorts can't do much about that. I found it nice to walk the beach and just see water and palm trees; not high rise buildings.
-have to play the towel game. Welcome to the Caribbean. If you want umbrella shade, steak your spot by 7:00 at latest.
-Italian and Mexican restaurants are ok at best.

Pros:
-like all say and believe me, you will not get any better service in the Caribbean; don't want to give any examples to spoil your experience. Just to say, if you really want to relax and feel spoiled...
-grounds are perfect and then some
-beach deep, not a crowded feeling and you can really walk forever.
-French restaurant good
-buffet good at all times
-perfect size of resort. Not too big or small, very cozy yet good for party animals
-nightly entertainment excellent. For the size of the resort I was amazed that the NOW next door had a Theater with professional sound and light set up. Take in shows.
-staff does an excellent job; Francisco, Cinthia and Mario are talented and friendly individuals; you'll see.

Been to other resorts in Caribbean and we would go back to Secrets in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our general manager we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana and take your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We are really glad to read about your nice experience with us and to know that you enjoyed your stay. It is our pleasure to serve you and we appreciate your remarks in our services and staff friendliness.

We hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in a near future.

Best Regards,


Jazmín Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently stayed at Secrets Royal Beach for the first time. My husband and I go away every year around this time (to get away from the frigid temperatures on the east coast), and this year decided on Punta Cana. First and foremost everyone at this resort was extremely polite and helpful. In addition the place is immaculate. They are always cleaning the bathrooms by the pool and the lobby which I think is huge! In addition, the rooms are gorgeous! Lots of space to spread out and the tub on the balcony was a nice touch. Our room was not only cleaned once a day but we received turndown service every night as well which was nice since we stayed for 6 days. The food is typical of an all inclusive, but I would say on a higher scale. Although we opted for the romantic dinner on the beach which was by far the best decision ever. I have no idea where this food was coming from, but we had a lobster that was HUGE as well as a Filet that melted in your mouth. In addition, there were 4 other courses that were all better than some 5 star restaurants we have been too. Although it does get a little chilly so I would advise the women to bring a sweater. All in all we had a great time, although there were three things that they need to work one. The first is the lack of pool chairs. We actually set an alarm on our vacation to make sure we were up early enough to get 2 chairs which i thought was a little ridiculous, although after the first day we just hung out at the beach the rest of the time anyway. And secondly, the lack of Corona beer. My husband and I are not huge drinkers, but on vacation we like to have a couple corona's on the beach....we would each get one and then they said they were sold out of them. They did offer us presidente or Budweiser, but we both were really not fond of either of those. If you are going to advertise that you have a certain type of beer than you should really carry enough of it. Lastly, the Gym definitely needs some help. They had three treadmills available and every time I would have to wait to use one, and one was broken. They should definitely figure out a way to expand it a bit. With a resort that size, you should really have a couple more machines to accommodate people. (Especially since you put a scale in the bathroom). Again, all in all we had a great time and would recommend the resort to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JazminRojas, Front Desk Manager Assistant at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our general manager we want to thank you for choosing Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana and take your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate your detailed review bout your stay and are really glad to know how you enjoyed every single time. Thank you for those highlights you have done, as we know there is always room for improvement.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit in order to arrange a warm welcome back for you.

Best Regards,


Jazmin Rojas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,252 reviews
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
0.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
2.3 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#24 of 112 in Punta Cana
12,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing