We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty close to perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty close to perfect”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in October 2012. When we first arrived (after a thankfully short ride from the airport) we were greeted with champagne and extremely friendly concierge. The bell men help you with your bags to your room which was nice. There was a slight mix up and we had been given a two bed room instead of the honeymoon room with one kind bed. We were going to just deal and not complain until our air conditioner started some annoying noise. So they immediately switched us and again helped us with our bags. We wound up in the right room only that night we awoke to an even louder more annoying noise from the air conditioner in the new room. They came out and fixed it after we complained the next morning and had no problems with it after that. We were one of the rooms by the front plaza on the first floor so it was slightly irritating if we wanted to go to bed early because we had to hear to the live music in the plaza. When you want to listen to it out on your patio it was convenient though especially because there was a bar twenty feet from our front door and it was pretty good music. Also the hot tub out on the patio was beautiful but we found a hole that ants were pouring out of after only using it once. All of these things although not good, turned out to be minor to us by the end of the week because everything else was excellent. All of the employees there were extremely nice and always helpful. The Amstar rep on the beach they have for you to book excursions with,Frank the Tank, was one of our favorite people the entire trip! He was so kind and made us laugh. We also loved two of the bar tenders at the pool bar, Jose and Carlos. Room service was wonderful especially the complimentary honeymoon breakfast at which our eggs were shaped into hearts. I loved that they had security guards at the edges of the hotel asking you to show your room key when you come back into the resort from the attached Now resort; it made me feel safe and reassured that no outside guests would be able to come over to our resort. Over all our stay was great and we were able to overlook the few mistakes. We are currently looking to book with another Secrets Resort for next year!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EssieMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,706
    1,777
    672
    186
    100
See reviews for
889
6,541
168
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,498)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our first trip to Secrets Punta Cana. I was so amazed at the cleanliness of the resort. There are people always working on the grounds and in the buildings to keep things cleaned up. The entire staff was very friendly and always spoke and were always eager to meet any of our needs. We weren't sure about tipping when we went but took plenty of ones and fives for tipping the maid, beach grill cook and all the waiters and hostesses. The service was excellent and the staff professional and prompt with service. There was not much time for boredom. There were always activities planned by the entertainment team. Speedy, Mickey Mouse, Minnie Mouse, Akon, and Isaias were amazing at keeping the entertainment going. They are the best and one of the main reasons for so much fun. Being an adult only resort made it very easy to vacation in a very relaxing atmosphere. If you wanted more action, being able to visit the adjoining resort was a great option. The buffet food was awesome and there was always a large choice in food. The wait staff were wonderful. Starting with the hostess to the servers. Asolutely amazing. It was as though they could anticipate your needs and were so quick to supply you with whatever you needed. Jose prepared some delicious hamburgers and chicken on the beach grill. Santa was always eager to supply us with anything we needed from the bar and brought it to us on the beach. She is an angel. Michguel could really flip the rum bottles around behind the bar and was always friendly and quite entertaining. Our maid was Mary Marten. She did an excellent job with our room. It was always so fresh and spotless. She often had little surprises for us in her decorating technique. It added such a nice touch to her service. Rebecca and Jessica at the Spa were so professional and gave an awesome massage. Because Secrets is not a huge resort it was so nice to meet alot of people and get to know them and never did you feel crowded or rushed. By the end of the week these people start to feel like some close friends. We really enjoyed the Secrets Royal and will definitely return....sooner than later...I hope.

Room Tip: We started on bottom floor but had requested a third floor room. We were changed the second day aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim and Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

First of all we have NEVER had a trip that we have had as much fun. And the main reason is because of the WONDERFUL Entertainment Team. Speedy,Mickey,Winnie,Cynthia, Isaias, Akon and of course Terremoto! They got us all up and having fun from morning to night. We stretched, danced, played ball on the beach and then jumped into bubbles at the pool and fought each other with water balloons.

I tried to remember everyone's names ,but I couldn't. Each and everyone we met at Secrets side was beyond the best. A few we remember, Randy one of our favorite waiters, also Aris Mendy.
Orlando at the pool bar, also all the rest who made us smile. Thanks Martinez for our secret!
At the beach Medrano took care of us and again made us smile.

William took care of us at our arrival and remembered us every time he saw us no matter where we were.

Our room 5227 was beautiful and kept clean and well stocked by Francisa.

The guest service people, Jesus, Maro and Zamora were also the best.

Could go on and on, but need say nothing more than it was a perfect vacation.

Will answer any questions you have.

Room Tip: We were in 5227 loved the room! But didn't spend much time inside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

very good looking resort, pretty beach and good food
staff not very helpfull, called the room service and food never arrived...
a lot of older people- me and my husband (20's) were bored so at night we would go to the resort next to it where you could see some young people..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monika s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Secrets royal resort is the most amazing resort ever!!! Speedy, junior, Patricia, Julio, Cinthia, Isaias, Akon, Winnie and Mickey Mouse at the pool are AMAZING!!! Between the pool water balloon fights, the foam party and all the drinks is so much fun!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurie_s_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have completely enjoyed our stay here in secrets royal beach. All the staff was excellent and very attentive especially Speedy, Raquel, Santa, Domingo, Martinez and Randy. I highly recommend this resort if you are looking to spend a fun relaxing and enjoyable vacation. We will be back for the "mama Juana's"

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,553 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have recently returned from a 21 night multi-resort trip to Punta Cana where we spent 6 nights at Excellence Punta Cana, 3 nights at Zoetry, 6 nights at Secrets Royal Beach and 6 nights a Sanctuary Cap Cana. We also had a look at Paradisus Palma Real, The Reserve and Eden Roc at Cap Cana

This was our 30th trip to the Caribbean and our 11th trip to Dominican Republic. We have stayed in the North of the island twice and this was our 9th trip to the South having stayed at numerous top end resorts such as Excellence, Zoetry, Sanctuary Cap Cana, etc so we like to think that we have a fairly good well calibrated holiday measuring stick

In recent years we have rather fallen in love with the Excellence Group and have stayed at all their resorts on multiple occasions. However, a couple or so years back we thought that we should start to experience some new resorts as well which is why we became interested in AMResorts, as we saw them as having the same high standards as Excellence Resorts.

We have now been to their Secrets Resorts in Jamaica as well as Secrets Maroma Beach and Silversands in Mexico, Sanctuary Cap Cana before they changed the management to Salamander. We have also stayed at Zoetry Agua & Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita and have visited Dreams Punta Cana

Our transfer from Zoetry took around an hour and we arrived at Secrets Royal Beach at 12.00. We were if I am honest a little apprehensive about our stay at the resort [29th September – 5th October] as it is different to the other AMResort properties we have stayed at in that to take advantage of all the restaurants, bars, etc you need to go next door to their sister resort Now Larimar

When we arrived we found the reception area exceptionally busy and very different to what we had left behind at Zoetry and we were wondering quite where we had landed. However before we had even a chance to get to the front desk Flipette recognised someone coming through the opposite door and immediately they both pretended to leave in opposite directions. Rather concerned but to my surprise I realised it was another dear friend of ours with whom we had spent so much time at Sanctuary Cap Cana on our last two trips – Gabino. He welcomed us warmly introducing himself as the Assistant Director of Entertainment at the sister resorts of Now Larimar and SRB

After checking in and meeting some of the team we were totally surprised to find that we had been allocated a Butler, Alexis, which was first for us. That was not to be the only surprise - as our room was not quite ready Alexis took us down to the beach and said we should make use of one of the beachfront two storey beach cabanas whilst we waited for our room and he proceeded to explain all what he could do for us during our stay

After half an hour he came to get us and showed us to a lovely swim up suite which was again a nice surprise – thanks Secrets. After making sure all was well he said he would come and find us in the afternoon to explain more about the two resorts. He wondered if we would be in the cabana??? We must have looked confused as he then went on to explain that we would have full use of the cabana during our stay as a gift to us from Mr Gonzalo Alcaraz whom we had met earlier. He is the Asset Manager for the properties as well as the acting GM at present – WOW and a very big THANK YOU

As many regular readers of TripAdvisor will know we are lucky enough to travel a lot and are very well treated by the resorts we stay at. As I have said on many previous occasions such upgrades do not influence what I write or comment upon as my integrity over the years on TripAdvisor has been built upon my being honest and unbiased and all resorts know this and appreciate it

Reviews are but one person’s opinion of their trip and this is ours. Will it vary from other people’s experience – of course it will as we all have different expectations and holiday measuring sticks. Ours is fairly sophisticated as we are lucky enough to travel a lot and seems to match a lot of what other people who read TripAdvisor are looking for

During lunch on our balcony with a bottle of bubbly we were still a little apprehensive as Bavaro Beach was very different to what we had experienced when we last visited it back in 2004. It was also overcast so places never look their best and to cap it all off there was some construction work going on – more on that later

So after lunch we ventured back down to the beach and when we were getting our towels we did another double take when we realised that “Frank the Tank” [again ex-Sanctuary] was also now working here as the AMStar Representative. He is very happy in his new role and winning people over in his own inimitable style. In the afternoon we met again with Gabino and Alexis [great young man] and Gabino gave us a tour of Now Larimar. By this time we were beginning to settled in and getting used to the place

We liked the layout of the resort and although there are some noisy activity areas there are plenty of quieter spots you can find in which to just sit and chill out. Our swim up suite was located overlooking the lazy pool area which was very peaceful where there are roofed sunshades to shelter in – Block #4

During our stay we mostly ate at SRB as three of our four dining experiences at Now Larimar were not at all good which is partly to be expected as it is a lower grade and cheaper property – for more on that check out my review of Now Larimar. We certainly did not expect there to be such a marked difference between the two properties

For four of our six mornings we ate breakfast on the terrace of the beachfront La Riviera, once at Now Windows and on one day we were off resort, next door at Paradisus Palma Real. We were very impressed by La Riviera – as I said in my live from thread I love the fact that on the beach in front of the restaurant they have not erected any beach shades so you have a clear view of the tropical beach and the ocean and the moonlight in the evening. You also have the option of indoor dining with AC

The service was excellent and the staff worked quietly and efficiently, very much as a team and this showed. We could not fault the service by the restaurant captains Yovany, Lemuel and Juan Carlos and thank them for making us feel so at home. As you will see from my photos, the breakfast buffet is very diverse and beautifully presented. Our breakfast at the Windows Restaurant at the new section of Now Larimar that sits back behind the two resorts near the entrance to the properties was also excellent and was our best Now Larimar dining experience
For our six lunches we had room service the day we arrived – rather a limited menu choice compared to other resorts we have been to. Once at The Castaway Restaurant at Now Larimar – not an experience we would repeat. Our other lunches were split between once at the small Beach Grill / BBQ at the far end of the beach at SRB – twice at La Riviera and once when we were off the resort at PPR

Again the buffet food at La Riviera was first rate and some of the best we had at an AI Resort

In the evenings for our meals at SRB we ate on the terrace at the Seaside Grill on three occasions and the Oceana twice. Again such great food – a wide selection on the menus at both restaurants and wonderful service. Oceana as you would expect from the name is mostly seafood but there is also steak and lamb and a few vegetarian options

In the Seaside Grill we really hit it off with Juan Carlos and our meal in there on our last night was just hilarious – he is known to be a bit of a joker but this time the tables were turned when we asked if another guest Mr Bayley VIP could join us. We explained there was a problem as he did not have any long pants. Juan Carlos took this very calmly and seriously until he discovered what “Mr Bayley’s” real identity was - our travel companion “Bayley the well-travelled bear” – see the photos

We are still laughing about it now and the photos will make sure we never forget all those wonderful staff who made us feel so special. Part of the reason we have such a great time on our trips and are treated the way we are is because we love to have fun and make friends with the staff – life is too short!!!

Although we never ate in La Riviera in the evening as we prefer a la carte to a buffet we did have a look in a couple of times and similar to breakfast and lunch the selection is very varied indeed. To add to this they have a different theme each evening

Monday – Gala
Tuesday = Asian
Wednesday = Dominican
Thursday = American
Friday = French
Saturday = Spanish
Sunday = Italian

The restaurants at Secrets Royal Beach are the best we have experienced so far at a Secrets Resort and the food was superior to that at both Excellence Punta Cana & Zoetry

Some of the shows we saw at Now Larimar in the evening were very good indeed – loved the Black & White Magic Act and the Dominican Show which were suitable for family viewing. The other one we saw the Michael Jackson Show which the dancers were good the person playing MJ was very poor indeed

The large plaza in front of the Rendezvous bar is quite a feature and whilst spacious it has plenty of tables and chairs at which to enjoy both the early evening activities by the animation team, the live Latin and jazz music at 20.15 and later after showtime at Now the Secrets band playing. The Rendezvous bar is AC and is a stylish and laid back place to meet. No problem with top shelf drinks and again the service was absolutely spot on – a very comprehensive cocktail menu

SRB is very well maintained and the majority of the planting is very lush indeed. During our stay as I mentioned earlier there was some work going on at SRB as they were building additional toilets / restrooms next to the Barracuda Bar, an additional Wedding Gazebo and also a new Japanese Restaurant which will give guests an exciting dining option

They were also sanding down and re-treating a lot of the woodwork around both resorts. You have to expect such work to be down in the low season and the work they were carrying out is mostly being down in response to customer feedback. As was explained to us by one member of the management team they feel very lucky with having the owners they have as they are willing to invest in the resort. This is not always the case

The beach and ocean when we were there did have a lot of weed / seagrass which is down to Mother Nature but what was disappointing was to see no one picking it up most days. Since we lasted stayed on Bavaro Beach eight years ago it has become much more commercialised with beach traders and boat traffic which is such a shame as it has destroyed so much of the local marine life. However, it has only boomed because of those guests looking for a more active holiday

On the beach and around the pool areas there appeared to be more than enough loungers and shades as we saw vacant ones even though occupancy was between 75% - 82% when we were there

During our stay we did not have any problems with bugs and the UVC Reps were not a problem either

As with most resorts there are some rooms which people may not like because of their location. One of the buildings at Secrets Royal Beach faces off the resort towards Paradisus Palma Real next door and at Now Larimar there is a building that faces towards a service road that runs between Now Larimar & Secrets Royal Beach. Both resorts also have rooms which will pick up any noise generated by the activities and some which are in quiet zones so all this needs to be taken into consideration

Would we ever book to stay at Secrets Royal Beach again – YES as in the end we were surprisingly pleased with the resort. However, we would not to dine at Now Larimar apart from at the Windows Restaurant. We would pop across to see any shows which appealed. Once the new Japanese Restaurant is completed at SRB this will give their guests another dining option which for people staying 5-7 days will mean they will no longer need to go to Now Larimar to dine in the evenings

We will also be looking at the other properties in the NH portfolio

During our stay it was a pleasure to meet with Juana on a couple of occasions and we thank all the staff but especially Alexis and Gabino for looking after us so well. I can only see this resort going from strength to strength and I think once they narrow the gap between what is offered at the two resorts this will result in an upward movement on TripAdvisor

On the flipflop_man 360 holiday scoring matrix which measures 14 different parameters which are important to us Secrets Royal Beach scored an impressive 317 giving it top position of the resorts we stayed at on this multi-resort trip

Should you be interested in seeing some photos of the wonderful resort please click on the link below to my new preferred online photo sharing website - SlickPic:

http://www.slickpic.com/u/flipflopman/SecretsRoyalBeach/photo?play#2216204

Best viewed in slideshow format

For photos and videos of other trips we have made feel free to check out

http://community.webshots.com/user/flipflop_man

Please note if you are reading this review after November 2012 all my albums will have been moved to SlickPic as Webshots is no longer suited to our photo sharing needs:

http://www.slickpic.com/u/flipflopman

Please note that any time you enter the happy world of flipflop_man’s magic moments and memories it is always wise to have a drink in hand as there are always a lot of them to see – we are very lucky people.

As always I am happy to answer any questions

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank flipflop_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4,144 reviews
13.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing