We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #7 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Honeymoon”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We just had the most amazing time at your resort on our honeymoon from 6/25-7/2. We enjoyed one of your Presidential Suites and the amenities were incredible. While I could write a long review about the resort I would like to commend the most important part of the trip; the employees at your resort who made our time memorable:

#1: Yamery Vasquez - She was our favorite employees at the resort and should be complimented for her service. She served us EVERY night in the secrets plaza while we enjoyed the band. She was attentive to every single need we had. She remembered our favorite drinks and brought them to us immediately when she saw us come. She also brought us olives and peanuts every night without asking which she knew we also liked. She did this all with a smile on her face and could not have been more friendly.

#2: Oscar - He was a server at the La Rivera Buffet, Seaside Grill, and Oceana Restaurant for breakfast lunch and dinner many of the days we were there. He was in a tie for first with Yamery as our favorite employee because similar to her his service was exceptional and he could not have been more friendly. Even days he was not serving (he had to work in the kitchen some days) he would always take a minute to come say hi and make sure we had a great day and were perfectly taken care of during our meal. Even on days we would see him there all three meals he had a smile on his face and his service was exceptional. We enjoyed every single meal at these restaurants and it was all because of Oscar.

#3: Steves and Juan Manuel - They worked at the Caribbean Oasis as our personal butlers for the day when we rented one of the cabanas on the beach. Their service was exceptional and made my wife very happy because they taught her how to play dominos (which was one thing she wanted to learn while in the Dominican). For the whole day from 10am - 5pm they were there to bring us anything we needed (drinks and food) and they always were quick with their service and had a smile on their face.

#4: Isidro - He was a greeter/attendant at the spa and could not have been more attentive to our needs during our visit. He served us water and snacks without asking and showed us all the amenities of the spa (we loved relaxing in the quite room before our massage). He taught us how to use all of the hydro-therapy machines which were very relaxing when used correctly. We travel to many different resorts and usually get a massage; this was our favorite visit to a spa yet.

Whoever looks over these reviews please make sure these five employees get the kudos/commendation they deserve as they are excellent at their jobs and made our honeymoon fantastic.

Thank you for all you do.

-Peter and Lucy Romanowsky

Room Tip: The Presidential Suite's were great! You can only upgrade to these upon arrival if they are avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterRomanowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,820
    1,801
    683
    189
    101
See reviews for
907
6,652
175
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,530)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We chose Secrets for our wedding and it turned out to be pretty amazing. The hotel was nice - not a luxurious 5-star resort but our party still seemed to enjoy it. It's one of the smaller hotels on the island which made it easy for everyone in our party to meet up and hang out together. But then you have the options of the many restaurants and nightlife next door at Now Larimar which was great. But honestly, we enjoyed the Secrets buffet and Seaside Grille the best of all of the restaurants. the food was pretty tasty and the atmosphere was nice (unlike the restaurants at Now Larimar where you had to make reservations and they had various dress codes. Honestly, we didn't feel that those other restaurants were worth the trouble). Not to mention you could eat outside overlooking the ocean at the Secrets restaurants. That was our favorite part. The pool bar/lazy river is where we spent most of our time and the night club next door (although it is outside so beware - you will sweat A LOT). Overall, the resort gets 4 stars because it's a very nice resort - especially for a large group. It's clean - although it could probably use some renovations - and it'd be nice if the AC in the public areas worked better. The beaches were beautiful. The food and drinks were pretty decent (but I agree, bring some pepto... but that's always the case at these All-inclusive beach resorts). The staff is very friendly and they want to help - but if you ask for anything out of the ordinary, don't expect to get it. Our wedding ended up being close to perfect. We had our doubts as communication prior to the wedding wasn't the best... which didn't make it easy to make plans for 60 people - but they were able to pull through for us in the end. Overall, we would be happy going back with a big group again because we had a blast.

Room Tip: Some of our friends' biggest complaints were that they paid for the ocean view upgrade and could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RickiD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I absolutely loved our resort. There were a lot of people on their honeymoon/anniversaries. Beach was amazing, the pool was incredible. Will never be able to go to another average pool again. We had our own private jacuzzi on the balcony and I think all the rooms have it. Tons of activities. We had a lobster dinner on the beach. Fantastic service. And all the beach activities you can do directly from the hotel beach. The snorkeling was incredible!! Highly recommend it. I went over Memorial Day week and the ocean was so warm- so nice to swim in. I wouldn't recommend leaving the island. We took a trip to Saona island and didn't have a good experience. Way too far and hard to get to. We also went parasailing and took the canoe's out each day- which are free. We also did nothing but sip Mai Tai's and relax under the cabanas. Fantastic room service and great food. Although we ate mainly at the buffet there are tons of restaurants to choose from. The rooms were clean and big. Nothing super fancy but really nice bathrooms. The people in the DR are really nice and make an effort with everything they do. The grounds are impeccable and kept up very nicely. I noticed there were a lot of foreign visitors here. Being from America- NYC, people visiting this resort and maybe the DR in general are from all over the world. This is an adults only hotel- so don't worry about kids everywhere making noise. SO peaceful and relaxing! We will definitely be going back. Make sure you pick a good resort when going to the DR- we met other couples on our bus trip that were not happy with their resorts.

Room Tip: More privacy if you are up on the 2nd or 3rd floor. If you are on the ground everyone walks by and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blondealice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Overall, the staff is very friendly. They were very eager to help and greeted us every time we passed them. If you eat at the formal restaurants, I would recommend eating early to avoid a long wait. Spice, the Asian restaurant requires reservations, so we made one with the concierge/ guest service desk four days in advance. However, when we showed up to the restaurant, our name was not on the list, and we were told we could not eat there. When we went to the desk to ask why we didn't have a reservation, they told us the next available time to get in was Sunday, which was after we left. Our advice, BE SURE YOU GET RESTAURANT RESERVATION CONFIRMATIONS IN WRITING!!! Other than this mishap, our trip was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Since the whirlpool tub is outside on the balcony, the corner rooms are very open to the public. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I went to Secrets for his 30th birthday and we had our best vacation yet! The beach was beautiful and every morning we had no problem getting two chairs under a hut with a perfect view of the ocean. The beach area was very relaxing, a perfect spot to read a book, listen to your IPOD or take a seista. The service was amazing at the resort and the staff were all very friendly. Our favourite place to eat was the buffet on the Secrets side. We ate every meal outside on the deck overlooking the beach and ocean and it was simply stunning. We fell in the love with this resort and will be making another trip back soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I would not stay at any other Hotel in Republica Dominicana, as a travel agent I will be voting this hotel as the best in DR 2012!!!Thanks to Bellman services, Amstar transport employees, Alejandro your are excellente!!A 100 star chef Chef Ramon and kitchen staff, thanks to Jacky, Juan Carlos, Mery you are excellente!! Thanks Carmen Prima mi familia! Thanks Carlos,Raul, Cirilo and Manuel an awesome staff and Speedy and entertainment team you made sure I had the best time of my life to celebrate my Birthday!!Thanks, Winnie, cinthia, akon, mickey mouse and Isaias!! From the lobby, room, restaurants, pool and beach all top of the line. Clean, safe, real Royal atmosphere from start to finish. I cannot say enough of this Resort and Spa. I will be making my way there at least twice a year if not more, I am a lifetime vacationer at Secrets Royal Beach, my home away from home. xoxox

Room Tip: Any room you choose you will be happy with, trust me!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I chose Secrets Royal Beach to host my wedding on June 23. Francina was our wedding coordinator and she met with us the day we arrived to go over all the details. We chose to get married on the beach and the weather was perfect. Altogether, our group included 20 people and there was something for everyone!

Mickey and Akon were always around to dance with experienced dancers in the family, or provide lessons. Francina was very attentive and dropped in several times to make sure I was up-to-date on plans for the wedding. Leonardo is the head wedding planner, and he greeted us specifically by name upon arrival, and I know he was always behind the scenes making sure things went smoothly.

We had a couples massage, and my hair and makeup included in the wedding package that we purchased, and the Spa was very nice. Not only did we receive the hour-long massage, but afterwards, we were able to use cold and hot massage pools and showers for as long as we wanted, with plenty of cold beverages nearby.

Overall, we were very pleased with our experience and would recommend Secrets to anyone for a vacation, or a wedding destination.

Room Tip: We chose and ocean view room and were able to see the ocean from our porch. It was also in close pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
2.3 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
13.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing