We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort and Amazing Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #7 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort and Amazing Service”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We have stayed at other Secrets Resorts and while they are all well designed for the couples crowd, the Secrets Royal Beach was the best experience yet. The resort is beautiful and the rooms very clean, large and set with luxury linens. The resort setting is perfect for a romantic getaway or just some down time and small enough that the service is exceptional. We also enjoyed the private beach cabanas with Butler Service while we were there. What makes this Resort so exceptional is its people ... specifically the Concierge and Butler Staff. They were beyond amazing, warm and truly happy to help with anything and went over and above to ensure that we felt at home. If you get the chance to meet and get to know Arcenio, Jacky, Steves or Juan Manual you are guaranteed to have a wonderful vacation and top notch service! Thanks for a wonderful experience at Secrets Royal Beach

Room Tip: the first floor rooms with the lazy river outside their door seemed like they would be nice but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joygrube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,820
    1,801
    683
    189
    101
See reviews for
907
6,652
175
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,530)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at Secrets on Jan 13th to the 17th. This was our first stay at this resort which used to be an NH Hotel. I believe it is still managed by NH but marketed by Amresorts. This is a newer type hotel with a glass enclosed A/C lobby. The grounds are beautiful but not as tropical as some resorts. There is a serpentine (lazy river) pool the wanders through about 2 thirds of the resort. The beach is on Bavaro beach and the resort sits right beside the family resort NOW Larimar which guests from Secrets can use their facilities.
The resort does not have a large amount of chairs by the pool. If you are a pool person I would recommend a swim out room to ensure a chair by the pool. The rooms are large with a nice bathroom but have a glass shower with no indoor tub. There are 2 person tubs with jets on each deck or patio with varied degrees of privacy.
The staff here is great, our butler Steves checked on us twice daily to see if we needed anything but we saw him everywhere through the resort. The pool and beach service was excellent.
We had 3 dinners at Secrets and one at the French Restaurant at NOW. The 2 dinners at the Seaside Grill were excellent, the French had very good food but the wine at NOW was not as good. We were disappointed with the Oceana. The dining room décor, service and menu were fine but the food was disappointing in the Oceana. Maybe just a bad day. No waiting at the Secrets resorts but you may have a wait at NOW depending on the restaurant and the time you want to eat. Just relax, no different than home! The breakfast is in the buffet which is a very pretty buffet with the ambiance of a nice sit down restaurant. Standard breakfast with omlett station, waffles, pancakes and all other breakfast goodies etc. Lunch is served in the buffet and on the beach which has a great grill with chops, burgers, hotdogs, etc. Food is of a nice quality.
Dinner is the Seaside Grill which is looking over the beach and ocean, the buffet also overlooking the beach and ocean and the Oceana, which is a pretty restaurant just to the side- plus all of the restaurants on the NOW side are available to Secrets guests. Wine is good and they have a list if you want to buy a better bottle,
Secrets is much more laid back than NOW. The courtyard in the evening has light entertainment but a great place to get liquors, coffees etc. The serve you espresso and coffee drinks in pretty cups, on a silver platter with a coffee cookie, very nice. A good place to have a cigar. The pool had floats that I never saw in the water. Most of them were on people’s patios or on their decks. Not sure why the resorts do not put them in the water and do not allow them to leave. The room above us had a float on the deck. Our whole stay the floats never got wet!
The beach was white sand, rippling water, some seaweed that was constantly cleaned. You did have to go out early to get chairs. Walking the beach you pass in front of many other hotels and the beach activities are numerous. Beach service for drinks was very good.
The resort does have vacation club people. At check in they tell you to see them for coupons. Take the tour if you want or ask for the coupons and say no to the tour. The only place they approached me was in the main lobby and I gave them a firm no look and they went away. Many people though were very interested in their presentation. Just be aware they are trying to sell you vacations.
We went to the NOW pool a couple of times and to the Preferred Club pool. Pool was nice but definitely more families. Looked like a nice resort but really can’t comment much. Their main atrium had all the entertainment, sports bar, casino, restaurants, main lobby etc. A lot of activity going on at one time. We did take a ride to the new NOW annex and had a very nice buffet breakfast there. This is almost like its own resort about a 2 min ride or 5 min walk from the NOW main lobby. We heard the rooms were very nice and they looked like they had tubs on the decks. A nice pool and pool bar. You have use of all NOW facilities.
They also have an active Facebook page to answer questions.
This is a nice Adult Only resort if you want the quiet, more relaxed feel but still want to see some shows or get more active. You can have both here which makes it nice. And still the no reservation and no wristband policy.
If you have questions contact me at bbgamer1@yahoo.com

Room Tip: The swim up rooms on the North side are the sunniest rooms .All rooms have 2 person tubs on the deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bbgamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We went on jan 25th and the weather was great, the beach is huge and is very windy which was great for us. Some key points are:
Stunning location.
Cleanliness is perfect.
A huge selection of restaurants
Helps to speak a little spanish
Worth upgrading to swim up room
Beach runs for miles
There is seaweed there but they are always cleaning it up so not a issue
If you go you need to do swimming with dolphins.
Overall the holiday was great.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1manc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My wife and i visited Secrets in Aug of 2011. Over all the staff serving were great and worth tips!!.
The STAFF PUSHING THE TIME SHARE MEETINGS WERE SIMPLY ANNOYING. When we finally decided to go mid week just to be left alone the rest of the week. The guys doing the sales pitch were sales men for sure and literally would not let us go without causing a scene. We waisted 1/2 a day in this meeting and were unable to relax the rest of that day, we were so upset.
The bar served strong drinks, a little to strong for my wife. You really need to pay attention to who makes your drinks if you wanting a good tasting one.
Weather was great and the beach was cleanest of all the resorts on the stretch.
Will not go back just because of how hard they pushed the time share stuff. Really made it hard to relax
Lyndsey & Steve

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gtgllg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We chose this resort on our travel agent's suggestion following a great vacation last year at Secret's Maroma. Our agent has a relationship with the hotel after recommending it to other clients and we were treated accordingly. Royal Beach did not disappoint. Pre-arranged airport to hotel transfer went without a hitch. Quick, efficient check-in at hotel, where we were greeted with Champagne. Very pleased with Room 4372, which provided a great view, kingsize bed, and spotlessly clean. Our butler,(can't believe I'm blanking on his name) was courteous and professional. Breakfast and lunch buffet's were very good with lots of options (smoothie and omelet stations, waffles/pancakes, fruit, etc. Excellent dinners at Seaside Grill, Oceania, Spice, French Restaurant and all were terrific. Service staff is exceptionally attentive. Steves was a wonderful "beach butler". Juan Carlos is a great maitre'd, Ramona kept our room clean as a whistle, and really everyone went out of their way to make us feel special. General manager Gonzalo, Lauren and management staff should be applauded for running such a tight ship. We would like to see a better, more equipped fitness center, with disposable earphones and individual video on the treadmills and ellipticals. Another thing we liked was the guest mix. We met people from all over the states, Europe, and South America. Very good trip.

Room Tip: We prefer 3rd floor with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank havegunwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My family of 6 recently visited Secrets Royal Beach - we had an overall amazing time. I wanted to share some of my observations. Airport - a bit chaotic, bring 10.00 cash to arrive
and you will need 10.00 to depart...Hotel check in - very speedy - cold towel and champagne -
staff at front desk was very friendly and accomodating - Rooms - we had 3 first floor garden
view rooms, all with terrace...rooms were beautiful and spacious, also spotless...We had
an issue with a broken safe..after 3 tries to repair it, we were switched to a different room
in the same area - concierges Alexias and Arcenio were very gracious and helpful and did
their best to rectify the problem. A daily tip with a note requesting towels, etc and another
to the person in charge of refilling our mini fridge with a note requesting what we needed
was perfect - our wishes were always honored. Beach - amazing white sand, turquoise
ocean - able to walk for miles and very safe - yes, you do have to reserve huts early in
am - staff was very diligent in keeping up with seaweed - not a problem at all. Beautiful
weather in the 80's with no humidity or bugs at all. Beach bar - treated very well by staff
especially Carlos (aka Deion Sanders) We rented a two story cabana for the day -
I recommend it - comes with butler service for the day - ours was Ruber (aka Newbie) -
he was exemplary - the best customer service we received all week! Dining options -
tried a couple of the restaurants - they were fine, with excellent waitstaff especially Juan
Carlos - we actually preferred the buffets as there was always something for everyone
including two vegetarians in our crowd. The outside beach grill was super. We enjoyed the
Habana Bar with again excellent service especially from Larissa and Alexander! Ventured
over to the casino at the Now Larimar quite a bit - preferred the atmosphere at Secrets in
the evening as it was quieter - beautiful evenings spent out in the plaza with decent music.
Only down side was our experience with the gift shop personnel - we spent over 100.00
US dollars between the two shops - when attempting to make an even exchange or to
obtain a receipt for purchases, we were treated poorly - very rude, uninterested staff that
did not reflect well on the Secrets brand - I tried to give them another chance and visited
again...the same poor behavior greeted me...they lost my sale....they are not an asset
to the resort...
All in all, our trip to Secrets was fantastic - the resort is fully staffed with people always
ready and willing to help - very gracious and friendly - we have travelled to other Caribbean
islands and this is the best customer service that we have ever encountered. We will
definitely return and recommend this resort highly!! Be patient with the language barrier -
the staff works so hard and really does an exemplary job .

Room Tip: 4000 building rooms were sunnier, 5000 shady - depends what you are interested. Our room 5121 was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rebadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I traveled with my best friend for a quick holiday week girls getaway in the DR., our first time in the country.

Secrets Royal Beach exceeded our expectations. Unbelievable guest service, beautiful beach, large guest room with perfect size bathroom.

Love the touch of a cold towel, glass of champagne and a rose upon check in! FIRST CLASS!!!

This hotel is one of the CLEANEST properties I have ever been too...everywhere you walked, a staff member was cleaning and beautifying the property.

The new spa is beautiful and not to be missed.

We had exemplary service from the guest services team led by Laura and Jazmin. The Secrets staff is the most hard working, hospitable group I have seen at a resort property anywhere in the world.

The only problem was the dinner situation. None of the restaurants take reservations and since it was a holiday week, it was VERY challenging to get seated between 8-9pm.

We celebrated NYE there and they went above and beyond with their celebration. FIREWORKS on the beach!!!

We loved our experience at the resort. We are planning to return for another girls weekend in May 2012!

This resort is well worth the money!! A MUST!!!

Nicole, Boca Raton, Florida

Room Tip: If you get the first building closest to the lobby, stay at the far end. The live music every night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDF212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
2.3 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
13.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing