We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Name brand Alcohol drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Name brand Alcohol drinks”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I ordered a drink with Stoli's vodka. The bottle emptied and instead of throwing it in the trash the bar tender put it in the frig behind the pool bar. A few minutes later he spent about a minute in the frig and came out with a half bottle of generic Vodka. about five minutes later he came out with a "half" bottle of "Stoli's" out of the same frig. Co-incidence.....I don't think so...

Room Tip: Swim up pool room was worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KMR0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,886
    1,819
    694
    193
    103
See reviews for
920
6,727
176
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,558)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I can't believe it has only been a week since we got back from Secrets. We had a great time, enhanced by a phenomenal staff. Loved the lazy river and swim up bar. Our favorite person there was Speedy who definitely kept us entertained and made afternoon aerobics fun. In addition, Carlos, Willy and Roinert made sure we never had an empty drink. We really liked the Secrets side, Now Larimar didn't seem to have the same vibe. It was a great way to spend our 15 year anniversary. Loved the lazy river, but make sure you know to either buy an inflatable or bring your own. Loved the small feel of the place, you defininely got to know the staff and many of the other guest, if you want to. No complaints, but was expecting more from the food, not that it was bad, but not as impressive as I would have expected.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Twp. MI
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Our 7 nights vacation was really great. We lucked out with excellent warm weather all week Sept. 4-11,2011. We could not have been more satisfied with the Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana. The facility itself is quite new, and the staff keeps it spit-shined clean. The entire staff was always friendly, and attentive, from our moment of arrival by the bellmen, and staff helping with registration, to our room maid staff, and everyone in between. We loved them all, especially the bar and waitress staff that continually keep us refreshed with drinks around the pool area, which is where we spent most of our time. We especially liked the pool with it's swim-up bar, and the lazy river pool that meanders throughout the large courtyard. We spent many hours floating around on our inflatable lounger (raft), meeting many new friends along the way. The beach area was very nice also.This was our first experience with an adults only resort, and we liked it very much. We met many newlywed couples, along with a good mix of all adult age groups. There were many Americans, but also a good mix of people from Europe, and South America. We enjoyed our chats with two retiree couples who were on their 15th visit to Punta Cana, and staying at Secrets Royal Beach for their 3rd time (now their favorite).

We loved our room, which was well furnished in bright tropical colors, and large bathroom. Our balcony even had a Jacuzzi tub. We opted for the slight upgrade to a poolside room (3rd floor), and thought it was worth it for the enhanced views. Our air conditioning worked well, which was nice. Our only complaint was that the provided bathrobes seemed a bit too small, and could only have fit skinny model types, or children.

We thought that the food was plentiful, and good at all the buffets, and specialty restaurants. One advantage of this resort is that it is adjacent to another AMRESORTS the "NOW" Larimer Punta Cana, so you can use all of their facilities, such as pool, restaurants, bars, nightclubs, and entertainment. It is very close (short walk), and convenient, and really expands your choices of restaurants, and evening entertainment.

Room Tip: Poolside room was nice, and also allowed a partial view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

First of all, prior to going, we were carefully watching the reviews. There were so many great reviews, and occasionally, a bad one. We weigh out the mostly awesome reviews, their overall comments, and look at the bad ones, and then figure that there will always be someone that you can't please.
Your vacation will be what you make it..if you want to have an awesome time..it's right here, and these folks will help you in any way you need to achieve your goals.
We started with a trip from the airport...quick ride, met with a cool towel, a drink, easy check in, and shown to our rooms. It wasn't long, and we were looking for food. The buffet is spectacular...it really has many options of grilled to order meat, tuna, pork, steak, chicken, shrimp. The selections of other foods in the buffet is amazing..if you can't find something you would like to eat there, then I think you have some problems. It is awesome food, fresh fruit, fresh veggies, knockout salad bar, deserts, and homemade rolles, bread, ect. There were different selections each night, they repeated a couple times in our 8 day stay...but still, you could eat there 8 days and not have the same meal. They had a great selection of dress up restaurants. Food was awesome at each and every one..service is top notch. Fear not the food. Service was nothing short of amazing...we never had an empty glass, or wanted for a thing. They were right there, watching every move. If you ordered a mimosa, they remembered the next day. Amazing people!
Drinks...they were top shelf premium. One bottle of tequilla that my husband liked was 55 dollars a bottle in the states. They were not only top shelf or premium..they made sure your drinks were decorated...the bartenders were top notch.
While all of our wait staff were commendable, the bartenders we loved the most, were Fabio, Raul, Junior and Gladys...all awesome! Our servers that made quite an impact were Neuri and Francis.
Guest rececption was Yamillia...she is the one to be watching for if you speak English..she spoke it well, understood it and was more than helpful with anything you needed information on.
I think that the language was sometimes difficult to master, BUT..we are in their country, they have multiple languages they deal with daily, our advice is find someone that speaks your language, and only ask them for information you need. These folks work extremely long hours..they will be their for you. They more than make up for any language barriers by the service they give you.
Rooms were spotless, we had turndown service nightly. The cleaning crew were wonderful.
Our rooms were beautiful. We had a jacuzzi on the balcony, gorgeous room, walk in marble shower, plenty of storage, stocked fridge, with plenty of everything.
We didn't use room service.
The beach was perfect, soft sand, no rocks, little seaweed...but hey, it's the ocean, and if you think that there shouldn't be...my advice is to stick by the pool...that couldn't have been better...we used the lazy river pool daily. Swim up bar with alot of fun bartenders, games, activities, made it a fun place to be during the day.
There was plenty of entertainment, between both resorts...you didn't run short of activities to do at night. Great little casino too, not big...but they didn't rob you either. You could play for a long time without being broke when you left.
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Secrets Royal Beach...and if they ever need a few people to fill up a space..let us know, we'll be back in a heartbeat! We have been to resorts that cost more, and this is by far the best of them all.
We miss our new friends.

Room Tip: We were perfectly satisfied with our garden view room..beautiful. If you must pay more for an ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gale b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My wife and i visited this resort for a week in September 2011. The staff here is amazing. Speedy doing his exercises daily was the best representative of any resort I have ever been to. He was "Excellente". Willy at the Marlin Beach bar made the best drinks...always with a smile!. Our morning breakfast at the buffet always was met by Nuery with a great attitude and a tall glass of fresh OJ! You have the best people at your hotel. Carlos and Reinard were hosts at the pool bar that never gave the opportunity for my rum to go dry! Thanks for the memories!
Jason and Lorie Clark

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My wife and I celebrated our 5 year anniversary here in September and it was fabulous. The staff, specifically Steve (Butler service), went above and beyond to make the week special. The beach is fantastic with lots of space and the lazy river offers a nice retreat from the large pool. The only thing we would have liked was some more extensive nightly entertainment on the Secrets side of the resort. The Larimar offers some but the staff and service there was subpar in comparison to Secrets.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We went to the Secrets Royal Beach on Sept. 10th – 17th and this trip was absolutely perfect.

When we arrived we were greeted with a cold towel and a glass of ‘champagne’, which we appreciated. We haven’t been approached by anyone from the time-sharing team. We actually never saw them for the entire week. (go figure)

We previously contacted Juana, the AMAZING e-concierge to ask her some request regarding our room. You really should contact her directly by e-mail or on the hotel Facebook page. (we met her on our last night there, she’s just as lovely in person that on the web)
e-concierge.serpc @ secretsresorts.com

We booked a deluxe ocean view room. Every request we asked was filled, except for the king size bed. We had a 2 beds in our room but it turn out great. We placed the two beds together and our maid Ramona diaz (best maid i ever had) found a way to overlap multiple covers to make into a super king size seamless bed. A/C worked great. Our room was always clean, including the bathtub outside. We never had any problem what so ever regarding the room or the minibar (which include soda, beer, Fanta, club soda and water). On the first day we ask the guy to have lots more water and a couple more beers, less soda’s and each day we would come back to the room with a minibar full just like we asked.

The weather was great, even with tropical storm Maria. We did get a bit of seaweed but hey its the ocean. The beach was perfect, the sand felt like you were walking in flour. Every staff member we met would always smile and say Hola. No, it’s not everybody who speaks English well... but remember that you are in Dominican republic and English is not the first langage. We do not speak Spanish at all and we never had any problem with it. You should also try to learn some word, they appreciate that stuff a lot and it shows.

The food was good, cooked OK and hot. We always had breakfast and lunch at the Riviera buffet and always eat outside(you should be crazy not to eat outside, its just so amazing and service is incredible), which was for us a big plus and worth every penny of the upgrade from now larimar. We would always found a lot of things that we would like to try and we never had something we didn’t like. Yes, you’re right, the food doesn’t always taste like home... but you’re not home!

Francisco, hemeregilgo, Kenya where terrific and of great help. They were always happy, always had a smile on there faces and they would do anything to make sure you were perfectly happy. They made our breakfast, lunches and suppers a breaze. Thank you Kenya for your above and beyond type of service and your great smile, by day two you remerbered to bring us my vino Rosado with a glass of ice. Lunches where a two hour break from the sun we just loved it.

@ La rieviera and Seaside grill (note to management THERES NO REASON TO HAVE THE SAME 1 HOUR LOOP OF MUSIC PLAYING OVER AND OVER AGAIN im starting to dislike Diana krall and of her remakes. We are in 2011 mp3 cd sat radio come on !!!!!!)

We never tried the buffet on the Now side because we never felt that we needed to.

Everything at the Sea Side Grill is perfect. Perfect food, perfect location and perfect staff. We tried the Mercure restaurant on the now side) and the food was good. The service was not as we liked at the beginning but William then take care of us and it turns out great. Thumbs up for him, he saved the day. Erika the hostess a now’s restaurants was attentive and great to deal with. We had dinner at Spice one night and had the hibachi show. Our cook was on is first show. Poor guy. He was in difficulty but hey... everyone one of us had a first day so you just have to laugh about it. We had room service one night and it was OK. Good food for room service. My only complaint was at the BlueWater Grill. The ribs were dry like you cannot even imagine (deep fried…..??.)

If you are worried about the sellers on the beach well just don’t. They will come to talk to you. A firm ‘No gracias‘ will do. Also avoid eye contact it helps.

Willy at the beach bar is fantastic. If anyone from the management read this comment, well Yanneli, the waitress on the beach who’s in training really deserve the job. She’s a hard worker and she’s always smiling. Hope to see her next year

Overall, this hotel is the best I went to, and I’ve travelled a lot. We were a little stressed out because of all the bad comments that we saw, because of the change from NH hotels to secrets. But seriously, some people just like to complain. I went to NH Eden real arena three years ago (today called now larimar) I wrote a review here back then. Let’s just say we are very happy with our choice to upgrade to secrets side. I will go back to this hotel and it will probably be on my next trip.... even if I’m the kind of person who likes to try different place. We were welcome at the hotel by a Welcome Home when we got there.... and I’m telling you we felt like we were home.

Secrets you went above and beyond our greatest expectations…..let’s just say they were quite high

We miss you guys!

Julie and stef

Room Tip: deluxe ocean view building 4 has best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YULcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,287 reviews
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
0.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
5.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing