We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, fully pampered vacation, with great food.!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, fully pampered vacation, with great food.!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Excellent vacation spot, good food, and friendly staff. Lacking of signage of where restaurants were located, or shops. Definitely a downside, which isn't resorts fault, was the constant harrassment from outside "vendors" who were trying to get you to do parasailing, scuba diving, etc. They were lined up on the edge of the resort beachline, and the minute you'd get up to walk in the water, the people would hound you to use their services. Granted the resorts security was highly visible and really ontop of the vendors harassing you, but it was a game of frogger to avoid them to just get into the water. Resort staff had a Booth set up if you wanted to do a water sport, which is alot nicer. However, some stuff to do was expensive. Beach staff was great with taking drink orders, however we felt the mixed drinks weren't strong. Stick with the beer, can't go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarageGuy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,427
    1,709
    654
    183
    98
See reviews for
838
6,275
162
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,417)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

The resort is beatiful and the pool is the best. Food at Oceana and Sea side grill was the best. I was dissapointed with the fact that you have to share restaurants with the Now, which is nice but the quality of the meals is not as good.
Wished they opened a different restaurant for lunch and not just buffet or the grill. We were there during the tropical depression Irene and everything was way to borring. The entertainment team was non existent. Service was good once the sun came out.
Be prepared to tip all the tip and even then it doesn't guarrantee great service.
Try the french restaurant the beef paris done medium is the best ever. The gnocchi at the Italian was good. The Hibacchi food was ok not great. Room service was nice. Very romantic hotel. Did not like the beach with the sea grass, that is just me. Seen better in other places. Felt ripped off with the Now side because of the wine selection. You are paying all this money and you don't get the same quality everywhere. Perhaps they should have more restaurants in the Secrets side.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patty307LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

I loved this hotel, the service, facilities. I was there during the hurricane Irene and the organization was great, they made us feel safe all the time, although we couldn't go to the beach those days we didn't get bored. It is the best place for being relaxed. The water on the beach was perfect even the rainy days, but with sun...it was a paradise!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninoska14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We visited this resort to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We stayed from Aug. 21 to the 28th, 2011. On arrival at the resort check-in was prompt and friendly. We were the only couple on our flight from Toronto checking in at Secrets that Sunday. We completed the required paperwork and were quickly "passed off" to someone who led us to believe he was a hotel rep...(he was actually a rep. of the Secrets time share program). He arranged for us to attend a "special breakfast meeting at 8:30 the next morning to receive important information about the hotel services, and to get our discount coupons". We did not bother to attend the meeting. A firm, "NOT INTERESTED, THANKS", should do the trick if you are not interested in this program. Make no mistake this is a push to buy a time share so don't waste your vacation time `buying into' this meeting.
Bracelets are not required and there is no need to make reservations for the a la carte restuarants. On arrival in our room, the door was decorated with a banner announcing "Happy Anniversary". There was an assortment of fresh fruit on the table and a bottle of Dominican rum. Incense and a tea light candle were placed on the coffee and end tables respectively. The room was large and well appointed. The mini-bar was fully stocked (spirits, beverages and water) including snacks. There was never any shortage of hot water and the water pressure was excellent. The robes provided are much too small for adults (more in line for children, but this is an adult only resort!) The slippers and nightly turn-down service is a nice bonus.
The beach is beautiful and there are Beach Butlers to take drink orders all day long. There is no shortage of palapas and lots of palm trees to provide shade. The beach loungers are very comfortable and easy to adjust into position. The food available at the beach grill is very good (hamburgers, hot dogs, chicken, ribs, french fries, baked potatoes). Poolside and lazy river pool butler service is excellent!
Secrets a la carte and buffet restaurant service, food quality and quantity, and presentation were excellent!!! Our only issue was with the Asian restaurant called "Spice". This restaurant is found on the sister property, Now Larimar. The food quality and quantity was excellent however the service was terrible. It took me 35 minutes to get the Corona I ordered at the beginning of our meal. (I had asked 3 different people for this beer). We both ordered the soup but never received it at all. The dessert my wife was given was not the dessert she ordered. Judging by the service some of the other patrons received that evening, they were not too impressed with this restaurant either.
The Secrets house band was some of the best entertainment we've seen!! Keep these guys.
The only serious flaw we encountered was with housekeeping. This area falls way short of a five star rating. After three days at the hotel these are some of the issues we encountered:
- the table lamp did not work
- the light toggle switch came off in my hand
- there was mould on the ceiling in our room
- our hand towels and face cloths were not replenished after our arrival
- the coffee and end tables had not been cleaned after our arrival for 3 days (there were ashes from the incense and stains from glasses still on the tables 3 days later)
- we found 2 plastic covers for disposable razors (none of which were ours!!) one was found on the floor in the shower, the other was found in the wooden toiletries tray on the vanity) YUCK!
- we had only one drinking glass in the bathroom and it was dirty (no clean glasses from Sunday to Wednesday)
- we had only one drinking glass on the bar area (no clean glasses were left from Sunday to Wednesday)
- the patio table had not been washed for 4 days after our arrival and was stained with drink spills, dirt, and sand
- the jacuzzi had to be repaired before we could use it and as a result there was mud inside the tub from the repairman. The repair was done after breakfast. This was not cleaned when our room was made up that day!
- our room was not cleaned until almost 5 p.m. every day! ( Request the clean-up time that you want when you check in)
We reported these issues to the reception manager and they were addressed immediately and to our satisfaction. This was followed up on a daily basis with several phone calls and inspections of our room. The housekeeping supervisor visited our room every day to ensure that all was well and we were satisfied with housekeeping services. Once these issues were addresed we had no other complaints. I would recommend this resort and will probably visit it again.
Our only suggestions would be that the property managers install a handle on the outside of the sliding glass doors, as well as installing some stone from the patio area to the lazy river area. This dirt beomes mud when it rains or you walk through it with wet feet. The mud is tracked onto the patio and into the room.

PHOTOS TO FOLLOW SOON.

Room Tip: Building #5- close to pool, restaurants and the beach; rooms on the west side are lazy river rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarellMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

My significant other and I traveled to Secrets Royal Beach August 24-August 28. We were extremely happy we made the decision to stay at this resort. Everything that we saw and read online via our booking website as well as the hotel website is true. The rooms are clean, and large, the bathroom is spacious as well. The service on the beach, pool side and in the buffet restaurant was excellent. We did receive some very bad service at the Italian restaurant on the Now Larimar side of the resort, but nothing that ruined our trip. The 24 hour room service is great, as well as "turn-down" service. The mini-bar in the room was replenished everyday, no liqour in the mini bar, just juice, soda, and water.

A word of adivce, do not go this resort expecting 5-star restaurant quality food. The food was okay, we didnt get sick, but it was not the highlight of our stay. The best food I had during my stay was by the beach, at the snack grill (Secrets side), good grilled chicken!

The beach was not crowded, plenty of chairs available and people were constantly walking around to take drink orders.

They do have Corona at select bars on the resort, as well as Grey Goose. We didn't discover the Grey Goose until the last day, but they do have it. The best drink I had there was the Coco Loco, tastes great!

Overall, we had a great stay and highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravels165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

I'll never go back there!
1- the rooms: We changed three times our room: the first room had air conditioning problems. the second was just next to a noisy elevator, then we were told that there were no available rooms left, so, if we wanted to change the room, we had to pay more for an upgrade, we refused and they gave my wife and me a room with separated beds (but this was the least problem).
2- the sea: we underwent 12 hours plane for a sea full of seaweeds. Italy is much more better.
There are too many motorboats (parasail, speedboats, excursions) running backwards and forewards all the day too close to the beach, so -also on the beach- the air smells of gasoline and you don't feel safe when you use their catamaran. Horrible. When we complained about this, we were told: "we have to work".
3- water sports: I unfortunately decided to follow a windsurf lesson. While we were in the water, the pseudo-instructor fell down from the surf and, falling, he pulled hard behind him the mast which hurt my forehead, I was seriously injured and almost fainted. Nobody helped me, although I was bleeding. Alone I had to look for the infirmary. After 25 days I still have a scar on my forehead.
4- the service: we sometimes had to kill beetles in our room, after the room-cleaning the corpses of the insects laid on the ground. This meant the the ground wasn't cleaned.
5- if you want a good service you have to tip...
6-there are 2 swimming pools. one with a bar and another bigger where you could't drink. In the swimming pool with the bar there is more alcohol than water, in the second swimming pool there is no control: we saw people drinking smoking eating and much more in there.
There is much more to complain about, but I think it's enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ElZorroBg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Mgr_Asst, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Secrets Royal Beach Valued Guest,

First of all, we are very sorry to learn, that you did not enjoy your vacation as expected. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that happened during your vacation here at the beautiful Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana.

We hope, that you have recovered from the accident happened while attending a surf lesson. It would be very kind, if you could contact me through email with more information to be able to relate the issue.

Regarding the rooms, we apologize for the fact that you had to change so often until we found a suitable Junior Suite for you.

As far as the motor boats are concerned I would like to inform you, that the sea is public and open for everyone.

Again, we are very sorry for not being able to fulfil your expectations and we would not like to lose you as our valued customer.

We are looking forward to your email.


Respectfully,

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Av. Alemania S/N , El Cortecito, Bávaro Beach
Provincia La Altagracia
Republica Dominicana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

I,ve been in several hotels in Punta Cana through many years (all Melia Paradisus, Barcelo Hotels...) and this is the best Resort to stay, without any doubt. Food was excellent, with many and diverse "tematic" restaurants available for dinning (french, mediterranean, asian...). The beach was great (I think is in the best part of Bavaro Beach...). The rooms were very big, and the beds very comfortable. The service provided by the hotel staff was impressive, in every aspect.

Also, we stayed when hurricane Irene passed through Dominican Republic, and even when it was far away the coast and barely hit us, the staff did everything they could to compensate the lack of sun and beach...

You cannot visit Bavaro and not going to this hotel, it wouldn,t be the same...!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose Manuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,882 reviews
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
13.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#4 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing