We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SECRETS? NEVER MORE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
BG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SECRETS? NEVER MORE”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I'll never go back there!
1- the rooms: We changed three times our room: the first room had air conditioning problems. the second was just next to a noisy elevator, then we were told that there were no available rooms left, so, if we wanted to change the room, we had to pay more for an upgrade, we refused and they gave my wife and me a room with separated beds (but this was the least problem).
2- the sea: we underwent 12 hours plane for a sea full of seaweeds. Italy is much more better.
There are too many motorboats (parasail, speedboats, excursions) running backwards and forewards all the day too close to the beach, so -also on the beach- the air smells of gasoline and you don't feel safe when you use their catamaran. Horrible. When we complained about this, we were told: "we have to work".
3- water sports: I unfortunately decided to follow a windsurf lesson. While we were in the water, the pseudo-instructor fell down from the surf and, falling, he pulled hard behind him the mast which hurt my forehead, I was seriously injured and almost fainted. Nobody helped me, although I was bleeding. Alone I had to look for the infirmary. After 25 days I still have a scar on my forehead.
4- the service: we sometimes had to kill beetles in our room, after the room-cleaning the corpses of the insects laid on the ground. This meant the the ground wasn't cleaned.
5- if you want a good service you have to tip...
6-there are 2 swimming pools. one with a bar and another bigger where you could't drink. In the swimming pool with the bar there is more alcohol than water, in the second swimming pool there is no control: we saw people drinking smoking eating and much more in there.
There is much more to complain about, but I think it's enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ElZorroBg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Mgr_Asst, Manager at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Secrets Royal Beach Valued Guest,

First of all, we are very sorry to learn, that you did not enjoy your vacation as expected. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that happened during your vacation here at the beautiful Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana.

We hope, that you have recovered from the accident happened while attending a surf lesson. It would be very kind, if you could contact me through email with more information to be able to relate the issue.

Regarding the rooms, we apologize for the fact that you had to change so often until we found a suitable Junior Suite for you.

As far as the motor boats are concerned I would like to inform you, that the sea is public and open for everyone.

Again, we are very sorry for not being able to fulfil your expectations and we would not like to lose you as our valued customer.

We are looking forward to your email.


Respectfully,

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Av. Alemania S/N , El Cortecito, Bávaro Beach
Provincia La Altagracia
Republica Dominicana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,590
    1,755
    667
    186
    100
See reviews for
875
6,434
166
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,467)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I,ve been in several hotels in Punta Cana through many years (all Melia Paradisus, Barcelo Hotels...) and this is the best Resort to stay, without any doubt. Food was excellent, with many and diverse "tematic" restaurants available for dinning (french, mediterranean, asian...). The beach was great (I think is in the best part of Bavaro Beach...). The rooms were very big, and the beds very comfortable. The service provided by the hotel staff was impressive, in every aspect.

Also, we stayed when hurricane Irene passed through Dominican Republic, and even when it was far away the coast and barely hit us, the staff did everything they could to compensate the lack of sun and beach...

You cannot visit Bavaro and not going to this hotel, it wouldn,t be the same...!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose Manuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Went with a group from work and loved it there!! The staff was all very friendly and they keep the place very clean. If you want to eat more American type food I recommend the grill out behind the buffet that is on the beach. They have grilled burgers and chicken.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimOhio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2011

My wife and myself made a trip to the Dominican Republic for the first time not knowing what to expect and we landed in Punta Cana. We arrived sunday afternoon on August 21, 2011 and we heard people talking about the hurricane on the way to the island. Geez what a vacation time we've selected, so I said to myself. It rained from the time we arrived until wednesday. I didnt regret staying in the resort for all those days. The resort staff made everything they could to make every guests to enjoy the stay-in the resort. They have programs like, entertainment, games, sports, etc. all day 'till night time. The people at the lobby bars, pool and beach bars are superb. They wont let you have an empty glass of whatever you're drinking. The staffs makes everything possible to make every guests satisfied. A place I can call Paradise.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2011

My husband and I just returned from 6 days at Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana. Despite Hurricane Irene paying us a visit while we were there we had an AMAZING time! The staff was the best I have seen yet. They were so attentive and polite. The rooms were beautiful and cleaned everyday...sometimes twice a day! And the nightly turn down service was a nice extra too. I especially thought the Hershey kisses on our pillows were cute. I thought the food was also very good. We ate breakfast at the buffet in the morning and usually for lunch. We ate at the a la cartes for dinner. We liked Seaside Grill on the Secrets side, really yummy beef tenderloin with bernaise sauce. We also had hibatchi at Spice, We ate at Mercure the french restuarant. And we also at at the grill restaurant on the Now side but that was my least favorite. We also took advantage of room service during Hurricane Irene. I was very impressed with the top shelf liquor at all the bars. There were a few employees that I want to say an extra thanks to...Speedy with the entertainment team, Rafael and Valentine in the restaurant were excellente!!!


Thanks again Secrets Royal Beach for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimF1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We had a deluxe swim up room it was great to be able to walk out the door and be in the pool. Nightly turn down service was a great extra.

Our best part was the swim up bar. Aneudy was a fantastic bartender! He always made sure we were taken care of. We decided not to do any excursions, we spent our days at the pool with Aneudy taking care of us and the afternoon activities, there was no reason to leave the property.

Was disappointed with the beach you were constantly asked to go to the flea market, have photos taken or to go para sailing. Would like to have been able to enjoy the beach a little more without the hassle.

Oceano was our favorite restaurant Seaside Grill was a close second, but our best service came from Elvin at La Riveria, he remembered our drinks every morning we came in for breakfast and when we would go for dinner. The outside grill on Secrets side was great. Spice on the Now side was the good also, we went twice and sat at the hibachi table both times once with just us and then with a group of us, we enjoyed it both times and they did a great show also. very disappointed with Blue Water Grill.

Overall had a great trip would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Deluxe swim up room way to go, I don't think any room has a great ocean view because of the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessica391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

From the moment we got there till the moment of our departure we were treated with tlc! I felt like royalty. Apple Vacations did a wonderful job organizing our package; but the staff at the resort kicked it up several notches. When we arrived, they greated us with cool towels, chanpagne, chocolate chip cookies and fruit. Our room was not ready as we arrived earlier in the day, but as promised, Francoise, AKA "Erick," made sure that getting a room for us very quickly was a priority.

Word of advice though...... they do have people there that appear to be employees, but are employees of some vacation club (time share) company trying to get you to go to their presentation. If that's your thing then go for it. For us, I had to aggressively tell them that we were not interested so that they could stop stalking us.

There were mounds of seaweed on the beach when we got there due to tropical storm Emily, but it was gone in about 48 hours. Those guys worked around the clock! The weather was perfect and the beach was kept clean.

There was never a moment when we were out and about that a staff member did not check to see if we needed anything. Plus, whatever you asked of them, the typical response was "my pleasure." I loved it. The language barrier was rough as we know limited spanish, but after a few days, we learned enough to effectively communicate.

The buffet food was not all that spectacular to us, but we did learn a few tricks. They keep some raw meat at the grilling station and all you have to do is ask them to cook it fresh and its done! Sae with breakfast, just have themn cook your eggs/omlettes to order.

We took advantage of "All Inclusive." They kept the drinks coming. There is an employee at the pool and beach bar, Yoleny, who was the most attentive. She even learned our names! She kept the drinks coming.....no empty glasses. Be careful of the Mamjuana though. It is strong and will have you on your back if you have too many.

We went a a few excursions (Marinarium and Saona Island) and they were terrific. We also did the ocean front massage and that was just okay. They only have females at the spa which was fine for my husband, but I prefer my massages by men. I felt like I was oiled up and tickled for almost an hour.

Simply a beautiful place. Can't wait to go back and do it all over (or better) again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the pool view or the garden view just adjacent to the pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shenee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
17.0 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,054 reviews
14.2 mi away
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
13.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Property: Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
Address: Ave Alemania S/N | El Cortecito, Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#5 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#8 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the picturesque palm-studded, sugar white Playa Bavaro beach on the eastern coastline of the Dominican Republic, Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana offers adults all the privileges of Unlimited-Luxury(R). Guests will immediately be embraced within an extraordinary environment where luxury illuminates every detail and our high level of personal service is unmatched. To ensure your romantic escape is everything you've imagined, every detail of your stay will be flawlessly provided and superbly attended to. From the fine quality linens to the daily refreshed mini bar and the unlimited premium brand beverages to the pool and beach wait service. You'll be immersed within a world of stunning architectural design coupled with resplendent views of the lush gardens, crystal-clear Caribbean Sea and dazzling swimming pools. This tranquil, romantic haven in Playa Bavaro is like nothing else you've ever experienced before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Royal Beach Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing