We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont go to Esmeralda - Under construction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #33 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2010

First of all, this is not a hotel, but a branch of the major complex bahia principe. You have no exclusiveness whatsover, no dedicated entertainment, only one buffet and one restaurant a la carte all other restaurants are located in Ambar or other hotels and the worst part is the construction works going on, which kept us from using one of the pools, located just in front of the building under construction, with noise constantly - not what you expect for your holidays...
The first room we were given was just in front of the construction in progress, but half of the rooms face this view (I will post some pictures).
The beach area in front of the Esmeralda is used to keep the boats and nautic equipment of the water sports area, so you cannot swim there. You can either swim at the beach in front of Riu hotel or with the other guests of bahia principe punta cana, bavaro and clube premier, but the beach is very narrow, dont think it is enough for a resort with this size (4.000 guests).
The extra money we paid for this hotel was supposed to give us exclusiveness and premium service, and in return we ended up the beach at Riu hotel and services at Ambar and other hotels.
The second room we got was very nice, facing the club golden, as the 1st room was too noisy (construction works). The bed is very comfortable, room very spacious and clean. But this is what you expect in a 5 star hotel.
The food is very good at the buffet (Jazmin and Arrecife snack bar) and employes are especially nice at the Jazmin buffet. The a la carte restaurants we didnt like as the food had no taste whatsoever.
Reception/lobby people were very unfriendly and unhelpful, we never met such people anywher in the world, even when staying in lodges or 3 star hotels people smile and try to help you. We asked to contact our tour operator and the receptionist said to call them ourselves using the phone of the luggage guy...
As previous reviewers said, the drinnks are very sweet, but OK.
The night entertainment is nice.
To sum up: we wouldnt advise our friend to stay here, especially for the price we paid.
We think there is lack of information and we would never go to a resort if we knew it was still under construction.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ilove2travel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,269 - 4,275 of 7,212 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2010

The most wonderful experience! i cant imagine a better vacation or a better hotel. the service is excellent!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Let me start by saying that since we had the kids, we are creatures of habit. We find a place that we like, and keep going back. Well, this is our new place! I won't make this review too long, as it will just be repeating all the positive comments made by previous reviewers. We travel with 2 children, 4 and 2.5, so it is very important to us that a resort is child friendly and has a lot of things to do and see. There is a Kids club that isn't too large, but kept the kids busy for a while, and the highlight for them is the train which seems to never stop coming around, so you don't have to wait. There are 3 lines so we would go up and down one, then switch, go to the next, switch and so on. We would do this for about an hours, which the kids loved, and we aldo got to relax and get a bit of a breeze which was very much needed. The only downside of the train is that some people would go on it saoking, and would leave the seats all wet. The irony is that they hold their beach towels instead of put them on the seats and sit on them! Next we would head to one of the main lobbies where you can find a set up of coffee, tea, pastries, and cold water and juice throughout the day. It is placed in front of the lobby bar, and is self serve style. You can also find this type of setup in the Esmeralda lobby by the bar. There is free internet access in the lobby in a very cool room, and there is a 15min limit per room per day. Too bad so many room people would spend hours on facebook and not respect the limit, or that other people were waiting to use the computer. The room is monitored, but no one really times you. The pool is wonderful, and the water is warm (perfect for little people) There is an enclosed children's section with is about .5 meters deep, and the deep end of the regular pool is about 4.5 feet, so not too deep. Everyone in the buffet was very attentive to the kids which was very nice, and there is a large variety of food to please even the pikiest of eaters. The buffet also has plastic cups, plates and bowls for the kids at luch and dinner. All the a la carte restaurants also have a children's menu, but i found that the kids were usually better off just eating from the appetizer buffet, as it is very large and has so many choices. Also, if your little ones have a short attention span as many do, try bringing with you a portable dvd player to meals, as it saved us. The rooms are large and very clean. There are 2 double/queen beds. I slept with my daughter, and my husband slept with my son. WARNING! put huge pillows on the floor next to the bed, as my little guys fell of during the night, and nearly cracked his head open on the marble floors. There are huge cushions on the couch in rooms little living room. There is where the kids sat in the afternoons to colour and do some activities. The bathroom is very large, and equiped with 2 sinks, a large tub, a very large shower stall, and and exnclosed toilet. very nice washroom. my Husband would bathe my sone int he tub, while i bathed my daughter in the shower. One day we came back to our room to find a colouring page, candy, and a Gran Bahia t shirt for each of the kids. This was very nice, and the kids were so happy as their goodies were tied with nice ribbons. The Esmeralda resort itself is beautiful, and small, without a whole bunch of caos. The GB as a whole is a zoo, so we were so happy to be able to venture out, and then return to the Esmeralda for some peace. Even the beach in front of the Esmeralda had nicer chairs, and not as crowded.
OK, I think that 's it for mt "short" review so, i will include a whole bunch of pictures to let you see for your selves how wonderful this place is. Any questions? feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank koukla2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Just a short review since the other ones are pretty much bang on. We very impressed with the Esmerelda section, not that the other areas are bad. This area is definetley a 5 star. Very luxurious and quiet compared to the Ambar area. No problems at all. Go with the reviews before mine they pretty much say it all.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Beautiful resort, great food, due to the time of season the occupancy rate was at 60% so no chair games at the beach or pool, never a problem for chairs under papaya or umbrella at pool, resort was very clean and staff friendly, food always depends to persons taste, for myself i really liked the food, and l had booked our ala cartes before we went down, if you are looking for a pary place, this is not it, rarely over 30 people in the pool, would definitely pay the upgrade and go to esmeralda instead of the punta cana, or bavaro section

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sillyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We were booked into the Bavaro section of the hotel, however, when we arrived we were advised we had been upgraded to the Esmeralda.
We couldn't believe it when we arrived at the Esmeralda lobby. It is complete luxury. From the jacuzzi swimming pool with fancy sunloungers to the beautiful gardens. Everything was picture perfect.
We were checked in and then taken to our room, 93211, by Emmanuel. He was so welcoming and friendly. For the rest of the holiday he remembered my name and would always greet us.
As we approached our room we knew we were onto a winner; Red and gold carpets are along all the corridors. The room was AMAZING! Four poster bed all decorated for us with balloons, they had left presents on the bed of rum & t-shirts. The bathroom is very large with a jet tub, his & hers sinks & super shower. There is a window which looks onto the bedroom which was a nice touch. You get free use of the safe and are given housecoats, slippers and an umbrella (we needed it A LOT.)
On our first night, there was a chap at the door and a butler came in with a basket of fruit and set our table for us.
The view from our room was lovely, looking onto the pool with the three jacuzzis. You could also see the ocean from our balcony.
You get your mini bar filled everyday with vodka, whisky, bacardi, beer, soft drinks, water and a packet of crisps. Our first week this was the case, by the second week we noticed things were missing a lot of days. When there was no beer we mentioned it to reception and they rectified it immediately. I wondered if this was because other guests were maybe tipping for extra beer and so were being given ours? who knows.
You get free use of the internet every day. It states in your pack 15 mins however the computers are just left logged on all the time and you can come and go as you please.
The Jasmin restaurant is where we mostly ate. This is the buffet restaurant. I would say this is the best standard of food we have ever experienced in an all inclusive resort in the Caribbean. The service here was excellent, Manuel served us for most of our holiday and he did an excellent job.
We also tried the Mexican and Steak House a la cartes. Mexican was very average and we weren't particularly impressed. The steak house however, was delicious!
We also ventured into one of the large buffets in the main part of the resort. This made us so thankful for our upgrade. At the Esmeralda restaurant it so peaceful and relaxing. Here, in the large restaurant it was like whacky races as people charged around filling their plates.
Also we were so grateful that our pools were much quieter than the main two, we could see there wasn't much room left in the main pools or around them and it was very noisy.
The beach is very nice. We always like to snorkel and the only disappointing thing was that there was next to no fish here. Only once did we see a shoal of small fish.
We went to a couple of the shows at the Tropicana; 70's boogie night & Michael Jackson. Both were enjoyable but I wouldn't say the Jackson show was all it was cracked up to be or worth the fights over seats and who could see and who couldn't see. This was just as entertaining as the show at times!
This hotel excels in service. The staff here work so hard; gardeners, maids, reception, bell boys... everyone! Always smiling and wanting to make your holiday special.
We came back a couple of nights to discover they had run us a bubble bath with rose petals and candles. This was a really nice surprise.
We booked two trips; Saona Island & Bavaro Splash. The trip to Saona Island involves a long drive on a bus first, which our rep never mentioned. It's around two and half hours. A while onto this our bus stopped and the guide advised us we would need to return to the hotel becuase the weather was too bad. Although we can't control the weather, it did waste a day for us. We didn't bother to book this trip for another day.
Our next trip was Bavaro splash and it was excellent value for money. We had a brilliant day. It includes snuba, speedboats and snorkelling.
On our last day, I decided I wanted to give our extra toiletries etc and a tip to the gardeners as I felt they probably don't get a lot in the way of tips etc. I made up a bag with four bottles of juice and a whole load of things we could give them. On my way to checkout there was two gardeners standing. I called them over and gave them the bag, they were so grateful and took a drink straight away. This really pulled at my heart strings, I wish I'd known they were allowed to take drinks from us and I would have been down every day. They work so hard in the sweltering sun and don't even have as much as a drink of water on them. If I ever go back, I'll definately remember them. So if you do have any extra in your mini bar at the end of the day it might be a nice idea to offer it to them.
I forgot to mention the building work, opposite our block. This is because it really did not disrupt our holiday. Yes, they worked all day but we lay at the pool right next to it and it never bothered us at all. They too work so hard and the difference within two weeks to the building was amazing so it won't be long at all till it is finished and the Esmeralda is even bigger.
Overall, we had a fabulous holiday here and will definately return in the future. If you have any questions about the hotel or excursions please don't hesitate to contact me. Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _-_L4UR4_-_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I - a forty five year old woman - and my daughter (15) arrived home yesterday, after fourteen days in heaven!
The hotel was as clean as possible, and a lot of people worked to keep the hotel in this condition.
The food was excellent! You did not have to eat all the time, but you could, with the all inclusive package! There were many, many fresh fruits - delicately cut - and my daughter and me just loved it! Three times a week the all-inclusive allowed you to eat in a good a-la-carte restaurant in the hotel area.
The people who worked there were SO happy, smiling and helpful - even though not all off them did understand English.
The surroundings were amazing! White beach, turquoise, warm sea and waving palm trees! And the pool with the swim-up bar was great! There are many pools in the hotel area you can access.
The room we got was almost bigger than our apartment. At least it was big, beautiful and clean! It had air condition and a ceiling fan, the surroundings was quiet, so there was no problem sleeping! Be careful with the air condition, though!
All in all well worth the money!!!! I loved the place, I dream of going back one day, and I would surely recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happygirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
0.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $190 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free of charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (free of charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing