We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,974)
Filter reviews
7,974 results
Traveler rating
5,054
1,713
734
260
213
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,054
1,713
734
260
213
Show reviews that mention
All reviews don pablo jazmin buffet garden grill a la carte restaurants privilege club scented pillows lobby bar butler service other resorts guest services gala night el pescador thomas cook le gourmet emailed the hotel dominican republic bubble bath
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 7,974 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend, brother, and I vacationed at this resort April 5th-April 15th and we had the best time. My boyfriend and I stayed at this exact same resort last year and we enjoyed it so much the first time that we decided to come back again and not look at any other resorts. This was my brother's first time to the Dominican and of course his first time at the resort and he said it is the best resort he has ever stayed at to this day.

We requested our restaurants and room locations two weeks prior to arrival and received everything we had requested.

We love everything about this resort from the rooms, to the views, to the resort grounds, the restaurants, the buffets, and entertainment. However, if we had to choose our most favorite thing, it would be the staff. There was not one staff member that didn't go out of their way to make sure we were happy and having a great time. They are genuinely pleasing you in any way they can to make sure you are satisfied.

Our favorite places to hang out were the lobby bar, beach bar, and pool bar. Hugo, Manolo, & Jaquin at the lobby bar are the absolute best! The second we walked up to get our first drink after we checked in you could see they remembered us from a year ago. Sure enough, they did. They work so hard and with the bar getting as busy as it does in the evenings are still able to keep up with everyone around the bar and not let a glass get empty before asking what you would like next. They took such great care of us last year as well as this year.

Guillermo at the beach bar is the best beach bartender there is! He would see us coming up from a distance and was already pouring us our drinks. He works so hard and takes care of everyone. He is so genuine, always smiling, and always making sure you are having a great time. He also remembered us from last year! :)

Juan at the pool bar is awesome!! Once again, he also remembered us!! He works so hard, was always making sure we were having a good time, and always has a smile on his face. A very genuine person all around.

As you can see, we love our bars so we made the best of friends with most of the bartenders and were able to get to know them better. However, as I mentioned before, every single staff member we were approached by or interacted with had the best intentions, always had a smile on their face, and was always willing to help us with anything we needed.

We already miss all of our amigos and cannot wait to go back next year!! Thank you to all the staff at Esmeralda for making our stay yet another perfect vacation!!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annapoltorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer704144, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that our friendly relaxed atmosphere allowed you to enjoy our facilities and natural beauty. Also, thank you for acknowledging our staff, who were always at your disposal to cater your every need or desire.

Please feel free to contact us directly once you have your next booking confirmation, in order to prepare all the details before arrival at info.esmeralda@bahia-principe.com, and make your third stay the most unforgettable experience in the Caribbean.

Best regards,

Victoria Balbuena
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from another great week (April 7 - 14th) at the Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda! This was our second stay at the Esmeralda and our fifth stay with the Bahia Principe Resorts in Punta Cana. Once again this resort did not disappoint! The beach is beautiful with lots of available beach chairs and Palapa's. The resort team works very hard to keep the beach clean and are forever raking the seaweed, which, as I walked the beach, noticed that many of the other resorts do not do. If the beach is not your thing than the pool area is always nice. Pool is very large and never feels crowded. The food at this resort is very good and there are plenty of choices at the buffet. The rooms are very clean and spacious. We stayed in building 92, which is perfectly located, close to the pool and beach. Beautiful view of the meticulously manicured lawn/gardens from our balcony. The staff at the Esmeralda are very kind and will go out of their way to assist you. You are always greeted with a smile and are made to feel very welcome. The Animation staff are loads of fun and encourage you to participate but will leave you alone as well if you would prefer to just watch. A big shout out to Jose and Angel! Thanks for teaching us to do the Salsa & the Bachata, it was great fun! A big thank you to Juan and Alexandra for taking such good care of us in the pool area. I must say that this is one of my favourite resorts in Punta Cana and I look forward to our return next year

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishvick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer704144, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Client,

Posts such as yours delight us and give us the confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed such an amazing stay with brilliant treatment from our staff at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda.

Please feel free to contact us directly once you have your next booking confirmation, in order to prepare all the details before arrival at info.esmeralda@bahia-principe.com, and make your sixth stay the most unforgettable experience in the Caribbean.

info.bavaro@bahia-principe.com

Best regards,

Victoria Balbuena
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I recently spent 10 days at the luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda for the 2nd time in 9 months. The resort has the most beautiful grounds you will see in the Dominican Republic, they are kept meticulous. The plush greenery and color from the flowers are amazing. Did I forget to the mention the beach this resort sits right on the beach with the whites sand you will see on a beach . The beach has coverings to-block the sun and not al resorts have this on the beach. The resort does an amazing job with the beach clean any thing washing up they work endlessly to maintain a beautiful beach and as we noticed not all resorts do that. We had the luxury of 2 pools in this section of the resort, one was a beach front pool with a lot of activities for children or adults and a quieter pool setback from the beach. The adult only jacuzzi section is so peaceful and relaxing. Esmeralda has the option of 2 buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was wonderful great tasting and quite a choice of options. You never got bored of the selections and every night had a dinner theme.
Lunch time you could grab lunch right on the beach and service was great all around. It’s nice not having to get up to get a drink at the beach or the pools. We had a server at the quieter pool Marie and she was amazing, she was one of the reasons we choose to go back the resort 9 months later she treats you like a family member and we are looking forward to seeing her again in the future.
The rooms are large and clean. Their is no sign of wear and tear. There is always great entertainment in the evening and you will always find something different to entertain you. The front desk and management does a great job trying to accommodate your room request even though it is almost an impossible feat.
We do not know when our next visit to Esmeralda will be but we can not wait and we definitely know where we will staying.
Brian and Phyllis Dodd
Virginia

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Bpd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer704144, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda as your holiday destination. The opinion of our customers is very important.

Thank you very much for your comments, we hope to have the honor of welcoming you once again to our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Dominican Republic.

If you have any questions or need assistance in the future, do not hesitate to contact us through the email address info.esmeralda@bahia-principe.com

Always at your disposal,

Luz Caraballo
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For the money, I wasn't so impressed with the quality of our room. There was spackle all over the place in the bathroom when we arrived. I also wasn't impressed with the way they treat their staff. They had to walk from the front of the resort to wherever they were stationed to work (a mile or more) while empty carts rode by them in the hot sun.
The resorts are the only employers there but I didn't like it at all! Finally, there were stains in the linen and the towels (especially) were very rough. This isn't something I am terribly picky about but again, for the money, I expected better quality. The resort is beautiful, probably not for children, but a great place for adult fun. They should, however, rethink the pool hours as not everyone is interested in the evening entertainment. I felt like this hotel in particular was better for a 55+ crowd.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank Go64327432609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer704144, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you take the time to send us your comments regarding your experience during your last stay with us. All feedback from our guests is valued, to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. We are sorry for not being able to fulfil your expectations.

For any additional information, you can contact us at info.esmeralda@bahia-principe.com

Kindest regards,

Luz Caraballo
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This place is pretty cool - our first trip to Punta Cana. The restaurants are amazing - the Asian Restaurant is a Must! The staff always have a smile and willing to go the extra mile. Looking forward to a future trip to the Dominican Republic.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
1  Thank Sightseer56666757114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer704144, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

For any additional information, you can contact us at info.esmeralda@bahia-principe.com

Always at your disposal,

Luz Caraballo
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews