We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Beautiful, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #34 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Wow, Where to begin? Everything here is extraordinary. Great staff, friendly and always laughing! Really great food with lots of variety.Very clean, Meticullously so. Pool is great, beach is beautiful.Not too big, trolly and the drivers will answer any questions, and run very frequently. Only negative would be that the drinks are of the sweetened, mixed stuff, not real juice.At the restaurants, the juice is of good quality, but the bars have the fake stuff. Overall, its a good family resort, especially this section, which is only 4 months old. You'll love it!!
Entertainment is good as well.Saw Michael Jackson show, great!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmerrimen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,347 - 4,353 of 7,289 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2010

This is my third year in a row travelling with my husband and 2 daughters to the Bahia Principe, and this year was our first stay at the Esmeralda. First of all, it was the most enjoyable vacation of all the three years. The Esmeralda staff treats you like family, and they go out of your way to make your vacation wonderful. There was no language barrier to overcome, as I could understand them perfectly, and I thought they spoke English very well. The buffet restaurant, Jazmin was great. Linny would greet you with her beautiful cheery self each morning and if you asked her how she was she would always answer , quite enthusiastically, “super super super.” All of the staff, and Santos in particular, worked very hard to make sure we were all happy, and they were always so polite and courteous. Gala night on Thursday was fabulous. They served lobster, crab leg , turkey and beef and their filet mignon was the best. I found the beds comfortable. Some days room service was better than others. Usually, our mini fridge was filled with a bag of chips, various alcoholic beverages, soda, and water. One day, however, our mini fridge wasn't restocked, and neither was the water or coffee. The next morning I told our male housekeeper about the issue, and there was an improvement. Even though this happened, it was a very minor issue and it paled in comparison to the great service we received during our stay. I certainly hope to return again and bravo to this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

The hotel and grounds were beautiful. The check in was horrible. We were a group of 14 and requested rooms be near each other. Called to confirm this a few days before departure and were told it was done. We were all seperated in different bldgs. The two Carlos" at the front desk were extremely rude and did not want to listen to a word we said. We spoke to the General manager and he changed one of the rooms to be closer. There was also a major communication problem. The majority of the staff spoke no english but the ones who did were friendly. The Garden grill and Japenese restaurants were excellent and all of staff were friendly and accomodating. Spa was excellent and well worth the money. Ordered room service and they spoke no english so order was mixed up. We found communication problem to be the major complaint amoung most of the guests we met. If you plan on going to the beach you need to get up at 5 am to reserve a spot under the huts. Beds were uncomfortable. If you speak spanish I would most definately recommend. Most of shows in the evening were all in spanish.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katt1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

This was our second trip to Gran Bahia Principe as a group of 4. Last year when we arrived, our group was separated and the other couple ended up overlooking the construction of the Esmeralda section. So we thought it was fitting when we were all upgraded to the Esmeralda this year which gave us access to the entire complex.

We enjoyed our stay (bldg 90 and 92), but our only complaint was our water pressure in the shower was rather low. The whole complex was quiet this year compared to last year with the Esmeralda section being very quiet and relaxing. We spent most of our time at the beach enjoying the sun, wind and ocean.

We are planning our trip next March and will be returning to Gran Bahia Principe.

If anyone is interested, last year all pool areas were topless allowed, this year it appears only the Ambar (adults only) section allowed topless at the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTJohnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

This was my third trip to Bahia Pricipe but my first in the Esmeralda Section and what a pleasant surprise. This section is only 4 months old and is like asmall resort within a large one. Reception was quick and easy (they have there own Lobby) and our room was already ready. No disappointment there, room was gorgeous. We had excellent weather (no rain!) From the ground to the staff to the beaches we couldnt find one bad thing to say about the place. We are already planning for next year where we definitely stay at Esmeralda again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Great hotel for the price,stuff is very friendly,when we got to the resort we were upgraded to the newer part of the resort (Esmerelda).We were taken to the room by hotel staff,she showed us around, our safe had some problems at first so she said that someone will come up in couple minutes and they came very quick, we even had a follow up phone call from lobby to check if it was taken care of. Our room was very clean and comfortable,we used room service couple times and they came very quick. The resort is very big so it will be little confusing at first to find your way around but later it will be easy. I have been to resorts were booking a restaurants had been a problem but in this place they already book 2 restaurant for you upon your arrival and if you dont like the day and time you can always make changes, and there is alot of restaurants to choose from. Beach is beautiful, we had great time and looking forward to return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomaszewski638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

My 8-year old and I stayed in this beautiful and conveniently located section of the huge Gran Bahia Principe property (there are four "tram" lines--red, green, yellow and blue that you can take to get around). This section is the newest and the best. It is completely self-contained (minus a spa and exercise facility) and you only need to leave if you want to go to the spa--there were two that I physically visited and one that I used--or see a show or eat at one of the specialty restaurants outside of the horrible Italian restaurant located in this section.
The room that I stayed in comprised of two extremely comfortable full-sized beds with very soft and comfortable pillows. The sheets were fresh but the coverlets smelled revolting. I did ask for a non-smoking room and didn't really smell smoke unless someone in the room that shared the same air handler was smoking.
Both the room and the bathroom were spacious. The balcony was small and practical with a view of the pool and the ocean comprised of two cushioned chairs and a table.

The hotel room looks identical to the pictures taken by fellow reviewers. It was very comfortable. The tv and remote worked well and when the tv's picture started to look like an x-ray film it was promptly replaced within 15 minutes of me calling.

The mini bar was a joke. You received two bottles of water (if you explain to the housekeeper that you don't drink soda or beer, you can get two additional bottles), a few different sodas, two beers and three tiny bottles of alcohol--a Johnny Walker whiskey (maybe two bottles), and one white alcohol beverage, a bottle of Eastern European vodka or Barcardi white rum per day. I'm sorry that they didn't have the Barcelo rum and milk drink. That would have made my day as I do love that drink over ice. They also provided a very large bottle of water specifically for the coffee maker and during my five-night stay, they only left two bags of coffee. Whatever you do not consume will not be replenished. So if you don't drink you will have the same mini bar for the duration of your stay. You also get one bag of potato chips per day as part of your mini bar.

The pool was great. The beach was gorgeous. The hotel should have a policy not to save chairs. It was ridiculous how people saved chairs. The practice should not be allowed.

If you stay in this section, you have free internet access for 15 minutes per day. They have two computers to serve this purpose in the hotel lobby.

The food was good and tasty at Jazmin's buffet. There was a bit of variety during breakfast. The service was inconsistent. Some days it was fantastic and other days it was horrible. We tried Bella Italia and it was a bust. We left and went to Jazmin's (the buffet) and enjoyed dinner.
I cancelled all reservations at other restaurants and just ate at Jazmin's.
This property was not even close to crowded. There was always a breeze to cool you down and it is beach front. All of the other individual resorts within the property suffered from no breeze and disgusting smells of sewage. It was unbelievably rank. Imagine humid, hot air smelling of sewage. Completely distasteful.

The property was cleaned and maintained daily. I had no problems with towels, or with room cleaning. We were on the third floor and really enjoyed our vacation. You could hear your neighbors, particularly if they were being intentionally loud.

I enjoyed the spa in the Punta Cana hotel and the wonderful ladies who worked there. They were great. Lucy performed two 1.5 hour "programs" that included the fabulous sauna, the steam room, a whirlpool soak, a full body exfoliation, two full body massages, and two mini-facials.

My daughter got her hair cut and the stylist did a fantastic job. She had a great time in the kid's club, called the mini club. She played darts, they swam every day, they played table soccer, and they made an arts and crafts project. The two ladies there are really nice, Wendy and Mama Ines. They are really sweet with the children and make it fun for them. My daughter went there for a few hours twice when I went to the spa. She insisted on going back after her first day there. And the mini club closes for lunch from 12:30 pm to 2:30 pm when it reopens. You can drop your child off at 9 am but you must pick him/her up by 12:30 pm. Then you can drop off at 2:30 pm, but you must pick up by 4:30 pm or 5pm on Fridays, I believe.

All in all, if you do go, I recommend staying in the Esmeralda section. I know that I would have been completely miserable staying any where else on this property.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacobian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#62 of 113 in Punta Cana
10,747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#32 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $199 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free of charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (free of charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing