We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““One of the best All-Inclusive family resorts, Here’s why:””

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #30 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
““One of the best All-Inclusive family resorts, Here’s why:””
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Let me start off by telling you that I am an individual that pays close attention to details and researches meticulously before booking any resort or hotel for my family.
With that said, let me try and provide you with a glimpse of the Esmeralda and what to expect.
My wife, daughter (infant) and I traveled to the Esmeralda from July 9th to July 20th. We traveled with Air Transat’s new Boeing 737-800. We’ve traveled with this carrier numerous times before but with their wide body Airbus A310 which is more spacious. The new plane is a little cramped, especially if you are traveling with children. There are no individual screens, instead they have very small drop down screens every 3 rows, so bring an iPad.
The overall flight experience was very good, the service was quick and efficient. I will mention that we paid for the Option Plus so I’m sure that had something to do with it. Onboard, the flight attendants pass out customs papers and individual pre-paid entrance fee cards for each person. Note that with Air Transat, the departure tax of $20.00 is covered. You do not need to pay it as it’s included in your package.
Upon arrival at the Punta Cana international airport at noon, the lines to clear customs were small and got through within 15 minutes. If you would like to know any details about the airport please message me. They have various fast food and duty free stores. (Do not buy alcohol or tobacco from the airport, it’s cheaper at the resort).
Once we found our luggage, we exited the airport to a large parking lot where numerous buses and taxis are parked. There are airport workers nearby in case you need help with your luggage. Some of them can be a little pushy so be firm and tell them no gracias. There are several counters just before you exit with all the major tour operators so you can verify which bus number is going to your resort, assuming that is part of your vacation package.
The ride from the airport to the resort takes approximately 25 minutes. Note, for those who are going to the Esmeralda, the bus leaves you at the lobby of the Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana.
There are small go cart style buses that load your luggage and drive you to Esmeralda’s lobby which takes about 2-3 minutes. Keep in mind that this is a very large resort complex, which includes the Esmeralda. The same goes when leaving, they load your luggage from the Esmeralda lobby and drive you to Punta Cana’s lobby to board your bus heading back to the airport.
Once you arrive at the Esmeralda’s main lobby, you will most likely be greeted by Edwin. We called him “Modelo” for short as he’s worked as a professional model. He’s always with a smile and will provide you with your bracelets and other paperwork. At the same time, you will be greeted with some cold refreshing cocktails, so take advantage especially after a long day’s trip.
Your luggage will be taken to the room immediately after check-in by the very friendly staff. Just at the entrance of the lobby they have a luggage weight scale, it costs $1.00 USD to weigh your luggage before you go back home to make sure you’re not overweight, a really nice feature.
The resort is not very large so walking around especially with children is made easier since all amenities are close to each other. A great feature of this resort is that it has ramps for the disabled everywhere you go, including the beach. The ramps can also be used by parents with strollers. The only downside is there are no ramps or elevators to go to the second and third floor rooms.

THE ROOMS: Very spacious and comfortable, other reviewers mentioned a musty smell but we did not notice it in our room. We stayed in block 91, in room 91111 on the second floor with a pool view which is close to the pool, beach and lobby. We had a king size bed with a ton of pillows to choose from. There is a pillow menu in your room so you can select from soft to firm. The bed itself was firm but comfortable, we also requested a crib for our daughter and was in the room waiting for us upon arrival. The mattress of the crib is a little on the thin side so bring with you a quilted crib mattress pad and sheets to make it more comfortable for your little one. The bathroom has two sinks with a walk in shower and separate Jacuzzi tub.
The maid did an excellent job keeping the room clean every day. The room is cleaned once a day between 11AM to 2PM. They come a second time in the evening for the turn down service. Meanwhile the fridge is restocked daily with coke, diet coke, sprite, orange juice (Fanta), club soda and an assorted number of orange juice boxes, chocolate/vanilla milk boxes. The fridge is also stocked with small 50ml bottles of liquor, they provide one Bacardi rum, two vodka’s and one Jameson whisky. You get one small bag of regular Lays chips. As for water, they normally leave one or two 1 Liter bottles. However with a little one, we found we needed much more (Cleaning baby bottles, spoons etc..) so we asked for more and they gladly provided a case of 12 bottles every two to three days. The 32” flat screen TV had a nice amount of channels available and had a good dozen or so English channels. The AC was pretty powerful and quiet at least in our room. Note that the AC will not function if the balcony door is not closed. The electrical power of the room including the AC only works when you insert your room card into a small slot at the interior entrance of the room. It’s a little annoying but over time you get used to it. If removed, the power stays on for 2 minutes before everything shuts off. You can choose to leave the card in the slot that way the AC works continuously while you’re out but for security reasons, it is not recommended. The balcony is a decent size with one round table and two chairs. The lighting in the room at night is not that bright, personally I would have liked higher wattage bulbs.
Keep in mind that the mini fridge is not a fridge, it’s actually an ice box/cooler that keeps things cool but not cold. All rooms in this resort are identical, the only difference is the location and whether or not you have a view of the pools, gardens or the Punta Cana resort next door.
I would recommend blocks 90, 91 and 92. If you’re traveling with children that require to be in a stroller, I would recommend the ground floor. Although we had the second floor, we did not mind going up and down the stairs. For others though, you may want to consider the ground floor.
The room itself had good soundproofing however you can hear others from time to time in the main hallway coming and going. I think that had more do to with our location of being next to the stairs as opposed to further away down the hallway. The hallways are carpeted to reduce noise.
Beach/pool towels are already provided in your room inside the closet along with slippers, bathrobes, iron, safe and one large umbrella. Power in the rooms is the same as North American Standards, my European friends will need to bring an adapter.
I did use their laundry services to wash a couple of T-Shirts and shorts. The cost per T-Shirt is $1.50 and $2.00 U.S for each shorts. The overall prices for laundry are very reasonable. The charges are billed to your room so you pay them when you check out.

WIFI/INTERNET: Wi-Fi is provided for free in the lobby for one hour a day. The connection speed is decent. However if you want to have full service and a better connection speed, you will need to purchase a card at the lobby shop or go online through Kubiwireless and purchase either one week ($49.00) one day ($15.00) or one hour ($8.00) in U.S Funds. If you purchase any of these, then you will have Wi-Fi all over the resort including the pool and beach areas.
Keep in mind that the minute you connect, the system will start counting down the time you have left even if you disconnect.

MEDICAL: They do have a medical clinic that is located at the Punta Cana resort next to the Pueblo. The doctor is available 24 hours/7 days a week. I recommend packing your own first aid kit with basic supplies. Medication and supplies are very expensive in the Dominican. Example, one small bottle 177ml of Hawaiian Tropic SPF50 sun lotion costs $20.00 U.S.


POOLS/BEACH/WATER PARK: There are two large lake style pools on the property. The largest is near the beach and is the busier of the two. Note that the larger pool is warm during the day and does not cool you off enough. The smaller pool for whatever reason is cooler and more refreshing. In the center of the resort there is an adult’s only Jacuzzi section. The beach is simply beautiful, the sand is very fine and the staff clears the sea weed every morning and grooms the beach. There are enough Palapa’s for everyone, during our stay the hotel was at 110% capacity. I will say that the towel game is very much alive and well but I always found a spot close to the ocean or at the main pool. The only thing that really upset me was certain people’s indifference towards occupying Palapa’s that were clearly marked for disabled customers near the beach, shame on you. In the mornings between 9:30AM and 11:30AM the staff offer yoga lessons on the beach, followed by dancing lessons and volleyball. They do have waiters patrolling the beach and pool area’s but found the service to be a little inconsistent. Just 30 seconds away to the left, you can go to Punta Cana’s beach bar yourself for drinks because the Esmeralda does not have its own beach bar. You would have to go the pool bar for service or to the Arrecife snack bar.
The children’s water Park is a little far but well worth it. Word of advice, be there by 9:30AM to make sure you get a good spot because it fills up fast. The water is very cool and refreshing, even the adults were enjoying it. They have a small snack bar on site for drinks and some burgers with hotdogs for lunch. They have Palapa’s for shade so don’t worry.

BUSES/TRAMS: Since the complex of the Bahia Principe is huge, they have these little open air buses that pick you up from the Esmeralda to take you to the Punta Cana/Bavaro lobby. They pass by every 5 minutes or so. Word of advice, there are two bus stops for the Esmeralda, one is to the left of building 93 and the other is to the right of building 90. Go the stop next to building 90 because if you go to the second bus stop, you won’t have anywhere to sit. All the spots are taken before they even reach the second stop. We did walk it just to see how long it would take and it really takes 10 to 12 minutes from the Esmeralda to reach the Punta Cana lobby. Note that if you want to go to the Bahia Scouts Water Park, you will need to be dropped off at the Punta Cana lobby. At which point you will need to take another bus that specifically goes to the water park which is 2 minutes away by bus and about 5 to 6 minutes by foot.

SHOWS: There are no shows at the Esmeralda, you will need to go the Punta Cana for that. Either the Tropicana Theatre or at the Pueblo Principe which has nightly shows. Note they have a Caribbean Dance show at the Pueblo every Friday that costs $15.00 USD to get in. This is the only time that you would have to pay to see a show. My recommendation is to see the Michael Jackson show which is held every Monday at the Tropicana Theatre. It’s a very good show and the performer that plays Michael does a great impersonation. Note that they perform two identical shows, one at 8:15PM and another at 9:20PM. So if you miss the 8:15PM show you can see it again later on. This goes for all the shows at the Tropicana Theatre. The Tropicana Theatre is a covered outdoor theatre that also has a bar and bathrooms, so getting drinks or going to the potty is very convenient. Bring mosquito repellent when going to the Tropicana Theatre and dress very lightly. Once the theatre fills up with people it gets very hot even though they have ceiling fans.

PUEBLO PRINCIPE/SHOPPING/LOBBY SHOP: The pueblo is a large outdoor/indoor shopping mall if I can call it that. They have small vendors with carts that sell little trinkets and souvenirs. They have indoor air conditioned stores that sell t-shirts, hats, hand bags/beach bags and other souvenirs. They also have a cigar/liquor store, small Casino and a club/karaoke where all the teens go to get drunk and act like jackasses. Prices for the most part are all the same throughout the Bahia Principe resorts but this is the place you can haggle instead of the lobby shops where the prices are fixed.
The Esmeralda’s lobby shop is small in comparison with the other resorts lobby shops. However they do have the basic necessities. You can purchase bottles of rum, coffee, Mama Juana along with some basic toiletries and souvenirs. They also have a small humidor with a limited selection of cigars as well. I suggest Punta Cana’s lobby shop, it’s much bigger and has a larger selection.

FOOD: The food at the Esmeralda buffets is so much better than the buffet’s at the Punta Cana/Bavaro. All guests staying at the Esmeralda have access to all of the other Bahia Principe Resorts including their buffets. Keep in mind that the Ambar is over 18 so those with kids cannot enter unless you leave them behind. There are two buffets at the Esmeralda, the Jazmin which is next to the lobby and by far our favorite. The other is the Los Geranios at the far end of the resort. It felt more like an A La Carte than a buffet. If you go to the Jazmin, you will be greeted by Diane. She is always with a smile and is very polite, she will squirt a little bit of hand sanitizer on your hands as she greets you. Keep in mind that whenever you visit a buffet or restaurant no matter which resort in the Bahia Principe complex, they will squirt some sanitizer on your hands before walking in. When you walk into the Jazmin buffet, turn you head to the left towards the washrooms and you will see “Oranje” in his white and pink work clothes ready at a moment’s notice to pick up anything that fell on the floor. He’s 48 has 7 kids and is also a grandfather. Our daughter would drop her toys on the floor and he would swoop in to pick them up every time. Please, if you see him give him a little tip, he deserves it just as much as the waiters.
We only went to one A La Carte which is the Garden Grill. We liked the buffet so much that we did not go to any other restaurants. The garden grill is ok, nothing to write home about but you should give it a go at least once.
During lunch time, I suggest going to the Arrecife snack bar. It’s an outdoor buffet style snack bar that has a very good and wide selection. You can go to the other buffets as well but our favorite was to relax at the snack bar. Don’t be fooled, it’s pretty big and although it is an outdoor buffet, it is covered and has ceiling fans which made it very comfortable.
I will mention that this resort offers a 24 hour limited room service menu, however we never used it. Very basic breakfast, lunch and dinner menu (Yogurts, fruits, toast, Hamburger with fries, Hot Dog with Fries, BLT and basic deserts).

MOSQUITO’S: Oddly enough we did not see or get bit while we were at the Esmeralda, however the minute we went to the other resorts we were eaten alive. Our daughter was devoured when we were at the Tropicana Theatre to watch a show for the first time. Luckily I brought repellent from home so the next time out we were prepared. Note that according to pediatricians and pharmacists, mosquito repellents for children/Infants should not contain more than 10% Deet in them.

SPA: The spa at the Esmeralda is very relaxing, my wife ended up taking a one hour full body massage and she could not have been happier, the cost was $95.00 U.S. They have other services for a reasonable price as well. The minute you walk in, they have a very pleasant and relaxing aroma that starts to relax you immediately. Either that or the super cool air conditioning was doing the trick. Either way it’s highly recommended.

STAFF: I would be remiss if I did not mention Richard Morales the hotel supervisor and Natalia the director. They both were very pleasant and made sure that our stay was as comfortable as possible.
They went out of their way for my family and we appreciated their kindness and understanding.
Other staff members are well worth mentioning, however we lost the list of names we had written down on a piece of paper and feel terrible about it. Our butler did an amazing job providing us with scented pillows and surprising us with a romantic candle light bath on our last night. It was very much appreciated by my wife and I, thank you.

As far as family resorts go, you will not be disappointed in the Esmeralda. It has everything a family needs to enjoy a nice and relaxing vacation. It goes without saying that we recommend this resort not only for it’s location, amenities and services but because of the people that work there. They are the ones that make the difference at the end of the day. Without them, it’s just another resort.
On behalf of my wife and daughter, I would like to thank the Esmeralda and it’s staff, we had a great time and hope to return one day.
Feel free to message me should you have any questions.

Had a great time with our NY friends, see you guys soon.

Room Tip: I would recommend blocks 90, 91 and 92, either 2nd or 3rd floors with pool view. If you’re traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank cndboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely proud to read that you keep us loyalty. I do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. It is wonderful to know that this is one the best all-inclusive and we are proud that you and family are enchanted with our Resort now.

Rest assured that it is a compliment to forward your comments to staff, especially Natalia and Richard Morales, who made anything to make your stay a wonderful one.

Thank you for this detailed review about the service and all the facilities that our special clients can find here.

Feel free to contact us for a future stay in order to prepare all the details before arrival, and make your next visit the most unforgettable experience in the Caribbean.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,427
    1,415
    562
    177
    133
See reviews for
2,584
2,795
73
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,535)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were in Dom Rep for a week and spent the first few days exploring the entire country with friends from there. Our last few days were going to be relaxing and fun. We decided to pick Grand Bahia Principe for location and price.

If you are driving there it is a bit difficult to locate. My only major complaint would be to post more signs.

Once we arrived we were greeted at the desk and informed that we were going to be upgraded for free (free is always good)! We boarded a golf cart on steroids and were carried away to out section of the resort. This resort if HUGE (but I will get back to that later).

When we arrived at our called Esmeralda we were greeted with a very friendly staff. Our room was ready and we were shown o our room by our butler ANNY (yes I said butler!). She showed us the room and all the amenities that were included.

Anny was so great! She made our experience better than we could ever believe. She even stayed late a couple days to make sure we had everything we needed. She offered to press our clothes and we took her up on that offer one night. It was for our anniversary dinner. We didn't think anything of it. When we returned to our room Anny strikes again. She stayed two hours after her shift to decorate our room. From the banner on the door to rose petals all over the floor, to large bubble bath and candles in a heart shape in the center of the floor. Suggestion to anyone going to this resort ask for Anny!

The rest of the resort was wonderful! The pools close way to early but they are very clean. The poolside bars are great and had a great time meeting people from all over the world. The beaches were amazing and also very clean.

The food was ok! We didn't have anything that we did not like.

In the end we had a great time. Take about $100 in ones for tips. Yes it is an all inclusive but the staff really appreciates the tips. The service is great but a few dollars in tips and the service is amazing! That few dollars you tip the bartender through out the day may equal an hour or two of their pay!

I am going to write a more detailed blog on: http://www.travelblog.org/Bloggers/GeorgeRuiz/296892-rss.xml

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CoastieGeorge73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Anny your butler, who organized you a special decoration to celebrate your anniversary, will be delighted with your acknowledgment and gratefulness. It is a pleasure to know that you took the time to enjoy and meet my beautiful country and you found everything is wonderful here.

Hope to meet you when you come back and enjoy an all-inclusive holiday with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osawatomie, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Still here, 3rd day, and I regret booking this place! To be fair, I have never done an AI before, and was really excited to get a "5star" resort, it wasn't cheap,but it was available. And considered "luxury"! Idon't know what a 5 star resort means, but from the experience so far it means a HUGE resort on nice sand by the ocean (don't be tricked, the ocean is not clear, and there is foliage in it) with a staff that is on the verge on rude and far less than helpful. Here are a few examples:
Walking to the service desk, my darling husband a few steps behind, I smile at a female worker. My husband saw her smile back at me and then roll her eyes as soon as she passed.
24 hr room service says delivered in 45 min or less.....uh, more like 2-3 hrs if AT ALL! They didn't but hey, 1 out of 3 ain't bad!
The pools close at 6 or 7 which I may be able to understand if life guards couldn't see because it was dark, but there aren't life guards, so it is silly that they are closed. Btw, the pools aren't cool, more like Luke warm, but I know that isn't in their control.
The rooms are nice, too. Just like the photos, but the stains on the sheets are concerning. And the llimescale and rust build up in the bathroom isn't pretty. Neither are the scuff marks on the floor.
I am determined to have a good time despite throwing away so much money. Again, I don't know what a 5 star is supposed to be like, but in my opinion, all things considered, I'd rate it at a 3 star, 3.5 would be way too generous. I will edit this before I leave, and aim hoping I can change all this!

Room Tip: Go to Ambar instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Molly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Molly,

Thank you for bringing to our attention these comments. I would like to take this opportunity to extend our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay at our hotel.

We are seriously devoted to value our customer´s feedback. For this reason, we kindly ask you to contact our Guest Service Department in order to analyze the situations you pointed out.

Always at your disposal,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We just returned after spending 7 nights at Grand Bahia Luxury Esmeralda in Punta Cana. It was a good experience (not excellent), the resort was clean and very well maintained. There are two amazing pools and one Jacuzzi. The food was good with a variety of dishes, no issues finding something you like. However; for a 5 Star hotel, they serve only local beer (President) which sucks. If one wants an import beer has to pay for it. They serve only a limited variety of whisky or brandy. For good brands you have to pay and it is not cheap ($12). For a better wine they charge $22 a bottle. As for the internet, they give you only 60 minutes a day in one connection. There is the option to purchase internet for $50/7days. All the bars are closed at 11;30. I was enjoying a brandy when at 11:30 pm the waitress came to me with a plastic cup and asked me to spill the brandy from the glass cup in the plastic one. UNACCEPTABLE for a 5 Star hotel. It was my second time at Grand Bahia and I doubt I will go back again. Good resort, but not Five star.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Adrian,

We are seriously committed to the achievement of our guests' satisfaction. Your opinion is one of our top priorities and all feedback from our guests is valued and I deeply regret the difficulties you experienced in your second time with us and we are sorry for not being able to fulfill your expectations and because you found this is not a 5 star.

I hope you change your decision because I want that you come back in the future!!

Hugs,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed a week end of Jun/beg. of July at Esmeralda and it was a very relaxing vacation for us. Room was large and nice. The first room we had in Building 95 was missing a doorknob in the bathroom, we moved to Building 97 mid-stay and we found both buildings quiet, which we liked. Loved the beach, sand was very soft, a lot of palapas available, the kids loved the swimming pools and the waterpark. Thank you to Elizet, our butler, who took care of our dining reservations and prepared a bubble bath with balloons for the kids. They absolutely loved it! We emailed our dining reservations a week in advance but some restaurants were closed, so Elizet was here to help. Some of the restaurants were good (Don Pablo & Garden Grill), some okay (Bella Italia & Tex Mex) and others we found not so good (El Pescador & Mikado). The buffets were so-so, liked the breakfast at the Los Geranios, tried the lunch and dinner at Jazmin once each (the food was warm, not hot when we were there). Also had lunch at the Arrecife a few times as closer to the beach (food was okay). Went to the theatre twice to watch the Circus show and the Michael Jackson show, quite entertaining. Tried a few cocktails at the bars, loved it! We enquired about the kids club but since our kids were of different age groups (under 4 and above 6), they would be separated to different locations (quite far apart), we did not find that convenient for us. Overall we found the people friendly, service was okay, and the hotel grounds well maintained. We had a really good time at the Esmeralda and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monstersfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate that you have chosen our Resort for a relaxing week at Dominican Republic. Your new friend/butler Elizet, who took excellent care of you during your stay, will be proud to read that you are so grateful and your kids too. Please rest assured that it is wonderful that you recommend us to anyone.

I am looking forward to seeing you soon in the paradise ¡Punta Cana!

Greetings,

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Repentigny, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Came back Sunday July 20th 2014 after 7 days at the Esmeralda. Let's start with the room, good size and very clean. The cleaning staff is very good, room was always nicely done and there was always some flowers and towel sculptures on our bed. As for the food, it was good (not great). The service at the restaurant needs to be reviewed as some point...missing some utensils almost every time, glass or napkins. Beach was nice even if there was some weed...not enough to keep us away, plenty of space and chairs but again you have to get up early to get the nicest spot.Please be advised that they will try to sell you some time sharing, they will tell you that you have win a price and to pick it up at the lobby...don't go there.
In conclusion, don't pay more than $1175 for a week and if you have the choice between there and a 5 * in Playa Del Carmen well don't hesitate " Playa Del Carmen"

bye

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigDan259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Dan,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. Guest experiences are the key ingredient to analyze our daily performance and help us to make improvements in our services. Thanks for highlighting the good job made by housekeeping staff, who made the special details for you.

Hoping to welcome you in the near future!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My stay of 8 days at the Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection was absolutely amazing the staff was amazing. They spoke english and taught anyone interested espanol. The buffet on the property had a wide aray of gourmet choices and local favourites my compliments to the chefs who made every breakfast lunch and dinner a true tasty experience that made you want more. My experience would not have been 5 star without the presence of my super amazing butler Yuleyda. She made sure we were taken care of at all times, we knew where all the interesting things to do were as well as recommending the amazing pillow choices which i absolutely loved the MANGO and lavender pillows so nice. Any time we had a question we called the line and she was there to help us out and we were truly appreciative she went as far to recommend a fellow butler to look after us on her day off she really helped make this experience amazing and ive told all my friends and they will definately be looking for her assisstance when they book their stay at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. THANK YOU SO MUCH YULEYDA AND LUXURY BAHIA PRINCIPE ESMERELDA

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viancagraciano, customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Lee,

Thank you for posting a review of your experience in Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. We are proud that you have choosen our Resort to spend 8 amazing days.

Thank you for mentioning your amazing butler Yuleyda, who was a wonderful person with you and made everything for you and you will recommend her excellent service!!

I wish to host you once again at all-inclusive luxury hotels in the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.4 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 111 in Punta Cana
947 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,743 reviews
38.2 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
16.1 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 111 in Punta Cana
3,269 reviews
52.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free of charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (free of charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing