We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda
Nearby Hotels
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$335
$261
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$370
$315
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$160
$125
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$328
$230
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$205
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$516
$403
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$346
$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$465
$311
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$259
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,461)
Filter reviews
7,461 results
Traveler rating
4,819
1,594
656
223
169
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,819
1,594
656
223
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pablojazmin buffetgarden grilla la carte restaurantsprivilege clubscented pillowsbutler servicelobby bargala nightother resortsguest servicesel pescadorthomas cookle gourmetemailed the hoteldominican republicambar section
Filter
Updating list...
2,920 - 2,925 of 7,461 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you want a vacation with lots to do or a vacation where you "veg out" then this resort hotel will meet your requirements. You can make your vacation what you want. The beach and pool areas are lovely. The gardens are well kept . The rooms are quite comfortable and very clean. There are many choices of food in the buffet restaurants. I think if the resort would concentrate on quality rather than quantity it would improve the food service. There are also many restaurants with different themes that you can visit as long as you make reservations. Now this is where you learn a well kept secret! If you book thru the hotel and not thru any other agency you can make your reservations for a restaurant before arriving via the Internet . Making reservations before arriving allows you to chose the restaurant and the night you would like to dine there rather than getting a reservation when and where it is available. Another plus with making your reservation thru the hotel is that you will get preferential treatment with your room or building requests.
One other suggestion, if you want a vacation where you want to "veg out" and enjoy a good book without getting disturbed by screaming children or getting wet with their pool dives make your reservation at the "adult only" hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smach66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear customer,

It is good to know to read that you make your vacation what you want and we were able to exceed your expectations with your requirements.

Thank you very much for your suggestions and for mentioning the lovely beach and pool, comfortable and clean rooms and the variety of food.

We hope to cater you in the near future in our premises to provide you another amazing trip in one of our all-inclusive luxury hotels on the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I are in our early 30s, we stayed at the Esmeralda Feb. 15th-22nd 2014.
We were in the 3rd floor of building 91…very close to everything. The food was great as far as we were concerned, very good buffets and A La Cartes. Also I ordered Room Service a couple times after we got back to the room, it was fast and fresh for being after midnight.
After a few days at on the Esmeralda side we spent most of the rest of our time over at the Ambar pool and beach just because we left our two kids with the their grandparents and wanted to be kid free for a few days. Either way both beaches and pools were great! Biggest and really only disappointment was that we really like Bacardi White Rum and they don't have it at any of the bars or to sell in the shops, though our butler Victor was able to procure us a couple mini bottles everyday. Big thanks to Victor who also had the room decorated very nice for my wife's birthday! Also we ordered pillow service from our butler everyday, this was nice. We ended up liking Chamomile the best! Definitely make your A La Carte reservations via email before you go and take a copy of the email with you to show guest services when getting your dining tickets. Also make sure to take advantage of the restaurants at the Ambar…Don Pablo (which was the only place that guys REALLY HAD TO wear pants in the whole resort), Portofino, and El Olive. The Ambar lobby at night is more lively too (it's set up more open than the Esmeralda lobby).
The Michael Jackson Show and the Cirques show are good…after that you could do better things with your time. STAY AWAY from the center of the main shopping square by the casino! I've never seen such pushy people trying to sell you stuff, I guess that goes for anywhere you go up and down the beach too! If you go in the shops it may cost more but they leave you alone to look around. We want to go back and we probably will in the next couple years, we would recomend it, go have fun!!!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor of building 91 facing away from the pool and it was pretty quiet. The staircases are very narrow so theres a lot of waiting to get by somebody else that's going up or down. The building back by the kids pool is newer if you want to request that to get the most up to date rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Ben,

Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed this amazing experience thank to the brilliant treatment from our staff at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you once again in a couple of years and continue creating memorable experiences for you at our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Dominican Republic.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was our 3rd time at this resort and again I was in heaven! I love everything about this resort ! The grounds are just amazing the beach is stunning. The staff the service I love everything about the Esmeralda .
Thank you to Juana and Cristian for their amazing service at the Jasmin and also to Charlie at the reception and so many others wich I don't remember There names .I was there the end of January and planning to come back the first week of May see you soon!!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Lidia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialmedia b, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Client,

Your gratefulness have been forwarded to our staff at the Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, they are happy to know that you appreciate their hard work and amazing service. We are pleased to read that during your third time in our Resort you loved everything about us.

Thank you so much, we are extremely proud with this comment!!! Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at the Ambar in January 2013 and wanted to go back but it was sold out. We booked the Esmeralda knowing it was located close to the beach. We were not disappointed. We were there from March 1 - 7. Our mixup during check-in was resolved by our Butler Victor. What a nice surprise this was to be assigned a butler. He doesn't wait on you or service you constantly. Instead, when he sees you, as he was always walking around, checks in with you to see if you have any needs and if so quickly has them attended to or resolved. Really, what needs can you have anyway. It is an all-inclusive so he made it extra special. We would find surprises in our room when we would come back from the day of fun in the sun and after dinner. Thank you Victor.

We were a couple and I think because this was our second time there we were able to eat at any of the buffet restaurants, so we went to the Ambar every night just because it was quiet and more relaxing. Nothing wrong with the Esmeralda we just preferred the Ambar.

The staff, no matter who it was, acknowledged you as you passed them and smiled. Very friendly.

We left tips when we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner. We tipped when we were served drinks. It was appreciated.

The place is well maintained.

We are going back again next year. Looking forward to what other surprises might await us when we get to our room.

Room Tip: We were in Villa 92 which was convenient to all. 90, 91 and 93 were also convenient to all.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Diana,

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed for second time our installations and facilities.

Please feel free to contact us prior your next visit, in which we will make sure that you experience one more time the hospitality of our people and the quality of our services.

We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you next year again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.

We wish you all the best!!

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We visited the Esmeralda from Feb.16th-March 2nd. From the late evening checkin, to our late checkout, we were charmed. Having been a hotel concierge, the 40 steps from getting off the airplane to arriving in the room were all met. No worries nor holdbacks...we were greeted top notch at reception A+! We e-mailed our requests for preference of room (building 91) and à-la-carte restaurants prior to our arrival and, to our surprise, they were all met. The next day, we scoped out the premises, walked around, took the mini bus and made familiar with all the places and amenities we had for our stay. We were kept busy and entertained the whole time!
On the second day, we met the Manager of the Esmeralda, Richard Morales who assisted us with our inquiries so kindly and efficiently, which led us to have such a great holiday. Thanks Richard, you're the best!
We enjoyed many late nights at the snack bars by the beach being served by Zamora (I hope that I spelled your name correctly!) who was so great, had our drinks (beer or wine that is) right on our table before we even had a chance to sit down. May I say that the food there was always super fresh and quality controlled and very tasty. Heads up to the whole crew working the late night shift.
The food was as great in the buffets as in the à la carte restaurants...Our Favorite à la carte by far was the Gourmet and second was Mikado (Merci Jackie Chan!).
We often enjoyed the Adult only pool at the Ambar and met up with friends who were staying there. We also ran into the Ambar GM Luis Marino who was also very pleasant to talk to, very humble and quite the people person...great presence!
The room we had was spacious, always clean (gracias Kirshey!), loved the hard bed and clean sheets with great turndown service.
All in all were greeted as "family" and seems so rightful after spending 2 weeks there. Thank you to Josephina and Maximo at the Lobby bar, your energies are infectuous!

We love traveling and gotta say that this is a place to visit... Enjoy!

Room Tip: Buidings 90 or 91 are close to beach and pool..
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChimVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Client,

Your lovely compliments have been shared with all our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda team, who are extremely pleased to hear that their work is appreciated. Bahia Principe strongly believes that our guest’s satisfaction depends on the daily performance of our staff, who with their effort and dedication, created you a wonderful experience.

Thank you for preferring Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana

Vianca Graciano
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews