We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terry, 1st time Esmeralda, 3rd time Bahia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #30 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Terry, 1st time Esmeralda, 3rd time Bahia”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were a group of 8 and weather was just amazing! New building is being built and no noise. As a big group, we had no choice for reserving restaurants...always full. Great beach area but the volleyball was a disruption because it was to close to the people. Great sport but should be placed in a less crowded area. A big thank you to William Castro for an excellent service at the buffet and Sandra at the lobby bar. Also, Carlos. At the snack bar was very pleasant and would quickly arrange to accommodate us.

Room Tip: We had room 91011, 1st time on ground floor, facing pool bar and I would recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryMP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

Thank you for your suggestions.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

Kind regards,

Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,368
    1,396
    550
    174
    129
See reviews for
2,550
2,751
73
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,518)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The resort was more than expected. Amenities, service and food left nothing to be desired. Evening entertainment could be improved to include more live performances rather than the midi or pre-recorded variety - a rather minor complaint. The beach was exquisite - there was never a lack of beach chairs or shady spots. I was struck by the cleanliness of the whole layout.
Excursions from the resort are mainly aimed at the younger set (I'm a senior). We did enjoy a tour into the countryside in an air conditioned 4X4 SUV which was well orchestrated by our tour guide Eddy. In summary, we would certainly return to this well managed resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharkster01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is marvelous to learn that our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection was more than expected. All our staff will be happy to hear that they made you holiday so enjoyable.

Your suggestions about the evening entertainment have been taken in the highest consideration and have been forwarded to the General Manager of our Resort.

Hoping to see you soon in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana.

Yours sincerely,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was my second time at the Esmeralda last time we were two couples this time we were four. We had a great time the weather was perfect couldn't ask for a better week. If you want to book the specialty restaurants do it right away or you will be dissapointed. The grounds were kept clean, room service twice a day staff very friendly. The resort is expanding with a new building being constructed but we weren't disturbed at all from construction noises. The beach area is one of the best I didn't like the placement of the volleyball court took away chair space and chances are you will get the ball off the head if your sitting nearby, don't get me wrong I love volleyball I just think it should have been placed in a less crowded area. A thank you to William Castro for the excellent service he gave us at the buffet restaurants and Sandra at the lobby bar.

Room Tip: Resort is small so any building you stay at you're less than a minute from the beach but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinof18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection as your holiday destination. We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback that assists us to continue improving and valuing our service.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in Punta Cana.

Best regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic holiday. The hotel and food were superb and the staff even better. A great big thank you to Yilberto ( pool bar) and Victor (room service) for making our holiday extra special. We enjoyed it so much we will be returning next year and we never go anywhere twice! The food was excellent and all the waiting staff are a credit to the company. Plenty of choice in the buffet restaurant and the speciality restaurants are second to none. The resort was immaculate and the accommodation luxurious. Did a few trips and highly recommend the mega-trucks, Sonoa Island and especially the Caribbean Buccaneer night, tremendous and great value for the money. Went to Dom Rep about 12 years ago and can only say it has definitely got better with age. I would usually list a few negative points now but I'm struggling to think of any the only bad point was that we had to leave and come home. Can't wait to return next year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitchjagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience and for highlighting our plenty excellent food selection and friendly people. We fell so proud to know that you entitling us as immaculate and luxurious resort.

For all our team working is satisfying to know that we provided you a fantastic vacation.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana

Always at your disposal,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a lovely time - 1st time at "Esmeralda" - 2nd time at Grand Bahia Principe next time we will opt for the Adults only resort there were loads of children which means stollers, running,crying, screaming etc... not for us. Beach was spectacular, weather HOT and Sunny - rained only 1 day out of 7 but still warm just the same. Staff are very accomodating, their english improves every trip down which is a pleasure for those who don't speak Spanish. Only downfall - our luggage was not brought to our Hotel Room (which we were told to leave it will be brought for you) so we did as were were told. Well 5pm the day we arrived (arrived at 12 noon) it was still in the lobby all by itself. My husband brought the two pieces up himself.Room service - great. Best service is from our Butler Marilennis - she made the trip so special, scented pillows, ice brought to room around 4pm, bubble bath drawn with rose petals - now that's a nice touch!!! Dinning room staff Broudy is the best, he really goes out of his way to make your dinning experience the most enjoyable - very attentive - he hustles to make everything perfect. He works in the Buffet and Italian restaurant. Two Improvements: 1)when making reservations for the A La Carte - make sure you get the restaurants in your area otherwise you will be sent across to the other side of the whole complex (45 minute walk) to a restaurant in an area you don't want to be. 2) Arriving at the airport from Toronto, you are to find your "Shuttle" Bus to the Resort - they need better signage so people are not scrambling, and the person handing out the "resort packages" should do it on the bus not on the ground before you board the bus, they have alist of our names, just check our names off the list, that way you know we are on the bus, once the bus is enroute, then hand out the packages...to much waiting time - then when we get to the resort we sat on the bus for 40 minutes not sure to this day why? This process needs to be improved - too much unnecessary delay!!!

Room Tip: Choose the top floor if your health/legs permitt so you don't have someone with high heels clipi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Luxury Bahia Principe for your second visit to our resort. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your vacation.

Thank you for your nice comments and for highlighting our Butler Marilennis she going to be very happy to know that she was able to help and contribute in creating this trip especial for you.

We would like to cater you once again at Dominican Republic to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana

Looking forward to seeing you in the future!

Best regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

BEWARE: Do not under any circumstance book a wedding here, You will get nickel and dimmed for everything, and will not get what you paid for.

If you are planning a wedding here I suggest you read this review carefully. Here it's goes....

On the day of the wedding I was told by Minea , one of the wedding coordinators (not sure of spelling but bleached blond hair) that if the bride did not pay for the wedding in full prior to 11:00am their won't be a wedding, too bad too sad. It's not like the bride and groom were trying to skip the bill! They had gone down to reception the night before and spoke to Eddie at the front desk. Eddie was the one that turned them away after they waited in the lobby for a full hour! To blackmail the bride moments before she is about to walk down the aisle and to try to make her pay while under duress?

We were dealing with this nonsense when we should have been taking family photos. As a result of this incident, the wedding ended up being over an hour delayed! Even at this point Minea would not take any responsibility! When I told her there would be a lot of upset people she just said that's perfect in a very condescending tone. This occurred after Smerling and Carlos were rude to ask at the front desk when we were trying to rectify the situation

Once we finally made it to the wedding venue which was on the beach on the Bavaro, the wedding coordinators (there were 6 assigned to our group) they were all huddled in the back having a great old time with one another enjoying our refreshments! They didn't even keep the path clear for the bride when she made her entrance down the aisle. There were people walking through our wedding venue which had been marked off. I don't blame the guests entirely although it is common sense you don't walk through someone's wedding but the wedding coordinators.

The wedding ceremony was a religious ceremony where alcohol was strictly prohibited. There were people walking into the closed off wedding and going right up to the gazebo where the bride and groom were having their wedding and the coordinators did nothing to stop people. We wouldn't have cared if people were just watching from outside the boundary lines but to cross the line and go right up to the gazebo is so rude!

Next is the reception. Everyone is having a great time and we have the venue until 12 midnight. The air conditioning was turned off at 10:30pm so that everyone clears out in time! As a result of this we had an elderly woman in our group as well as a small child that got sick! There was no wedding coordinator to be found! Anytime we had an issue with the wedding staff we were told by reception that the manager was either in a meeting or off. That went for the assistant manager and his assistant. Only time we were able to speak to a manager was when we went to a meeting for timeshare! How convenient!

Oh and good luck trying to get a refund on the things they don't deliver to you.

Transportation to and from wedding venues was also supposed to be taken care and that was also an empty promise. We had people in our group which could not walk and they were turned away.

Forgot to mention we had a private poolside event a few days before the wedding and we had asked the wedding coordinator Minea for some bottled water as it was extremely hot that day. She told me know she could not do that and it would cost extra. Are you kidding me? You are going to charge for water at an all inclusive?

Overall I would never return to this hotel or a Bahia Principe Chain for that matter. The lack of service and disrespect that the guests received was intolerable. I not only blame those staff members but the management as well. Not once was there and apology, and nor did they care to make it right.

Even after all this we managed to have an amazing week but that was no thanks to the Bahia staff.

I will give credit where it is deserved so I will say the grounds area beautiful, it's clean, bar service was ok and so was the maid service. I have had better but I don't care about that. What I do care about is being spoken down to and the way the wedding coordinators treated our group.

Do yourself a favour and have your wedding elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you have any difficulty walking stay on the ground floor as there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel.

We regret not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ entire satisfaction. Please be assured that your observations have been taken in the highest consideration.

Kind regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I just returned from my 2 Nd trip to the grand bahia principe bavaro resort. We had visited this resort in April and stayed at the Esmeralda section of the resort, that we needed to go back again and were moved to Esmeralda again! And we are so happy about that, it feels like home. Once we arrived we were greeted by our friend Niconor who was so helpful the first time we where there. He greeted us as well as our friends with big hugs and smiles like old friends. He immediately asked if he could do anything for us & then Charli stepped in and was incredibly accommodating. I must have bothered him at least 5 times but e greeted me each time with a big smile. Drinks were served while we waited for our rooms which only took 5 minutes and then vacation was officially on its way. I love the Esmeralda's proximity to the beach, the pools are always clean, and the staff willing to get you what you need to make your stay comfortable. The only down part to my short stay was that the restaurants were very booked so we where not able to eat at Takara, but we ate at the Italian restaurant which was good. ( my daughter had delicious chicken & we all had the steak with risotto ) my recommendation is make your reservations while you are checking in. We stayed in tower 96 which was as nice as 95 from our previous trip. There is coffee and tea with cookie snacks in the lobby area which we enjoyed everyday. As with many resorts, people are now reserving chairs early in the morning and disappearing leaving no seating at the beach so hopefully the resort will fix this. Other then that, the 2nd time around was great and the friends that came with us liked it just as much. Hopefully there will be a 3rd trip very soon. To our friends in the resort, Niconor, Charli & Natividade the maid ( who made a little bed in the couch for my daughter) thank you for taking the extra time to make our trip perfect. Adios from the "bodigero"

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Sildi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
It is with great joy that we read your post and to see that you acknowledge our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection as your Home

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and continue providing the most extraordinary experiences.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana.

Kind regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
18.4 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
3.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing