We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,656)
Filter reviews
7,656 results
Traveler rating
4,906
1,638
686
238
188
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,906
1,638
686
238
188
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pablojazmin buffetgarden grilla la carte restaurantsprivilege clubscented pillowsbutler servicelobby bargala nightguest servicesother resortsel pescadorthomas cookle gourmetemailed the hoteldominican republicbubble bath
Filter
Updating list...
3,346 - 3,351 of 7,656 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Surpassed our expectation. Buffets were awesome, quality and quantity. A la carte were fantastic- recommend Japonese. Beach out of this world. Room was large and beautiful... Perfect. Shuttles were well organized and very helpful to get around. Staff very proffessional and polite.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartineLachance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Martine.

On behalf our staff we would like to thank you for you wonderful comment regarding the service at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. In addition, we are happy to know that you enjoyed a fantastic dream come true!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana


Always at your disposal,

Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Again I booked our holiday based on TA feedback plus reports and because we had had such a fantastic holiday at the Gran Bahia Principe Luxury Don Pablo Sian Ka'an in Mexico. (November 2012)
We booked the hotel Esmeralda based on its higher rating on TA than it's sister Luxury Don Pablo hotel, the adults only Hotel Ambar. Although now their ratings are virtually identical.
Having seen both hotels there is very little to choose between them. Esmeralda is the slightly newer and still expanding family Luxury Don Pablo hotel.
As we were a couple you would have thought we would have stayed at the adult only hotel but on all the occasions we went to the Adult only Ambar, the adults were far more rowdy and much noisier than the children at the Esmeralda.

Our room 90110 in block 90 was nearest the beach and directly beside the facilities, the buffet, the 3 restaurants on site, the beach cafe, the pool and the lobby area. At the Ambar the lobby area, the buffet and one of the gourmet restaurants are a fair trek away from the beach where the beach bar and the 2 other a la carte restaurants are.
The room was excellent. Huge bed and excellent facilities, jacuzzi bath and separate shower! Mini bar is re stocked every day, but sometimes they forget to re fill it to our requirements, but a note to the cleaner made sure this was rectified for the remainder of the holiday.

At the other end of the Esmeralda complex they were building another accommodation block, right next to the other pool area. We were well away from the work and never heard a thing during the whole holiday. However if our block had been one of those near to it, I would not have been happy, yet there were loads of people still beside the pool and bars despite there being a building site not 20ft away!!

The beach is awesome, very very long and genuinely busy at all times. The sea is refreshing although the constant flow of seaweed can be off putting. The breeze is heaven sent and if it is not blowing then you are serious trouble as due to the humidity, it is very very hot most of the time. You could walk for miles down the beach in either direction if you had the mind to.

All the staff at Esmeralda were amazing and we really mean that. They were the most polite, helpful, attentive, friendly staff we have come across. To be fair whenever we explored the complex, the staff at the other hotels on the resort were also really friendly and very attentive. This is a massive complex, even bigger than the Riviera Maya complex and that seemed huge when we last visited, but there are constant shuttles driving up and down the main avenues, so easy to jump on and off and get to where you want to go.

Cannot fault any of the food from the main Esmeralda buffet area at the Jazmin, to the beach cafe and all the a la carte restaurants.
From TA I had read it was a good idea to pre book your a la carte meals and we did that 2 weeks before arriving and it worked perfectly. Sometimes they are busy and you are not able to book even a few days in advance.
The meals we preferred were all the a la carte restaurants as they made you feel you were having a special meal. One night we had a barbecue roast in one of the beach cafes and it did not feel that special and food was just ok. Restaurants we tried which we would visit again were:

Bella Italia
Don Pablo
Garden Grill
L'Olivio
Le Gourmet
Takarra
Maiko (Tepinyaki)

Warning: Only frustrating thing regarding the hotel/complex was the availability of wifi. The wifi was only available in the main lobby area. You were allowed to book in to a free service, but this service was slow and restricted access to certain emails and downloads. To get a better service you have to pay $49 for 7 days!! Also whenever you left the lobby area and returned you had to re log into the whole system, every time. I thought this was terrible considering the quality of the hotel/complex. Wifi is so common place at all the best resorts, I cannot rationalise why the Bahia complex made it so difficult to access and offer such a poor wifi service when it is accessed. I admit this was only a minor nuisance.

As has been the case when booking holidays I have thoroughly researched the hotel using TripAdvisor and again must express my thanks to all those reports I read that enabled me to chose a fabulous hotel in a fabulous resort to allow us to have another fabulous refreshing and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Block 90 is nearest to beach.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Tony,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our Hotel. We regret not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ entire satisfaction. Please be assured that your observations have been taken in the highest consideration.

We would like to state that the feedback expressed by our clients is our top priority and our main goal is to offer a service at all times according to your expectations. We are sorry that the above situations mentioned have tarnished your stay.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Kind regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Simple really! My husband and I returned from the Esmeralda on 10th Sept, had a fantastic time there is nothing to complain about. The staff are brilliant they're helpful and friendly especially Manolo. Beach is very nice, gardens well maintained, food fabulous, had two weeks of pampering. We would go back to the Esmeralda with our family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unique29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you for acknowledging our helpful and brilliant staff, especially Manolo, who will be very happy to learn that he was able to contribute in creating a fantastic trip for you.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Dominican Republic.

Kindest regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned from the Esmeralda Sept 17."Wow wonderful". All the staff are so cheerful and ready to help or just say hello to you, the restaurants are all good even the buffet ones but if you want something special try the Le Gourmet or the Don Pablo Gourmet. The beach is one of the best I have been on. We were in room 92208 and was well equipped and so clean, but you do have to tip the maids regular if you want any towel designs etc. One thing to warn stayers is the building work being carried out by room block 93 but saying that it was no hardship for us.
The only down side was Thomas Cook. it was a holiday to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary which they knew of and did nothing to make the holiday that bit more special unlike other tour operators did.

Room Tip: Blocks 91 & 92 are the best ones.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Neil,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection for your visit to Dominican Republic. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed a wonderful family vacation.

Thank you for your nice comments and for highlighting our good food, polite staff, beautiful beach, We are proud to hear that you had a great stay due to the helpfulness of our staff members.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

All-inclusive luxury hotels on Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards,


Claudia Adames
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just returned on Sept 14, 2013, from the Esmeralda, where we celebrated our 10 year anniversary, and my wife's 40th birthday. - the wife and I stayed for 1 week..

We have been to the Caribbean, previously via Carnival Cruise, and this was our first time to a resort and the Esmeralda and we cannot have had it any other way.

From the moment we arrived on Sept 7th, we were respected and treated right. On a day where we were to go for a helicopter ride, my wife got car sick, as the driver was taking curves, and braking had and going over bumps. This prevented us from taking our helicopter ride. However, once we returned back to the hotel, and we told this to Ramon, he quickly exchanged the helicopter, and gave us a gift package containing Tshirt, hat, beach towel, etc.

Overall, excellent Staff all around the resort. There are just too many people to thank with Ramon (Butler Services) & Ada (Guest Services) attended to our needs and did all they can to please us . They made sure we had everything we wanted and needed. Ramon was awesome. So were all the waiters, butlers, cleaners, bartenders, etc.

The Good: Very good & friendly service. Good choice and quality of buffets. Access to various pools and restaurants throughout the resort. A kid friendly zone with access to a water park (we came without our son, so we didn't go there)

The Bad: For me as a espresso coffee lover, the coffee bar in the lobby opened at 08:00, and would be nice if it opened earlier since I was up at 7am. However, I did get my fix at the Jasmine buffet.

All in all, the wife and I loved this resort, and we plan to return next year with our 3 year old, and have yet another great time. Thanks again Ramon..

Room Tip: Didn't see alot of rooms, but I enjoyed my villa which gave us view from the pool..
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mariog68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Mario,

Thank you for acknowledging our friendly Staff. We are proud to hear that you had an excellent time in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen us for your 10th year anniversary destination.

We would love to see you next year.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,


Claudia Adames.
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews