We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
northamptonshire uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Will definitely return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

What an awesome fortnight! We have visited DR on many occasions before but first time to the Esmerelda.
The resort is really clean, there are always maintenance men tending to the grounds, painting, cleaning with a friendly Hola as you pass.
The room was gorgeous, best we've ever stayed in, there were 3 of us and our 16 yr old son slept on the sofa bed with no bother for a fortnight.
Food was lovely, varied, and we tried most of the a la carte's while we were there.
A special thanks to Jose at Guest services, one evening I was taken ill at El Pescador and left my handbag with my camera inside over the chair, he tracked it down at Security and they brought it over to the Esmerelda, I was so relieved as I really thought I had lost the camera with all the lovely photos taken on it!
The beach is very clean although crowded and we had lovely strolls in both directions paddling in the sea. The sea was quite rough while we were there but I thought it added to the fun, jumping with the waves.
There is nothing I can say that hasn't been said before, other than we have never felt inclined to return anywhere before but we will definitely return to the beautiful Esmerelda in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank treesrbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you back again in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. We are delightful to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your first visit to our premises.

Don´t hesitate in contacting us prior arrival that we will be at your disposal for anything you may need.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in the Dominican Republic.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,310
    1,386
    543
    171
    126
See reviews for
2,534
2,701
73
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,504)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Thank you Jose at Guest service. You made it all happen for us. Maximo at the lobby bar, you were great. The hotel is clean throughout. tips go a long way. They do need to cater for veggetarians though. We took our own spices, and they afforded us to cook indian for 2 hours. We made extra so they kept it for us referigerated for another day day for lunch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hp1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, which we will take in the highest consideration.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this resort 7/9-16/13. As others have stated in their reviews, this is a beautiful resort but the customer service or the lack thereof SUCKS!! First, if you plan on visiting this resort and do not speak spanish, I suggest you start working with Rosetta Stone to learn quickly before your visit.

The Room:
Our room was very well kept throughout our stay. Victor (the butler) was AWESOME! We received lavendar pillows every night of our stay and returned to our room each evening to find our beds turned back and something cutesy made with towels. The air conditioning worked well. Mini bar stayed stocked. However, BRING YOUR OWN WASH CLOTHS as they do not place them in the rooms and if you try and ask for one and don't know spanish, you are [--].

Pools & Beach:
There are plenty of pools on the property. It seemed as if there were pools everywhere! However, they close way too early (6pm). The beach was very nice with way more than enough loungers.

Food:
The food was pretty good for an all inclusive resort; But there again, the wait staff was horrible. It was a great challenge getting someone to even give you a glass of water!

Alcoholic Beverages:
Very watered down. Before we discovered that Jose Cuervo was available, it was difficult to even get a little buzz. Frozen drinks were very watery made up with very cheap liquor. I'm not a big drinker (2 glasses of wine & i'm usually done) and 3 bannana mamas later I was still waiting for that warm and fuzzy feeling. NOT. So, stay away from the frozen drinks as you will just be adding unneccesary calories for absolutely no effect at all.

Lastly, please do not leave anything anywhere in this hotel because you will never see it again. As others have stated, the lost and found is non-existent.

Happy travels :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashiatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Client,

We are deeply sorry for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your vacation in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection.

We greatly appreciate your review and we regret not being able to achieve your entire satisfaction.

It´s our sincere hope to welcome you back in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Recently stayed at the hotel and our experience couldn't have been nicer. Starting with the General Manager, Mr. Pereda and his courteous and wonderful staff including but not limited to: Nicanor our wonderful porter, Ramon, Roberto who is the lobby manager, Geancarla, the wonderful hostess at the Takada Restaurant, Betsy, the always smiling lobby bartender and the great Carlos Rondon, the restaurant manager who always kept food coming and fresh. Without them, our visit and repeat stays at the hotel wouldn't be as positive as it always is.

The resort is always clean, the employees are happy and always singing and wait on you with a smile on their face at all times. The food always fresh, hot and ample for all tastes and desires.

The beach is beautiful, clean and always made very wonderful and happy with Nakko who is the person in charge of the Privilege Club beach with always a smile on his face.

I hope that the new management keeps the hotel personnel intact and they can continue to be a five star hotel as they well deserve. We have been going for six years and hope to continue going as it is a hotel where they treat us like family and are always willing to help.

Thanks Esmeralda for making us smile throughout our stay!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel are the ones closest to the beach and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Martha,

Your acknowledgments towards our staff that made all worthwhile are very valuable. Our team members play a key role in each vacation experience and messages like yours motivate us even more to provide you unforgettable stays.

Thank you for recommending Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Dominican Republic!

Warmest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were upgraded to The Esmeralda, and it was nice. The rooms and property are excellent. Pools and beaches are great! Food is plentiful, but no seasoning. Buffet at the Punta Cana lobby is great!, but still no seasoning. Only big issue is the people of Punta Cana, they don't seem to give a d!$*! Starts at the airport and goes to the resort, no one likes to smile, and they seem lazy to me. These people need to learn customer service skills, that's the only way to get repeat customers. Bartenders, waitresses, luggage boys,maids are all friendly, make sure you tip them. Front desk staff, restaurant staff are ok, but not nice. Visit the spa, do the doon buggy excursion, and definitly spend time in the pool and at the beach!

Room Tip: building 91,92,94,95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toasty00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. Guest experiences are the key ingredient to analyze our daily performance and help us to improve our services.

Hoping to welcome you in the near future!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was the first time we have chosen exactly the same place and hotel for vacation. It was because 2 years ago we very so satisfied and happy during our stay. When we arrived thsi time we notice hotel has expanded - there are now 2 additional buidlings, additional restaurants and swimming pool to be able to serve more guests. So the hotel lost a bit of its cosiness and tranquility but still it is much nicer than other beach hotels we have visited before. Food is now a bit more standard, less sophisticated but still good variety. You can see more rush at restaurants, you need to wait longer for your table to be set etc. And regarding the staff - already 2 years ago they were not polite, but this time was even worse. There are usually 3-4 staff at the desk but all pretend to be busy and ignore waiting customers. They only deal with check-in and check-out formalities, and sometimes help you when your romm key is not working (what happens too often) but in all other cases they refer you to Customer Service desk where actually you can find no help and no assistance to anything you ask. The most often said word is "no". The most unexpected experience was when we left our baby towel at the swiminng pool which was taken by the staff in the evening. The next 2 days we were trying to get it back and we found absolutely no understanding and help from anyone in the hotel, towel just disappeared. In the 5* Luxury hotel you would expect something more - they surely should have lost&found office which seems not to exist there. Hotel still have beautiful beach and clean swimming pools but the theater presents exactly the same shows as 2 years ago. What is new - Water Park for the little ones and Mini Golf area. Generally I would recommend you to visit this hotel but only if you hope to not have any contact with the reception staff and customer service desk. On the opposite the waiters at the restuarants and bars are still polite and nice, you just now need to wait for their service more than 2 years ago.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rygle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to highlight that our main interest is to assure our guests’ satisfaction and we would like to inform you that your observations have been treated with great interest.

We hope to see you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kind greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I pretty much echo what others have said. Beautiful, spotless surroundings, lovely beach, big, well-appointed rooms. Delicious, varied food (as a vegetarian, I was happy to find that there was plenty of choice)

Having read some bad reviews, I feel that the hotel must have done really well to address previous issues. Firstly, we were not harassed about the Privilege Club at all, just asked once politely. Secondly, service at the buffets, bars and restaurants was excellent. We never had to wait for anything, whether we tipped or not. Also, the air conditioning in the room was very effective and could be controlled via a thermostat.

There were a few little niggles, eg minibar not working, front reception staff a bit surly, but, in my opinion, to expect absolute perfection, for £1100 ish per person, including flights, transfers, all food drinks, beautiful suite etc etc is unrealistic.

The staff do really well and work so hard to make your stay special. I was quite upset to see a couple of guests being rude and unreasonable to them.

Thanks for the fab holiday guys, I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: You won't be far away from the beach, pools, bars etc, no matter what room you're in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisydoodle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Daisy,

It is very exciting to hear that you had a wonderful holiday in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. Additionally, it is a pleasure to know that you acknowledge the hard working from our staff.

We hope to have the honor to welcoming you once again and thank you personally your comments.

All-inclusive luxury hotels in Punta Cana with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
18.4 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
3.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing