We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Recommend highly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #24 of 107 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommend highly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Recently stayed at the hotel and our experience couldn't have been nicer. Starting with the General Manager, Mr. Pereda and his courteous and wonderful staff including but not limited to: Nicanor our wonderful porter, Ramon, Roberto who is the lobby manager, Geancarla, the wonderful hostess at the Takada Restaurant, Betsy, the always smiling lobby bartender and the great Carlos Rondon, the restaurant manager who always kept food coming and fresh. Without them, our visit and repeat stays at the hotel wouldn't be as positive as it always is.

The resort is always clean, the employees are happy and always singing and wait on you with a smile on their face at all times. The food always fresh, hot and ample for all tastes and desires.

The beach is beautiful, clean and always made very wonderful and happy with Nakko who is the person in charge of the Privilege Club beach with always a smile on his face.

I hope that the new management keeps the hotel personnel intact and they can continue to be a five star hotel as they well deserve. We have been going for six years and hope to continue going as it is a hotel where they treat us like family and are always willing to help.

Thanks Esmeralda for making us smile throughout our stay!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel are the ones closest to the beach and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Martha,

Your acknowledgments towards our staff that made all worthwhile are very valuable. Our team members play a key role in each vacation experience and messages like yours motivate us even more to provide you unforgettable stays.

Thank you for recommending Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Dominican Republic!

Warmest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,710
    1,184
    469
    152
    97
See reviews for
2,207
2,263
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southaven, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were upgraded to The Esmeralda, and it was nice. The rooms and property are excellent. Pools and beaches are great! Food is plentiful, but no seasoning. Buffet at the Punta Cana lobby is great!, but still no seasoning. Only big issue is the people of Punta Cana, they don't seem to give a d!$*! Starts at the airport and goes to the resort, no one likes to smile, and they seem lazy to me. These people need to learn customer service skills, that's the only way to get repeat customers. Bartenders, waitresses, luggage boys,maids are all friendly, make sure you tip them. Front desk staff, restaurant staff are ok, but not nice. Visit the spa, do the doon buggy excursion, and definitly spend time in the pool and at the beach!

Room Tip: building 91,92,94,95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toasty00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. Guest experiences are the key ingredient to analyze our daily performance and help us to improve our services.

Hoping to welcome you in the near future!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was the first time we have chosen exactly the same place and hotel for vacation. It was because 2 years ago we very so satisfied and happy during our stay. When we arrived thsi time we notice hotel has expanded - there are now 2 additional buidlings, additional restaurants and swimming pool to be able to serve more guests. So the hotel lost a bit of its cosiness and tranquility but still it is much nicer than other beach hotels we have visited before. Food is now a bit more standard, less sophisticated but still good variety. You can see more rush at restaurants, you need to wait longer for your table to be set etc. And regarding the staff - already 2 years ago they were not polite, but this time was even worse. There are usually 3-4 staff at the desk but all pretend to be busy and ignore waiting customers. They only deal with check-in and check-out formalities, and sometimes help you when your romm key is not working (what happens too often) but in all other cases they refer you to Customer Service desk where actually you can find no help and no assistance to anything you ask. The most often said word is "no". The most unexpected experience was when we left our baby towel at the swiminng pool which was taken by the staff in the evening. The next 2 days we were trying to get it back and we found absolutely no understanding and help from anyone in the hotel, towel just disappeared. In the 5* Luxury hotel you would expect something more - they surely should have lost&found office which seems not to exist there. Hotel still have beautiful beach and clean swimming pools but the theater presents exactly the same shows as 2 years ago. What is new - Water Park for the little ones and Mini Golf area. Generally I would recommend you to visit this hotel but only if you hope to not have any contact with the reception staff and customer service desk. On the opposite the waiters at the restuarants and bars are still polite and nice, you just now need to wait for their service more than 2 years ago.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rygle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to highlight that our main interest is to assure our guests’ satisfaction and we would like to inform you that your observations have been treated with great interest.

We hope to see you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kind greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I pretty much echo what others have said. Beautiful, spotless surroundings, lovely beach, big, well-appointed rooms. Delicious, varied food (as a vegetarian, I was happy to find that there was plenty of choice)

Having read some bad reviews, I feel that the hotel must have done really well to address previous issues. Firstly, we were not harassed about the Privilege Club at all, just asked once politely. Secondly, service at the buffets, bars and restaurants was excellent. We never had to wait for anything, whether we tipped or not. Also, the air conditioning in the room was very effective and could be controlled via a thermostat.

There were a few little niggles, eg minibar not working, front reception staff a bit surly, but, in my opinion, to expect absolute perfection, for £1100 ish per person, including flights, transfers, all food drinks, beautiful suite etc etc is unrealistic.

The staff do really well and work so hard to make your stay special. I was quite upset to see a couple of guests being rude and unreasonable to them.

Thanks for the fab holiday guys, I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: You won't be far away from the beach, pools, bars etc, no matter what room you're in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisydoodle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Daisy,

It is very exciting to hear that you had a wonderful holiday in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. Additionally, it is a pleasure to know that you acknowledge the hard working from our staff.

We hope to have the honor to welcoming you once again and thank you personally your comments.

All-inclusive luxury hotels in Punta Cana with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington Gap
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to Punta Cana, the previous 2 were spent at Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar and decided to try the Esmeralda after such great reviews on tripadvisor. Arrival was absolutely breathtaking as the colonial architecture and landscaping is the best we've seen in Punta Cana. The resort itself is perfect size (roughly 500 rooms) with 2 large pools and a smaller whirlpool type pool.

I can honestly say we had not one bad experience at this resort. The food at both buffets and the seaside grill were great. We tried both the Asian and Italian restaurants at the Esmeralda and found both great. We ate one night at the Don Pablo Gourmet at the Ambar and the filet mignon was fabulous. Thursday night at the buffet is Gala night and offers lobster, shrimp and other types of seafood...again the food was great.

The room was cleaned usually by 1pm daily and the maid staff did a great job with the room. The rooms are very big and super nice.

The beach was one of the best we saw while walking up and down the enormous stretch of beach. We never had any trouble getting a palapa and chair at the beach. Arrive early around 6am for a front row chair on the beach. Lots of people saving chairs at both the beach and the pool. Some would stretch one towel along 2-3 chairs and we would never see anyone using the chairs throughout the day...ridiculous! We did see security along the beach remove some towels and offer the beach beds to someone attempting to find one.

We found everything GREAT and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LMAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions and for acknowledge our great services.

We hope to cater you once again in in Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection and provide you a dream vacation in paradise.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in Punta Cana.

Kind greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in the Esmeralda from June 29-July 5...The resort is large but not THAT large...with 3 older children, we were expecting something going on all the time..not so, the pools close at 6, if you want to make reservations to a restaurant, better do it as soon as you arrive.... There is a definite language barrier...and that's made it extremely difficult trying to retrieve my daughter's blanket that was apparently left in the room when we departed. Therefore, I can't even get mad and get my point across...needless to say, as of today, we still have no blanket. The Jasmine seemed to be the best buffet... wifi only accessible in the lobby or unless you paid for it...housekeeping was good, rather late on most days, but good nonetheless...the kids had room service most nights just because they weren't into all the fufu food resorts serve....the servers were very helpful....Beer and liquor is cheap, don't expect US...by any means....The beach was beautiful and there is a small children's waterpark at the entrance to the hotel, if you have little ones traveling...my youngest was 9, and loved it. There are many signs with "Topless Prohibited" or "Tops Required"...I'll leave it at that.
I can't really complain, there were things I thought could've been better...just more activities for the kids mainly...and the language barrier has been a huge difficulty especially when we've left a prized possession.
If you're anticipating a happening night life...it's not happening here....if you're looking for a good, clean, safe family vacation this is an excellent spot...I also highly recommend taking an excursion to Saona Island....beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Kristen,

We sincerely regret any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay. Guest satisfaction and quality service is what we strive for. With this aim in mind, feedbacks such as yours are very important to us.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again in any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hialeah, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

we were a family of 11 peaople including kids, personel was amazing, especially Jose (blue eyes) that recommended and did the reservations for restaurants for all of us, alexis from pool bar.. (amazing young man) very professional:(that is the kind of people we need to attend the public) BIG hug to him and Ninacol (this guy is great, what ever you need he will get,,. the rooms were super comftorable and very clean.. the hotel is espectacular and enviroment was great.. we took two tours the Isla Catalina and the buggies,, I RECOMMENED the buggies,. we were all very happy with the stay and for sure we will return..

Thanks,
the Gil family

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nery G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Gil Family,

For all of us it is a pleasure to hear that all of you had a blast in Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. No doubt will our team be motivated by your generous compliments.

Don´t hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#50 of 107 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 9,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Majesctic Colonial Punta Cana
0.8 mi away
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
#22 of 107 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 stars 13,418 reviews
4.3 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (additional charge) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 (at the Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana) Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club (11 - 16 years) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing