We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best staff ever!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Macomb, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best staff ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This resort was perfect in so many ways. Loved that it was small and so intimate. Building 94 at poolside was absolutely a perfect location. The staff will spoil you in every way, it was the best service we have ever had in a resort. Some of our favorites were Alexander, Leroit, Ilberto, Ramon, and Enrique.
Our only complaint was the quality of food and the inconsistency of the beer taste. It was only D R beer on tap and the flavor seemed to change from location to location. I will say my husband is Italian and really enjoys good food and a good buffet and he found both slightly lacking.
However, I will end this review by stating again how incredible the staff is and how enjoyable they made our vacation!!

Room Tip: Buildings 94 and 95 were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Christine,

For all the Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection team it is a pleasure to know that we have provided you a great stay. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to the good service from our employees.

Looking forward to seeing you next year at Punta Cana!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in the Dominican Republic.


Best regards,

Customer Service
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,229
    1,360
    531
    168
    123
See reviews for
2,518
2,626
69
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,475)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

First I want to say this resort is in Bavaro not Punta Cana. Upon arrival we were amazed at size of the resort. It's like a small town. We stayed at the Esmeralda, but there is also the Ambar, the Punta Cana, and the Bavaro hotels all located within the walls . It is necessary to get around by golf cart trams, which we could never quite figure out.

I recommend making your dinner reservations online before you arrive. When we arrived in the evening the buffets were closed and the restaurants turned us away. We ended up eating hamburgers that looked as if they had been there for hours. Yuck. Needless to say we "Got with the Program" the next morning after we slept in and were told we couldn't eat breakfast. This was our first All-Inclusive experience and found it to be a lot like a cruise ship on land, so many rules! I must say once we did figure it out the food is AMAZING! The buffets are better than most Las Vegas casinos, with everything imaginable. The staff and waiters are so friendly and helpful, we really enjoyed them.

There's everything you need, even a physician and a Pharmacia. There are stores to buy souvenirs and clothing, even Victoria Secret items. The beach is beautiful and the staff at the Water Sports are wonderful. Our daughter took a wind surfing lesson and we even rode the Banana raft! One of our favorite spots was the swim up bar. The bartenders are friendly and make really good drinks. ( I suggest tipping them on the first day) Oh, and they are very particular about their beach towels, another rule... Different hotels have different little surprises, the Ambar has a nice coffee presentation with mini donuts and croissants in the morning, and has umbrellas in their frosty drinks.

The night life is fun with shows in the evening. The Mr. Bahia show was very entertaining! Get there early if you want a seat, you won't believe how many people are at this resort until you see the Teatro! The Disco is fun, but we left the property and went to the Hard Rock resort. Cab fare was only $15, just check in at the front desk there for a free guest wristband, and the Disco entry was $10. They have Fire-Breathing bartenders in the casino at 10 pm and girls hop up on the bar and pour shots in your mouth. The ORO Disco has performing dancers in costume, lasers, confetti, something always going on, and awesome air conditioning!

We requested two double beds as we were traveling with our 20 year old daughter, we had to pay an extra $68 a night for a third person, and were given a king room. They made up the couch for her and moved us the next afternoon, very inconvenient since they knew we had 3 people to start with. (No elevators, no air conditioning, except in rooms, and very humid). Our new room overlooked a man in his underwear smoking on his balcony right across from us. The hair dryer didn't work, the phone didn't either, but after two requests they replaced it. The front desk acted is if they were doing us a favor by moving us and were not very nice about it.

In conclusion, the property is very beautiful, the food is amazing, the beach is turquoise blue with white sands, and I could write a whole review about how wonderful the staff is here (except for the front desk). The vacation is a great value compared to other destinations. I would like to come back one day with our entire family. Thanks again to the hard working staff, you made everything so fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Lisa,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience and for mentioning our clean Resort, friendly staff and good gastronomy.

We will be more than happy to welcome you and your family to experience the hospitality of our people and the quality of our services and facilities

Best regards,

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Customer Service
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Me & my boyfriend spent two weeks here in May and it was absolutely amazing! Staff were so friendly couldn't do enough for you! The hotel itself was beautiful everywhere you looked it was spotless. The rooms were perfect, and we definitely picked the best hotel on the complex other than Ambar.
It was exactly what we were both looking for to spend two weeks relaxing and being spoilt for choice with everything. The food was lovely so many different a la carte restaurants to choose from it was hard to make a decision.
I would say if you want a pool view room contact room services direct to the hotel through email two weeks before you fly and you should get what u ask for :)
Overall the best holiday I've been on and I've been to many places across the world! Hotel is definitely 5* Luxury!
We spent our 1 year anniversary here and I couldn't have thought of anywhere more perfect so thanks to everyone who works at this hotel! You all work so hard and it pays off to get such amazing reviews!
Deff would recommend this hotel if you are planning to come to the Dominican Republic 100% I will definitely be using the gran bahia principe hotels in other parts of the world!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Danielle,

We feel proud to read that you have had the best holiday in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection.

We will be delighted to cater you once again in to enjoy our rich gastronomy as well as the good service from our employees.

Last but not least, thank you for preferring Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in the Dominican Republic.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

i was there with my family for one week and it was not the greatest place to stay. nice resort clean but we were not happy with the food, drinks were watered down and they hardly had anything to drink. and it seems like nobody spoke english that worked there, trying to ask someone for something and getting a answer was like impossible. its not a place i would go back to.

Helpful?
4 Thank Manchester03
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Client,

Our main goal strives in having a great ambiance to satisfy our guests' requirements; we regret very much that we were not able to fulfill your expectations this time. We deeply regret any inconvenienced you may have experienced.

In the name of our General Manager and all staff members we would like to thank you again for vacationing with us and we hope you could consider to give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

1 st time to Dominican Republic wasn't sure what to expect the hotel is lovely the pools can get a bit crowded the rooms are very nice before we arrived I emailed hotel all my restaurant reservations and room request all of my requirements met the guest services were excellent. Milfie was our butler she was very helpful but we did not require her services , the restaurants in the main resort Los geranios is the quieter of the 2 more relaxed the waiters are all helpful Francisco is good please do tip the waiters they work hard the jasmin restuarant is busier as this is closer to lobby and must say waiters brandy Enrique are really good to be honest all the staff are good some have trouble understanding English but they try their best the bar service in the lobby can be a bit slow its not a problem the girls work hard all drinks are branded as well the food is fantastic lobster night is really good in main restaurant on Thursdays the ala carte restaurants are good the Bella Italia is the worst but you don't come to the Dominican Republic to eat Italian food beach can be over crowded but to be expected as is a lovely beach would definitely come back as fantastic value for money only downside as with every Caribbean resort I have visited is drunk Americans that can be very loud and obnoxious

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Terryandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Terry and Joe,

We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience, especially thanks to our great service from our staff. Thank you for sharing your comments which have been treated with great interest.

All-inclusive luxury hotels in the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Rooms: spacious, beds were fine, rooms a little musty but to be expected for the tropics. The bathrooms some had door to the toilet area some didn't. Turn down service was great and always had clean towels. Stayed on 2nd floor so I found a few roaches but were tiny and again we are in the tropical weather.

Beach: First trip was amazing went in November had no sea weed in the water and did have to get up early but I was up to watch the sunrise anyway so not a problem. However on my 3rd trip the boom box came out and loud music was played for a couple of hours. Also more activities were added on the beach.

Drinks: Off season didn't have prime liquor and found most of them to be very sweet however did enjoy the Port.

Food: We always found something to eat and we were always happy with the buffets and the a la cartes.

Service: In general I found nothing to complain about so that is why I'm going back.
In general we generally go to all inclusive vacations and for the price this is a good value for all adults. I hope this helped will right again when I come back from my 4th visit. Haven't used the spa so can't comment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Leonor,

Thank you for sharing your impressions which have been treated with great interest. It is wonderful to know that you had a great vacation and to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and services.

We will be delighted to cater you once again in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The whole Bahia complex is huge (4 or 5 hotels all together), but Esmeralda is close to the beach (same as Ambar) and it does not require a long walk or shuttle golf cart to get there.

Nice, fairly sized pool (if you are a pool person) and plenty of shade on the beach. Beach is the same great Punta Cana as for all other hotels on this stretch, so can't get any better than this (some people complain about waves and wind, but that's breeze which makes it great on the hottest days).

One downside in this complex is that some buildings are very close to each other, so that you can end up having a view of half a dozen suites barely 30 ft across from your balcony...
Other than that, spotless clean rooms with decent showers and mini bar somewhat stocked (ie would have one Pepsi one day and one orange drink the next, so it's kind of random...)

Food was really good (by that I mean, better than most of the Caribbean All Inclusive we've been to so far). Not worth going into any of the "specialty" restaurants, just as good as buffet without running on a schedule...

Service is good and on the better side in this area of the world.

Esmeralda is pretty quiet in the evening as there is no entertainment in this hotel. For all the ruckus you'll have to stretch your legs (or use a golf cart trolley) and go over to the main entertainment complex.

Also, if you have small children, better look at other Bahia properties within the complex as children's water park is fairly far away from Esmeralda (another good point for people who are looking to be as far away from the children's water park as they can).

All in all, recommended for relaxation and generally recharging batteries.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NashR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Nash,

We sincerely appreciate all feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program. For all our team working is rewarding to read that we were able to meet your expectations.

We will be delighted to cater you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in the Dominican Republic.

Warm regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#25 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Punta Cana
Iberostar Punta Cana
#10 of 25 in Bavaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing