We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,429)
Filter reviews
7,429 results
Traveler rating
4,797
1,591
651
221
169
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,797
1,591
651
221
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pablojazmin buffetgarden grilla la carte restaurantsprivilege clubscented pillowsbutler servicelobby bargala nightother resortsguest servicesel pescadorthomas cookle gourmetemailed the hoteldominican republicambar section
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,355 - 3,360 of 7,429 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed there week of may 26,2013. The hotel was good. Found the rooms a tad to small for a 5 start. On overall clean. Need to get some fabric softener for those towels. Restaurants were good but the buffet for an all inclusive was great!!!! The service was good. Downside of this hotel is when one pays for a 5star I do not want to be on a bus with 10 other people to travel to next complex to take a taxi. The trolley service was not always available. The security in hotel really needs improvement. I think they are way in over their heads. Too big o control.
The best part of of hotel was the service provided by Dahaina guest service. She was very pleasant and helpful with the booking of restaurants and other accommodations.
Thank u Dahaina...!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay at Esmeralda. Closest to beach and all amenities
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank platinumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

We value your opinion about your recent stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, now that guest experiences are the key ingredient to analyze and improve our daily performance.

Dahaina will be proud to hear your possitive comments.

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a huge property that you can get lost in. We stayed in the Esmeralda section of this complex which is nice and clean. We had stayed in the Ambar Section 3 years ago that was all adults and it was nicer and quiter. No matter where you go in this hotel, you will see lots and lots of people, kids and more people. It is a very buys place! We never got a welcome drink and we had to take our luggage to our room. No bell boys in sight. They are confused enough at the front desk. We booked first floor for a wheel chair person that was with us and they put them on the third floor. After talking to David, who was the manager, with some convincing, they changed our rooms. They told others to come back the next day which upset somepeople. Who wants to unpack and pack again! Anyway, the Jazmin restaurant is small and very, very buys. You are better off to walk about 5 min. pass the adult pool and go to the Geranios Restaurant which is bigger, nicer and much better service along with better food choice. Once we discovered that, we kept going there for lunch and dinner. The
Gourmet Restaurant was nice as well. I did not think much of the otheres and the food was not that great. They also rushed you through it because they have a lot of people. We got either too early or too late sittings so we did not go to some of them. The shows at night was not that great either. I have seen much better shows in Mexico. Anyway, do not look for personal service here. You are one dot in a crowd. The beach is very busy also but was very nice. It also has wheel chair access for those who need it. I did enjoy the water and the walks. It is a very long beach and good for walking. Too many vendors, too many people. Although the staff try and keep up, they just can not. You have to go get your own drink and they run out of beach towels fast. Again this is due to the large amount of people who go there. It was just packed. We went the week of June 17, 2013. The little carts will take you around but they are also full and you have to wait for the next one all the time. Too many shops, too many people, not enough staff. If you like that sort of thing this is the one for you. If not look for a smaller and quiter place where you will get the personal service that we all look for when we travel. The cleaning ladies had no schedule, they came when they could and when asked why they are cleaning my room at 5:00 pm, they would show you the long list of rooms they have to do. Again, not enough staff! If you can communicate with a sign language, they will try and come earlier. I showed them my watch and used sign language. Most do not speak English.
Anyway, all I have to say is THANKS DAVID! the manager. If it wasn't for you who sorted out our rooms I would be more critical with this place. Thanks but once was enough will not be going there again. I like people but not that many as this place was just toooooooooooooooo many people. If you are going there , good luck. Oh and you have to get up at 5-6 in the morning to reserve your place on the beach otherwise no chairs for YOU! and you have to keep your dirty towels for the next day. I forgot to mention, STAY AWAY FROM THE SPA! THEY WILL HURT YOU! I was in pain for 2 days. You also have to pay $25 on top of the $90 massage so you can use the facilities and they follow you around. They were also renovating so it was a mess. Not a nice massage / SPA experience !
WOW! Glad to be home. My head is still spinning. I think I need another vacation. I will look for a nicer place. Every place is an experience and this is why you have to try different places.
Safe , Happy Travels!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5,685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay. We sincerely regret not having been able to achieve our main objective with you, which is our guests´ entire satisfaction and we deeply apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

10 th time in RD first at a Bahia .. OK this resorts is big but it does includes 5 hotels,
3 of them I would not go because they are 4 stars but the Adult section and the one we where staying at the Esmeralda are amazing , if your travel agent tells you that you will have a view other than the pool and the gardens they are wrong ..there is no view at any of their hotels on that site but the rooms at the esmeralda are perfect ..we where at the block 92 3 floor and no view and did not care about is because the site is just so beautifull, staff are freindly ..Please people do tip !! they work 20 hours a day and keep smiling ..except at the snack bar where I dont understand but the staff are just not happy to work there ! We ate at the Jasmin Restaurant buffet more often than any other and a manager named Al Gelis was on top of everything if possible I would hire him to work for me anytime he should be a general manager ..he sees everything and will make sure you feel right at home.
The site is clean, the staff are 90% all smile , wi-fi works every where , beach is clean..BUT 5 hotels 1 beach makes the beach very crowded and people where not able to swim in the water because they where just a few feet away from someone else...lol.. this is something the hotel will have to figure out..
NOW if for whatever reason that is yours you should not like kids yelling , crying, and running in a restaurant or on a resorts well just dont go...People with kids yonger then 3 should not travel with them if not able to make them sit for at least an hour.. and understand that if they do cry as kids will do..they have to leave the restaurant asap not to disrupt the meal time of others..
We love kids , had 2 , traveled all over with them but never botherd anyone..
As for the food Jasmin 5* all others 4* except the Maiko where the food and entertainement was just ..well to resume we left after the first bite ..lol..sad sad.. beautifull restaurant with less than average food with a novice chef that overcooks the food.. we will return for shure...

Room Tip: block 90 to 93 are perfectly located dont worry there are no beach view .. top floor are the best
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marcs777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Marc,

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your visit to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Warmest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Such a beautiful and well maintained place ! Kindness and efficiency of the whole staff is unbelievable, excellent food and beverage ....staff allover make you feel you are the one and only .....beach is marvelous , pool magnificient, i will surely go back as well as my friends !!

Room Tip: Rooms in building 92 are very good and near everything
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatH3_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Client,

All Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection team is proud to hear that they created you an unbelievable and unforgettable holiday. No doubt that our hard working staff will be delighted with your comments.

All-inclusive luxury hotels in the Dominican Republic with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My Boyfriend and I have just got back from a 2 week stay in Esmerleda, we stayed in block 92 and couldn't believe the high standard of service we received from the cleaners, our room spotlessly cleaned everyday for when we was back in the room and our mini bar filled up everyday, we tipped them a few times and on the evening they would bring us extra towels and chocolate.
The food and Service was always a high standard, they was never a day when standard dropped. They was plenty of staff and everyone did they bit.. Every day the gardeners would be out watering flowers, cutting trees. They was Raking the seaweed from the beach early every morning, beach towels everyday changed by the pool no charge.
I know I'm writing an essay, the place was just amazing and could talk about it all day!
Food, they had buffet where you didn't have to book call Jasmin, there you would go for breakfast and have tea their. They have restaurants which you have to book and would definitely recommend doing this, we booked the full 2 weeks up soon as we got there as certain restaurants do get full! Garden Grill was our favourite and booked there twice.
The weather was perfect, we spent most of our time in the pool as it was red hot to sunbathe!
If you plan to go to the Dominican, my advice is book 2 weeks, 1 week with the travelling 9 hours and 5 hour behind uk time. 2 weeks gives you plenty of time to chill out and relax!
We Are looking to go back next year, it is just paradise and would recommend going to anyone!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiamAndLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Liam and Laura,

It is an honor and a great compliment to know that you acknowledge our constant high standard service that created you an absolutely fantastic holiday.

We are looking forward to cater you next year in paradise.

Thank you for recommending Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in the Dominican Republic.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews