We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic Holiday!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #33 of 113 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My Boyfriend and I have just got back from a 2 week stay in Esmerleda, we stayed in block 92 and couldn't believe the high standard of service we received from the cleaners, our room spotlessly cleaned everyday for when we was back in the room and our mini bar filled up everyday, we tipped them a few times and on the evening they would bring us extra towels and chocolate.
The food and Service was always a high standard, they was never a day when standard dropped. They was plenty of staff and everyone did they bit.. Every day the gardeners would be out watering flowers, cutting trees. They was Raking the seaweed from the beach early every morning, beach towels everyday changed by the pool no charge.
I know I'm writing an essay, the place was just amazing and could talk about it all day!
Food, they had buffet where you didn't have to book call Jasmin, there you would go for breakfast and have tea their. They have restaurants which you have to book and would definitely recommend doing this, we booked the full 2 weeks up soon as we got there as certain restaurants do get full! Garden Grill was our favourite and booked there twice.
The weather was perfect, we spent most of our time in the pool as it was red hot to sunbathe!
If you plan to go to the Dominican, my advice is book 2 weeks, 1 week with the travelling 9 hours and 5 hour behind uk time. 2 weeks gives you plenty of time to chill out and relax!
We Are looking to go back next year, it is just paradise and would recommend going to anyone!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiamAndLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Liam and Laura,

It is an honor and a great compliment to know that you acknowledge our constant high standard service that created you an absolutely fantastic holiday.

We are looking forward to cater you next year in paradise.

Thank you for recommending Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in the Dominican Republic.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,279 - 3,285 of 7,289 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just came back from a week holiday at Esmeralda. Beautiful comfortable charming hotel of human proportions. Great rooms decorated with taste. Beds are a little too hard though and room service varies from day to day ( sometimes no facecloths, no water...) Lobby well decorated with beautiful well kept grounds. Food is good at buffet Jasmin with good variety every evenings ( with Lobster ( Langosta ) on thursdays, suckling pig on friday when we were there). The other 2 à la carte restaurants we found ordinary. Although had a great tuna filet at Takara. But all the other restaurants at the other hotels of Bahia Principe were also available. We particularly enjoyed Dan Pablo ( great foie gras and filet mignon) and the Gourmet. For lunch Arecife near the beach is buffet style with a decent selection and very pleasant atmosphere with ocean views. Service is great everywhere with a very friendly joyful staff. Special mention to Algelis, manager at Jasmin and all his crew, Yary, Jorge and Michael in particular who's efficient courteous service was well appreciated. The beach at Esmeralda is well kept with sufficient palapas available. We put a blanket and a book everyday around 8h30 AM before breakfast and always had chairs. Walking on the beach to the left ( towards the Riu hotels) is wonderful. Lots of palm trees and beautiful colors. Bahia Principe being a huge complex ( 3000 suites altogether ) ocean swimming is not as pleasant with hundreds of people in the water at the same time constantly hitting each other. It does get a little quieter though as the day goes by. The pool is beautiful and the water very warm ( must have been at 90 F when we were there last week; ocean water around 80-82 F ). The base wi-fi service offered free at the lobby is very weak with slow connection. For avid users you should pay the extra $ for the upgraded service. Room tips: avoid bldg. 96, it has no view, The best views are rooms facing the gardens or pools ( interior of the complex) but none were available when we were there. Also we would recommend that you reserve your a la carte restaurants by sending an e-mail a few weeks before arrival, it will save you lots of time at the customer relations desk upon arrival. Don't forget to mention the no. of persons and to specify the time. They usually try to respect your preferences. Hope this review will be of some help. From Montreal Canada

Room Tip: Avoid bldg 96,it has no views. Rooms facing the interior of the complex, pools and gardens are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank normand c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Normand,

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. We are pleased to hear that you had a charm stay with us complemented by a great gastronomy and a very friendly joyful staff.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Lets start on a positive note. The bus from the airport, the closeness to the airport and the grounds upon arrival were a great start to our holiday.
Then came check in. The organization was non existent and it took a long time of wondering what we were supposed to do, before we finally got a sheet of paper to take to the front desk to check in. We got our room key and headed to our room. To our great surprise, the room had wet towels on the floor, half drunk pops, dirty bathroom and the bed was not made! The room was a disaster and I was looking around to see if there was luggage that belonged to a different guest that was occupying the room! We grabbed our cases and went back to the front desk to request a new, CLEAN, room. We were met with confrontation and rudeness, advised that we could wait 20 mins and go back to the same room as it would be clean then! I will add that this was at 4:30pm and checkout is listed as 11:00am! We refused to accept this. And it makes me wonder what sort of 'cleaning' they do between guests if it takes less than 20 mins! The front desk staff spoke in Spanish in front of us discussing their thoughts and opinions about us openly and rudely. After 30 mins of persistence, we were moved to a lovely room and were very happy to forgive and forget and enjoy our holiday.
Sadly the trend of extremely poor service continued. When requesting drinks from the bar, we were made to feel like a nuisance. When asking for clean towels, the towel booth was closed or out of clean towels, that was if the staff were even in the towel booth. When trying to book A La Carte restaurants, we were advised that they were all full, yet those in our group that had reservations advised that the restaurants were empty with only 5-6 tables in use.
It felt as though if you tip the staff, you get the basic service you would expect at an all inclusive. To me, that seems backwards, I prefer to tip excellent service as opposed to paying for service!
It's sad because there were a few stand out staff members that DID go above and beyond. Victor (butler) was amazing. Luis in the evening Jazmin buffet was great. And a few others whose names I did not get. They are cordial, friendly and fun and make the trip better. It's too bad they only represent 25% of the staff we came into contact with.
The "privilege club" sales people were relentless, hounding you every moment you passed them, as were the 'vendors' in the market square and on the beach.
It's truly unfortunate as the resort and the beach are beautiful. The food was good. But due to the terrible service, we will not return to a Bahia Principe hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wercan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Client,

We sincerely regret any inconvenience you may have experienced. On behalf of all our staff we ask our sincere apologies. We feel so sorry to hear that our service has not reach your expectations,

Thank you for highlighting Victor and Luis, who will be delighted with your acknowledgments.

We hope to have another opportunity and honor us with your visit in order to change any negative perception about our services.

Your sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent service by all the the staff members I felt like I was treated like a king.we will go back to enjoy ourselves.very friendly staff and real good people working in the entire resort to make their guess feel good and enjoy your state .very nice and clean beach.base on my experience it was all excellent.thank you

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Argelis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Argelis,

Rafael and all the staff members will be happy to hear your positives comments and to know that they created you an excellent stay in Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection. We will be forwarding your message to all our team.

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Kindest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our stay at the Esmeralda was great. The facilities are beautiful, the food was above expectations, and the rooms were attractive and spotless.
Special thanks to the amazing and friendly service of the staff, with a special mention to our Butler Victor who looked after our every need, was working hard at being fluent in over five languages, and always had a surprise waiting for us in our room, definitely on his way up, and Cristian, our waiter at the Jazmine buffet restaurant who treated us like family and Angela our maid, who made sure our room was always clean with fresh towels no matter how often we went in and out. We would definitely go back and recommend the Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda as first choice in Punta Cana. And last but not least was our travel agent Tara Olsen with ITravel2000 for all her hard work in making this a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Angelo,

In Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts we are committed to provide the most memorable experiences to our guests. Thank you for praising the ones who make this possible, our personnel, who really inspires to keep their hard work by learning your appreciations.

All-inclusive luxury hotels in Punta Cana with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I really enjoyed my four day trip to the Bahia Principe, Esmeralda. Hated to leave. Can't wait to go back. It was our 15th wedding anniversary and we had a great time. Hotel added a few special touches. They tied baloons and a banner in our room. We also had a fruit platter and a cake. Had difficulty booking a la carte restaurants, but a hotel manager made it possible for us to eat at the Garden Grill which we really enjoyed. The Portofino Restaurant was also very good. Buffet had something for all nationalities. Pool was crowded, but the beach was just to die for. I believe,the Esmeralda is the newest of their units. The place was spotless. Staff was continuously cleaning. Many staff members speak little English, but we managed without much difficulty. I returned home last night and I'm already planning my next trip, hopefully before the year ends. Hotel manager, Jose, was very helpful. In addition, his Christian qualities are exemplified in his work. Don't think about it. Just go. You will enjoy.

Room Tip: I stayed in Building 90 and I was very happy. I would love to have been on the pool side, but I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jelani5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Jelani,

In the name of our General Manager and all staff members we would like to thank you for vacationing with us. We feel so proud to read that our special touches made a great and memorable 15th wedding anniversary.

We are already looking forward to have you with us again before the year ends.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We are back to the grind after a relaxing week vacation at the lovely Esmeralda.
Our first room was in building 91 2nd floor overlooking the pool. It was a lovely room but noisy and lacked privacy when out on the balcony. We were moved the next day to building 90 3rd floor ocean/ Bavaro pool view. This is the room to get. It faces the private beach and the pool is far enough away you don't get the noise. We had a palm tree in front of our balcony so privacy was NEVER an issue. Our room was large and clean, our beds were decorated with balloons, "towel art" and flowers almost everyday. The scented pillows are divine, lavender and chamomile are yummy, not so much the apple.
Our fridge was amply restocked daily. I left a note asking for more club soda and she was very generous. Tip these people! They are working hard to make your vacation amazing. Our maids, butler, concierge, room service waiter and luggage porter all made our trip even more enjoyable and they all went above and beyond what is required in their job. All were very receptive and even with my broken Spanish we were able to figure out what we needed to. LOL!
Making a la carte reservations through our original concierge Solange before we left home was a nightmare. They were lost when we arrived. We did them again with her and they still were MIA the next day. When we started working with a new concierge Jhoan everything went beautifully!!
The pools were very clean. The beach is one of the most beautiful ones we have been too. Very soft white powdery sand and lovely aqua water (no water shoes required). We were kind of bummed that there wasn't any snorkeling right off the beach. I'm so glad we brought floaties just to lounge around in the ocean or pool. LOVED being able to use the private beach, we never had an issue with getting a palapa and some loungers. Miami was always ready to greet us with fresh towels and a nice cool drink. He was always willing to get my daughter a frozen something from one of the other bars. His smile and upbeat attitude always brought smiles to our faces!
We brought our fishing poles and were able to catch a small fish just past the Ambar resort. You have to wake up early but what a way to start the day.... Sunrise, warm water, soft sand, fishing! We also chartered Mikes Marina for a private fishing day and caught 3 dorado as well as a white marlin.
Hubby and I booked a massage at the spa for our last night and I would highly recommend it. I work in the spa industry and would have gladly hired these girls. From their mannerism to technique they were impeccable!
Food was good a bit bland compared to what we are used to, but still good, our favorites were The Garden Grille (steak house style), Pescador (seafood/Mediterranean) and of course the Gala Seafood night.
It is a very large resort complex so it is crowded on the beaches. I definitely would stay at the Esmeralda over the other hotels. It is nicer, less crowded and just feels more high end.
A huge thank you to Jhoan our concierge, Miami our favorite bar keep and our maid who I didn't even see (that's how good she was)!! The Esmeralda's attention to detail is very impressive. Your hotel staff and waitstaff's overall hospitality is commendable. We had a fantastic vacation!

Room Tip: Building 90 has a few ocean/ pool view rooms. 3rd floor is quieter. If you like privacy ask to face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esthichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Client,

We don´t know how to thank you for such wonderful compliments. It is wonderful to hear that the special attention and the hospitality of our staff member created you a fantastic vacation. We will forward your comments to the people you mentioned.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, spa hotels in Punta Cana.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#62 of 113 in Punta Cana
10,747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
0.7 mi away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $201 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free of charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (free of charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing