We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable Holiday!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our stay at the Esmeralda was great. The facilities are beautiful, the food was above expectations, and the rooms were attractive and spotless.
Special thanks to the amazing and friendly service of the staff, with a special mention to our Butler Victor who looked after our every need, was working hard at being fluent in over five languages, and always had a surprise waiting for us in our room, definitely on his way up, and Cristian, our waiter at the Jazmine buffet restaurant who treated us like family and Angela our maid, who made sure our room was always clean with fresh towels no matter how often we went in and out. We would definitely go back and recommend the Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda as first choice in Punta Cana. And last but not least was our travel agent Tara Olsen with ITravel2000 for all her hard work in making this a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Angelo,

In Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts we are committed to provide the most memorable experiences to our guests. Thank you for praising the ones who make this possible, our personnel, who really inspires to keep their hard work by learning your appreciations.

All-inclusive luxury hotels in Punta Cana with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,293
    1,381
    542
    171
    126
See reviews for
2,531
2,685
72
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,495)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Hempstead, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I really enjoyed my four day trip to the Bahia Principe, Esmeralda. Hated to leave. Can't wait to go back. It was our 15th wedding anniversary and we had a great time. Hotel added a few special touches. They tied baloons and a banner in our room. We also had a fruit platter and a cake. Had difficulty booking a la carte restaurants, but a hotel manager made it possible for us to eat at the Garden Grill which we really enjoyed. The Portofino Restaurant was also very good. Buffet had something for all nationalities. Pool was crowded, but the beach was just to die for. I believe,the Esmeralda is the newest of their units. The place was spotless. Staff was continuously cleaning. Many staff members speak little English, but we managed without much difficulty. I returned home last night and I'm already planning my next trip, hopefully before the year ends. Hotel manager, Jose, was very helpful. In addition, his Christian qualities are exemplified in his work. Don't think about it. Just go. You will enjoy.

Room Tip: I stayed in Building 90 and I was very happy. I would love to have been on the pool side, but I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jelani5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Jelani,

In the name of our General Manager and all staff members we would like to thank you for vacationing with us. We feel so proud to read that our special touches made a great and memorable 15th wedding anniversary.

We are already looking forward to have you with us again before the year ends.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Sincerely,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We are back to the grind after a relaxing week vacation at the lovely Esmeralda.
Our first room was in building 91 2nd floor overlooking the pool. It was a lovely room but noisy and lacked privacy when out on the balcony. We were moved the next day to building 90 3rd floor ocean/ Bavaro pool view. This is the room to get. It faces the private beach and the pool is far enough away you don't get the noise. We had a palm tree in front of our balcony so privacy was NEVER an issue. Our room was large and clean, our beds were decorated with balloons, "towel art" and flowers almost everyday. The scented pillows are divine, lavender and chamomile are yummy, not so much the apple.
Our fridge was amply restocked daily. I left a note asking for more club soda and she was very generous. Tip these people! They are working hard to make your vacation amazing. Our maids, butler, concierge, room service waiter and luggage porter all made our trip even more enjoyable and they all went above and beyond what is required in their job. All were very receptive and even with my broken Spanish we were able to figure out what we needed to. LOL!
Making a la carte reservations through our original concierge Solange before we left home was a nightmare. They were lost when we arrived. We did them again with her and they still were MIA the next day. When we started working with a new concierge Jhoan everything went beautifully!!
The pools were very clean. The beach is one of the most beautiful ones we have been too. Very soft white powdery sand and lovely aqua water (no water shoes required). We were kind of bummed that there wasn't any snorkeling right off the beach. I'm so glad we brought floaties just to lounge around in the ocean or pool. LOVED being able to use the private beach, we never had an issue with getting a palapa and some loungers. Miami was always ready to greet us with fresh towels and a nice cool drink. He was always willing to get my daughter a frozen something from one of the other bars. His smile and upbeat attitude always brought smiles to our faces!
We brought our fishing poles and were able to catch a small fish just past the Ambar resort. You have to wake up early but what a way to start the day.... Sunrise, warm water, soft sand, fishing! We also chartered Mikes Marina for a private fishing day and caught 3 dorado as well as a white marlin.
Hubby and I booked a massage at the spa for our last night and I would highly recommend it. I work in the spa industry and would have gladly hired these girls. From their mannerism to technique they were impeccable!
Food was good a bit bland compared to what we are used to, but still good, our favorites were The Garden Grille (steak house style), Pescador (seafood/Mediterranean) and of course the Gala Seafood night.
It is a very large resort complex so it is crowded on the beaches. I definitely would stay at the Esmeralda over the other hotels. It is nicer, less crowded and just feels more high end.
A huge thank you to Jhoan our concierge, Miami our favorite bar keep and our maid who I didn't even see (that's how good she was)!! The Esmeralda's attention to detail is very impressive. Your hotel staff and waitstaff's overall hospitality is commendable. We had a fantastic vacation!

Room Tip: Building 90 has a few ocean/ pool view rooms. 3rd floor is quieter. If you like privacy ask to face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esthichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Client,

We don´t know how to thank you for such wonderful compliments. It is wonderful to hear that the special attention and the hospitality of our staff member created you a fantastic vacation. We will forward your comments to the people you mentioned.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, spa hotels in Punta Cana.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was better then I expected was treated very good by staff especially by our maid who made us feel like royalty also the bartenders n wait staff where excellent can't wait to go back next year but next time my grown kids will go with there kids thank you for a great time

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caculo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read that our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection was better than you expected. Furthermore, it is an honor to hear that you received the warmest welcoming from our staff.

We are looking forward to cater you soon!

Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The one and only problem was that the holiday was to short, otherwise all was excellent. The food , the weather , the beach , the pool , the Mama Huana and etc. For some reason American’s and / or Canadians like to speak out loud , so we were all the time part of the listeners list obviously , but by the end , I was improving my English mentally :-) ...The beach is really nice, the pool also, the bar at the pool is much better then the one on the beach. I did enjoy all restaurants and all meals. Loved the idea of Champagne with orange juice in morning for breakfast. So, my advise after all is : Go :-) and enjoy .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria_Borges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Victoria,

We greatly appreciate your feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you advised others to come to our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection to enjoy an excellent holiday in a unique place.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Punta Cana.

Hoping to welcome you once again for more time!

Kind greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed for a weekend-3 days and 2 nights with two children at Esmeralda. The rooms were gorgeous and clean: jacuzzi bathtub, separate shower with overhead and side water spray and detachable nozzle, double sinks, high-end toiletries-(loofah, lotions, shampoos), freshly stocked mini bar daily with water, beer, soda, alcohol, two huge four poster beds, luxurious robes and slippers, lovely eating area with table, chairs and a coach and a beautiful sitting balcony with a great view. The grounds were gorgeous-and extensive-we barely saw half of the place-there is a great shuttle service to get you around-you could walk but its a big place! Our children really enjoyed the water park--it was well-maintained, colorful, safe, lots of lifeguards. We spent most of our time there in the morning, at the pool after lunch and at the beach in the early evening hours. There was so much to do and so much to see, we never got bored. I thought the staff was exceedingly gracious and friendly and not in a I want a tip way-they were kind and trustworthy. We twice lost items-a camera at dinner-was promptly turned in to lost and found by restaurant staff and easily retrieved by us and a bookbag left in the lobby was found and promptly returned to us. It helped a lot that my husband is Latino by heritage and I spoke Spanish quite well. Although the staff speaks some English, I think to enjoy the facilities to the fullest, you need at least some working Spanish. I highly recommend this resort. My family thoroughly enjoyed themselves and we would return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCRDMOMOF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Client,

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Looking forward to seeing you in a heartbeat!

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Kind greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The staff is the worst I ever seen in my life with about 5-6 staff persons. Can`t even have coffee at breakfest... The drinks in an all inclusive are supposed to be always full... The Staff make you feel like THE are the boss, and your nothing... Thank you you is not a word that they know.

It is very hard to have clean towels at the pool... They would always try to sell you these over priced all the same trips to go see the dolphins...

The food at the à la carte restaurants was very average, the staff was excellent though...

The service at the bars at night was excellent

The cleaness of the room was great.

The cleaness of the floor in the snackbars was the worst I`ve seen...

It is not acceptable to be called by your first name at the front desk, because it`s the third time that your key card does not work in the same day, and you have 2 children that want to go to the bathroom, because they could not go in the buffet because of the piss on the seat that had dryed up!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Eric,

Thank you for communicating your impressions concerning your stay in Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced.

We would love to greet you once again and this time exceed your expectations.

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
1,676 reviews
18.4 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 110 in Punta Cana
923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
3.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing