We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best family vacation ever!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Labrador City, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best family vacation ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We just came back from Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda...and it was amazing!!!
This resort was beautiful,clean and the grounds are amazing, the food was fantastic and the super friendly staff will keep us coming back to this resort.
A big "thank you" to Victor our butler for making our vacation so wonderful...he even planned a special evening for us...look for him he is one of their best!!!
Our room was big and very comfortable the cleaning ladies where always kind and friendly.
Restaurants were so awesome there is so much selection...a big shout out to Luis our singing waiter,Wander,Clemente,Raundy and Tomas.(these guys go out of their way for you)
Pools are great and the bartenders are super friendly and fun.(get up early to get a good spot by the pool)
Beach is absolutly breathtaking, it is clean and the water is clear.
Nighttime entertaiment was great...go check out Micheal Jackson show...Wow
Every night at the bar they always had live entertaiment to relax to and have a few drinks.
Thanks to Estebon and the front desk staff they where always friendly and answered our questions.
Don't forget to go to the Spa...you will leave relaxed.
This resort makes you feel so special, the service is like nothing else we have ever experienced, the staff are so wonderful!!!
See you guys next year!!!
Tracey,Jody,Nathan and Kyle
Newfoundland and Labrador,Canada

Room Tip: Building 94 was close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Tracey, Jody, Nathan and Kyle,

Victor Wander, Clemente, Raundy, Tomas, and Esteban, will be very proud with your acknowledgments about their service, which made you feel so especial. This is what is allowing us to make a difference in each guest experience and motivate us to continue striving towards excellence.

You are welcome to contact us for your next year visit.

Regards from Punta Cana!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,034
    1,270
    496
    162
    115
See reviews for
2,434
2,435
64
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,384)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Recent stay at Bahia Principe Esmeralda on Mar. 31 to April 7th. Wed night my girlfriend and I went to dinner and came back to our room to find the safe open and money missing from my wallet. We called Security who came and took a report and they can tell when the safe was last open and who was the last person(s) in the room. Unfortunately I did not lock the safe properly and it was open and the last person in the room was an authorized person. The Customer Service person I was dealing with called me a liar as I told him I had lock the safe and therefore I was also lying about the missing money - and he was not going to take responsibility for his staff - He was very very rude to me - his attitude to me was too bad so sad - I wonder if I were a man if I would of got the same treatment. I will never go back - a word of warning - make sure your safe is lock.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Joan,

All our personnel is well checked every time they are coming in or getting out of the Hotel, as there is a specific staff entrance. After conducting the appropriate investigations on our part, and having found no signs of violation of latchkey or safe, there is no evidence that any unauthorized personnel actually entered the room, which is why we cannot proceed to blame anyone.

Please be advice that our Security Department operates 24/7, in order to guarantee the security and well-being of our distinguished customers.

Kind regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My daughter and I just returned from Punta Cana. We were there from 4/3-4/7. The room and amenities were great, the buffets were above average, the staff was friendly especially the staff at the pool bar-Angel and Nestor were great bartenders, super friendly with a great disposition. I would recommend trying to make your dinner reservations by email and ensure you get a response back so when you arrive, they are there otherwise very hard to get reservations to the restaurants. Good place to relax!

Room Tip: Ask for Villa 90 or 91 which are closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LydiaF401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Lydia,

We are very pleased to read that you had a good vacation in Punta Cana with great amenities, buffets above average, and friendly staff. Thank you for mentioning Angel and Nestor who will appreciate your nice impressions.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I travelled the week of March 23rd- March 30th 2013. This resort is everything it claims to be. It's extremley clean, the food was good and the staff are very friendly and helpful. A special thank you to consierge " Victor" for setting up our room with champagne and suprising us with lavender scented pillows. I'll do a review of the resort by sections...

Check in- Check out: There was a little bit of confusion when we got there, apparently we didn't have some peice of paper they were looking for. Some kind of confirmation, which we were never provided with from our local travel agent. A bell boy saw us looking confused and promptly told us to go have a bite to eat and he'd have everything resolved in 20 minutes. And sure enough he did. Check out was incredibly easy, we dialed 0 had a bell boy pick up our luggage, had a light breakfast and cought the trolly to the main Punta Cana lobby where the bus picked us up to head to the air port. ( the punta Cana air port is ridiculous for departures FYI. it was quite the experience)

Rooms & resort facilities: This resort was beyond beautiful,the staff are ALWAYS working tirelessly cleaning, painting and ladscaping. The cleand our room 3 times a day which i found excessive, but it may be bc we always tipped and brought presents for the maids. The fridge is stocked daily with drinks, beer and chips. Rooms are very large and the bathrooms are very large to. Rooms look exactly like the photos. We loves that there was a flat screen TV with Satelite, we watched english movies when we needed to escape the heat for a bit. The beds are quite firm. Hotel bars were increadible, extremly whide selection of name brand booz and they wre generous with it.

Food: you have the choice of two buffets for breakfast, 3 for lunch and access to all 14 a la cartes for supper. Breakfast was amazing!!! You name the food and they had it every single morning, mimosas and bloody maries every morning as well. Lunch i found a bit disapointing but i am an extremly picky eater so i blame myself not the resort for that. For the a la cartes i emailed them 2 weeks before we left and pre booked 6 resservations. Upon arival we met with "Jose" are guest services and he had all our tickets for every reservations i requested. This man works tirelessly. his english is perfect and he helped us out numerous times during the week with different things. The one a la carte i insist you try is Garden Grill. My husband and i both ordered steak, two different cuts, and it may possibly be the best steak we've ever eaten.

Pools & Beach: the resort has two large pools and one adult only 'hot tub' section. They were always clean and in amazing repair. Both have swim up bars with a wide selection of drinks. The beach was incredible. a bit crowded and noisy with kids but the water front itself was flawless. Huge waves to play in and no seaweed at all. You can walk for miles in either direction. it is sometimes hard to find a palapa close to the beach front or by the pool, but we always managed to find a good spot farther back with out waking up at 5am to reserve one. ( seriously who does that?!?)

All in all i highly recomend this resort for families with young children. The staff were always playing with them and trying to help out when a baby was fussing. It was a bit busy with kids for us and we would stay at the Ambar adults only side next time for sure.

You will not regret a trip to this incredible resort. The lobby at night is the best, they come around with fresh made chocolates every night, and waitresses to get you anything you desire.

Room Tip: Every room is in close proximety to something, iw ouldn't say any building had better rooms or l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KrystenB641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Krysten,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to the good service from our employees. Jose and Victor will appreciate your nice comments. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

Thank you for your recent review and looking forward to seeing you soon at our Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar!

Always at your disposal,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had a great time, but know what you’re getting. The weather and beach and grounds are perfect. The food… not so much. Perhaps leaning toward bad. Though the special restaurants were better. But the buffets? Ummmm. No. The rooms were very nice and kept very clean. The front desk was not super helpful or even nice actually, which was strange as the rest of the staff was particularly friendly. The butler service, for instance was more helpful than the desk. And they did so with a smile. Especially Yuleyda. Super cheery and very helpful. Good luck.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 815kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you valuable time to share your comments and experience with us. Your feedbacks help us evaluate our performance.

We are pleased to read that you had a great time. Yuleyda will be delighted with your nice comment.

Warmest regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and spent 2 wonderful weeks at this newest part of the Gran Bahia Principe Property and were once again delighted with our stay. We have vacationed in almost all of the Resorts that make up this amazing collection of Vacation Properties. This was our 8th time in 10 years
The Buffet Food Amazing and with a Change in theme each evening, as well as many standards you never got bored. The 3 specialty items that were served by one of the chef's was always superb. Our favourite a la Carte Restaurant this year was Takara (Japanese) a combination of Buffet and off the menu.
Service was wonderful - keeping in mind your need to be on a slightly more relaxed Caribbean time.
The staff was extremely helpful and always willing to chat, even with the language barrier in some cases, with our little bit of Resort Spanish and their willingness to learn we got along famously with all these incredibly hard working people. A shout out to our wait staff, Mary Lou, Raphel, Yimi, Micheal, Juan and supervisor Ben, just to name a few.
The Room was spotlessly clean and our wonderful house keeper Yubelkis Martinel greeted us each day with such warmth and kindness not to mention a wonderful towel animal or two, Flower petals decorating the bed/bathroom and balloon arrangements. Such a pleasant surprise each day. Bring lots of American one dollar bills for tipping.
The Beach is perfect the pools endless and every variety from peaceful to right in the middle of the action. You find your favourite area and just simply relax :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is grateful to read that you spent 2 wonderful weeks with your husband in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda. We are also very pleased to know that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our rich gastronomy, as well as the good service from our employees.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

thanks to nicanor concierge at the bahia principe esmeralda , for making our vacation a very special one ! when at the resort look for him he is the best of the best! he planned our dinners and arranged for my friends birthday dinner with specail reservations and a deliciuos cake. the bartenders at the pool where great as well .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Julissa,

Thank you for acknowledging the excellent service from Nicanor, who made your vacation a very special one. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard.

Regards from Dominican Republic!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.3 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#40 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#51 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (additional charge) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 (at the Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana) Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Bahia Scouts Water park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club (11 - 16 years) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing