We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all my expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #31 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exceeded all my expectations!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and i stayed at the Esmeralda from 3/13-3/20. We were traveling to Punta Cana for a friends wedding and decided to stay as a couple separate from the rest of the group. After much research and many hours on trip advisor i decided on the Esmeralda! So happy with the choice we made! I now know why its rated #4!
From the moment we arrived everything went beautifully. I had sent in our room and a la carte requests about 7 days prior to our arrival and when we checked in all our "requests" were granted!!
They gave us a room in building 90 which was the building closest to the ocean with a view of both the pool from one side of our balcony and the ocean from the other. We were greeted and given our room keys. This is when we met Victor, our butler. I cant not begin to tell you all how sweet, thoughtful and most of all helpful Victor was during our stay. We normally would not have needed a butler per say but because we need taxi rides to and from our resort to the other resort our friends were at and needed suits pressed and what not we opted to take advantage of the service the Esmeralda offered. Not only did Victor give us a tour of the property before showing us our room but he made sure to check on us all week, on top of all the things we needed him to do to help us with the wedding festivities. He even had us choose what type of pillows we would like and brought me lavender scented ones. One night he even had a warm bath drawn, with rose petals and heart shaped towels after we arrived back from the wedding. He really is the best, so please ask for Victor on arrival you will not be disappointed.
As for the restaurants, i had mentioned prior that i sent in our requests. I requested the Portofino located in the Ambar section, the Bella Italian located at the Esmeralda, The Don Pablo at the Ambar and the Maiko located at the Bavarro. We tried all 4 and i have never in my lifetime been to an all inclusive resort with better food then we had on this trip. We are pretty seasoned travelers and have been to many all inclusive resorts and been on many cruises. This food is 5 star all the way!!! My expectations are always pretty low considering these restaurants at these resorts are serving thousands of people everyday so i was so so pleasantly surprised. The Portofino and the Bella Italian were fantastic, the buffets attached to these restaurants are really good too. The Miako was awesome! We requested a hibachi table. The cook Victor put on a great show and the sushi and hibachi meal were like something we would eat here in NY. The Don Pablo was our favorite we both order the filet, you could literally cut it with a butter knife. My husband order the tuna tar tar which again was delicious! The bananas foster is a must here!! It is out of this world but you do have to ask for Luis to make you one because it is not on the menu. He brought the cooking cart out and let us take pictures while he cooked our amazing dessert in front of us! Service in all restaurants was terrific and there was never a wait...a reservation is a reservation at this resort, which we really liked!
The buffets were good too, we loved being able to go to the beach buffet in our pool attire and we absolutely loved the fact that NO ONE walks into any buffet/restaurant without the hostess squirting hand sanitizer in your hand!
The bars were also top notch! The selection of top shelf liquors was great and very surprising considering most resorts do not offer Baileys, Jim Beam, Jack Daniels, Johnny Walker, Tanqueray, Bombay, Absolute just to name a few! We had a few favorite bartenders that i would love to mention! First at the Esmeralda lobby bar...Maximo! He was so friendly and personable. He was always smiling and we loved going to that bar to talk with him. Alexis & Pablo at the pool bar (pool closest to the beach) were awesome too. They both make great Mojitos and were always happy to fill our insulated mugs! Victor at the Ambar lobby bar was fantastic as well!! He was the happiest guy around. he always put on a great show while making our cocktails! He makes a great Dirty Monkey...be sure to ask him to make you one!
Our room as i mentioned was in a prime location and was just as beautiful on the inside. Lots of closet and drawer space. Big bathroom. Comfortable bed and clean as can be. The housekeeper for room 90111 was absolutely amazing! I did not get her name but she did such a nice job and was always very friendly and always knew the exact perfect time to clean our room each day and then again at night. She also set up a a jacuzzi bath and rose petals and animal shaped towels for us one night too.
The beach is beautiful! The sand is soft and the beach was super clean! I usually never go into the ocean past my knees but this water was blue and clean i had my husband in that water everyday with me. I really enjoyed the beach in Punta Cana! There were always plenty of chairs and lots of huts available, There is spots with sun and many spots with shade. I am a sun worshiper and my husband likes to stay out of it as much as possible and we never had a problem...we were both happy!
We booked a couples massage at the Ambar bahia spa, and it was terrific. Very clean and the girls who gave us our massages did a great job. Took us right away and they were very sweet.
We did not attend any of the shows only because we were out 3 nights late for the wedding activities and the other nights we were just too tired from being in sun and maybe a few too many cocktails during the day :) We did try our luck in the casino 1 night and walked out with an extra $100. Not too bad...extra tipping money! Please tip these people even if it is only a dollar or 2, they really do deserve it! The Esmeralda is defiantly a quieter resort but that is one of the major reasons we picked it. If you do want some high energy, loud music, younger crowd all you have to do is walk over to the Bavarro pool/beach and you got it! Thats the greatest part of the Bahia complex. You can walk around or take the trolley wherever for whatever.
All in all i cant not say better things about this resort. It was impeccably clean and the food was amazing for a 5 star all inclusive resort! We had a great time, met some really nice people and are so glad we picked the Esmeralda! A vacation is just that..your not working, cooking, cleaning etc. Enjoy yourselves and just go with it! We will defiantly be back!

Room Tip: Building 90 is closest to the beach! We were in room 90111, we had a view of the ocean and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank GAudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Gaudin,

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. It is an honor to know that we exceeded all your expectations, and you were happy with the choice you made, especially because of our amazing food and great staff. Victor, Maximo, Alexis and Pablo will appreciate all your wonderful remarks.

Thank you for sharing your experience and looking forward to seeing you and your husband soon.

Regards from Punta Cana!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,426
    1,415
    560
    177
    132
See reviews for
2,583
2,793
73
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,535)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I went to the bahia principe hotel, because sone friends were there last year and they told me it is just awesome! Everything in the hoyel was great, me and my family enjoy a few days in the caribean as we thought we were going to.

I will be going back next year for sure, specially for the great service and the experience of feeling like a family from the hotel staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JorgeParedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Jorge,

It is wonderful to read that you and your family enjoyed a perfect vacation in the Caribbean, especially at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda. Please be assured that it will be a pleasure to cater you once again to experience our familiar hospitality from our staff.

Looking forward to seeing you next year!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband, myself and 5 teenagers just spent our March break for the second year at the Esmeralda Resort. I had an unexpected pleasure, after returning to my room from the beach around 5pm on my 5th day. I opened my door to find a path of flower petals leading to the bathroom where many tea lights illuminated the room along with more flower petals and towel art. A bubblebath was awaiting me in the large soaker tub and the atmosphere was beautifully enticing. Thank you to our butler Jinette for the most welcomed unexpected pleasure of our stay at the Gran bahia Principe Esmeralda.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Margot,

Jinette will be really happy with your recognition and to know that she provided the most welcomed unexpected pleasure of your stay at the Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda.

We would like to cater you once again and continue providing the greatest experiences.

Regards from Punta Cana!


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just got back March 18/13 and we had a great time. The resort was clean. The service was excellent. They always asked if we needed anything. They wanted to know how they could make our stay more comfortable. Great food! The restaurants were clean and the people were very friendly. The rooms were always cleaned and they would always leave little treats for the kids. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Anna,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for highlighting our excellent service, great food, and clean restaurants. It is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda to enjoyed once again a great time with us.

Warm greetings,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have just returned home and already missing it! Everything was soo wonderful, staff, food, beach, rooms, lobby etc...Loved the idea that everything is within short walk with no need to leave Esmeralda if one chooses. The staff went above and beyond to change our rooms from 3rd to 1st floor shorty after arriving.(due to issues with knee and climbing stairs). Loved breakfast buffet outside overlooking pool!! Lunch at the beach side cafe was always delicious with huge assortment to choose from. Overall a wonderful week filled with many cherished memories with family!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Debbie,

Please allow us to reassure that we are extremely delighted to read that, with our wonderful, staff, food, beach, rooms, and lobby, you returned home with wonderful memories and you are already missing it.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again in Dominican Republic!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I visisited Luxury Bahia Principae Esmeralda 2-21-13 thru 2-27-13 with 2 other copuple. I really can't say enough about the resore and the staff, We had an amazing time. We have been to other all inclusiive resorts and this was by far one of the best. The staff went above and beyond to make sure you had everything you needed. The resort is emaculate at all times. The food was good. We only didn't like one restaurant. One thing I can seay is if they tell you to weat pants (men) you should. two of the men we were with at the french restaurant did not have pants and they sent them back to change. However the manager was so nice he sent so much extra ood to our table to make up for it.
I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone. Can't wait to go back. The only thing I would do different is stay longer!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmprgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the all-inclusive program and to know that you consider us one of the best resorts that you have visited.

We are looking forward to seeing you, your husband and your friends soon for a longer stay to experience once again an amazing time.

Thank you for recommending us!

Best regards,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caraquet, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went at the Esmeralda Resort in Punta Cana with great expectations and we were not deceived . Everyting, the food, the beach, pool. rooms. etc...and our butler, Marilennis, was just marvelous...She made us more then at ease and sooo welcome.. Keep the good work!Esmeralda!

Room Tip: always ask for the second floor , at least...Less traffic, noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank studioclip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations and we did not deceived you. Posts such as yours delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service. Marilennis will appreciate your comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again in paradise!

Regards from Punta Cana,


Karen Mantilla
Social Media Coordinator
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.4 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#43 of 111 in Punta Cana
946 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,742 reviews
38.2 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
16.1 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 111 in Punta Cana
3,268 reviews
52.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free of charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (free of charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing