We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Bavaro Palace(Bavaro)
$346
$270
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$463
$143
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$475
$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$355
$248
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$152
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$258
Excellence Resorts
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$333
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $311/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$211
$143
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$365
$214
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $259/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$266
$138
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,608)
Filter reviews
7,609 results
Traveler rating
4,880
1,631
680
234
184
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,880
1,631
680
234
184
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon pablojazmin buffetgarden grilla la carte restaurantsprivilege clubscented pillowsbutler servicelobby bargala nightother resortsguest servicesel pescadorthomas cookle gourmetemailed the hoteldominican republicbubble bath
Filter
Updating list...
3,911 - 3,916 of 7,609 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited October 27, 2012 and had the best time. The rooms were amazing and very very clean. The food at all the restaurant and the buffet was very good. The staff were friendly and very help full. I do not have on complaint about this resort. I will definately be visiting again. Thank you for making this the best family vacation so far.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We are satisfied to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel facilities and premises especially because of the friendliness of our staff members.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering visiting us once again.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It’s all about expectations! This is a very good 4 - 4.5 star resort, definitely not a 5
Stayed in this resort Oct 2012. Beautifully kept resort, wonderful beach, very clean and quiet ( except the construction going on but you get used to it ) There are no animators but if you would like to party and participate in organized activities, these things are less than a 5 minute walk.
The room was very nice, clean but did smell of cigar smoke, even though they said it was a nonsmoking room. The fridge was stocked daily, and there was lots of bottled water.
Not the great customer service experience, front desk were rude and inattentive, Esteban very arrogant. Overall, the food was the best we've had for a resort in this price range, the very best a la carte for food and service was Le Gourmet.

Room Tip: Wake up around 7.30 am if you would like to get a hut on the beach or an umbrella at the pool
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ADITA2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

Regarding your comments about our staff let us inform you that we constantly monitor our employees through our Human Resources Department as well as the Bahia Principe Quality Department, in order to ensure that we are providing our guests with the natural warm and hospitality that characterize the Dominican people.

Your point of view has quite surprised us since it is not usual that we receive those kinds of remarks from our clients, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness.

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort and we will give the proper attention.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again at our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda and that way be able to change any misperception you may have.

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We went down for our family vacation sept 15-22 and stayed at the Esmeralda. First of all, let me mention 1 thing I didn't know before going. The bahia Principe hotels are all located on one massive compound. All the hotels are connected on the same property with transports to take you wherever you want.

The Esmeralda is the closest to the beach (2 mins walk) It's the section with the least action also. mostly families and older people. If you're looking to party, you'd have to go over to another section of the hotel at night. That being said, I much prefer the quiet areas as I work in night clubs and don;t enjoy the noise.

The food was top notch. We ate like kings! A ton of variety every day on meals and desserts.Tipping is at your own discretion but let me tell you. leaving 2-3$ per meal between 5 adults and 2 kids assured us great service; Every time we walked in, every waiter in the place wanted us in their location. Again, it's not required but you'll notice a difference in service going form good to great.

The rooms were also excellent and very clean. Stock 2 bottles of water in the fridge every day and mini bar is free. Keep your water bottles to refill as well if you need more or just ask the cleaning lady.

Gorgeous beach. This is by far the nicest beach I've been to. No rocks at all on the beach nor in the water. Just powder sand all the way through. I'm not usually a beach guy but this beach kept me there all day.

There's a market right side of the beach which is about 40 mins walk or 5 min boat taxi ride. To be avoided at all costs. The ppl working there's are like horse flies. They won't leave you alone, harassing non stop to sell you junk for ridiculous prices.

We did the nurse shark/sting ray/catamaran excursion. I'm not a supporter of keeping animals confined for profit. I only realized it after the fact. The crew and staff were quite friendly and it was a nice relaxing day though.

The only thing I was a little disappointed in was that there was only free wifi in the lobby and not in the room. We managed to catch some wifi on and off the first 3 days form the room, but they locked it down after that. It would have been nice to have free wifi access from the room but wasn't the end of the world.

All in all, I have to say that for what we paid (under a 1000$ per person) it was money well spent and I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mimic7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Recieve cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your stay with us.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations and it is wonderful to know that you are considering visiting once again our Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda. At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,


Customer Service
Grand Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is lovely, very clean and the rooms have the wow factor. So everything u read about that is true. Unfortunately there are problems, there is building work and its fairly loud but tolerable. In the esmeralda it's the arrecife restaurant next to the pool and the new complex next to the lobby, they r also putting in another pool too and what looks like another restaurant. But don't get too excited this is for the timeshare. The people in reception who bombard u and tell u they are not selling timeshare. U are buying an apartment for 2 weeks for 5 years! ( timeshare then). There is other building work amongst the other hotels too, pools being dug up and the beach area is having a facelift too. Areas closed off including beach. There were a lot and I mean a lot of people ill with gastroenteritis so take all necessary medicines. Out of our party all 4 were ill one actually hospitalised and there were quite a few in hospital, just be very careful and watch what your eating.
The jasmin buffet was very varied and the desserts look wonderful but the food that is cooked fresh, beware some of the chicken was still raw, over the two weeks we were there this happened a few times with turkey and pork. Our server was luis he was a pain, so much infact we moved area in the dining room and sat on tables for two! He can't sing, he whips away cups and cutlery while your still eating and when the survey was presented for us to fill in he tried making us tick excellent to everything with behaviour only described as bullying!
On the whole the a la carte were excellent the don Pablo and garden grill, service was outstanding, food wonderful.
Would I return NO in a word the complex is far too big, the esmeralda itself only small but it's growing. If u have booked the hotel is nice please don't be put off by this review just be aware of my negatives. The hotel will say they have no stomach problems that they have heard of and so says Thomas cook, trust me there were loads and not just the esmeralda, there were people of all nationalities talking about it around the pool who's family members were ill. In the doctors office the people were from all the other hotel in the complex and they had sickness and diarrhoea too.
Lastly if u are travelling with Thomas cook, good luck, we had no rep for over a week the hotel staff helped us with our friend in hospital, making phone calls so a big thank u to them. But Thomas cook were rubbish. We finally got a rep two days before travelling home and she was nice and took our complaint but too little too late!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Teresawat31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Recieve cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We thank you for taking your time sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Regarding your comments about other guest experience, allows us inform you that our hotel follows a very strict hygiene, quality and security program monitored by the international company Crystal; on those days and taking into account the high occupancy, we cannot conclude that our hotel is the causative of their illness.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

We hope you will be willing to give us the opportunity to welcome you once again at our hotel and that way be able to change any misperception you may have.

Kind regards,


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was here from Oct. 26 to Nov.02 - 2012. I have nothing but great things to say about the food to me relaxing, either at the pool or beach. Staff are very helpful and friendly with me! So yes love the spot & I hope to go again this winter of 2013 . I online at the resort paid $40 dollars US with credit card for 7 days of 24 hours of access and then could view all football matches or as they say in Canada soccer from England. I`m a Liverpool fc fan so nice to in the room or poolside to be connected. Therefore with skpe show my family back home what they are missing giggle !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ron_Oderkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again!

Best regards.


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews