We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Esmeralda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #32 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful Esmeralda”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have spent two wonderful weeks at Esmeralda. The room and bathroom are very spacious. The way the hotel is organized is absolutely perfect for families with young kids as everything is close by.

Variety of restaurants, delicious food, very friendly staff. Gifts in the room at the beginning and then every night chocolate. A butler always there for you.

You realy have to go to experience it as words can't describe the beauty of BP.

We absolutely loved the Mini Club shows. My daughter is five and every night she danced on stage. She even took part in their two shows: Lion King and Princesses Diaries. Just seeing her on stage, so delightful!! Thank you Maxi and your coworker!

We were not surprised that all the other tourists we talked to were there for the second, third time. Once you go, you keep going!

Thank you, Bahia Principe!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dianasilviapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay in our hotel especially because of the friendliness of our staff members. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to them.

Thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you one more time at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro.

Best regards.


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,449
    1,436
    576
    185
    135
See reviews for
2,621
2,817
74
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,545)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Even though its been almost 3 months since we went to Punta Cana, we still talk about the great time we had. Been a domincan myself I was very impressed and proud to see and enjoy such a wonderfull hotel and all its facility and service. From the minute the plane touched ground to the time of the first dinner, everything was excellent. The waiters at the main dinner restaurant buffet were already calling us by name by day 2. especial thanks to Joel and Augusto who made our dinner time much more pleasurable. Ramon Diaz and Nicanor who helped us get the best room; which to our amazement was impecably clean, huge and confortable bed. Thank you Marislennis( mayordoma) who prepared a really nice surprise for my nephew kevin on his birthday, she adorned the room like a party especialist with ballons and a nice cake. The guy at the pool bar Alex was always ready to serve the best mamajuana. Carlos, and Maximo who treated us like they new us since day one. All and every one who cleaned our room and stack the mini bar on a daily basis; it is incredible to see them been happy at what they do, by making sure all the guests are well provided for. The food was excellent, would like to see more variety of tropical fruits, did not see my favorite aguacate. we also felt safe letting our teenagers walk around the premises, since everything was very quiet and secured. Esmerald was a unique experience for all of us; my in-laws were definetely impressed; and will go back to the same place with no doubt. The one thing we think should improve is the handling of luggages; maybe need to be more organized. We also missed the welcome drink it shown on the video about bahia Prinsipe. If I recommend this place as a family vacation? Absolutly!! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire team working at Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our rich gastronomy as well as the good service from our employees. At Bahía Príncipe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations and, it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our Resort.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards from Bavaro.


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel has lived up to my expectations. For the price we paid and what we recieved is beyond excellent.

I made emailed the hotel for our room and al a carte requests the week before we arrived - which all where met.

Rooms

Spotless, large and comfy, air conditioning is excellent. Jacuzzi tub, twin sinks, seperate rainshower and toilet. Vast ammount of toiletries and bathrobes and slippers are provided. Even had scented toilet rolls!
Minifridge restocked daily with crisps, minitures and branded soft drinks and beer.
Balcony is of a standard size but with nicer furniture - no cheap plastic chairs or tables.

Food and Drink

The Jasmin buffet restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Large, spaced out and tastefully decorated. Food at the buffet was well above average, with a wide variety of foods, catering for all tastes. It was nice to see a selection of daily roasts for evening meals - from lobster and seafood to roast chicken, turkey, duck, beef, pork, steaks and lamb chops aswel as all the other selections.

The al a cartes in which we visted were all excellent. Don Pablo, Garden Grill, Le Gourmet and Maiko all had excellent, tasty and well presented food.

The pool bar was great, half in the sun, half shaded. Never had to wait long for a drink.

The lobby bar was a great place to chill in the evening, wide selection of premium branded spirits (Smirnoff, Eristoff, Skyy and Absolut vodka, Baileys, Cointreu, Tia Maria, Sambucca, Drambrue, JB whiskey) Soft drinks (Pepsi and 7UP), cava and cocktails.

Activities and Entertainment

This hotel does not have any form of daytime or evening entertainment - Not a problem for me as this was a total relax holiday. However daytimes activities could be found around other areas of the Gran Bahia complex, in the Punta Cana hotel specifically.

Evening entertainment was available in the Punta Cana area in the centre of the complex. Variety of shows (notthing special for me, as im not fussed about this kind of entertainment) however the circus show was very good! - the acrobatics was great to see.

Casino was available - although this is not owned by the hotel chain and drinks have to be paid for in here - went a couple of nights for an hour for something different.

The pueblo area normally had some form of entertainment / music band on. The kareoki bar was was lively and was a great place to cool down from the heat.

Disco was quite busy for time of season. Mixture of all music and was air conditioned.

Grounds where immaculate. Staff are forever cleaning this place! They never stop. Everywhere is spotless. Walk ways where even brushed and scrubbed down.

Service and Staff

Now this is where the hotel stands out and entitles it place in the top 5 hotels in Punta Cana.

All members of staff - no matter what position did their jobs very very well. In particular the bar staff worked very hard in providing 5 star service. I must have only gone to the bar myself twice in the whole two weeks - everything is table service. Drink mats where changed when wet, ash tray was changed as soon as someone flicked ash in it, table wiped everytime we were served. Smiles all round, nothing too much for anyone - and hardly any issues with communication - learn a few basic phrases in Spanish and you will not have a problem.

Waiters were as equally good in their jobs. Each morning we were given a freshly made bucks fizz on entry to breakfast, ice cold water and wine was offered immediatley with every meal.

Butler service and evening turn down service was great. Scented pillows delivered. 24/7 room service menu, never long to wait and always delivered with a smile (even at 2am).

Nothing is too much for these guys, they are honestly great people who provide great service all the time.

*** Construction work - may be an issue for those on the side facing it in block 93, however it is almost invisible to everyone else. Noise wise - yes the was some noise - normally I would complain but this did not bother me in the slightest. - My only concern is that I personally think that making the hotel bigger will have a negative effect - the hotel is perfect the way it is - small and friendly.

*** Travelled on the Thomas Cook flight on 27th (28th) September - the one with the 29 hour delay. Any one who would like copy of my letter that I have sent to Thomas Cook (EU regulation 261/04, 600 Euro) compensation for excessive delays- please private message me and i'll happily sent it you.

This is truly an impressive hotel and resort. Would return anytime and would recommend to anybody. Thank you GBP Esmeralda for making this a dream holiday.

Room Tip: Email room and restaurant requests a week early. Rooms in block 90/91 are closest to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank tjwigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Recieve cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for your valuable time sharing your opinion. We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your vacations with us especially because of the friendliness of our staff members.

We look forward to serving you once again and make your next experience unforgettable.

Kind regards.


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just came back from the Principe Esmeralda after 2 brilliant weeks there,

Im going to set this review up in sections as there is too much to write and I don’t want to miss anything.

Airport

arrived in the Dominican after a delay of 28 hours at Manchester due to the incompetence of Thomas cook, we went through immigration straight to the collect a baggage which was already there waiting for us, then straight out onto the bus were the Thomas cook rep was waiting for us, we was told which bus to get on, good organisation.

Arrival at the hotel

Once we got to the hotel, we was sent into the bar area for a welcome drink and to get our welcome pack with our keys in and other bits of information, after drinks we went up to our rooms and waited for our bags to arrive which was no more than 5 mins after we got in the room, bell boy was friendly we had been given a cot which was not needed and he got it removed straight away even though it was 10pm

Room

the hotel rooms are amazing, we had a king size bed comfy with enough pillows, if you need more pillows ask your butler they even put lavender in our pillows (nice little touch) the week before we were due to go on holiday we had emailed the hotel asking for a certain block either 90 or 91 top floor which we got, so big thank you for this.
maid service every day, and towels change twice a day, mini bar stocked daily with a selection of alcohol and soft drinks and a packet of crisp, Maids would always say hello when you are walking round the block, we gave a few tip to the maids as they deserve it you will go to your room at 11pm and the maids will still be working out in the corridors,

Food

food in this hotel was brilliant, you have the main buffet which is your general, sometimes the food was cold but overall it was good, you also have the option to eat at the different restaurants within the whole complex which you can book by emailing the hotel the week before you arrive, the garden grill was one of the best places to eat at the resort, food was really nice and the steak tasted really nice.

Service

all the staff at the Esmeralda are really friendly and helpful, always getting you drinks making sure you’re ok and enjoying yourself and even just a quick hello, so a big thank you to everyone at the Esmaralda for letting me enjoy my 2 weeks holiday,
Night life
At the Esmaralda there is the main bar at reception which closes at 11.30pm so if you’re after a nice evening drink and a laugh with people your with this is perfect, if you fancy having a night out there is a karaoke bar and a disco at the Punta Cana resort which you can get a cart direct to there, they also have daily shows on in the theatre we went to see Michael Jackson on the Monday evening which was brilliant.
There is also a casino near the disco which we had a go at but lost our money, but was fun while it lasted, gave up in the end, not the best person to gamble,
Overall

this is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in, I would recommend anyone to go here and stay, I have been back home a day and I am already missing the place :( definitely worth the money paid and is a true 5 star hotel.

Thanks again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ctwigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Recieve cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your stay with us.

We also are very pleased you enjoyed the all-inclusive program which includes a wide range of delicious food and beverage.

Thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro.

Best regards.


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I am extremely late in writing this review (we traveled to this resort in November of 2011), but I still wanted to share my thoughts. We absolutely loved the Esmeralda. As indicated by my title, the Esmeralda is a small portion of the larger Gran Bahia resort complex, but only people staying at the Esmeralda are allowed to utilize the pool, buffet, etc. Additionally, guests at the Esmeralda are entitled to unlimited dinners at any of the a-la-carte restaurants on the property, which gives you a ton of restaurants to choose from.

We had a ground floor room at the resort, facing away from the pool. While it was somewhat annoying to have the shuttle zipping by constantly and people passing by our balcony to get from one spot of the resort to the next, it was also fairly nice not facing the pool area. The room itself was very nice, clean and well kept. Special thanks to Milfi, who adorned our room with rose petals and ran a bubble bath in the jacuzzi tub while we were at the pool - she said she had a surprise for us but that was totally unexpected!

With respect to the pools and the beach, the resort is absolutely beautiful. The pool was always sparkling clean and there were plenty of areas on the beach to relax. The pool bar was amazing, and our favorite waiter would make our drinks when he saw us swimming up to the bar - we didn't even have to ask after day one. The service at all of the bars in the Esmeralda area matched this service.

The food was good, not great. You could definetly always find something to eat at the buffet, and the a-la-carte restaurants were better than some AI resorts we have visited in the past. Like the bars, the service here was also excellent.

One of the nicest parts about the Esmeralda is the small resort feel, while also being able to partake in any of the activities offered throughout the complex. The shows were pretty good, and we spent a few nights at the Piano bar listening to karaoke - the later the better.

The only real caveat I would point out for this resort is the shopping square area. Like most resorts we have been to, the merchants are very pushy and try to get you to buy something from everyone. After buying a small gift for my wife, I simply walked away with little/no hassle.

Overall, I would recommend this resort to anyone, especially families. This year, we are trying an adults only resort to get away from the kids, but they were not as loud and obnoxious at the Esmeralda section as at other parts of the resort. This is one big reason why we spent 99% of our time at the Esmeralda pool as opposed to venturing out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Recieve cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our Esmeralda Hotel. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last visit with us. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

The Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro would like to have the opportunity to welcome once again at Resort to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

We look forward to serving you again and make your next experience unforgettable.

Kind regards.


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

After reading many positive reviews on Tripadvisor, my wife and I decided to book the GBP Esmeralda for our honeymoon. We stayed in room 90216 from 9/20 - 9/27 and had the time of our lives.

After we got off the plane and got our baggage, we indicated to one of airport workers that we wanted to take a taxi. He grabbed all of our bags and after giving a thumbs up to the security guys, got us out of there skipping over 50-100 people. High roller kinda treatment! I recommend a taxi because not only is it quicker and more comfortable, but it's really not much more expensive, $38 each way.

Check in at the Esmeralda was very quick, and we were warmly greeted by the butler Ramon, who showed us to our room. He provided excellent service and went out of his way to ensure that anything we needed was handled. We asked at check-in for a room in Building 90, 3rd floor, and were very happy that they were able to accomodate our request on moments notice.

The rooms are beautiful, but I noticed a few superficial things that should be addressed before our next trip. For example, the rooms are painted a beautiful orange and cream white, but there were a couple of noticable uneven paint marks, as well as marks on the big, beautiful mirror. The bathrooms are large, but as an American, I'm not used to the separated "water closet" toilet. Even my slender 4'11" wife felt cramped in it. Every room had a balcony, and our view had a beautiful view of the pool. Also, we are used to sleeping on a memory foam mattress, and the first 2 nights there our we suffered unbearable pain. Thankfully, Ramon and the housekeeping crew promptly made sure that we had soft blankets set up so that we could sleep comfortably.

The service at the Esmeralda was top notch. Alexis, Richard, Rafael and Maximo at the bar were great, as was Luis at the Jasmine. Everyone was very friendly, and it really made our experience there special. Often times, people think that tipping causes you to get "better service", but I can tell you that what the workers really seemed to enjoy was when I would attempt to speak to them in their native tongue. I have a very basic knowledge of Spanish, based on what I remember from high school (10 years ago!) but I noticed that more of it come back as I worked on it. I understand that it's a two way street, and if they want to serve English-first clientele, the honus is on them, but if your vocabulary consists of more than hola, taco, amigo, and adios, you should be just fine.

The pool was beautiful, absolutely beautiful. It was a relaxing spot during the day, and the lighting of it was something to marvel at during the night time hours. The towel exchange guy was literally sleeping half of the time, but when his amigo would tap him on the shoulder, we'd get fresh, clean towels. The pool bar staff always went above and beyond to make sure that our throats were never dry -- for example, our first night there, we were drinking with a Canadian couple that we had met, and the bar was about to close. We had just had our first shot of "Mamajuana", the prominent local drink, and we all wanted another one before it was too late. I said to Rafael "Cuatro mas, por favor" so instead of four shots total, he lined up four EACH for the four of us, and seemed very happy to do so! (Which we later learned was such a horrible idea! haha) Our only complaint about the pool was that it closes at 6 PM every night. With another light or two around the bar area, they could safely keep it open until 9 or so.

The beach is everything that you see in the pictures and more! The pictures capture the view of the soft, white sand and the blue rolling waves, but you can't imagine how direct the sunlight is or how refreshing the breeze is! The bars at the beach serve basic liquors and iced drinks -- I'd recommend the Pina Colada or the Banana Mama, and while they are a great way to cool off, you need to drink them quickly, otherwise those daytime rays turn them to juice in no time! My only complaint here is that there are these men (who I'm not sure if they work for the hotel or a separate company) who are always walking around hawking excursion packages. If I'm on my honeymoon and my wife is trying to catch some rays, I don't want to wake her up to ask her about an overpriced half-day trip, nor do I want to have our picture taken with a parrot.

Another great thing about the Esmeralda is that you have 24/7 room service. They say that you should expect 45 minutes for it to arrive, but our experience (generally during the early morning hours) was that it came in 25-30 minutes. The downfall here though is that their room service menu is EXTREMELY limited. For example, their overnight menu allows you to get a basic garden salad, either a ham or chicken sandwich, fruit, or desserts. I was disappointed when I got there that if I got hungry for carbs at night, I was basically SOL. Probably for the better though!

The food in general at the hotel was great. My wife and I basically stuck with the Jasmine for breakfast and dinner and the snack bar for lunch. We were there for a week, and sure, they have mostly the same food every day, but it was delicious, so I didn't mind eatling the same things. We only went to one of the separate restaurants, which was the Bella, right here on the Esmeralda property. We were disappointed that they had such a limited menu! I was hoping for some sort of ravioli and my wife wanted chicken, but there was no ravioli and her chicken was the size of a nugget. If we were staying there for more than a week, we'd have checked out some of the other restaurants.

Another thing that contributed to our happiness was the other guests. We met got to know a few couples from Canada, the UK and Russia. Thanks to Pierre from Toronto for taking our photos on the beach at night! Surprising that we literally didn't meet ANYONE from the US, but I guess that helped us feel even more like we were "getting away".

The last thing worth mentioning was one of our biggest concerns before we left NY to go down there: the weather. The Weather Channel called for a 30% chance of "Scattered Thunderstorms" every single day that we were to be there. Our experience was that it actually turned out to be a high of 90 (with the "feels like" of 102 from humidity) and a low of 77 overnight. The only time that there was any semblance of rain were on the last 2 nights, and it basically rained from 10:30 for 20 minutes each of those two nights. Big woop.

We also noticed that time moves slower in Punta Cana. We were at the beach for what seemed to be 3 hours, and after looking around a while for the time, we realized that it had only been 45 minutes. This was a constant for our whole trip, which is a testament to how great of a place this is for couples who just need to unwind!

To sum it up: our honeymoon was great, there were a few small issues that should be addressed, but for a 7 day all-inclusive with the deals that we found it for on Travelocity, it was worth double what we paid. Definitely will be returning!

Room Tip: Block 90, 3rd floor, facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank joe71284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from the entire team working at Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

Pease be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager of our Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your holidays thanks to our employees. Please be assured that your wonderful comments will be forwarded to them.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations and, it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our Resort.

Thank you for your comments and looking forward to seeing you soon!

Regards from Bavaro.


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Esmeralda from 03rd Sept 2012 - 17th Sept 2012 and we loved it. The transfer from airport to hotel was smooth and our Tour Operator Hipolito (?!) was lovely.

The staff were friendly and welcoming and appreciated our attempts at Spanish, the girls who greeted us at the Jazmin in particular were really lovely. Our maids did an amazing job every day and left us beautiful towel origami etc. We didn't use much from the mini bar except the water and crisps but had what we had used restocked every day. The bedroom was beautiful - massive and comfortable, nice and cool too as it is very hot out there!

We ate at the Bella Italia, which we really enjoyed, but the best restaurant was the Garden Grill - the food was amazing! We ate at the Jazmin or the Snack Bar most days as the choice of food was amazing, and I found it a little difficult to be enthusiastic about eating at the other restaurants as was in the early stages of pregnancy.

The pools were great, we spent most of our time around the adult only pools as we preferred the peace and quiet. Yes there was construction going on during our stay but it didn't disturb us in the slightest. The beach was lovely as the private area for Esmeralda always had shady beds and it was often cooler than up by the pools.

We went to see the Michael Jackson show, which was really good, but apart from that we stayed around the Esmeralda. We also paid to visit the Manati Park, which was a fantastic day out and they had several times for the return buses, so you could stay as long as you wanted.
We took Pesos and Dollars and only used the dollars. Remember to keep $20 each for the departure tax as some people in our tour operator group didn't!

We tipped the staff whenever we had good service, which was practically the whole time. We would leave a dollar for table service during the day and 2 dollars in the evening. We left 2 dollars for the maid every day with a $5 bonus at the end of each week - they really did a fantastic job and would be cleaning rooms from 8am - 8pm at night.

We had no complaints about the Esmeralda and would recommend it to anyone. Unfortunately you do get some people who complain about stupid things and kick off but we mostly kept to ourselves and enjoyed our peaceful honeymoon away.

Thank you for a fantastic honeymoon Esmeralda.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Hotel.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our Resort as your honeymoon destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy a nice time together during your last stay with us.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Best regards.


Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.4 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
957 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#21 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,791 reviews
38.2 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
16.1 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#86 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,329 reviews
52.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free of charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (free of charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing