We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great say at the Esmeralda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #30 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Chambersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great say at the Esmeralda”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Overall, we had a spectacular trip to the Resort. The food and drinks were all excellent. The room and beach were very clean. I would give this Resort my highest recommendations. The only 2 complaints I have are: The Privilege Club people got to be an annoyance. We agreed to sit through the '60 minute' presentation to hear what they had to say, but that 60 minutes was actually 100-120 minutes. And on our last day, they tried to get us to hear something else again. And when we said no, the employee was not very pleasant. During our last night there, we ordered room service and it was never delivered. Regardless of those 2 things, we still enjoyed our stay very much so and would love to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bahia Principe

Helpful?
2 Thank STOTTLEMYER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations however we would like to present our most sincere apologies if some of the members of the Privilege Club may have affected your stay.

Please be assured that your comments will be forwarded to the Privilege Club Manager.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,427
    1,415
    562
    177
    133
See reviews for
2,584
2,795
73
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,535)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the GBP Esmeralda. We arrived early so there was a bit of a hassle getting to the Esmeralda because the coach drops you of at the Punta Cana. But anyway the room was first rate and the maid and minibar service was excellent. It wasn't made too clear what facilities we could use ie the Thomas Cook Rep said to book the a'la'cartes on the day ( no chance) you can book all your a'la'cartes a week in advance although the meals and the service at the Jasmine are by far the best. The Arricife snack bar is great too.
For drinks the Lobby bar was our cup of T.
The grounds are beautiful and well Maintained.
One negative is I personally don't agree with kids at the Bar especially a swim up bar. But that's maybe a parental thing.
When we left the Russians were arriving and they can be brusk to say the least.
But to sum up we loved the Esmeralda and hopefully we'll get back there .....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DaveB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Esmerlada Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your vacations.
We regret to hear that your perception about some aspects of the wet bar was not positive, however be assured that your comments have been already brought to the General Manager attention.

We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The first time we had a one week all inclusive vacation at BP Esmeralda was in Feb. 2011. It was just me and my husband and we found the resort really great that this year, in March, we went back again. This time, we brought our (2) children with us.

My husband emailed the resort before hand to ask for an adjoining rooms but he was told we have to do that upon arrival. So when we arrived at the resort, my husband asked for an adjoining rooms. we were granted without any hassle and the rooms were super clean and quite as we expected.

Restaurants - The best is the Don Pablo restaurant. Their steaks are really yummy that we booked ourselves twice. Least favorite is the Japanese restaurant.. We never went back there. For lunch, we enjoyed the buffet with in the resort and sometimes, we visit the buffet restaurants at the Bavaro and Punta Cana as well,

Pool - it was perfect for us because it is very quite and clean. The bar men are very friendly as well especially Manolo. Being at the Esmeralda, we were actually told we can go in all the resorts restaurant and pools, but because we are already happy where we are, we never tried the other pools.

Beach - very clean and beautiful. Kids went for their first para sailing and they enjoyed it as much as we enjoyed it the first time we were there. They had a great time with their dune buggy ride too.

Shops - We enjoyed going around the shops and my husband bought me a larimar ring the first time we went there. This time, in the same shop, we bought a larimar bracelet and a pendant. It is quite pricey but we have no other options to buy jewelrey with in the resort.

SPA - me and my daughter went for massage and it was perfect!

There are some reviews saying they lost some items? I believe every room has a safe, so if you don't like to lose any valuable item, leave it in your safe and it won't get lost.

We got the Privilege Membership so when we went to Jamaica this September, we were able to enjoy the membership. If you ask us which resort we enjoyed more and will go back to that resort? Without any doubt, we love BP ESMERALDA in Dominican Rep. more than BP Jamaica..

We will definitely come back again. We already miss their warm and friendly welcome, but for now, we can't just wait to see the BP resort in Mexico, maybe the Sian Ka'an.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors. No elevators but it's only until third floor. Very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank judyann627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen once again one of our Resorts as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you could enjoy again a nice time together with your family during your last stay with us.

Please be assured that it is an honour and a great compliment for us to forward, such wonderful comments, to all our Esmeralda staff.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations and we are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel here in the Dominican Republic, meanwhile we wish you and your family all the best.

Best regards

Customer Service
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks Was expecting paradise as we had been to view it last year from the time share they do there so was really excited to have booked it.
Room superb had asked for a low floor in block 90 was right by pool and beach fantastic, had problem getting into room 3 days running and on one occassion was back and forth from reception 3 times and still was not able to get in room Went to Service desk where a very helpfull lady eventually sorted it out.

Fridge was not stocked daily with all drinks very hit and miss also toiletries were not always replaced either, some night no towel change i think miss communication is the reason. Loved room service no extra charge and a good selection Al acarte loved Don Pablo not easy to get to as my husband is disabled and although it is about a 10-15 minute walk that was not possible for us so a tip to the lobby boys and a lift in the trollies is given Bella Italia fantastic BBq avoid this one awlful I don not know why this is on the al acarte book as every one was complaining just like a cheap 3 star yuk !!!
Tried to eat at the Ambar one night only to be turned away was not happy as we were told that Esmeralda guest could use anywhere and as this is the priciest hotel on the complex did not understand the excuse we were given, I put a written complaint to the manager but no reply they had at that stage another 12 days to respond
Overall experience good, but for the money all was not perfect. Shows only 2 decent ones a week Michael Jackson and Circus, rest are just audience participation. I suggest they include more shows.
We come every year and the shows are the same need some new ones !!
We found most complainers were Canadians very loud and want everything first ......... Food in the Jasmine not as good quality as the Ambar where we stayed last year food there far superior.
Balcony was dirty never cleaned once in the 2 weeks just as well we was not using it one day room not even cleaned only bed made. Dont let this put you off going its a great place to stay

Room Tip: block 90 if you want to be right near beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ricospeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Alleston,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

First of all, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments of your last stay in our Hotel.

Regarding your comments about the restaurants, please let us inform you that every hotel has its own restaurant and for operational reasons the guests are to dine in the restaurants belonging to the hotel which they checked-in, however we would like to state that you could have definitely used our A la Carte Restaurants, including the A la Carte belonging to the Ambar Hotel, as well as all the facilities of the Bavaro Resort.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.

Our main goal strives in having a great ambiance to satisfy our guests' requirements; we regret to hear that your perception in this matter was not positive.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

Regards from Bávaro!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 20th Aug to 3rd Sept,we are a family of three (son 15).I am not going to go on and on about how great this hotel is,yes believe all the positives.We have been coming to the island for over 20years,plus other parts of the caribbean,Mexico,Barbados,Antigua etc. Wonderful staff (cannot do enough for you, so helpful),great rooms,we were in block 91,top floor,pool view (emailed 7 days before all requests were granted). We thought the food was exceptional in the buffet;our favourite restaurants were Le Gourmet and Bella Italia (ate at each twice-great red wine) plus we ate in the other themed restaurants which were also good. Nice quiet pool,plus adults only pool. We are beachy people and the beach is lovely,although a little busy for us,but it was the summer holidays so it is to be expected.
We loved the shows at night which finished at 11pm,we would then go on to the Don Pueblo Square where there was a show or band until midnight;then the Karaoke Bar or Disco till 3am (never lasted till 3am).
We had chocs on our pillows at night,one night we had lavender pillows (lovely).Big THANKYOU to Ramon Diaz one of the butlers,THANKYOU to Estaban on reception, THANKYOU Julio in the Jasmine Buffet,THANKYOU to all the staff, you all made our holiday a wonderful experience. Will we be returning guests? JUST TRY AND STOP US.

Room Tip: Blocks 90,91,92. Top Floor,Pool Facing have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HelenT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Helen,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. Posts such as yours without a doubt delight us and gives us confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are considering coming back to our premises.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.


Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed this resort so much that we are going again! We are very fussy people since we live in a nice home already and enjoy amazing food everyday. This resort had everything going for it. We paid a couple of hundred dollars more to stay in it, but it was well worth it. The service was great, the food was delicious and the beach was amazing! Esmeralda ready or not hear we come again!!!! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Charlie,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your vacations and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you and your wife will probably be coming back.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Best regards!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Gran Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

One of the best accomodations we have stayed at, great service, very clean and freindly people, the rooms are spacious and clean, staff always going out there way to provide a good service.

Location was on the beach, or just a few steps, blocks 90 or 91 closest.

Restaurants are all of good quality including the buffet.
Room service if required.
Top shelf drinks and international brands available.

Only small issues if any was that the bars close a little early, and the same applied to the pool, I thought 6pm was just a little early, especialy after a very hot day.

All in all a top quality hotel, to which I would recommend to freinds and family,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bahia Principe

Helpful?
5 Thank DOMINICLILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... B, Customer Service Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear client,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort, especially from our Quality & Customer Service Department.

We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the comments about your stay in our Esmeralda Hotel.

It is a pleasure for all of us to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay with us and be assured that it is wonderful to know that you are recommending us to other clients, it is truly an honor.

Looking forward to seeing you soon

Regards from Bavaro!!

María Maciá Bas
Customer Service Manager
Bahía Príncipe Bávaro Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.4 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 111 in Punta Cana
947 reviews
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,744 reviews
38.2 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
16.1 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 111 in Punta Cana
3,269 reviews
52.1 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (free of charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi (free of charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BP USA TRAVEL INC, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing