We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Great Vacation”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Hola !!! Just got back yesterday .The Esmeralda is an excellent choice at the GBP resort located the nearest to the beach and the newest accommodation. The Grand Bahia Principe is a HUGE resort ... We were very pleased with the hotel, location and also the quality of the food. We were in building 90 which is the greatest on the 3rd floor which we could see the beach from balcony and also pool. (We email 2 weeks prior to departure the hotel for our request and also our A la Carte reservation).the Bella Italia is so so would not waste time to go back BUT the Steak House was excellent the beef melts in your mouth it is comparable to Angus beef of Alberta. Room service great - you TIP well you get excellent service. They recognize you ! The only B- would be the check out. With Air Canada you could get late check out at no cost if available... The front desk say the same story to everyone checking out and having the same request even though these people are not staying in the same building as you. We have a Russian flight coming at 11:30 sorry we could not offer you a late check out. We manage to get 1 extra hour but this was a lot of work..... Love our Trip got back to reality at -18 degree. Ciao

Room Tip: Building 90 greatest location 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank zizOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,293
    1,381
    542
    171
    126
See reviews for
2,531
2,685
72
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,495)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Went away in mid January and the hotel and general environment was excellent. The Esmeralda is tailored to couples and families and is a quiet resort unlike some of the other resorts located on the grounds (Punta Cana and Bavaro). Staff is also top notch, especially Nicanor who is probably the most helpful hotel employee I have met to date. Couldn’t ask for a better holiday.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

unforgettable vacation!
Service, rooms, beach, food, personal - excellent 5+

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alinaklimova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We spent a week in this resort Jan. 6-13, 2012. This was our second time to Bahia Principe but the first time to Esmeralda section. We absolutely loved it. The section is very small, only 4 buildings. Everything is close by and there were no line ups for anything. The beach, pool, buffet for breakfast,lunch and dinner are steps from you building. The rooms are quite large with a balcony and we had a king size canopy bed. The mattress was quite hard. This was my only complaint about the room. The food was excellent in the buffet with lots of choice. We also had reservations at 3 a la cart restaurants. Don Pablo Gourmet - had dinner there twice, amazing food and presentation, highly recommend it. Maiko Japonese was ok, don't expect the sushi to be what you are used to, the rice is too sticky. The fried rice, vegetables, fish and meat was not bad. We also tried the El Pescador, did not like it. You have the buffet style for appetizer and desert and order the main portion a la carte. Felt the same as eating in the buffet. We have read the reviews on Trip Advisor and have booked all our restaurants prior to arrival. The beach and the ocean was excellent, weather was great. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will definately be back to this resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in Block 90 which is closest to the beach. Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank awningsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda is part of the Gran Bahia Principe super resort. It is a sort of oasis as it's newer, cleaner, more quiet, less crowded and somewhat secluded as it is located on the peripheral by the beach. This peaceful charm exists even though or perhaps because it is a family oriented hotel. This is in sharp contrast with the more lively adjacent Ambar (which is adults only). We enjoyed this contrast as it gave us the best of both worlds.

Some other pros included:
- well managed
- good restaurants (except Japanese)
- no mosquitos
- good entertainment
- good beach
- good weather

Cons included:
- persistent timeshare sellers in lobby
- crowded beach
- need to get up early to reserve spots at beach/pools

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Scurochiaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Well what can I say about this hotel besides AMAZING - BEAUTIFUL - AMAZING!!
I went twice in 2011 (May & October) and I can't wait to go back. Both times were different types of crowds.
In May: Students and people my age (18-25)
October: Couples/ families and (50-75)

Food is amazing - never went hungry or thirsty
Staff was nice and friendly
Rooms were beautiful and spacious

Beach is nice, a lot of seaweed when I went in October (none in May).

Although we stayed at the Esmaralda we often went to the "party pool" on the Bavaro side (which is the big pool near the beach) because it was too quiet at our pool. The animation team is there all afternoon and believe me they know how to entertain and get the crowd going.

I recommend this hotel to everyone I know and cannot say anything bad about this resort.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ali88Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We travelled to Gran Bahia Esmerelda just after it had first opened and so the rooms, restaurants, bar area were all impeccably clean. The Esmerelda is very close to the beach and the bottom of the resort. All the entertainment and main lobby area was a good 10 minute walk from our room which did become tiresome after a week so we opted to hop on and off the resort transport that runs continually throughout the day. We had some good food but by far the best restaurant was the Italian which is located right in the Esmerelda area, this was the best food we had during our stay. Alll in all a great choice for family's, be prepared to walk lots! The beach is wonderful (Bavaro beach) and goes on for miles so you can walk and walk and walk. The surf was quite active during our stay (November) and we found that to be fun. The hotel grounds are on the same level as other Gran Bahia's that we have stayed at with the Spanish style buildings, dark mahogony furniture but very sophisticated decor. Service was awesome if a little slow at times but then there are 5 Bahia hotels in one resort. Be prepared to walk!!

Room Tip: Esmerelda is a long walk from the main restaurants and entertainment areas, make use of the on site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Anne_Marie187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
16.2 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
1,676 reviews
18.4 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 110 in Punta Cana
923 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Fantasia Don Pablo Collection
3.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda - Macao, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#7 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 Pools Sun terrace 4 Jacuzzis Sun umbrellas and loungers Beach and pool towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, 1 padel tennis court (additional charge), multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free) and in rooms (additional charge) Entertainment amphitheatre 2 buffet restaurants 3 speciality restaurants 3 Bars 1 Snack- bar Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club, designed by Nick Price (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, karaoke, disco and casino. Rooms, 570 Deluxe Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with sofa Terrace Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub and separate shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathrobe and slippers VIP amenities Radio-alarm clock Flat screen satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Ironing set Pillow menu Umbrella 24 hour room service Minibar WiFi Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Esmeralda Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Esmeralda Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing