We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT, DO NOT, DO NOT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #13 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lethbridge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“DO NOT, DO NOT, DO NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Were do I start! First, they should change their name, it is not a dream nor is it a resort. My wife and I travel quite often and we have been in Punta Cana about four times at beautiful 5 star resorts. This one says it is an 4.5, I would not give it a 3. Very disappointed.

We went to this destination for one purpose because our Son decided to have a destination wedding and their wedding planner from LUXE Vacations, which will be another letter and story, advised them that this was the dream place. What a joke. First, I was not born with a silver spoon in my mouth but keep reading.

What was suppose to one of the most beautiful time in a wedding was a week of constant fighting for service and upgrades that was in the contract from the resort to ourselves and the bride and groom. Yes, we were a group of 23 people, this resort did not take reservations which made it difficult. So we would be at the restaruants as soon as they were open so we could get seats. They were not happy that we did this, they said the groups was to big. Then why are you planning weddings at this resort.

They tried to sell my son and his wife a wedding cake for 800 US. The cake was a disgrace, my grandson and I could have made a better cake. They settled for 150 US.
13 of us got sick, 10 got ring worm.

The beach is dirty and you cannot walk down the beach very far. The rooms smell of odor and their is only showers and no baths.The doors lock with just a pin in the middle of the door. What a security system.

Please do not go, you can take the bus about another 25 mins down the beach and stay at five star resorts and have a real Dream wedding.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HutchLethbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,414
    2,433
    880
    286
    185
See reviews for
4,723
4,029
114
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,848)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Hanover, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

My family and I just got back from this resort. We had the best time! The staff was very friendly and would go way out to do whatever for us. I highly recommend this resort. Its not too big as others we have stayed in Punta Cana which worked out fine for us since we wanted to stay somewhat close to all family members that travelled with us. The restaurants were very good as well. Overall I give it an A+.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cumfytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We traveled to Punta Cana on September 22, 2010 with friends to celebrate our 33rd Anniversary. Having been to Punta Cana twice before we decided to try a different resort. This resort was rated a six golden apple on the Apple Vacations website. Well, I am here to tell you it is a four red apple at best. The rooms were very musty smelling and the lingering smell never went away even with the Glade airfresher I packed in my luggage. The shower (not bathtub) leaked and the bathroom floor was wet after every shower. The air conditioning system was not very good either. The room never really cooled down to a comfortable temperature. In traveling with two other couples I found these problems to occur in all our rooms. The World Cafe is just an average all-inclusive place to eat. Having stayed at another all-inclusive resort in Punta Cana prior to this visit to Dreams I must say there is no comparsion. The entertainment at night is not too impressive. The lobby lounge is by far the best bar as they serve top shelf liquor and truly know how to make good cocktails. I will not return to this hotel as it was very overpriced for the accomodations compared to the other resort I have stayed at twice which was much more beautiful and the food was incredible as well as the staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chief_c0ncierge, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
On behalf of the “Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana” staff I’d like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

It had come to our attention, after reading your comments that we may have not completely fulfilled your expectations. We put our greatest interest into your opinion. We understand that there is always room for improvement and our guest’s experiences play a key role in this continuous process.


For this reason we urge you to contact us if there are any other comments or suggestions that you may consider helpful to obtain our goal and purpose.

Should you have further comments or suggestions, please contact us directly.


Public Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Honeymooners! we had an excellent time at this resort. The facilities are very clean, very good food, and the people are great. With so many resorts to choose from, we ended up going with Dreams Palm Beach. After taking an excursion and seeing some of the other resorts, this one out classes the ones we saw. Beach is great. I will recommend getting an excursion to Macoa Beach.... awesome. We hated leaving. Some advice... if booking excursions, see Winston in the lobby. very honest and friendly. Take some $$ in ones. for tipping. Make sure you check out the activities. They will let you meet so many people. Gilbert, Gasolina, etc. They have so much energy, pleasure to be around. Julio/Omar and to the many bartenders.. thank you. As a side note, personal opinion, the preferred club was not really worth the extra $$.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsmithusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Read a lot of reviews but if you want to nit pick you will find some flaws, I agree that the World Cafe at times has a lot of flies but so does every where in the Caribbean. I stuck to the Hot food in there and had no problem. The wait staff was always great at serving you and keepin your glasses filled at all times. Sanchez and Darling were the most memorable to us. At check-in we were a little dissapointed that we paid for Ocean front rooms and didnt get it but they accomodated us in Preferred and we have no complaints...except yes you do have to be extra comfy with who you share the room with because bathroom was not cozy, comfy and private. I really think they should remodel it. Im sure they hear this all the time from other guests. The rooms were very clean...at 1st the musty humid smell was annoying but i really think we got use to it after...we figured out real quick thats why they provided incense for the rooms. The activities through out the day were fun, exciting, informative and no one was forced to do anything they didnt want to. The staff is the charm to this place. At no time were they disrespectful and i didnt find them talking negative about any guests behind their backs. Yes thats important to know. The nightclub was good on some nights and kinda off on anothers, i think its because the music selection has to be a little bit more world wide to keep your diverse amount of guests interested. The Spa was also great, Bella gave the best massage which by the way my body is still so relaxed that im falling asleep at work. Other staff members made our stay memorable, thanks to Edward and Juan.

So i wish people will just look at all the positive and this resort had more positive than negative. The restaurants okay may not be Daniel or Per Se but still great food and service. Absolutely no complaints. Before i even checked out i already emailed a few friends for us to plan our return as soon as possible. If i may suggest anything, free internet will be a plus. I did not bring a laptop and was kind of bothered to pay $4.00 for 15min use on internet w/no printer access.

This resort is beautiful, clean, safe at all times. Had a great time and cant wait to be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PANSALSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chief_c0ncierge, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Warm greetings from Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana!

On behalf of our staff, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity for serving you. We value your comments very much because we understand that there is always room for improvement and our guest’s experiences play a key role in this continuous process.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Public Relations Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We went to Dreams Palm Beach for our sons wedding. We where a group of 30. Arrival was very good, we arrived at approximately noon on Saturday (10/02/10), everyone checked in good, except the bride and groom who did not receive their room until 5pm, I thought this was unfair for them to have to wait sooo long after bringing the group down. But it didn't spoil our time or theirs. The rest of the week was wonderful service, staff, food, room, beach and pool. every thing was grand. Our favorite server (although everyone was great) was SIMON at the beach he made sure drinks were there at all times and called us his family, which so cute. His service was exceptional. He even made sure he came to see all of us at the wedding. The wedding was one of the most beautiful settings I have ever seen. They had the wedding on the beach and everything was so beautiful, perfect sunset wedding, perfect vacation. Thanks to Dreams Palm Beach for giving the Bride and Groom their fairytale wedding and the most beautiful memories. Wonderful vacation and we will definately return in the future.
Only one down side when we arrived home some of got sick ( about 6 of us) and have been sick for 3 days, but I would still return to this resort. GREAT VACATION!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibby1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The staff was wonderful, the hotel and the resort were well kept and beautiful. the food was fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jem5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.8 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
17.4 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
9.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
3.3 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Property: Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-carte dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing