We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“¡Excellenté times ten!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #47 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We spent six nights at Dream Palm Beach and… despite spending valuable ‘vacation time’ contacting United Airlines to locate our luggage… we thoroughly enjoyed the resort. This is our seventh stay at an All-Inclusive resort and the second at a Dreams property, so we have some experience when comparing and reviewing. I always read Trip Advisor reviews and seriously take them into consideration when making the final decision, in addition to my wonderful travel consultant’s suggestions.

To preface my review, I need to note that I made reservations for an ocean view unit and Preferred Club status eight months in advance. (not so much for booking at the resort as for booking with the airlines to use reward points) Just prior to our trip, I read and noted what guests had said about rooms and their locations. Supplied with that savvy info, upon check-in I asked if we could have a room on the second or third floor (to avoid bug problems noted on the first floor, plus a better view) and to be away from the stairwell (which is pretty noisy…as the foot traffic and voices echo during quiet times). It immediately appeared to be a ‘plus’ that we got to check in at the Preferred Club check-in desk, instead of the main desk in the lobby. Behind the Preferred Club check-in desk is a full-service bar and snacks or appetizers (depending on the time of day), exclusively for Preferred Club members. This room was quiet and pleasant -- complete with a large flat screen TV, daily newspapers (from all over the world), and free Internet use at their computer station (3 computers). Staff members were kind and efficient.

Unfortunately, as pleasant and courteous as Jessie was…she could not find us a Preferred Club, ocean view unit on the second or third floor. She assigned us to a room in Building #5, which was on the first floor. Upon checking into our room, we immediately noticed a strong smell that we think was some sort of insect repellant. (the kind of strong smell that could give you a headache if you spent too much time in your room!) It seemed to be coming through the A/C. We opened the curtains to the sliding glass window (one of the first things we always do!) to discover that our unit was directly facing the swim up bar at the main pool. There was a ‘sideways’ view of the beach and ocean, which in our opinion was more of a ‘partial ocean view’ than a full ocean view like the front-facing units had. We called back just to ‘double check’ and see if something else ‘possibly’ became available that would be more to our expectations. (yes, we paid more for an ocean VIEW unit) Unfortunately no there wasn’t…but a unit was opening up the next day on the first floor in building #4. (Buildings #4 and #5 are the closest to the beach/ocean). It was in a little quieter area and had a more ‘direct’ ocean view. Being that we had NO LUGGAGE to unpack or repack, changing rooms on day #2 was NOT a problem!

ROOM: The next afternoon our ocean view room was ready. The pros to this room were (a) there was no strong insect repellant smell, (b) it had a more direct ocean view (although on the low-sitting first floor, with a grassy area, sidewalk, curb and beach between us… the view wasn’t that wonderful compared to a view from the second of third floor) and (c) it was a quieter area. The cons were that this room had no jacuzzi tub, which meant a much smaller bathroom. The Jacuzzi tub rooms (like the first one we were assigned) have double sinks and ample space to put your things. The standard bathroom has limited space. But this location had much less foot traffic and no noise from the pool or popular swim-up bar. (which had bar service both in the water and on the deck, directly in front of our unit) We were happy to make the move to a better view. We quickly learned that there’s not much need to make a request to be ‘away from the stairwell’. The open-air stairs are in the center of the building and the foot traffic and voices echo throughout. You’ll definitely know when the late-night partiers come back to their room or the families with early rising children head off to the beach!

That being said (sorry for the long story), the rooms were very clean, nicely decorated and the beds and linens were quite comfortable. There was a variety of amenities, which we appreciated (especially before we got our luggage). This is the first resort we’ve stayed at where they provided you with sun protection lotion! Great idea! (and great smelling, too!)

FOOD: Unless you are going to go a super-expensive, 5-star, luxury A-I resort, you need to understand that gourmet food is not their priority. They have to accommodate hundreds of people every night from all over the world who have a variety of tastes and preferences. So, yes, the food is a bit bland. The Italian restaurant might not be authentic Italian and the Mexican restaurant might not be authentic Mexican, but try not to make this the focus of your stay! If this will make or break your vacation, I wouldn’t recommend that you stay at an A-I resort. The service we received at all of the restaurants was extremely kind and courteous. Good to know: We learned from some other guests that if you booked your trip through Apple Tours you can make dinner reservations. Interestingly (or confusingly) enough, we made these dinner reservations at the Preferred Club desk, not with our Apple Rep. All of the a la carte restaurants had their shining points and not-so-shining points, but overall every meal was pleasant. Some of the highlights included: seafood cocktails at the Seaside Grill (at lunch, possibly dinner, too), fresh ceviche (in a coconut half shell, no less!) at El Patio Mexican restaurant, the breaded Camembert cheese appetizer and Chateaubriand entrée at Bordeau (the French restaurant), and the entire teppanyaki meal at Himitsu. The made-to-order omelettes at the World Café for breakfast and the made-to-order fajitas for lunch were delicious. Even the pizza available from the room service menu was tasty! (we specifically ordered pizza with a glass of wine to celebrate and unpack when our suitcases finally arrived!)

BEACH: The water is that gorgeous turquoise blue that you grow to love when in the Caribbean, but yes, there was a minor issue with the sea grass. It wasn’t a deal breaker for us -- because we spent more time lounging and looking at the water than actually spending time IN it. (no reports of decent snorkeling here, so we didn’t even try) Interestingly, if you walk down the beach to the left, the water is much clearer and void of sea grass in front of the neighboring resort. I was told that Bavaro Beach has less of a sea grass problem. Our beach area was very quiet and somewhat deserted in many spots. You could easily walk to where you wouldn’t see more than a few other couples walking along the beach or swimming in the ocean. It sounds like Bavaro Beach is more densely packed with many big resorts -- so each location has its pluses and minuses. As for beach chairs, we didn’t struggle to find two open chairs, but perhaps if we had wanted two under the shade of a palapa those chairs would have been more in demand. The waiters came around often to keep you content with the drink of your choice. There was a snack bar on the beach that served BBQed burgers, hot dogs and French fries all afternoon. One day three chefs cooked big pans of paella on the beach.

POOL/GROUNDS: The pools and grounds were spotless. There were workers constantly cleaning, trimming, raking and doing general yard work to keep the resort looking beautiful. There are two main pools and they never appeared to be crowded, as they are large with plenty of room and lounge chairs for everyone. The main pool closest to the lobby had a few games of water volleyball going on. Again, after a little scouting around, we were able to find two available lounge chairs, but often the chairs or sun beds in the shade were taken first-thing in the morning. The swim-up bar was a fun place to meet other guests and Pablo was ‘king’ of making delicious Banana Mamas with a smile. There is a third, smaller pool for Preferred Guests. It was a little quieter. There was also a large hot Jacuzzi there, which we enjoyed on several late afternoons when it was cooling off as evening approached. (I mention ‘hot’ only because often times at A-I resorts they are not!)

ACTIVITIES: There was always something going on and Gasolina and his crew would encourage guests to participate. There was a group (including my husband) who met up daily to play beach volleyball. There was water aerobics in the shallow part of the ocean, followed with exercises on the beach. There was a ping-pong table, two bocce ball courts, a few games of water polo, rum tasting, a cocktail making contest, and other competitions on the beach. One afternoon there even an awesome acrobatic performance on the stage, near the pool. You had your choice of participating or relaxing at the pool or beach. Gasolina, Julio and the gang had boundless energy and kept people smiling. They really brought the resort to life by being so friendly and interacting with the guests.

SERVICE: It has been said time and time again that the staff at Dreams Palm Beach Resort and the service they provide is what makes this place so wonderful. They are all so kind and go out of their way to make your stay a memorable experience. Special thanks to Yenquel and Jessie who felt like good friends by the end of our stay. Anytime we’d pass by Julio he would put a smile on our face. All of the bartenders worked hard and successfully aimed to please. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay a thoroughly enjoyable one. The only place where we didn’t find this exceptional service was at the concierge desk in the main lobby. It was like these girls were from a totally different ‘family’. They definitely needed some lessons on guest relations and how to be pleasant and courteous.

EXCURSIONS: We only went on one excursion, which was the Marinarium. A comfortable, air-conditioned van picks you up and takes you to the pier. (although from Dreams you could walk there just as quickly!) This excursion was a catamaran trip to snorkel and then swim in a fenced in area with harmless sharks and stingrays. After the snorkeling part we climbed back on board, and the crew offered us sandwiches and drinks as we sailed to Bavaro Bay. This was a sandy-bottomed, calm, shallow bay where guests were encouraged to get in the crystal blue water (chest deep) while we were served rum drinks or beer. Gorgeous location! Great staff! The trip was recommended by the Apple Rep (and all of the tour reps at the resort) and well worth the $82 per person.

Dreams Palm Beach was a wonderful and affordable resort. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a ‘dreamy’ Caribbean vacation!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MStangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,811 - 8,817 of 10,756 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2010

I just got back from an Amazing vacation at Dreams Palm Beach. This was the second time there for me. My friend and I stayed from May 1-8, 2010. This time was even better. The staff was Excellent, especially the Entertainment Team. Sugar Rey, Gasolina, Julio Nice, Willy Wonka, Francis, Marlenny, Omar, Kelvin, Richard..etc., all of these people did a wonderful job of entertaining. They remembered your names when they saw you throughout the resort. They would get you involved in activities and you would end up having lots of fun. The shows were great, even really funny too. The Entertainment team can really dance, especially Rey and Francis. The dancing by the wedding gazebo and in the disco were one of my favorite things to do there, besides lounging by the pool! The bartenders were awesome too. Hats off to Clemente, Cabrera & Christina! Rosa always made us the best coffee drinks in the coffee house. Jose from the front desk was great,.....Overall we had the best service everywhere!

I believe this resort deserves 5 stars! It is overall a top notch place to vacation. No wristbands, no rules regarding dining (unlimited, no reservations needed), 24 hour room service, top shelf liquor, robe and slippers in the room :), and the best staff ever!!!!!!

Thank you for an Amazing Vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzyonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

check out their facebook page if u dont beilve me......awesome vacation w my two kids and wife......we loved the place and people.....no complains......would go back and recommend to all of u.....:)
restaurants were great and five star service....tried them all......place is the best.....get a cabana or lay in sun and forget the rest of the world for the time u r there.............:)enjoy ur stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappySareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

It is always interesting reading the reviews before you book the vacation you have worked so hard for and you want to make sure you have a great time, we did a lot of research on this Resort before booking, and were so excited to see all the positive reviews were so very true. It is a fantastic resort, with the most friendly staff I have ever met, from the guys in the Restaurants to the entertainment staff, they were all great. I will do a quick overview of the different areas we covered while there.

The food was really great, there was a good selection for all taste buds. The Japanese restaurant was every body's favorite, the Tepanaki style cooking in front of the guests were entertaining. So don't worry you will not go hungry no matter how picky you are with the food.

The Rooms were very up to date. nice updated decor, flat screen tvs, dvd player, Ipod docking station and a mini fridge that would get stocked daily. You can smell you are in a tropical country a little humid odor hits you when you first walk in, but once the balcony door is opened for 5 minutes its gone. So don't worry about it..

Pools are great, fantastic kids area, it seems the party people stay at the bar pool and families and "resters" at the other pools. Really nice and always being cleaned.

The beach: We spend most of the days at the pools and only a few half days at the beach. The beach is clean, nice white sand but it gets deep fairly fast. so not the best for young kids. If you are into snorkeling you will love it.

Service: The staff is amongst the best I have ever met at any resort. They seem sincere in their politeness, they are always smiling, I wish I could have people like that around me everyday. Other service industries could learn a lot from these guys. Just amazing.

The Canadian $ is not good down there, bring US, and make sure you have lots of singles for tips. You won't need to change to Pesos, they all take US$ and give a fair rate everywhere.

We did a family photo session with one of the Photographers on staff, and this was the best money we could ever spend. The photo session is free, they will take you out for an hour and shoot away, but the result is amazing. They will take between 50 - 100 shots and retouch, edit crop and everything else there is to do.. But the disc with whatever images you like and have them printed at home. Count on around $10 per retouched image. But the quality is fantastic. Really worth the money..

I can highly recommend this Resort, and I hope to be back again one day.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torontotravel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

This was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Just got back and wish we were still there. Waiter service on the beach, 24 hour room service all part of the all inclusive package not to mention the fabulous coffee shop which had cakes to die for all free!!!!
There was so much food to choose from you could find something you liked and if you wanted something different and when we did this they agreed to make it for us! What service. We thought the entertainment was good and the casino gave us some fun but not part of the all inclusive of course so be careful it is addictive!!
Fresh towels for the pool/beach each day and one problem, everyone gets up early and saves sunbeds.........they say they will move towels if they are left more than 20 minutes but this didn't happen. There could have been more sun parasols around the pool but that is my only criticism.

Beach was a bit seaweedy but they swept it at least twice a day.

Went on a couple of trips one to Santo Domingo which was 4 hours away! Enjoyed it when we go there but got picked up at 6.30am and got back 8.30pm! Then we went on the Outback safari which was an excellent day out and saw some of the island and went up in the mountains ending with time at a beach.

Made some great new friends and missing the hotel and service already. Do not hesitate to book this hotel it is fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pln_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Although this hotel was totally refitted a few years ago it is now rather neglected looking. Bathroom had black marks on the groutingand paint over some of the tiles. Ita ll smelt damp. The housekeeper ran a mop over it., ran a towel over the surfaces and that was the room cleaned. Pillows were awful and matress sagged. If you tipped the staff they paid extra attention to you til the next day when they expected nore tips. The pools had the iles cleaned daily but staff knew nothing about backwashing, we saw the water tested twice but only after we questioned the cleaning. we had to ask for the kiddies pool to be cleaned and we dont have kids. Food was warm but great choice although i did get raw pork one day. Past its best.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nini2Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

I stayed there with my family. We have two young children ages 2 and 5. Stayed in building 6. Room 6107. Very humid in the room and a few mosquitoes in my room each day. My other friend stayed in the building next to the Gazebo and it was NOT humid at all and she got no mosquitoes, although, she got some tiny little ants.
The Entertainment Staff was absolutely amazing. In particular, Marlenny, Franics and Kelvin. They made us feel like we were part of there family each day. Marlenny made my kids day starting off in the morning. She took very good care of them, even though she was not part of the kids club. The kids pool was great! It was about 2 feet deep. Very safe and spacious. They came around the pool area each day at noon with some snacks which were great, in case you had a late breakfast and weren't ready for lunch just yet. The beaches have daily and fun activities. The food was great! I was worried about the fruit and milk as I have little ones, but we had both fruit and milk daily and all was good. The restaurants were amazing!!!! The Japanese restaurant was excellent! Provided Entertainment Teppanyaki style for the little ones and the chef got the spectators involved in the cooking. A waiter Darling was fabulous! I was in a few restaurants. The kids loved him as he was so good to them. My only issue was with Shirley at the Front Desk who was NOT helpful to me at all. I did address this to two of the management at the front desk (office manager and supervisor). I didn't hear back as to what the end result was. The kids club was really fun. My kids didn't want to leave there. I left them there for an hour each day and it was very safe.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liberlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.8 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
17.4 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
9.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
3.3 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $223 - $682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-carte dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing