We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #13 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Customer Service”
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We were very disappointed by the custmer service at the Dreams Palm Beach resort in Punta Cana. All of our requests were continually ignored. The beaches were not cleaned and the rooms were not cleaned to our satisfaction.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColleenDeYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,414
    2,433
    880
    286
    185
See reviews for
4,723
4,029
114
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,848)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

I just came back from Dreams Palm Beach Resort after 8 days stay last week. This is my second trip to Punta Cana. I chose this resort because of Dreams brand(so called luxury name), 6 apples rating and re-opened in Dec, 2008 after complete remodel from previous SunScape.

Location: Located 20 minutes ride from Punta Cana International Airport. The resort entrance is not grand at all. The driveway barely let Apple Tour bus to park and go by. A very plain check-in desk and a couple of sectional sofa completes lobby area.

Landscape: Palm tree everywhere and well-maintained lawn and flower bed. The whole resort is on a limited real estate and don't require you to walk much at all.

Room: We were assigned to building 6 first floor room after being told all upper level rooms were full. The room was very damp and you can feel the wetness of the bed sheet. Next morning I went to front desk requesting for switching to an upper level room and also was told they were full. I complained to Apple rep and miraculously I was allowed to move to a third floor room with a partial ocean/pool view room in the same building. The room came with balcony with nice place to sit after whole days activities. With sufficient air-condition and ceiling fan, this is only cool shelter from hot humid weather during the whole trip. The remodel probably just means to re-paint the wall. Bath room is simply not touched at all. Also you probably already know by now, there is no door for shower and water always spills to bathroom and you have to wipe to dry using hotel towers every time you take a shower.

Dinning: World Cafe is main buffet dining facility, we ate breakfast and lunch there. Most food is good and delicious. The problem is that the place is in open air. I know we went there was not to enjoy comfortable weather, but eating while sweating is not very comfortable at all. Beer and coke glass start dripping water from outside after merely minutes. Also the cold cut meat, salad, cheese, and desert were some times in the pool of water. Other hot food are simply delicious, grilled whole fish, grilled calamari, goat meat stew, and roast pig to name a few.

The A La Cart restaurants are relatively small in size, probably less than twenty tables in each restaurant. Every night one hostess, five or six waiters/waitresses took care the service. When I was there, I have to wait one or more hours to get in and wait another half hour or more to see our first appetizers. But the restaurants are air-conditioned and well-decorated. Food are good, similar the ones served in buffet area.

Beach: White fine sand tropical Caribbean beach and blue ocean with palm tree. Nothing can top that. That's why we were here for. The wave is very calm and water is clear. Some days there were no seed weeds, others were lot of them. I guess it depends on the current. The palapas is very hard to find and beach is a little bit crowded. We were forced to move to the border area between Dreams and Nature Park(another resort) to find palapas. On the beach often you also can spot fish swimming beneath your eyes and there was constant breeze. It's really a nice to read and relax.

Pool: Two pool area. One with swim-up bar was always crowded. Another is relatively quiet. But towel game was in full swing. Even before 8AM, all the shaded seating were occupied by blue towel. It's ridiculous to see only less than 10 people in the pool but all the seating surrounded were occupied by towels not people. There is no rule in this resort on anything. Just a few lines in the Daily Sundial (resort daily paper) like please don’t' reserve seat but no one enforces rules.

Service: People work very hard in this resort form daybreak to sunset from cleaning sea weeds on the beach to delivering towel to your room. But it's very difficult to communicate with them about what you want. A couple of key spots (restaurant, bar etc) only have limited personnel, which cause customers to wait unacceptable long time.

In summary, we had a good time but certainly not a dream vacation. If you only care about beach and have some decent food to eat it's a good place for you. If you can manage your expectation well, you will have a good time. By the way, I also observed a group of people calling their travel agent in the US asking to change hotel as soon as they step in the lobby. On the day I left for home, I asked a guy standing next to me why he cut his vacation short. He simply put it "This is not a 6 apple resort".

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kc21234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

This property was highly recommended by our travel agent. as a luxury resort geared towards adults (singles and couples). This was not the case. It was a budget hotel geared towards families and large groups.

PROS:
-Value
-Great pool
-Good for families or large groups on a budget

CONS
-Terrible Food
-Watered down drinks.
-No Customer Service
-Need to be fluent in Spanish to communicate with the staff
-Small rooms
-Gross Bathrooms
-Nightly entertainment consisted of a show geared for small children
-No nightly entertainment for adults.
-Front desk staff was useless
-Entertainment staff was overly friendly bordering on annoying.
-Tipping was confusing.
-Many, many Mosquitos

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLW1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

The worst resort I've ever been to. Terrible service and awful food. This entire trip, which I had been very much looking forward to, was a disaster. We went through 3 hotel rooms during our 5 day stay. The first room had a broken TV and the bed linens smelled of mold. After MANY calls to the front desk, they transferred us to another room with quite a bit of attitude. I simply could not believe how rude the staff was. We were pleased with the new room until the next morning, when we found our bathroom flooded. After another round of calls to the front desk and a few trips up there too, we were transferred again. And, yes, the front desk staff was a nightmare to deal with even though we were begging them rather than telling them off. The third room was a 'club' level room so it had a few upgrades and was an improvement from the other two, although the mold smell in the linens was a consistent issue.

As for the beaches, yes, they were beautiful and were the only highlight of this trip. Unfortunately, while laying on the beach we were constantly bothered by local vendors selling anything and everything. Because the locals were allowed on the beach and into the resort area, theft was a very serious and real issue. If I wanted to take a dip in the ocean to cool off, I had to go alone because we couldn't leave our beach bag alone. Relaxing experience? No.

The drinks were all-inclusive at this hotel, however, if you ordered a traditionally frozen drink (pina colada, daiquiri, etc) it came in a tiny, tiny plastic cup and was liquid...literally no ice used at all. The food was absolutely disgusting and I'm not being overly dramatic. There are different levels of restaurants here, some that require reservation and some that do not. We only managed to get 1 reservation during our entire stay at the "Italian" restaurant. One word: YUCK. Granted, the non-reservation restaurants were even worse: literally not edible.

I came home from the Occidental hungry and disgusted. The complete lack of customer service here ruined all Occidentals for me and quite possibly all of the Dominican Republic for me as well. I urge everyone to rethink going to this hotel. There are other places in Punta Cana that will serve you better than this nightmare resort. Spare yourself the wasted vacation days.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChiTown16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

This was our 8th vacation to Punta Cana and our 7th resort.
The layout of the resort is great, eazy to find everything.
The Room= Our room was comfortable, cleaned everyday. No problems with anything. The A..C works great. Room service was only used in the A.M. for coffee. Always fast.

Dining=We ate at all of the restaurants. If you go 10 minutes before they open you can get in, however if not plan on waiting 2 hours.The Bordeaux and the Himitsu were the best. When going to the buffet we were always greeted by "Katherine" who would find us a table under a fan. There was plenty of choices and were sadisified at every meal. I wish the resort would enclose the area. Sometimes you just need to get out of the heat.

The Beach= The greatest beach , clear water, always a breeze. Beach service was fun because of our new friend "Simon". Simon would find you with a drink even when we were in the water.

The Problem= The Towel Game. Dreams does not require towel cards that allow one towel per person. People would take 4 or 6 towels and save loungers at the pool, then go and save loungers at the beach. Sure everone plays the game, but, there were days when we were on the beach from 9:00 a.m - 5:00p.m. and some loungers had towels placed on no-one sat there. After talking with other people on vacation everyone agreed.
Why dont they install more Palapas.

Overall it was a great vataion and we met some great people.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dojoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Just returned to Ireland after a wonderful relaxing holiday at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana. We have visited a few carribean islands and the Hotel here was the best, Everything you could wish for. We were in the Preferred Club and it was well worth the extra. Room 5306 was fab. Ocean view. Big high ceiling. Great air con. Bathroom big and bright. The Maid service was great. Room cleaned
everyday and really cleaned. Towels changed during the day and again with turn down service at night. Mini bar filled everyday. We had room service delivered no problems. Food arrived within 20 minutes.
Beach lovely and pool area hugh. Lovely selection of Restaurants and the food was good in the all. Seaside Grill was great with lovely Staff (Carol) and the waiters. Steaks were big and tender. Never had to wait long for a table. But if we did no problem just went to Preferred Club and got ourselvers a drink. Whats the problem?, No rush on holiday. All the bar Staff and restaurant staff very helpful and always happy and smiling.
Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone if you are looking for a wonderful relaxing holiday. Best in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marymcc0rmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2009

The warmest and nicest people I have ever met. The hospitality was wonderful.
The following people are some examples: Felix, Casolina, Lucky, Asia, Francisco(Himitsu), Roberto(Security), Nelson Marte, Jean, and many, many more.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.8 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
17.4 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
9.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
3.3 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Property: Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-carte dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing