We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #47 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 19, 2009

We went to Dreams Palm Beach from March 11 to March 18, 2009. We arrived at the hotel and while waiting to check in we were handed champagne, a fresh cookie and a wet cloth to wipe our faces. Very nice touch. Our room was very clean, with a balcony overlooking the pool / ocean. There are three pools which are all very clean and maintained regularly by the staff. One pool is for the preferred members, while the other two are for the adults and kids. The buffet restaurant has a wide variety of food choices and you could eat here everyday and have something new. There are other restaurants which are for dinner only and you do not to make reservations. However, get there early unless you want to wait around for 1 to 1 1/2 hours. We went to the Italian restaurant which was okay as we found the pasta a little undercooked. We went to the Asian restaurant which was the best especially with kids. They cook the food in front of you like a Japanese style restaurant and the food was both tasty and the cook entertaining. The Mexican restaurant was not to our liking however others we spoke to said that if you went late (9pm) it was much better. We did not go to the Seaside restaurant which served seafood, chicken and steak but from those we spoke to it was very good. There is also a noon hour restaurant on the beach which serves hotdogs, hamburgers and french fries and this too was good. There is an Explorer (kids) club here. They cater to kids 3 years old to 12 years old. The staff are very attentive and quite often visted the pool side to engage the children into the club. We felt very safe with the staff from the kids club. Our 8 year old daughter loved it, especially the bungy jumping (trampoline with harness). At night time they have a mini disco and once a week they have kids camping on the beach which includes a supper meal and a movie on the beach. There is a sign at the kids club that says No Parents Allowed but you can check on them and they will give you a pager (free) should you or they need to contact one another. There is also a club house / tree house and a water splash area at the rear of the kids club. The beach is nice but the water is filled with coral and rocks. There is also a trampoline in the ocean and is a neat experience. The service from the staff is well above average and they are always looking to serve the guests. The grounds are well maintained and we observed several people in wheelchairs having no problem getting around. Overall this hotel met all of our expectations and was probably our most enjoyable holiday yet. One word of caution is that they have venders that come on the grounds twice a week. They are very agressive but if you firmly tell them no they will leave you alone. If you book any excursions off the resort, we suggest you book/speak with your travel representative at the hotel first. If you book this hotel you will definitely have a nice holiday. Have fun!

The Swims

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwimOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,648 - 9,654 of 10,755 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2009

4 couples, early 50's arrived on Feb 21 for a week. Flight on Sunwing cramped, but on time! After 20 min bus ride we got to resort and checked in, about 11:30 am. Rooms weren't ready so we took advantage of the lobby bar until 3pm. Little tipsy getting sorted out but glad to be in our room 1320 (standard room) to unpack, get ready for some fun. Only received one room key - got another the next day from the nice lady at the conceige desk ( front desk said no)
Rooms were fine,great comfortable king size bed , bar fridge full. Bathroom could use some work - toilet lever had to be held down to work most times, shower was small but adequate although water did build up from poor drain. Sink area quite nice. Safe didn't work but called and someone arrived in 10 minutes to fix. Safe was included with the room which was nice. Strange, but no towel art in our room but others had theirs each day. Probably depends on the maid. We tipped each day though.
We had a view of the kids area but rarely saw any playing there. There weren't many kids at the resort at all that week.
Couple of things
No "Do Not Disturb" card for the doorknob. Were woke up a couple times at 7:30 am by the housekeeper doing a check? of whether we were still in?
Might want to take a bottle opener - the beer bottles aren't twist off. fridge was filled 3 times, so we just picked up water at the bar to take back to room.

Beach was fantastic. We had 7 days of sun with a couple hrs of rain early one morning. Lounger reserving pretty bad so we joined, but we used ours from about 10 am - 5:30 every day so I didn't feel too bad. Some used theirs for a couple hrs but still left their towels there. No towel cards here so maybe people just leave them since theres nothing that happens if they don't remove them.

Nice to be served on the beach, although it wasn't all that fast. We usually just went and got our own - no problem. For rum you should ask for Barcelo, if not you get bar stock which I found musty tasting. Seemed to run low on some alcohol - Baileys for one.
Lobby bar was where to be at night. Clemente was entertaining. - great bartender.

Food - the seaside grill rib steak was my favorite. Went to French and Italian too. For the most part the food was excellent. Buffet had a large selection.

We didn't take in the pool, we're beach people. Didn't go to any entertainment either. Skipped the Oscar night - we heard it wasn't that great. Hardly anyone there. We really enjoyed the 2 day events we lucked into - Mardi Gras tuesday and DR independance day. Lots of colorful dancers around the pool. They involved the guests too, dressing them up and dancing around the hotel pool.

Note - no liquor for sale at the hotel. We thought we could pick up some DR rum at the airport duty free but they don't sell any DR product there If you want DR rum you need to leave the resort and pick it up at the venders about 5 minutes walk up the street.

Overall we had a fantastic time.. I would recommend it, especially if they tidy up the issues with the plumbing problems mentioned in a lot of the reviews.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caper888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Hey ,what can i say other than fantastic ..... The wife and i just returned today , we really enjoyed ourselves ,have been to antigua and barbados and was told the dominican republic was the poor mans carribean ... GET OUTTA HERE .... lol
If i had one grouch it would be the bar in the lobby needs to be bigger and more staff at peak times at night i.e went the show finishes.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennardoShepperton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

This was our second trip to Punta Cana (stayed at another hotel previously). When we arrived we were greeted by the hotels' very friendly staff offering mimosas. Once we arrived in our room, we were appalled by the mold and mildew in the very small bathroom. During our seven night stay several times the water did not work, the water pressure was very poor in the shower and often the toilet did not flush. Aside from that the hotel was nice, the food was the best we've had in the Caribbean. Could stand to beef up the entertainment. We would not stay there again. When we spoke with the Apple representative about the condition of our room, she was aware of the problems in our building - then why did they put us there? We overheard other people discussing the lack of water/water pressure in their rooms as well. In my opinion this is not a six Apple hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bosslady56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

My review refers to Dreams, in Punta Cana, specifically the Palm Beach resort. There are many Dreams resorts in Punta Cana. Food was so-so. They try to cater to so many people from all over the world, therefore, if you're from the US and don't mind seeing lots of fish varieties at breakfast, you won't mind Dreams, Palm Beach. The specific restaurants (only open for dinner) were better (Italian, Japanese, Mexican) than the general chow area.
THE WEATHER: Pack and umbrella and something for windburn. You get chased away from the pool and off the beach about once an hour with the frequent storms! Clouds roll in and out so frequently! Also, a wrap for evening! It was cooler than I thought it would be.
Apple Vaca was very good about once we arrived warning us not to do business with any locals. "They are dangerous." They run shoddy boats and your return safely from an excursion is not guaranteed. Don't wander past one resort to the left or one resort to the right...Apple Vaca director said it was not safe off the grounds! or any further than 1 resort left or right on the beach!
Rooms were ok. The walls are as thin as paint! Shampoo and body wash in our room had been refilled with water b/c when I went to use it. water poured out before the actual shampoo. Do Not Drink Tap Water! Bottle water is provided in your room at no charge anyway. I suggest taking a beverage cup from home that keeps things cold for by the pool. The (watery) drinks they serve you will at least stay cold.
I'd suggest going to the Caribbean only - not where the Caribbean meats the Atlantic Ocean which is where Punta Cana is!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travellad1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2009

Firstly thankfully I didn’t read to much into the number of one out of five reviews that popped up on this site just prior to my departure to Dreams Palm Beach. Reading the reviews and again looking at the new reviews that have popped up during my stay there it seems the main issue is the American travel agent Apple’s rating of the resort six apples being too high (which I believe translates to 6 stars) and people being disappointed that it doesn’t come up to this standard. I’m writing this review knowing that I booked a holiday that was 4 star plus rated by first choice here in the UK and this seems a totally fair rating. Overall myself and my girlfriend had a great 7 nights as the palm beach and sure everything was not perfect all the time but if I was staying at a £200 pound a night hotel I might had been more upset, but put it simply we was not and the palm beach delivered on pretty much all points you would expect from a higher end First Choice hotel when looking for some sun, sea and sand.

Weather

For our week of the 5th March the weather was generally very good, if a little windy. Although that wind did drop in the last couple of days, our last day it being little more than a sea breeze. Early in the week there was a the occasional rain shower but mostly in the early morning and lasting for no longer than 30 mins. Pretty much all days were sun filled with some scatted cloud - which came as some relief now and again.

Beach / Sea

The beach was less than 30 secs from our room in building 9 and was the lovely white sand you come to expect in the Caribbean. This combined with the palm trees and the light blue sea make for a very nice setting. Due to the wind, particularly early in the week, sand blowing around was a problem and although we went to the beach throughout the day, most of our day was spent around one of the main pools. As the wind dropped so the sea calmed, swimming was lovely and the free watersports facilities could be used from the dive centre.

Pool Area

There are two large pools next to each other and a smaller one in the preferred guest area. Both of the main pools look very nice and tell some the recent refurb cash has been spent in this area. The water in the pools was slightly chilly at first but was lovely once you was in the water. The biggest issue around the pool and other people have highlighted it is the reserving of sun beds. Of course this happens at pretty much all resorts however it seems to have reached crazy levels here. Some people even leave towels out at night to secure the best spots and man people are out at 6am. The problem was highlighted when I looked out of our room at 6:15am on our first day, waking early due to the time difference and noticed at least three quarters of beds had been reserved. The hotels management does ask for this not to be done but I think they need to take more action to stamp it out - its madness having to get up at the crack of dawn everyday of your holiday to make sure you have somewhere to lay in the sun ! If you go post 7:30 / 8 am you will have next to no chance of getting somewhere, certainly not two next to each other.

Entertainment

The ents team are a lively bunch with the ring leader being Gasolina (get outa here). They push the events throughout the day without overdoing it, a no is usually enough. The baseball cage was good fun and the water polo in the main pool funny to watch and if you want to get involved not for the faint hearted.

Food

Generally the food is pretty good and properly the best ive experienced at an all inclusive resort. This is not to say it will blow you away. The buffet provided a decent breakfast and there was lots of fresh fruit and many hot breakfast based - very much targeted to the US guest. Both of us found the best meal of the day was lunch where chicken, steak, roast lamb/pork and losts of fresh fish/shellfish could be had. The buffet its self is very nice with contemporary staying. For dinner every night we visited the al la carte restaurants, which you can visit as many time as you wish and don’t have to make any reservations. We liked having no reservations, yes there was a little wait sometimes but it meant you didn’t have to planned ahead to much. The décor in al la carte’s is great, all are very modern and once again you can tell they have spent a good amount on these. However with the exception of the seaside grill (amazing rib eye steak) I was a little disappointed with the food the others. It wasn’t bad it was OK, but if you had the food at a restaurant at home you wouldn’t be returning week after week. Something which they also need to work on is the service the restaurants, its just all a little amateur. Forgetting to ask us if we wanted a drink, managing to spill water all over the table. Its not massive things and I’m sure they will learn and get better.

Drink

The all inclusive drinks service is great - they have lots of top brand sprits, baileys, black label, absolute vodka etc etc. The beer is mostly the local stuff its ok without being a world-beater.

There is a couple of main bars one by the pool which also serves the beach and the main lobby bar. Both have waitress service and do what they say on the tin.

Couple of tips - always say you want the branded version of a drink and they have limited stocks of miller beer, grab it while you can !

Nightlife

The lobby bar, other than the restaurants is the main hangout for people in the evening. Its all very nice and the waits for drinks are not bad - never longer an 5 mins max at perk times. Give one of the guys a few tips early in the week, that will speed things up for you.

For later in the night there is a small casino and a funky nightclub that is worse a visit or two.

Rooms

After a little bit of bartering we managed to upgrade to a preferred room which was lovely - large bed, flat screen and a great bathroom. We also saw a standard room this was also good the major difference between the two being the bathroom. But the rooms are very much as seen in the resort photos.

Im happy to answer any other questions you might have. We should have some pics up soon. Thanks Paul

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pcoyle003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Arrived on a 6 Apple square deal March 2-9, 2009. My husband and I have been to the Dominican Republic five times so you know that we really love it there! This was our first time at Dreams Palm beach, we have stayed at Iberostar Bavaro (our favorite) and Bahia Principe. Bus trip from the airport to the resort was short (20 min). Bus was full, so a large group of people arrived together. We were dropped off at the conference center and greeted with champagne and cookies. We received our room number within 10 minutes but were told that it was not yet ready. We understood that we arrived before check-in, so we took a walk around the resort. Room was ready in 1 hour.
Resort is fairly small, with only a few small shops. There is shopping if you walk outside of the resort for several minutes but I was not that brave! We took a wonderful trip to Santo Domingo and althought the ride was long (3 hours each way) it was well worth it for the culture and shopping.
Room was as pictured in the Apple brochure. Comfortable bed, and we were upgraded gratis to a preferred club room (but not with preferred club benefits such as free wi-fi and private pool).
Main buffett was good (my husband ate lobster at least 4 nights). Mexican restaurant was good, italian and french were ok.
Top shelf liquor, but as others have said the method of making the drinks was inconsistent.
Staff was friendly.
Front lobby is crowded at night as there is nothing to do until 9:30 PM when the show starts. We went to one show, and although they tried hard, we left after 10 minutes. The shows at the other resorts that I have been to were better (not a broadway production, but entertaining).
Beach - we love the beach, and spend all day there. The only problem with the beach is that it is rarely if ever cleaned of garbage. I do not mean seaweed as others have complained about. I am referring to straws, cigarette butts, empty glasses and miscellaneous garbage. Other resorts that we have stayed at clean/rake the beach area daily but this was not done. I even kept my sandals on when I walked in the sand due to all of the debris. Also, there is a limited "safe" walking distance before the beach becomes desolate. We did not feel comfortable venturing very far from the resort. This is very different from Bavaro beach for those of you who are frequent Dominican travelers (you can walk very long distances at Bavaro beach).
Plumbing Problems - this resort has SEVERE plumbing issues. The toilet in our room did not flush for three days (we had to use the public rest rooms). We did notify maintenance but the problem was not corrected. This problem is resort-wide as the bathroom at the beach and at the conference center had the same problem at various times during our stay. Our shower would drain extremely slow at times and practically overflowed on several occasions.
I often read reviews from people and feel that they are nit-picky, and I can assure you that I have attempted to be as fair as possible in this review. We paid a fair price for our trip and got our money's worth but if we had paid full price I would be extremely disappointed. This is certainly NOT a 6 Apple resort.
Feel free to contact me with any further questions.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WarmWeatherLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.8 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
17.4 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
9.7 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
3.3 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $223 - $680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-carte dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing