We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Excelente'!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #21 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super Excelente'!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our 4th trip to Dreams Palm Beach. We are never disappointed! The people there are so wonderful. The hotel manager, Pedro Tomas did an excellent job ensuring our stay was first class. From the moment we arrived at the hotel until the moment we were dropped off at the airport, we were treated very well. There are so many different choices of food to choose from and everything was wonderful. The manager of the World Cafe, "Perfecto" was there to greet you with a smile and make sure everything was top notch. The bartenders at the Rendevous are always happy and fun! The entire hotel staff is always so kind and helpful. The entertainment group does an amazing job. The grounds are kept so beautiful at all times. There is nothing more we could ask for on a vacation. We highly recommend Dreams Palm Beach for both couples and families and look forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LucyS908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,625
    2,262
    811
    278
    176
See reviews for
4,168
3,739
105
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at Dreams palm Beach February 11-18th and had a wonderful time. I can't say enough about the staff, everyone was VERY pleasant and accommodating. Cristofer from the pool bar was awesome....and so smiley all the time! It was great to see Pedro the GM walking around at all hours of the day and asking if everything was ok and that we should let him know if he could make our stay any better....not sure when this guy sleeps! We would come back to this resort because of how wonderfully we were treated. The food was great at the restaurants and the buffet always has something to offer. Some people weren't happy with the blandness of the food, lets be honest they are cooking for hundreds of people, that's why they have salt and pepper on the table! Overall it was a good time and we would go back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birthday1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We are from Amsterdam, the Netherlands and have stayed as a couple (36 and 26) at the Dreams Palm Beach from 14 till 28 February. During our stay we have read some of the reviews posted on Trip Advisor and started discussing them between ourselves. Finally we decided to write a review of our own in order to help future guests to decide to stay at this resort or go somewhere else. We have found it remarkable that some guests rate this resort as the best they have ever seen while others have found there stay disappointing. This has obviously a lot to do with those guest's previous experiences as well as their experiences during their stay but still it can be confusing for future guests trying to make up their minds about this resort. That is why we have choosen the format of 'observations' so you can decide for yourself what is important for you and what is not.
-TRANSFER/ CHECK IN: transfer from the airport is around 25 minutes. Check in was a bit fuzzy as we booked preferred rooms but were left in the dark for ten minutes or so. Turned out that there is a checkin for preferred guests at the preferred club where we were greated with a local sparkling wine.
- ROOMS: we stayed at room 3111 - spacious but a bit worn down. There were muskitos (a lot) but no muskito net or other service to be protected against them. Luckily we brought our own poison to make the muskito's go to sleep whenever we did. We did not have a bath.
- WHEATHER: every day around 28 C with lots of sunshine and wind making it very comfortable to stay at the beach or the pool all day. If you walk about an hour up north you will get at the carribean site of the island which we found even more beautiful and far less crowded. Excellent for taking pictures too.
- BEACH: white sand and plenty of beds and shadow. Whilst it is hotel policy that sunbeds can not be reserved (by people leaving their stuff there) a lot of sunbeds are taken even before 8 AM. One day we notified the reception of this and steps were taken and the stuff was removed to the lost and found area. We had to ask three times before action was taken. There is a special beach area for preffered guests. That is more quite than the other area's of the beach where loud music can be heard once and a while.
- POOLS: there are three pools, one for preferred guests. At one pool there is a bar where you can have a drink in the water. We found the pools quite spacious.
- FOOD: there are four thematic restaurants and one buffet. In addition there is a restaurant at the preferred area. A lot has been said about the food at this resort. We found the food the best in the buffet area. A lot of choices. Fruit, fish, meat and so on. A bit tailored to the US tourists (hamburgers and hot dogs) but that seems logic given the amont of US tourists. The food in the other restaurants seemed all to come from the same kitchen, except for the Japanese restaurant. Remarkable in that place was the noice made by the cooks and the guest watching them throwing food to guests. We were not familiar with this custom but a lot of guests seemed to enjoy it.
- DRINKS: drinks are all inclusive and there is enough for every one. Cocktails, scotch, beer, water and so on. The house wine was not our favourite (especially the white wine) but a lot of other guests seemed to like it. Other wines can be bought. Prices differ from $ 30 to 100++.
- SERVICE: this is probably the most sensitive subject as it can make or break your holiday experience, at least for some guest given the other reviews. In a nutshell we believe that service can be a lot better. It seems to be a management failure as the individuals in for example the buffet work very hard and seem genuine in their attempts to deliver service. Some, unfortunately, lack expericence which at one time resulted in a funny scene. We had ordered two champagne. The guy came back with the champagne in wine glasses. We tried to explane that we wanted the champagne glasses. He seemed to understand as he came back with two champagne glasses.. But..They were filled with beer....we found it hilarious and gave him a tip for being the funniest waiter we have ever seen. What is probably missing is a clear mission statement to which everyone is comitted and to which everyone has contributed, from waiters to managers and from housekeeping till the poolguys. We are pretty sure that excellent service by all staff involved can not be constantly delivered in the absence of such clear mission statement. Some staff seemed lame. Some seemed tired (they work 11 days in a row and get three days off). Some were busy with themselves, their co workers or their cell phones. And some were excellent. In order to be an excellent resort everyone shoud deliver excellent service and that we did not see during our visit.
- ENTERTAINMENT: we found that below standard but again that depends on your own standards. A lot of people enjoyed the entertainment. Once a year a party is hosted by a third party on the beach. We heard other guests complaining about the noise that lasted till 6:30 AM! Management washed their hands in innocence referring to the third party character of the event and the fact they had no control over what is going on (once a year) on the public beach. That may be true. True excellent service means that you offer your guests a service that mitigates the noise as much as possible. In this example earplugs may have been a solution for people who could not sleep all night. So management - look at the details!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank luxor075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at Dreams Palm Beach January 25 to February 2nd. I must say the resort was absolutely beautiful. This resort has one of the best staffs we've ever experienced on any of our vacations. All staff, from the bartenders to the maids to the entertainers, were so friendly and were always willing to help with any questions or problems. If you like larger resorts where you have to walk forever to get to the beach or the restaurants or take trolleys to get around, this is not the resort for you. Dreams is a perfect size resort with everything within a short walking distance. The pools are beautiful and the food here was excellent. From the buffet to every single restaurant, we did not have one bad dining experience.
Only one negative. It amazes me for the money a couple spends to stay at a resort rated at such a high level that the outdoor hot tub would be only available to those who payed for the Privileged upgrade. There is nothing better than having one last drink at days end in an outdoor hot tub. But at this resort that is not possible unless you pay for the upgrade, very disappointing.
I'd like to say a special thank you to a few of the staff members for making our stay particularly enjoyable. Freddie at the Beach grill (Freddie is numero uno) Ruskin of the entertainment staff for keeping our days busy with games, and Wilkins at the pool bar for great service. Excellante to all of you.

Room Tip: When checking in, if you are not lucky enough to have a pool view room, simply ask. We did and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I love the Dominican Republic and was super excited to return with my husband. This was the first time I had stayed at Dreams and will be the last. Upon arrival check in was fine! Champagne and cool towel to welcome which was great. We then got attacked by overzealous time-share saleswomen and men who showed us pictures of their kids... REALLY?!? I felt like i was living a Sally Struther's commercial--they CONTINUED to attack us EVERY SINGLE DAY! I felt bad the first day and then I was OVER IT! Leave me alone on my vacation! Avoid these people like the plague: They'll offer the 200 bucks coupon (NOT WORTH IT and not worth the trouble). These guys will be to the right of the check in desk. Keep your head down and move on. Glare if you have to because being nice did NOT work. So that was the great welcome that went downhill FAST.
Arriving to the room was good. Nice grounds, clean, sweet people-- bellboys and maids. The room was spacious with a nice comfy bed and good bathroom. Cool balcony to chill with a cigar and wine. Honestly how much time does one want to spend in their room in this gorgeous country. It was all you needed. The fridge had beer, sodas, and juices. An itinerary was given everyday about daily activities and more importantly drink of the day;) At night, however, the room got moist, and musty like (included the sheets)...the air was heavy but there was A.C. not sure if it was working.
The pool and beach area were great. The pool is a struggle to get a seat so good luck. We spent most of our time at the gorgeous beach. Chairs were easy to find, drinks were easy to get, and the food at the barefoot grill was BANGING. Burgers, hotdogs, cheese-fries, and nachos. Awesome. The water was clear and warm and that's all I needed to make my day. On the first day we stopped at the towel spot...they told us it would be 50 minutes until towels were ready while he twiddled his thumbs and texted on his phone. Seriously? This happened two more times. I was over it, took some shower towels and my own towels and gave up on the poor work ethic I was coming in contact with.
Dining was pretty meh at the main restaurants. The World Cafe is your best bet. Couldn't beat it for all three meals. The Seaside Grill (part of preferred-section) was AWESOME and beautiful. The Mexican restaurant was the only spot with Coronas...how is that normal? The hibachi grill was fun and the food was good. The Chinese restaurant....we waited 45 minutes and then they forgot about us. We then went back upstairs and got room services pizza (awesome). The next night we tried Italian...50 minute wait...really? *sigh* Pizza it is. The lobby bar was a cool spot to chill. They never had glasses. They had to rewash or reuse the glass you were already using....we got wine in champagne flutes, scotch glasses...everything. At one point we did shots of tequila and it tasted like MINT from a past shot. Unacceptable. The Rum tasting however was good fun pool side with the awesome entertainment staff, expect one particular obnoxious one who ridiculed me for not speaking Spanish just because I'm married to a Puerto Rican. That is not entertaining and extremely annoying especially when I was reminded of it every time i ran in to this horrible staff member.
The Club was ok, but dead. The Casino looked like a basement. Karaoke night was awesome. THE SPA was probably the best thing about this place. Super relaxing with wonderful staff. Massages were perfection. And remember you don't need those stupid coupons, they give great spa deals everyday so NO worries!
Concierge was very helpful as far as transport to and from the airport. The had ONE pen at the front desk so...bring your own. At points the front lobby staff huddled talking to one another while you would wait to be acknowledged. The staff went from in-your-face to i-don't-care...the only in between was the awesome maids. They were GREAT and hard workers.
I stayed at Grand Paladium (which I'm not sure exists anymore) and Riu...and guess what they were cheaper and AWESOME. Same great beach. My advice is to skip this spot or play around with hotels in the Dominican because you never know. The country is wonderful and the beaches are gorgeous...this hotel, however, hit and miss.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aliesha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is only 20 minutes from the airport which is great after a long flight. Greeted at check in with snacks, drinks and a cold flannel. Check in was quick and simple and our bags were taken immediately to our room. We stayed in a standard room (in Block 1 on top floor) but this was a really good size with a huge bed. The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard, lots of towels and comfy dressing gowns to use. Mini bar was updated daily. The only issue with the room was that the bathroom could have done with a bit of an update but no major issues, we had a shower. I think the upgraded rooms have baths and jacuzzis.

We stayed 8 nights in Feb 2013 which gave us time to sample all the restaurants. We liked them all and really we were spoilt for choice. I usually get a bad stomach when abroad and this is the first occasion I didn't so I felt the food must have been well cooked and I stayed away from the tap water, which they advise you to do on check in. The only restaurant we had an issue with was the Italian as despite not operating a booking system the lady running the tables had allowed some people to book which meant that whilst a few of us were sat around waiting for a table others were walking up and straight in. We only experienced this once and chose not to go back to this restaurant again. No problems with any of the other restaurants of this type.

The beach is beautiful, yes there is seaweed on the beach but I cannot imagine how they could possibly get rid of this. There were people selling things on the beach but there appeared to be a rule about them not approaching you and so we were not hassled at all, which was a nice relief. They offer a beach side bbq at lunchtime to save going back into the hotel for lunch. The pools were nice but major issues (as always!!) with people reserving sunbeds first thing and then not using them most of the day. There were notices to say you are not to reserve but this is never enforced. One day the sunbeds next to us were reserved with a towel from 8am to 5pm and the guests came back and just took their towels away, not using them at all. What a waste! But I have yet to stay in hotel where this does not happen.

We got a free day pass to the spa and enjoyed this. It is well worth a visit, nice and quiet with a few sunbeds, small pool, jacuzzi, ice bath, sauna and steam room. We also booked a massage in the last day and then used a day pass to stay at the spa after. This meant we were able to sunbathe and then change and shower ready for our flight long after our check out time.

Casino was bit disappointing and the only place we found that the staff were rude, everywhere else they could not do enough to help. Internet use is expensive so best to avoid if possible.

We thought the hotel was a good standard and great value for money. I do not understand the reviews about the musty bed linen. We took pillow cases with us just in case (due to the reviews!) and did not need them- we found the bed linen very clean. We had fresh towels each day too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLyndsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We (a group of 10) travelled to Dreams Palm Beach, Punta Cana between the 14th and 21st February 2013. We were recommended this resort by our travel agent, and I must say that we were not disappointed. The resort itself is a short 20 minute drive from the airport, and located right on the beach. The check-in staff were first class, and the whole check-in process was quick and easy, allowing us to enjoy the complimentary cocktails. The resort has a number of bars and restaurants, so there is no lack of options when choosing where to eat and drink. The resort also provides some excellent activities (most of which are free!), which I would recommend you check out. In particular, the free diving lessons in the pool, kayaking, windsurfing, Zumba, water volleyball, and ultimate catch. I would also recommend attending the beach party that is organised once a week - it was an experience!

In terms of food, the Himistu, Seafood Grill and World Café were easily the best for their range and quality of food. For the best Fajitas on the resort, you should definitely visit Carpio at the World Café - he makes some of the finest fajitas I've tasted! For lunch, you can't beat the hamburgers and hot dogs available at the barefoot grill right on the beach. We had a number of issues with the service and food at Porto Fino, the Italian restaurant on the resort, one of which culminated in one of our group eating a beef lasagne when a vegetarian lasagne was ordered. The quality of the food and the service was not in keeping with the quality in the rest of the resort, which is a small negative compared to the rest of the restaurants available at the resort. The range of spirits available at the different bars were pretty good, with the best range available at the lobby bar, and the pop-up bar on the pathway to the lobby that is set up next to the wedding gazebo. The barman and waitress (I can't remember their names, sorry!) at this pop-up bar were excellent and extremely friendly. I would definitely recommend drinking here!

The resort has two pools, with one set up with a swim up bar. Overall the facilities in and around the pool were good, but we had some issues with the cleanliness of the water in the two pools. Once we raised our concerns to the staff at Dreams Palm Beach, they did ensure the pools were cleaned properly on the last two days of our stay. If there was one thing I would say could improve would be the quality and cleanliness of the water in the two pools.

I would like to say a special thanks to Melani, Leo and Alejandro who made a private event a night to remember. Melani was excellent and extremely helpful in helping me organise a private beach BBQ for our group on one of the nights we stayed at Dreams Palm Beach. She organised all the food, an amazing location on the beach, and the set up of the international bar. She also went out of her way to help us tailor the menu so it was suitable for our group. On the night itself, Leo, Alejandro and the rest of the staff ensured the evening went perfectly, with excellent food and drinks available all night.

The butler team of Wilson, Jose and Alexander were a great help during our stay, ensuring we had loungers in the locations we requested, provided us with champagne during our BBQ and helped set up excursions and activities. I would recommend anyone to ensure they take the VIP package to help their trip go as smooth as possible.

All in all, all 10 of us had a great time during our stay at Dreams Palm Beach. We would definitely recommend the resort to all our friends and families.

Thanks from all of us in rooms 6016, 6108, 6109, 6110 & 6111.

Room Tip: If there is a group of you, it is worthwhile going for the $99 VIP Package. It provides you with a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
17.4 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
6.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
6.7 mi away
Ocean Blue & Sand
Ocean Blue & Sand
#12 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12,599 reviews
6.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Property: Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-carte dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing