We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded to Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Ranked #47 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have traveled extensively using Apple in Mexico and the Dominican. We normally stay at a 5 or 6 golden Apple. We had stayed at this particular hotel in 2008 when it was a Suncape and just bought by Dreams. This was close to the airport and is a smaller resort. We did like that. We booked a regular room and not in the preferred area. The room was okay but had not really changed any from our last stay. The bathroom was really tiny with no room for anything. We had problems with our TV and our toilet the first 24 hours. After discussions with the management staff on our issues trying to get things fixed they decided to move us. So.... Down we go to the beach into a suite! Two baths, living room, dining room, 2 tv's, and a gorgeous bathroom with a whirlpool tub. We received champagne and chocolates one night, fruit another, and wine and cheese. A absolute gorgeous place. Now this is the 6 apple you see in the brochures and on the internet. So we ended up very happy. We would not have been in our original room. They had 5 ala-cart restaurants which did not require reservations.
Asian, Seaside Grill and Italian we like the best. Mexican and French were just okay. They had new loungers by the pool which were comfortable but the ones on the beach were getting worn out. Beach cafe served the same food every day. Only one pool bar and no beach bar. Staff walked around but it was hard to get a drink. Beach seemed to have seaweed coming ashore some days. We were there 8 days and about half the time it was there to walk through.
Overall since we ended up with a great room, food was pretty good, weather was great, we did enjoy our selves at this resort. It just needs some updating in some of the rooms. If you stay in a suite or the preferred the rooms are more like 6 apple rooms should be. This is a below average 6 Apple.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GJTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,671 - 6,677 of 10,959 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the Dream Palm Beach from 22nd January 2013 to 6th February 2013. We was a little worried about reading some of the reviews but once having been to Dream Palms I would not worry. When we got there we was greeted with a cold flannel and a glass of Champagne which was really nice. We was taken to our rooms which were on block 2 and we had interconnecting rooms. The rooms were absolutely lovely and cleaned every day, towels, fridge etc was topped up twice a day and we also had turn down service so we have no complaints about the rooms at all. The restuarants were all very good and when people comment about the food or not enough choice of things to eat drink (where they really staying at the Dream Palm Beach). The Beach was lovely and we did not get hasstled at all. The entertainment was great and the staff, Richard, James Bond, masood and a lady with the inital C (sorry forgot her name) were brilliant. Our Rep Sandro was also brilliant. In fact we have got no complaints about any of the staff they were always happy and always took the time to say hi. We took my mum and friend with us my mum used a disabled electric buggy which was brilliant for her getting around and also the hotel had a wheelchair for my friend to use as she had just had a back operation so i would say it is a good hotel for disabled people. Our party of 5 would definatly go back to Dream Palms and thank you for making our holiday so good. I have also travelled over the world like other people who have stayed here and think that the people who give bad feedbacks expect tooo much.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 2 overlooking the poole in an inconnecting room 2204 and 2205 brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cockerchumpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

While the rooms were just average and certainly not a six rating, the staff and the excellent restaurants made for a VERY memorable week. No reservations were needed and no lengthy waits occurred for any of the themed restaurants.
This was our 6th visit to an all- inclusive Caribbean resort. We have always stayed at a resort rated an Apple 5 or 6.
As mentioned above, the rooms were not the best we have experienced but the staff was certainly the best imaginable. Housecleaning was excellent.
The restaurants were superior to any of the others we have visited.
A short 20 minutes to the airport.

Room Tip: No elevators. Chose a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saukco11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. We thank you for having chosen us as your vacation destination and taking the time to post such a flattering comment.

Thank you for your recognition towards our hard working staff who go out of their ways to deliver the best possible service to please all our guests. It is a shame you did not enjoy the rooms, but we are glad you enjoyed other facilities such as the restaurants.

Looking forward to your next vacation at your home away from home.

Warmest regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1606
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

First of all, let me say that we have travelled extensively and have never had cause to write a disappointing review. Last year we stayed at Dreams in Mexico and had a great time so we weredisappointed with the overall stay at Dreams Palm Beach. On the third night, after dining, 3 of the 4 of us were in the bathroom all night and most of the next week. Three of us had the same meal, my husband had a different meal and was not ill. We heard many people complaining they were having stomach problems and it wasn't from the water. A complaint to the concierge desk had no follow up that we were aware of. There were no towel racks in the bathroom, one hook for the housecoats. Grouting in the bathroom was black, suggesting mold. There was no where to have breakfast except in the cafeteria World Cafe, it would have been nice to have the choice of eating outside as in the Dreams in Mexico. The Coco coffee shop was excellent and the staff were great. Drinks served around the pool did not always have liquor in them even though we asked for it . Beach was nice except for all the seaweed when we went swimming and the lounge chairs need upgrading. The pools were lovely and well maintained. We were not impressed with the casino, the shill at the tables was quite obvious and obnoxious. My husband exchanged a 20.00 bill with me as it would not go in the machines. Later, when I tried to use it in a machine it would not take it so I went to the cashier to exchange it and was told it was no good by the cashier and the manager. I took it to the hotel desk and they exchanged it for me. The next day I told my husband and he informed me that he had received the 20.00 bill in the casino when he exchanged a large bill for smaller ones. They more or less told me the bill was counterfeit but they were the ones who passed it on. Makes me wonder? Needless to say, we won't be back to this particular resort but would definitely go back to the Mexico one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank olwyn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please receive a warm greeting from Dreams Palm Beach. We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to send along your feedback in regards to your past vacation at our hotel, as it makes a helpful contribution in our continuous process in our path towards excellency.

It is quite disappointing to learn we were not able to meet your expectations, please know it was never our intention. There are a few observations you have made which we would like to take the opportunity to clarify.

We apologize that you experienced sickness while being here, but it is unfair to say it was due to the food consumed here. Please know that there is currently a virus or as it is commonly known Seasonal Flu Syndrome affecting some areas of the USA, Canada and Europe, which is highly contagious and causes nausea, severe vomiting, diarrhea and stomach pain. People may also have low grade fever, chills, headaches and muscle aches. For more information I would suggest you enter this link Flu Syndrome: Seasona Influenza or Stomach Flu? - Cold & Flu.

We are sorry you didn't find cleanliness in the rooms, as all rooms are cleaned twice a day and upon a guest’s request. All rooms are cleaned according to international standards which we have been awarded for in numerous occasions. Nevertheless, this has already been addressed to our housekeeping manager.

Drinks are subject to each individual’s perception. Just by asking the bartender or one of our waiters, we would have fixed your drink to your liking, as we only want you to enjoy it.

Seaweed is something we cannot control and part of nature. However we have managed to maintain the beach area seaweed free for the enjoyment of all our guests.

We are extremely disappointed with your discontent towards so many areas of our resort and never once addressed to the management while being here on site; we would have gone out of our ways to try and make you join the thousand so guests that we have managed to make happy. Again we hope you understand it was never our intention and hope we have the chance to regain your trust in our brand.

Best regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1606
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The wife & I went on an Apple Vacation (all inclusive) from CVG to Punta Cana. We had direct flight on Frontier Airlines (charter). We really enjoyed our stay. The pools were beautiful, rooms well kept, many restaurants - all were very good.
The people & service was excellent.- the staff could not do enough for us.
We were a little disapointed on the beach, there had been a storm out to sea & there was a lot of sea weed. Every day there were people raking & hauling the sea weed off, but along the edge of the water there was sea weed that we would have to wade thru.
Overall our trip was GREAT.

Room Tip: We had a standard room. We never saw an upgrade, but next time we might up grade to the better rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive a warm greeting from sunny Dreams Palm Beach. Thank you very much for sharing your comments with other reviewers and for having chose us as your vacation destination.

It is very rewarding to read that you have enjoyed all our hotel has to offer and that we have managed to make happy one more guest.

We hope you are able to vacation with us again and be able to recreate such positive experience. We shall be waiting for you.

Best regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1606
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just got back from 7 nights at Dreams in Punta Cana. This was my 4th time to the DR and Dreams was the best yet and here's why:

We booked the preferred club and it was worth it. We lounged everyday at either the preferred club pool or the prefferred club beach section. Drinks were delivered to my Wife and I whenever our glasses were empty. Tip a couple of bucks here and there throughout your stay, it's worth it. The hot tub, although luke warm, was relaxing.

There is free WIFI for preferred club guests which was great. Got to check my email and read the news pool side on my tablet.

I have seen a bunch of reviews here about the food being bad. I totally disagree. The mexican place and the japanese hibachi were great. The buffet was ok. The Seaside Grill was our favorite. We ate breakfast and lunch there everyday. It was never crowded because it is preferred club only except dinner. They had good BBQ wings, grilled chicken wrap, unreal ceviche and various gourmet burgers that were tasty. The breakfast was also good.

The entire staff was great, specifically in the preferred club area. They were constantly asking how we were enjoying our stay and if there was anything they could do for us. Super nice people.

Negatives:
-The room itself was not the best (preferred club jacuzzi suite) but we were hardly in the room at all except to sleep and shower so it did not matter to us.
-The hot tub was 18 and over but some parents let their kids in anyway which was bothersome at times. Some parents were very good about it though.
-The vendors were a little annoying but I just said no thanks and walked right by. Not a huge deal.

TIp: If you do buy the preferred club let the porter know when you get out of your cab and they will take you and your luggage directly to the private check-in at the preferred club lounge. We did not do this and ended up standing in line for a few minutes.

Overall it was a very relaxing trip and was worth the money we spent. We will definitely be visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wfloydman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. Thank you for writing such a delightful comment; it is always flattering to read we were able to make our guests leave happy and willing to return.

We are pleased you enjoyed everything the Preferred Club has to offer and also our different style cuisine.

We are always opened for comments and suggestions and it is something we value as it helps us in our continuous growth; rest assured these will be taken into consideration.
We will be looking forward for your next visit, in order to be able to spoil you and serve you.

Best regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1606
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Although all-inclusive, the rooms were Best Western quality. The bathrooms didn't have doors, nor did the showers, so water went everywhere. The hot water was intermittent in the shower, and non-existent in the sink (for hand washing). The food was all-American and just ok (although the fruit rocked). The locals came into the resort at night and harassed everyone to buy their wares as they walked by. You couldn't go 3 feet without a new vendor begging you to look at their stuff. The weather was wonderful, the pool bar was fun, the beach was ok (water was very "kelpy"). Even on the beach, locals begged you to buy things (cigars, boat rides, jewelry, hair braiding) - UGH, there was no peace on the beach except at night.

So, I did get a tan and a t-shirt (all other souvenirs appeared to be made in China junk). The travel experience was not worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBethB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Palmbeach, Public Relations Manager at Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Palm Beach. We would like to thank you for sharing along your comments, which are of extreme importance to us as provides us with a helpful contribution on the areas of opportunity and be able to improve all the things that we must in order to continue to grow even further. Being a service oriented company our main goal is to achieve our guests’ complete happiness and fulfill all expectations.

It is very disappointing to us to read your dissatisfaction through this forum and not once addressed to any of the managers, who are always around opened to any suggestions, requests or comments, all to be able to make our guests happy and surpass their expectations.

Vendors visit our property twice a week, which provides an opportunity to purchase souvenirs, local jewelry, paintings and other things not available at our shops. Aggressive or pushy behavior to guests is not allowed and sanctions are taken immediately if such an incidence is reported. In addition, security staff is assigned to that area in order to oversee the event and to reassure proper conduct by vendors.

We are avid followers of all that our guests have to share about their experience here in Dreams Palm Beach. We will only say that we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and that you did not enjoy your time with us. We hope to have a second chance in the nearby future and be able to change this whole experience around.

Warm regards,

Vangie Severino
Management Assistant
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Cabeza de Toro, La Altagracia Dominican Republic
Tel:(809)552-6000 Ext. 1606
operaciones.drepb@dreamsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.8 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
17.4 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
3.6 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
3.3 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana

Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Green Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $231 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Caribbean Sea, white sand beach and lush gardens, Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana boasts 500 spacious rooms and ample suites surrounded by swaying palm trees and views of endless blue waters stretching to the horizon - the perfect setting in paradise. Take advantage of all the unlimited luxury activities Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana has to offer. Swim, sail, snorkel or windsurf in the turquoise Caribbean, enjoy fine a-la-carte dining, sip favorite cocktails at one of our bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Allegro Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental
Sunscape Punta Cana
Punta Cana Dreams Palm Beach
Punta Cana Allegro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing