We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What we expected !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Ranked #39 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Macao May 2 to the 8th. We had been to the Riu Bambu in 2006 and really enjoyed it there.
We had a great vacation here also. Same great beach, but the Macao seemed a bit more elegant and reserve.
The service was great. You won't find yourself looking around for waiter or waitress at this place.
We liked the room and the food was good too.
We plan to return our next trip to Punta Cana.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank lpweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,752 - 2,758 of 4,070 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2007

My wife and I spent 7 nights at this wonderful resort and absolutely fell in love. The rooms were wonderful and the atmosphere was intoxicating. The staff were most attentive and catered with a smile to our every need.

I would however like to offer a couple of helpful hints. Take a bundle of cheap washcloths with you as these are not put in the rooms. Take along some extra clothes hangers as you will need them. Also purchase one the adapters for you electrical items from the Mini-Mart in the lobby, as the receptacles are recessed into the wall and items such as, camera and cell phone chargers can't be plugged in without them.

For action after sundown, walk to the Riu Bambu, left when you hit the beach, as the nightly shows are most entertaining and the crowd is a little more lively. One last thing after spending your morning on the beach, if you feel the need for an excellent snack, simply pull on your shirt and step into the Caribe Grill for a very good light meal.
I know all tips are included, at least in the travel package that we had, but the young ladies who worked in the buffet waiting tables were there for all 7 days we stayed and they worked @ 16 hours per day. If you get up early enough you will see the housekeepers out picking the flowers they use for decoration in the rooms, consider the unending smiles and hard work these people put into your stay. A few dollars will go a long way to making their lives and work more enjoyable.

Enjoy :)

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank SextonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Macao from the 22-29 of April, it was our first trip away together and will be one I will remember forever!!!
It did not start off too terrific as we arrived in a torrential downpour and were pretty much drowned rats by the time we got off the tarmac. Then our travel agent had forgotten to include our transportation voucher so we had to take a cab to the resort. While this seemed like an inconvenience at the time, we would actually do the 'taxi' way in the future as you go directly to your resort (35 minutes with the new roads) and it is virtually the same cost.
When we arrived at the resort - a little frazzled, the wonderful Alexandra upgraded us to a pool view room with a king sized bed AND the afternoon sunshine on the balcony. This was amazing as we would relax after an incredible day at the beach with a cold beer or a bottle of wine ordered up from room service (and delivered very quickly, in a cooler with plenty of ice).
We pretty much got into a daily routine... up early, breakfast in the buffet...same table every morning and a wonderful waitress whose name we think is Yokasata or something like that - she was amazing!!! Then off to the beach, find our loungers and set them up, then a long walk on the beach. At first it seemed like the weather was not going to co-operate and we hear it had rained a lot the previous week (very unusual for Punta Cana this time of year) but after a questionable first day the rest of the week rocked.
We did the Saona Island (my second time doing this day away) .. which obviously I highly recommend, while the beach area at the Macao is incredible Saona is simply magnificent!!!! On the trip we met an equally crazy couple from Indiana in Punta Cana on their honeymoon...suffice it to say that by the end of the day things get a little fuzzy. They were staying at the Punta Cana Palace so we joined them there for a meal - it was good, but the resort seemed just too opulent - all pomp and circumstance. Where the Macao is quiet elegance.
The beach is what we really loved....did not actually even put a foot in the pool - although like all the other reviews say it was kept very clean. We did venture over to the Jacuzzi on the Monday afternoon when it got overcast and drizzly thinking we would warm up there....nope.. its just a big square with water and bubbles not actually a hot tub like we are used to here.
All of the staff is beyond excellent and always accomodating. Kudos to Widny, Alexandra and Alexis on the front desk!!
We really have nothing negative to say about this resort, although we thought that there could be more choice and variety with the food. I have been to Punta Cana twice before and while this was definitely the most beautiful resort, it was lacking in the food area.
All in all.....we wished we were there longer and cannot wait to go back.
Oh and if you go down to the market on the beach - go find Jeffrey - we gave him a shopping list and he helped us out and we got some great deals.
Treat yourself - stay at the Macao.....beautiful, quiet....and with party resorts next door you can go there for fun and come home a have a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Teej33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2007

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Riu Palace Macao from April 28-May 5 2007. It was our first trip outside of North America and we had an amazing time. The resort was so clean and our rooms were spotless and nice and cool at all times. We liked the choice of restaurants too, though by the 7th day we were getting a little bored of the food. Most of the time we ate at the International restaurant (buffet) and it was nice because they would have different themes (i.e. Mexican night). The Kabuki restaurant was okay, but the Carribe grill restaurant was our favourite. The staff were so helpful and friendly everywhere we went.

We went on two excursions off the resort. The Monster Truck safari was awesome. We left at 7am and were gone until 5pm. We drove to Higuey and stopped at a farm, saw a cock fight, saw the countryside, visited a school and much more. We really saw how Dominicans live and how beautiful the country is. A good tip is to bring toys or hats for the kids at the school.

The second excursion was the Kontiki party boat. It was lots of fun and we had the opportunity to go snorkeling, which was an amazing experience.

Overall, we would recommend this resort to everyone. We would love to go back. The staff, especially Puff Daddy and Johnny Bravo (Bingo with him at 8pm every night was always a good time), made our stay so much fun. We also participated in horse shoes, ping pong, archery and beach volleyball. This resort had it all!!

Stayed: May 2007
12  Thank allison12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2007

We had an amazing honeymoon at RIU Palace Macao. The size of the hotel is great!! Everything is close and you don´t have long walk.


Rooms were very comfortable they are big and clean.
Food is good, not waw, but they make an effort. As I´m a vegetarian I didn´t have too many options. Forget about the Japanese restaurant, it is awfull!!! The worst sushi ever...
Entertainment is amazing, we loved the shows! We did almost all the activities from ping pong to aqua gym. They really make your stay fun.

Just remember to tip everybody....

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Daliada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

My husband and I and 2 other couples went to the RIU Macao, to celebrate our 25th anniversary. What a great time we had!! There really isn't anything bad to say. But we did not understand their sitting times at dinner too well, as we tried the ala carte resturants and we never ate at the same time. That was the only real problem we had.
The rooms were kept really clean. If you needed anything all you had to do was call, as between the 3 rooms we had, we could easily
drink the beer that they had stocked in the frig. As we had our own happy hours in the rooms.
The beach was beautiful, the water was gorgeous. We always were able to get 6 lounges every morning. And the beach bar was not far away. The drinks were good, especially the coco loco. A have to try drink.
We also went on 2 excursions, that were so much fun.
We are totally going back sometime and will stay at the Macao again, as the staff and all the entertainment guys(Puff Daddy, Jesus, and Johnny Bravo) we all so fun and got you involved even if you didn't want to.
You will not regret your stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank trows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2007

My parents,Husband , son and I , Went April 4th to 18th for a wonderful two weeks, We were unsure what to expect, since we had never travelled to the Dominican before. Had read all the reviews and were a bit apprehensive about some of the negative comments people had made. There must be some really picky people out there!!! We honestly couldn't find anything to complain about!!! The Beaches are to Die for!! The People are the most beautiful we have ever met and seen. and the food was great! Even being there two weeks, you could always find something yummy to eat. Checkin was easy and even when are room leaked, Widney&Luis (fabulous Men) upgraded us to a room facing the pool!!! Try to ask for 2nd or 3rd floor rooms , since bottom floor rooms are a bit musty smelling ,(mind you it is a tropical country)
We checked out the Palace Punta Cana, next door, It was beautiful, but a liitle impersonal. We have been to the Palace in the Mayan Riviera and found that we are now officially hooked on the Riu's!!!!! Sandy Abbotsford B.C.
ps will try to send photo's when can!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank sansat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#56 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#70 of 112 in Punta Cana
5,181 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Republica
Hotel Riu Republica
#65 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
#74 of 112 in Punta Cana
5,898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
9 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
6,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Address: Playa Arena Gorda | Punta Cana, Punta Cana 35100, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $210 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Macao 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana. * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. * Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Bavaro, Riu Naiboa and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu. * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * 3-storey building. Colonial style architecture. * Surrounded by 30,000 m2 / 36,000 sq. yards of palm groves alongside the beach. 50 km / 31 miles from Higey. 200 m / 660 ft. from Caribbean Street. 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport. * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Macao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Macao Hotel Punta Cana
Riu Palace Macao Punta Cana
Riu Palace Punta Cana
Rui Palace Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing