We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like other Rui Resorts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Ranked #39 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Seabrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not like other Rui Resorts”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Rui Palace Macao not even close to Rui in Player Del Carman, very small and not very friendly ,food just below average, no special restaurants', the same location as in the day just different Theme, Entertainment very poor ,main room smelled of mold, entertainers did not no how to mingle with people. Front desk did not no how to smile and when you did ask them for something they would roll there eyes. Would not go back

Room Tip: all rooms are acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,990
    1,101
    369
    156
    123
See reviews for
426
2,274
47
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed from March 3 until March 7. The resort itself is very nice - from the pool to the beach. Our room was great as well (we were mistakenly upgraded to a suite but I will get to that later). The first two days of our trip were great and very relaxing. Now on to the bad stuff...

Citizens of the United States pride themselves on great customer service in order to run an effective and successful business. The service at the Riu Macao was horrible! Hats off to Mexican hotels because they actually know how to treat their guests. Case in point (see below)....

1) I was incapacitated for three days from food poisoning due to tainted lettuce. Yes, lettuce. How do I know this? Four hours prior I took a few bites of lettuce that tasted like it has been cleaned with dirt and rubbing alcohol. Without going into details, it was the most horrible two days of my life - vomiting, constant diarrhea, fever and chills. God forbid I ask to see a physician - I'd rather have been euthanized.

2) They messed up our hotel reservation for the third night. They asked my husband to come down to the front desk on Thursday to clear it up (while I was still incapacitated with food poisoning). After that debacle was handled they tried to charge us an additional cost because THEY mistakenly upgraded us to a suite. After my husband said "I don't think so" and that his wife currently has food poisoning due to your subpar food standards, a moron in braces explains "Oh, then it for free." Whatever.. learn English dude. Life will be much simpler.

3) Cockroach in our room. Enough said.

4) Dismissive and rude front desk staff

5) Horrible beer and wine

6) Pretty certain they recycle food from the prior day(s)

In summary, the hotel staff, aside from the wait staff at the pool, beach and dining areas, are rude and have a lazy attitude (you will get a first glimpse of this at the airport) and don't speak an appropriate level of English. There seems to be no one in charge at this hotel - no manager, etc. A lot of other reviews spoke to the food quality and it's fair to say I'm living proof with regards to the food quality. Food poisoning was one of the worst things I've ever experienced and the worst part was that I was in a foreign country with a bunch of idiots who could give a crap about food and quality standards.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Going to start by saying we are very well traveled and my wife and I are in our mid 30's
People who are negative about this resort, well I don't know what you want from a holiday as this place offered it all!
Great food , friendly staff and very very clean, we stayed in jacuzzi suite 3376 great views and very quiet.
Tip the pool boys and they will reserve your seats for your stay, tip the resteraunt staff and they will give you great seats and the champagne will flow!!!!
There really is something for everyone hear fantastic place, will be coming back!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Our husband and I had an amazing honeymoon and it was perfect for couples. The beach was beautiful, the staff was kind, friendly and superb! They were attentive and constantly kept our fridge full with exactly what we wanted and would bring us anything we needed. The bathrooms were beautiful and clean and our room was cleaned to perfection. The view had a partial beach view but it was perfect because we got half garden and beach view with beach sunsets you could watch from your balcony. The food was amazing and the restaurants were varied and beautiful. The shows were fun and the drinks at the bar were delicious. The pool area was quiet and peaceful with only the occasional poolside entertainment which broke up the days perfectly. We loved it and didn't have anything to complain about. We recommend taking advantage of the catamarans, snorkelling and kayaking! It was amazing and pretty much free! Loved it. Thanks RIU!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank SiobhanBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were here from 14th to 28th February 2014, actually left 1st March as we had a 24 hour delay with Thomson.

First impressions of the hotel were very good. On arrival in our room we were called to make sure we were happy with the room. The room did smell of smoke and they sent housekeeping to spray the room and this helped. The room itself was exactly on the photos. Small issue that the cord of the coffee maker didn't reach the socket and it had to go on the floor!! Fridge was refilled regularly with soft drinks and water. Toiletries were restocked regularly too although we never had any shampoo, lots and lots of conditioner though! They came to change towels on an evening but we always left the do not disturb sign out as seemed a bit excessive to us.

Dining experience:

The buffet was great for us. Lots of choice. We tended to go in after 8.30 pm after the main rush. The soups were always great. The first time we have actually enjoyed the little cakes as the chocolate was delicious. Service in the buffet at all times was very good. We found the red wine to be more than acceptable but the white wine could be improved upon. We ate at all the speciality restaurants. The Italian was quite good although a very limited choice of "traditional" Italian food. The Steak House, again very limited choice of menu and only set starter of salad and seafood (wouldn't have been our first choice!). Main very good but desert not to our taste. Japanese - very quiet the night we were in here but the waiters made up for the lack of atmosphere. Food was good although we weren't blown away by the fried ice cream. Our favourite was the Krystal restaurant and we went twice on an evening and twice on a lunchtime. Great food and service and lovely setting on the beach. The coffee bar was a welcome stop after coming up from the beach and we certainly enjoyed and would recommend the iced coffees.

Entertainment/Activities:

Evening entertainment was ok. We went to the Las Vegas show, Dominican show and the Tropical show. Apart from different dancers they were all pretty much the same. The Animation show which was like a Mr Rui, and was actually quite funny. The dancing on the patio was ok but music could have been more varied. I joined in the stretching and aerobics on the beach which was good but not ideal on the sand. The Animation team worked very very hard, they always seemed to be around. Round the pool could get a bit noisy with the games but we are more beach people with the lovely breeze.

The Rui Macao has a private beach which is very spacious with lots of natural shade. Walking along the beach in either direction was our daily exercise!!


Overall we had a fantastic time. We met some lovely people which added to our enjoyment. The comments re "old" people etc is exaggerated (in our opinion). We are in our 60's and found quite a varied age range from young people on their honeymoon right through to the older generation. Lots of middle aged Americans/Canadians who were quite loud in and around the swim up bar. There were a few people in wheelchairs but they didn't look "old" to us and does it matter how old they are??

There were one or two very minor issues over the two weeks but nothing that spoiled our enjoyment.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one overlooking Rui Bambu on the first floor which was fine althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lovebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks 19th feb-5th march and had a fantastic time.
Would just like to thank everyone at the riu for a great time,the room was kept spotless,the waiters/waitresses were very good (never had an empty glass),the hotel was kept immaculate along with the pool area.We normally stay on the beach, as we did on the first day,but the entertainment and games around the pool were great.The entertainment team, led by Brenda were always full of fun especially Jinette,Alex and Vaquero and were on the go from 9.30 in the morning till midnight.
The location was stunning with a fantastic beach and always had sunbeds,as did the pool area.
The food was really good with plenty of choice,ate in the krystal often as it had a fantastic view of the beach and sea and did a huge beefburger at lunch time.
There was a good atmosphere in the swim-up bar and was always full in the afternoon but never rowdy and the coffee bar was a good way to finish the afternoon off with a good selection of coffees and cake.
Had no complaints and can't understand all the negative reviews from others,ok there are a few older people here but there is a mix of all ages, its not an 18/30s holiday !!
Most of all we would we want to say a big fat thanks to Steve and Elaine and Keith and Carol for making this a truly fab holiday.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

A 33 year old traveling couple that has been here for about twelve hours now. Let me give my first impressions and I'll continue to update as conditions exist. Check in went fairly quickly although the receptionist was a little hard to understand. We were charged exactly what we expected and sent to our room. The room is nice and on the third floor. We requested a quiet room as my wife is pregnant and needs sleep. Because all the restaurants require reservations we had to eat at the buffet for dinner which was fine and had a good variety of average to above average food. The waiter was fairly dismissive and didn't necessarily take great care of us. After walking around, the property is nice although it seems that just about everything shuts down at 6-7. No pool. 1 bar. That's it. But fine. The one big problem was the very loud music from outside till 11. I called and they said it was the carnival celebration that happens Thursdays and wouldn't happen again. Again fine but would have been nice to know after our 12 hours of travel. Had dinner with some family that had been here and who had a rough time. Wife got for poisoning from bad lettuce which ruined their last two days and which the hotel still refuses to acknowledge. Also had the common problem of an attempt to bump them to another hotel which is strange cause this one doesn't seem full. This morning went to make reservations and found the steakhouse booked for the next two days, all restaurants booked for tonight and got again pretty dismissive attitude. That's been the main issue so far. If you're used to Cancun customer service be ready to not get it here. There are also a few places that need updating such as the showerhead and pillows. Check back later.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevencbyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
15.9 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
18.0 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#53 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
2.8 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#67 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Address: Playa Arena Gorda | Punta Cana, Punta Cana 35100, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Macao 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana. * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. * Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Bavaro, Riu Naiboa and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu. * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * 3-storey building. Colonial style architecture. * Surrounded by 30,000 m2 / 36,000 sq. yards of palm groves alongside the beach. 50 km / 31 miles from Higey. 200 m / 660 ft. from Caribbean Street. 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport. * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Macao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Macao Hotel Punta Cana
Riu Palace Macao Punta Cana
Riu Palace Punta Cana
Rui Palace Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing