We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$412
$322
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$395
$309
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$537
$375
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $422/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$516
$403
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $450/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$274
$208
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$352
$272
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$293
$188
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$391
$288
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $329/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$371
$290
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,411)
Filter reviews
4,411 results
Traveler rating
2,343
1,281
459
178
150
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,343
1,281
459
178
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaribbean streetpool barkrystal restaurantpalm treesel patioother resortsdominican republicthomson repjacuzzi suitea la carte restaurantsanimation teamevening entertainmentsteakmain restaurantplenty of sunbedsrelaxing holidayan adults only resort
Filter
Updating list...
1,931 - 1,936 of 4,411 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Overall this is an excellent hotel. There is however a couple of things which would make us reconsider a second visit.
It is a relatively short trip from the airport to the hotel on probably the best road I've seen in the country.
There were quite a few people for checking in at the hotel and although their methods were strange it worked well and none of us waited for too long.
We had a first floor room at the front of the hotel above the dining room and overlooking the pool and beach. The room was pretty standard and modern. However it had no bath and this isn't what my partner likes.
The television had lots of American channels in English and the fridge was full of beer and soft drinks. The drinks dispenser contained Brugal rum, a Spanish brandy, Russian vodka and Gordon's gin. The drinks were replaced every second day and I had no problem asking for more.
I particularly liked the food on offer in the main buffet. I always felt there was something there I liked and the quality was excellent. We only visited the Italian restaurant and really enjoyed it. Friends who were there visited them all and were impressed with each one.
The service from the waiting staff was as good as we have seen anywhere. We really liked the small Cappuchino snack bar which was very popular in the afternoon with the pre packed sandwiches and fruit. Lots of guests took these to their rooms. My partner loved the iced coffee there.
The two biggest drawbacks for us was there were too few sunbeds around the pool. If you weren't up before 8am there were no beds left! Many guests left towels on beds all morning while they went to the beach and returned mid afternoon. There was no management of the beds by staff in any way. This was disappointing for us who spend most of our day beside the pool.
The other negative was that we enjoyed sitting in the open air bar near reception but this was the smoking area and it seemed like most of the guests smoked!
There are five RIU hotels together in this complex and you can visit each one. We did walk around them but think the Macao was the best. We really enjoyed walking along the path at the front of the hotels parallel to the beach.
If you smoke and like the beach instead of the pool this is the place for you.
I have a copy of the hotel all inclusive details for anyone who wants to email me.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank merchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had our honeymoon here 10th - 18th December and had beforehand read many reviews of this holiday destination - some we laughed at and some - well - we just wanted to wait to get there to compare.
We could not fault the RIU - we had more upsets and disappointment with our holiday rep!
The hotel - extremely clean - the staff - could not do enough - we did not see one single miserable staff member or unhelpful person the entire time.
We got upgraded with our room - without asking. Our room was so well kept - it was like walking into a new room each time.
The alcohol -definitely NOT watered down!
Don’t worry about constant tipping – a couple of dollars here and there to perhaps the same staff who will then look after you – goes a long way.
The food – how anyone could say they struggled to find anything to eat – what planet were you on? Every possible palate was catered for. I did however struggle with the themed restaurants – steak house could not cook a blue steak – but the chef in the main buffet did!
Were there faults – hell yes –But it’s the other guests - who blatantly ignored the polite requests of staff and notices NOT to reserve sun beds – there were plenty to go around and we never worried about such silly behaviour.
The pool maintenance – carries on till 0800 but idiots diving into the pool pre 0800 whilst staff still trying to get the pool area ready for guests!
The entertainment team were brilliant! Worked long hours but always there to fill the day with a variety of activities IF you wanted to join in.
All in all – we got exactly what we wanted – 7 days total rest and relaxation with no worries.
And no, the waitress’s skirts were not too short!!!!!!
The star rating – please remember it’s a rating to the location and not a world rating……..

Would we go back - Hell yes!

Room Tip: we had 3253 - over looking the pool - ask for 2nd floor and above - pool view
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Racheypache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Well what can we say the hotel was very clean the weather was great the food was very good .The Krystal restaurant was feb . But just a couple of things the rooms have coffee in them and on the second week they ran out of the white and red packs and put brown premium packs it is not nice also the ran out of seven up As this is a 5 Star hotel they should not run out of thing .Also the rep in the hotel will tell you all about the trip but not about the free us to shop male provided by the shop ask about times . If you want to do trip do the safari it is Great . The hotel manager also say this 5* is not like a 5* Europe so making this only a 4* hotel .But if you have book this you will enjoy you holiday

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Carole7744h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Rooms:
Our room was very clean and spacious, nice big telly, huge walk in shower, 2 sinks, optics were fab and the fridge always refilled daily, oh and the coffee machine. We were on the corner so our balcony was absolutely huge! The room service was quick and the food delicious.
The only negatives would be no light on the balcony which was really dark in the evening, also our bulb in the shower went on about day 4, we reported it to reception and when someone came to look at it they said they would come back to fix it but never did! Also its like getting blood from a stone trying to get powder milk for the coffee in your room! Out of the 14 nights there we only had milk left in our room about 4 times. Also our room was near the bins and delivery area so was very noisy early on and late.

Pools:
The pool is quite small and not very deep, the loungers in the pool are a nice touch but I think these would work better in a lagoon shaped pool with a bit more space and privacy.
The pool bar was super small and again had the loungers in the pool. It was also only about belly button deep (I am 5'5). I prefer deep big pools so neither was to my taste, but they were super clean and cleaned nightly after 7pm. Lots of shading as well (maybe too much).

Bars & Restaurants:
The lobby bar is big, you can sit out on the verander with table service, the cocktails are AMAZING! You would pay top dollar for these in Manchester city centre they were great, also you can ask for ANY cocktail even not listed in the menu and they will make it, incredible.
Also opposite the lobby bar is a new section called the cappuccino, here you can get a variety of coffee shop drinks and snacks, also fridge is full of fruit salads, salads, sandwhiches all of which are amazing and it is open 24/7.
The night buffet style bar is very big, loads of choice and super clean, the tables are cleared instantly and your drinks are always topped up. The dinner buffet restaurant is nice, open air, always busy in here, you can also go to the Krystal for your lunch, it is table service, not a lot of people know about this and is usually nice and quiet, next to the beach so scenery is brill.
All the al la carte restaurants are like fine dinning! Food is amazing in all of them.

Casino:
Quiet most the time, staff not that polite

Running out of characters now but I would definitely recommend this place to anyone and would visit again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lal205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This was a lovely hotel, nicely furnished & spotlessly clean. Reception staff are friendly & helpful. Bedrooms are spacious & clean with good facilities. The food is very good with a huge selection on offer in the buffet, the variety of meats available is vast & all are surprisingly well cooked! Our favourite restraunt was "The Fusion" which overlooked the beach & sea & was pretty quiet also the beer was ice cold here, the portions were huge & even my wife who is vegetarian ate the Angus burger which again tells you about the quality of the food. Pool area, sunbeds beach area all beautifully kept again with a hard working cleaning staff on the go all the time. Entertainment is good day & night withsomething for everyone. The beach & sea are beautiful here. Free wifi was available, we could even get it on the beach. The hotel is great but it's biggest asset is it's staff, with special mentions for Brenda & Alex (entertainment) & Polanco in the buffet restraunt. We will definately go back here, being an adult only hotel makes all the difference for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the wings are quieter because they are away from the main entertainment areas
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews