We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Nearby Hotels
$335
$261
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$370
$315
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$160
$125
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$205
$128
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$346
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$283
$188
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$516
$403
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$328
$218
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$465
$311
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$259
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,371)
Filter reviews
4,371 results
Traveler rating
2,323
1,270
451
178
149
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,323
1,270
451
178
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaribbean streetpool barkrystal restaurantpalm treesel patiodominican republicthomson repjacuzzi suitea la carte restaurantssteakevening entertainmentanimation teammain restaurantplenty of sunbedsrelaxing holidayan adults only resortother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
2,100 - 2,105 of 4,371 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We spent two wonderful weeks at the Riu Macao from 17th May to 1st of June everything was perfect, the food was by far the best I have had on holidays for years,cleanliness and comfort were wonderful and the beach was to die for..
What a shame it was spoilt for the last couple of days by a mass booking of American students who were there on a cheap block booking. They ran wild in the corridors and bars until the early hours of the morning,shouting and swearing like an 18 - 30 holiday.. They took complete charge of the swim up pool bar, and were obviously attempting to drink the place dry. This hotel is adults only and I know 18 to 20 should be classed as adults, Please change the title to "Responsible" adults asap as this sort of behaviour will keep people away. We were only subjected to this for our last 2 or 3 days thankfully, but it was enough for me to say I would not go back even though the first 11 dayss were Paradise. As the title "What a Shame"

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent two weeks at this fabulous hotel and could not fault it. The rooms are superb - with plenty of space, lovely bright fittings, a wonderfully equipped bathroom with a spacious wet room and plenty of wardrobe space. Also provided is a drinks (spirits) dispenser and mini-bar with beer, cokes etc which is replenished every other day. The food is excellent at the buffet, with something for even the most fussy eater and the speciality restaurants are brilliant, notably the Steak restaurant and at no extra charge. All this and situated on a superb beach - paradise! The hotel has two swimming pools, one with swim - up bar, and both feature sunbeds within the pool! The animation team are really hard working and great at getting you involved if you so wish but never pressure you, they are always smiling and very friendly.
There was never a problem getting a bed at either pools or beach - not even during our second week when we experienced "the American invasion"! Having read the previous reports I appreciate that as our room was not in the area that the American university grads were we didn't suffer their problems but we did encounter them during the day and at the bars at night and while some were rather loud and a bit rude the majority were friendly and polite. Having said that I agree that booking this kind of holiday at this level of hotel you do not expect to be in the midst of a crowd of youngsters!
The staff here are excellent - charming, polite and very helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks and will definitely return.

Room Tip: While all the rooms are excellent if you value a sea/pool view then you may find it worthwhile upgrading your room to one with the view and choose the third floor
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just came back from Riu Palace Macao last week 6/2-7/9 , its not 4 star hotel for sure(( we've been to Mexico 6 times and Dominican rep twice before and service was much better. Buffet served same stuff every day , no variety at all , they gave us 4 ala carte and we were able to use only 1 in 7 days((( everytime we wanted to make a reservation we've been told "no" its booked(((we were pissed!!! Plus two days in a row they didn't have tequila at a bar ((( sucks

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galyna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I will start from the first moment we got to the hotel the check in was very good, then went to the room well it was one of the best rooms we have stayed in the maid kept it spotless our room 3092 on the ground floor, the food well they had every think I am not good with food as I only like English food, but had no problem thanks to the staff in the buffy restaurant and chefs they were all fantastic,the entertainment staff Alex,John,Iris.Naomi,and all the rest of the entertainment team just fantastic I would like also to say that the bar staff were all so fantastic,I would like to thank all at the Macao for a fantastic holiday,but before I finish I would like to say thank you Thomson rep at the hotel MONICA AND FRNKEL I'm sorry if I got the name wrong or spelt it wrong AS IM NOT TO GOOD WITH NAMES. THANK YOU AGAIN FOR A WOUNDERFUL HOLIDAY, MR&MRS ABBOT-MACTON

Room Tip: We sayed in room 3092 it was very sunny room and quiet it was on the grond floor on the left hand side as you go to the pool. .
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magsred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

we went on the 22nd of may for two weeks the first week was brilliant and then the 2nd week it was like an school outing ,,,,,,,,,they were very noisey an had no respect at all shouting at each other from their room doors to the upper an lower floors,,,,,one girl had atowel around her and let it drop open for all to see !!!!!but other than that I could not fault the hotel we had agreat time we will be going back but we will be picking different dates,,,,,,,,food was outstanding,,,,,rooms were a1,,staff were brilliant so see you next year

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallulah33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews