We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outsatnding Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Ranked #41 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just returned from a six day stay. Cannot say enough about this place cannot wait to go back. Staff went out of their way,. property was outstanding, food was incredible and quite plentiful and beach was beautiful,Steady warm on shore breeze causing large waves. Very relaxing time Visited neighbor Riu resort which was more family . Quite crowded and noisy. If you want to just relax recommedn the Macao.The was definitly geared to the over 50 crowd

Room Tip: Uppper floor facing pool & beach on end opposite Pool Bar and & Show venue much more quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dotboy3088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,032 - 2,038 of 4,043 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We are at the Riu and nearing the end of our vacation. The staff and the accomodations are great . Floors are tiled and very slippery when wet. Unfortunately be prepared to be annoyed by rednecks who have no problem stealing your pool chairs even though your stuff is on them - purely rude and ignorant. If you dont like cigars and cigarette smoke be prepared for the polluted stink so thick you can cut it with a knife, and this is in the main louge area which you have to walk through to get to the pool or restaurants - mainly arrogant americans and quebeckers!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank john q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had an issue this year at Riu. I am uncertain what caused the problem but it was a little frightening for a while. Our travel agent booked this entire trip. The hotel in Milwaukee expected us. Air Tran expected us to be flying with them. The shuttle at the Punta Cana airport expected us. The Riu Palace Macao did not expect us. The guys behind the desk kept passing off the problem from one person to another. Someone told us to go see the Apple Rep and within ten minutes we had a room. Unfortunately, it was not what we had paid for and we had to be moved two more times before we accepted the room. Once we were situated in our room, the balance of the vacation was fine.

The entertaiment staff and bartenders are wonderful. In seven days, I never saw one employee that was anything but happy and helpful. We hope Super Man has healed by now!!! Sometimes language was an issue but the staff is dealing with people from all over, speaking different languages. Please treat these people kindly. There were some foul-mouthed drunks early in the week that actually drove the rest of us from the swim-up bar until they left. They were so rude to the staff it was embarassing.

Many reviews said that a lot of food was not marked. I am a picky eater. I discovered that I tried things that I would not normally have tried simply because it looked good or interesting.

The resort does not seem crowded (expect the swim-up bar). I think it is because there are so many lounge chairs in the tree area and on the beach. The beach is beautiful and you can walk forever.

My husband needed a wheel chair at the airport. They took both of us through quickly and efficently. We paid $10 to get into the country but did not pay $20 to get out as some reviews stated. Also, on our charter flight, we were given forms to fill out before we landed. When it came time to leave, you have to fill out the forms at the airport. I believe they were the same forms but the gentlemen pushing the wheel chair took care of them.

This resort is not the best resort for someone with walking issues. It is sprawled out with everything being quite far apart. Also, the floors all over (particularly the shower) are slippery. Speaking of the shower, my husband forgot his shampoo. They kept bringing us Conditioner. By the end of the week, we had a ton of Conditioner but still no shampoo. They tried to tell us the stuff in the pinkish bottle was a mix of shampoo and conditioner but it didn't foam at all.

I do not suggest the Mundo Authentico trip. We were told it was a one hour trip. It turned out to be two hours at the store with an hour to get back and forth. The first stop was a tour of a cigar factory. It was interesting enough but I didn't expect to go on a tour. Then came the store with lots of Larimar jewelry and lots of expensive junk and a chance to buy cigars. After that was a tour of the chocolate factory and a chance to buy a $7 candy bar. That was all there was. It is a free ride to/from the place but not what we expected at all. Anyone that I talked to that went on this tour was not happy with it.

If you will be plugging in a curling iron, Ipod, Ipad, etc., you will need an adapter. Someone said you could buy them at the little store in the hotel but I never checked into it.

If you like quiet in your room, you may not want to be on the end by the swim-up bar. Until about 5 p.m., the swim-up bar is pretty loud. There is an inside bar with places to sit outside after supper. People tend to hang around there until pretty late (1 or 2 a.m.) and they are pretty loud also. The early entertainment in the evening is really good. We did not got to the later entertainment. I believe that starts about 10 p.m.

Room Tip: Stay away from the swim-up bar area if you want quiet during the afternoon and late into the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jeanine_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned from a repeat visit after several years...the renovations are beautiful...We loved the size of the resort and of course the palm trees on beach make for a perfect location to enjoy the beach and stay out of the sun without being confined to a small "palapa". All of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful....food very good and beautifully presented... Our best A'la Carte meal was at the steak house. Entertainment was not always the best, but that seems to be the case at most other resorts we visit.However the dance programs were wonderful.
Will definitely consider this resort for our next trip to PC.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank akehllah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Riu Palace Macao in Punta Cana is an Adults Only resort. The resort, as almost all Riu's, have neighboring Riu's next to them for additional opportunities. The adult option was great. It was relatively quiet and great for relaxation. We went in the middle of February, 2013 and it was not overly crowded. Probably one reson that it was quiet is that a majority of the guests were probably in their 70's and older. We are in our early 60's, so that was not an issue for us. The thing we liked best on this property was the beach. It was huge and open to a great amount of sunshine. If you are looking for some shade, there were plenty of palm trees available to relax under. Although guests are not supposed to reserve chairs at the pool, most were taken up early in the day. We usually went to the beach in the morning and the pool in the afternoon. Usually had to wait for a good spot, but we were able to work it out. The rooms were well kept and maid service was excellent. The food is typical RIU food. We ate at the main restaurant most of the time. Quite a good selection of food (buffet style), like fish, beef, pork and many different salad entries. The deserts were the best! We ate at two specialty restaurants...the Italian and Fusion. Not a fan of either of these - need to have more of a selection on the menu. All-in-all, it was a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CBGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband & I just returned on Friday night froma fabulous week at the Riu Palace Macao!
The food was fantastic - bacon wrapped filet mignon, lobster bisque soup, surf & turf, roast turkey, chicken, lamb, seafood - more than I can count!

Anyone thinking of going to the Dominican Republic - I highly recommend this resort. Beach is amazing white silky sand, blue - turqoise water! Pools - wow!

We had a room on the third floor - king size bed - we slept so well!
The renovations they did this past summer really made this resort one of the nicest resorts I've stayed at. I've gone to the Caribean 12 times in past 7 years and this one ranks as my favorite sofar. Plan to go back next year again!

Great service - great staff!

Room Tip: Our room on third floor facing Caribean shopping street - we're concerned about the noise but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

we have just arrived back from riu palace macao its a great hotel food great service second to
none . the only downside was the noisy rude arrogant americans / canadaians in the swim up bar that we could not use it apart from that it was a smashing hotel complex was very large shops very expensive would go back

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank maureendrury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#55 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#70 of 112 in Punta Cana
5,154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Republica
Hotel Riu Republica
#65 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
#75 of 112 in Punta Cana
5,865 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Blue Don Pablo Collection
9.0 mi away
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
5,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Address: Playa Arena Gorda | Punta Cana, Punta Cana 35100, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $203 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Macao 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana. * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. * Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Bavaro, Riu Naiboa and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu. * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * 3-storey building. Colonial style architecture. * Surrounded by 30,000 m2 / 36,000 sq. yards of palm groves alongside the beach. 50 km / 31 miles from Higey. 200 m / 660 ft. from Caribbean Street. 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport. * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Macao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Macao Hotel Punta Cana
Riu Palace Macao Punta Cana
Riu Palace Punta Cana
Rui Palace Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing