We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Ranked #37 of 107 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Visited in August 2012 for our honeymoon, was really disapointed to find the hotel full of children after been advised it was adults only. Pool area is fantastic, rooms are good, buffet food is average at best, nothing to tickle the taste buds and all very bland. Don't bother with the other places to eat onsite (american, italian), the food in the buffet is just served to the table instead of getting your own. Also be careful the bar staff put alcohol in drinks even if you don't ask for it. Won't rush back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wisedogster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,784
    985
    337
    142
    113
See reviews for
385
2,006
43
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We returned yesterday from a 7 day get away at the recently renovated Riu Palace Macao. A lovely older hotel, set close to the beach with some new areas that have been added to bring this hotel to a status that competes well with other hotels on this strip. This is our 17th trip to Punta Cana. We have experienced many of the Adult only hotels and a few of the family resorts over the past 10 years. When I read some reviews I am amused. This is not a North American hotel and it will never compete in that star/ranking system. This is not a cruise ship, nor can it compete in that category. It can however provide a fabulous vacation experience, at a very good price, in a little piece of paradise that provides wonderful beaches, weather, drinks, food and an overall top notch get away. The renovations have provided an update to the stately old hotel. There is some overuse of silver spray paint in an effort to put a modern spin on some older items but the overall impression is very acceptable. The rooms have seen an improvement in the bathrooms - they can compete with any hotel on the strip now. The Riu has very high housekeeping standards and, for some reason, they choose to use a product to clean with that leaves an overwhelming odor. It is very industrial smelling and leaves a greasy film on the floor that is quite slippery. That treatment is used the day you check in. It becomes less offensive daily. You will not see bugs in your room. I do believe that is thanks to the smelly stuff they treat your suite with. That is my only negative comment. The rest of the experience is smooth and the environment provides something for everyone. Quiet places in the shade on the beach, a large swim up bar with amazing drinks, served promptly and with a smile, good options for dining - we ate a la carte 5 nights out of 6 and we had a pleasant experience, with some ingenious serving concepts having been introduced, every night. The red meat at the Riu is not quite to the standard of some of their competition, if you wish to eat steak. I do not order steak in these resorts so I had absolutely no complaints. Pancho and Valare are two a la cartes that share the space that is the daytime beach-side lunch spot. They dress up nicely at night and are without walls - only screened and yet in this climate still quite warm in the evening. Bring your coolest evening wear ladies and gents! The Japanese is a three course offering and all good. Not the chop and cook at the table concept - simple black tables and very nice food. In the past the wines served at Punta Cana Riu hotels were grim. We are not hard to please but they were really not palatable. Now they offer a nice white and red house wine and a sparkling 9% champagne-style bubbly that is a wonderful treat on a hot day. The bar drinks are excellent and the menu shows you the choices and, when you get the drink, it truly is what you ordered. Good Port and some Brandy available after dinner along with the usual suspects on the resorts rails - the Normandy products of chocolate, peach, strawberry etc and oddly - no Peppermint this time. If you are buying anything at the airport to bring to the resort you might want something higher-end for sipping after dinner. There is a huge area for sitting out to have cocktails any time of day. Nice comfy chairs around small tables. We liked that. That area holds hundreds of people They have a little dance combo in the lounge nightly and then, if you can stay awake, at 10 pm there will be a little show of some kind in the 1940's style lounge that is attached to the bar. It is such a shame that this perfect little lounge, that looks so inviting, still smells musty after all that has been done to improve it. It is charming but a bit...whiffy! That, I might add, is the only place to seek out some air conditioning to sip your after dinner drinks. November this year was so hot and humid that we were not able to sit comfortably on the patio at night - we were really looking for a cool spot once we had eaten. We enjoyed our stay at the Riu Palace Macao. We will go back. We suggest that any negativity you read in certain reviews may reflect situations that are very personal and therefore if you remember you are in Punta Cana, love it for all it offers, remember the price you paid you will feel very, very fortunate to have selected this hotel. We are not folks who write about the wonderful staff they met and name them etc. We do salute the staff at the Riu Palace Macao and feel that that high level of service that is the standard at this hotel at this time did influence our complete satisfaction with our week at the beach. If you have booked a holiday at this hotel, rest assured that you have made a good choice and that you will have a memorable experience. As a note to frequent travellers the days of bringing little gifts to leave for your maid each day may be over. Due to time restrictions this time we did not bring anything like that and simply left $3 a day on the pillow. The service we received was amazing and they left their thanks in a little towel sculpture daily and some flowers around the suite. Our luggage allotment was limited so I was happy not to have 5 lbs of "stuff" eating in to my swim suit space! We do tip and I am not sure if it makes a difference or not. The service we received was exceptional however, we watched a couple near us (most days) and they did not seem to reward the server with anything and they had excellent service as well. We enjoy a little walk in the daytime and the Riu Hotels have a nice interlock path, up off the sun of the beach in the shade of the palms, that you can take to explore the adjacent campuses. I always make sure I have a comfy walking sandal with me so that we can take advantage of that. I like to take a dip in the other pools, get a cold drink and then walk back to our hotel. It expands your horizons and lets you experience the feeling of the sister hotels while burning off a few calories from those amazing pastries in the morning!
We had Wifi in our room - nice perk. No charge. Lots of hangers for your clothing and super drawer space - we had 12 drawers so no competing for space this trip - my husband had one side of the room and I had the other, New info for frequent travellers: It is true. You have to pay $10 each upon entry (US$) ,,,line up and procure this ticket and then head to the entry officials and yes - you need $20 US$ each to depart. ?? This is new. I was told it is an airport tax and that your tour company does not pay this in advance. Regardless of who your carrier is, you will be obliged to pay. We read this but thought it was not factual. We were wrong. Have $60 handy! Have a great trip - we did!

Room Tip: premium rooms face the beach and the pool. We looked over Carribean Street. We spend no time in our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
31 Thank HeatherOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Recently visited this resort for 2 weeks and was 85% satisfied; no top shelf liquor in rooms or unless we were pushy at the bars; shower is HUGE but I believe a seat should be installed, especially since the majority of the guests are 50+; food is repetitive, bland and caters mostly to Euorpeans, the 1st week was ok but by the 2nd week was very very tiresome - no alterations; steakhouse is the best food on the resort; Elias and Eusebio are the best waiters anywhere I have ever travelled, went out of their way to ensure all of our needs were satisfied, so pleasant; beach is stunning and the vendor Russell was a great guy and fun to chat with; resort might have been renovated, but there is absolutely no tropical feel anywhere inside, too modern; in the past in the DR we have been served El Presidente beer but here we received Brahma which we did not like; casino is fun; servers at Disco tried to rip us off; recreation staff are pleasant and not pushy; expected more from a "Palace" resort

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise, stayed in 3216...very pleasant and can see ocean from the corner of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder CO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were happy with every aspect of our stay and we give it an A. A couple of suggestions for future travelers:

Japanese restaurant - skip this one if you don't have time for all four. We wished we had ordered the tempura rather than the snapper dish. We enjoyed the other three equally.

Evening shows: the activities board was confusing to us, especially regarding the location of some events (bingo and the evening shows). They shows are held in two locations, depending on the weather. The inside theater (Boehme) entrance is at the back of the piano bar and did not seem well marked to us.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the inside rooms so you get a view of the beach and inside of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BillBoulderCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This trip was my first solo getaway. The hotel's setting and environment provided a relaxing atmosphere in which you could be in around the crowd or just veg. I wondered why there wasn't a hustle from the staff to get guest to join them in whatever was on the agenda, but to my surprise, the majority of the population were matured retired adults. They outnumbered other age groups. Very quiet and relaxing if that's what you want. I did not care for the privacy in which you could not deny access to the room other than putting a "do not disturb" on door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The system all inclusive food is disappointing and unfortunately bad and worse: passed, old, reused and waiters with uniform encardidos and greasy guys ... A pity ... it seems so far-fetched. In this case, not done miracles! The beach is beautiful and good. Visit the restaurants a la carte and we see that the dishes are not very beautiful and healthy food aspect. Mostly elderly guests. Deserves special mention the bottles with drinks tampered with, as the photos, and including non-alcoholic drinks, including water from the mini bar, had the bottle open and re-filled God knows where!
Shameful! The fourth as the photo was clean, but is far from a five-star Resort. I and my wife feel cheated and hope you don't get too. Never go back on it! This is definitely not something top. Our experience throughout the world does not lead us to unfair reviews.
We went to eat at Club Med!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrMoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove Worcestershire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel last week in October first week in November. This is our 2nd visit to the Riu Macao, our first being 5 years ago. The update has made the hotel a lot brighter and modern. The rooms are now airy and bright with a walk in shower and his and her sinks. Main restaurant is excellent with so much choice, we did not bother going to a la carte , the seating time did not suit us (6.30pm or 9pm). Drinks are plentiful and service second to none, the staff are always ready to serve you, without you having to tip every time. The new swim up bar is a great addition ,as are the sliding covers over the sun beds. The beach is still very nice. We met many people of all ages and nationalities making our time more enjoyable. Overall this is a good choice of hotel for your holiday, the biggest plus being the staff who are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Keval55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#46 of 107 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 2,866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#56 of 107 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 stars 4,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
#68 of 107 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 5,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
0.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Don Pablo Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Hotel Riu Naiboa
#70 of 107 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Macao

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#23 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Macao 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Arena Gorda Beach in Punta Cana. * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. * Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Bavaro, Riu Naiboa and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu. * The Splash waterpark will be opened from November 2016 * 3-storey building. Colonial style architecture. * Surrounded by 30,000 m2 / 36,000 sq. yards of palm groves alongside the beach. 50 km / 31 miles from Higey. 200 m / 660 ft. from Caribbean Street. 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport. * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Macao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Macao Hotel Punta Cana
Riu Palace Macao Punta Cana
Riu Palace Punta Cana
Rui Palace Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing