We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went back for trip number 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Ranked #75 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Cortland, Il.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Went back for trip number 5”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've been going to this resort on and off for the last 10 years. It's definitely not a five star resort, but that also not what you're paying for. The reason that I keep returning is that, in my opinion, this resort gives you the most bang for your buck. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, and the food is decent. It cost my wife and I around $2200.00, with air fare, for a stay that was 8 days and 7 nights. I can't vacation in Florida or California for that kind of money. If you're looking for a relaxing, basic, beach vacation then this is a great buy for the money. If you're picky, want to be waited on "hand and foot", or looking for gourmet food, then go somewhere else. Try the "Hard Rock", and be ready to pay for it.

Room Tip: Be careful in selecting the "new" rooms. They're the ones that look like some thing fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,609
    1,926
    1,126
    555
    382
See reviews for
1,719
2,112
83
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

During my stay in Punta Cana I stayed two days at the Riu Bambu. Very nice place , the food was great , the grounds were very clean. Front desk was very perfessional. And the entertainement was very good. Would I return? Yes I would

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The quality of a hotel is often based on expectations and comparable. The price I payed, I could go in a Bahia Principe or an Iberostar. Therefor I was expecting the same kind of quality.

The rooms
A little smaller than similar room in a bahia, very similar to Iberostar, need to be refreshed. Not impressive, but not bad at all. Small bar included inside the room, air conditionning was working.

The pool
Loved the pool. Good animation around the pool, once in a while they prepare food close to the pool. The pool bar tenders are effective, the water is clear, the pool is clean and the tables within the pool prepares a nice set up for evening party in the water. I even took a midnight dive with a few friends and they allowed us to stay as long as we aren't too noisy and it doesnt get out of control.

The buffet
The buffet was meeting the expectations and was good enough. Could be better but could easely be worst. Very similar to Bahias and Iberostars. Not much to say about it.

The restaurants
I feel I'm generous calling those that way. They are thematic buffets. Not real "à la carte restaurants". The worst I've seen in a resort (one exception: Puerto Plata's Iberostar..)

The night snack
Worst of the worst. I don't even know why it is there....the night snack is a fridge in the sports bar filled with "burgers" that doesn't look like burgers (the "meat" is doubtful) and hotdogs with a not too fresh bred. You can always use the microwaves to heat everything.

The alcohol
Way too sweet and with a very limited and disappointing selection. Example: I like to take take a baileys during the evening...they don't offer it. They proposed me a cacao liquor with milk... You want a mojito? good luck, often they are missing mint.

The animations
If you want to participate in activities, they are probably the best I've seen. There is always something going on. It is quite easy to find out where it is and when it is.

The disco
Was closed but no mentioned anywhere...until u get there (or at the hotel)

The guests
I would say the average is between mid 20ies and mid 40ies.

Guests service
Very good. Gentle, respectful, nothing to say about it.

Overall disappointing compared to other major resorts at similar price. If the price would be really lower (20%), it would be a different situation. but

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were at this hotel from Sept.1/13 to Sept.15/13.This was our second visit to the Bambu and we noticed a lot of improvements since our last visit on 2010.The service,the food, the a la carte restaurants were excellent. There are 3 pools and a playing area for children that are great. The place is always clean and the maids,bartenders, reception personnel and waiters are very nice people,going the extra mile to make your stay very comfortable.Full bar in the rooms,plenty of bottles of water in them.If you can afford stay in the new buildings,they are more modern. We would go back to this resort any time.

Room Tip: The new buildings are modern and nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went to this hotel having got a good deal for it on the day of booking, we went through Thomson. We travelled as two couples in our early 30's looking to relax and soak up the sun.

We have travelled alot now and have been to Antigua a couple of years ago. I think that's where the problem begun, our comparison with Antigua. The beach and grounds were beautiful but if you want Caribbean, this hotel is not for you. It's more like being in Spain. There was no Caribbean authenticity at all.

The staff were quite rude, even if you were a Brit attempting to speak their language, with a few exceptions to the rule. The Thomson reps were friendly when they wanted your money for excursions, which I might add are not worth the money.
The evening entertainment was rubbish and aimed entirely for the Spanish.
The drinks were very bad. The food was ok.

The two swimming pools were worlds apart. One was lovely, quiet, clean and well kept, but very small. The large pool however was a constant Ibiza party, not suitable for children, very boozy, brash with loads of sexual innuendo entertainment.

The rooms were ok, abit damp smelling but relatively clean.

I think if you stick to the beach and simply want a sunny holiday it's not too bad. However the snorkelling was so disappointing. Snorkelling equipment was free to use but there was nothing to see. We didn't see a single fish.

Excursion wise, go with the scuba hut on the beach, affiliated with the hotel and far cheaper than the Thomson trip. The Thomson trip we went on was to saona island, we were unfortunate enough to encounter an electric storm at sea. Our catamaran was struck by lightning, there were no emergency procedures in place what so ever, no life jackets, no reassurance, nothing! Be sure to check these things with any trip you book. When we told Sonny about our near death experience he had nothing to say.

Overall I wouldn't recommend this place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Em M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I would sum up everything truthfully and honestly! If you want a 5 start brand new this is not the place for you! This is a 5 star but I would say more like a 4. I have been to Costa Rica, Cuba Jamaica Bahamas, and Dominican Florida etc. I have been to a lot of 5 stars and this is definitely a 4.
With that being said I LOVED IT HERE! If you want an amazing hotel that frowns upon being loud and full of old boring people then you are at the wrong place! This hotel is fun, and comes with a mixed crowd. All of the people from the palaces etc would come to our beach and pools because they were loaded with fun, activities drinking and music, where all the other resorts were boring. There are still lots of areas on this resort if you do choose to relax as well.

The food was reasonable. The buffet does get boring but so does ever buffet....ITS A BUFFET what do you expect. All of there a le carts were very good. I found the Steak amazing and the Asian very good. The Italian was also enjoyable! The drinks were very good and always great service for an all inclusive. The pool bar is a blast and a tip goes a long way.

The rooms are whatever. It is a room. If you want something spectacular this is not the pace for you. It’s very basic. Clean but basic!

Entertainment was ok, great for families and kids but I personally didn’t view many of the shows and drank at the sports bar.

THE BEACH ROCKS! If you are a beach person there beach is big beautiful and super blue! Lots of space and chairs always! You can find a quiet area or join in activates on the beach as well! LOVE LOVE LOVE the beach!

For excursions I did the Truck tour through the town. You go to visit a school check out a tobacco farm and chocolate very interesting and fun! Then you go horse back riding have lunch and stop by a private beach to do some boogie boarding! This was a whole day but super awesome! You get to experience everything and there are copious amounts of beer on the bus to keep you hydrated ;)!

Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are from ages 19- 35! If you are a fun older person than you too ha-ha! I had a blast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPaul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went as a family of seven to the riu bambu hotel. It's a lovely clean hotel with a lovely beach and clear blue sea and also a nice pool and jacuzzi and swim up bar. The rooms are great with a bath and overhead shower, also in the rooms are optics and a mini bar which get refilled every other day which we made great use of. The restaurant was to the usual riu standard and the staff were all very friendly too. The breakfast was ok but if you like the traditional cooked english breakfast then you will be slightly disappointed as the selection was hot dog sausages a selection of eggs but sadly no baked beans or bacon on offer. The evening meal had a good selection of foods from salads to steaks etc. The entertainment at night was ok sometimes but some nights it was a bit annoying and looked like organised chaos and if you wanted to just sit and have a quiet drink you couldn't really as the entertainment was really loud and there was know where to get away from it. The bar staff in the evenings were very tip orientated and if you didn't wave dollars under there noses they didn't seem interested in serving you it took me ages one night to get served. The best tip is to use the sports bar you usually get served straight away.
The only other niggle is the scuba staff trying to sell you trips all the time whilst your on the beach or round the pool it does get very annoying after a while.
Overall it was a lovely holiday and i'm glad i went but sadly i don't think i'll be returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leepy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
16.0 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#53 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#68 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,877 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bambu

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#68 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Punta Cana * Situated on Arena Gorda Beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino and Riu Naiboa hotels * Main building and 1-story bungalow complex * Surrounded by 46,000 m2 / 50,300 sq. Yards of palm groves, adjacent to the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Higley * 600 m / 1,980 ft. From Caribbean Street * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int€™l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bambu Punta Cana
Riu Bambu Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing