We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mas o menos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Ranked #79 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I just returned last night from here and we had a good time, but we would have had an even better time if we stayed at another hotel. If it wasn't for the beach, I'd say we didn't get our moneys worth. I'm giving this place 3 stars because it was close to the beach, if it wasn't, they wouldn't be getting 3. We got a "deal" with alcohol and food included but we didn't get the name of this "5 Star Hotel" until 10 MINUTES BEFORE OUR FLIGHT! We were off to a great start! The hotel was nice but what really turned us off were the people. Most of them were rude and spoke poor English. I'm literally going to learn Spanish so when I go back down there (It'll probably never happen because it sucked so bad) I'm going to give them a piece of my broken Spanish mind. The drinks were watered down so you basically had to drink beer the whole time. I'm a beer guy and their beer, "Presidente" tasted like urine on the rocks. Oh, and let me not forget the drink "Mamajuana." We were told it was amazing; a "tasty" concoction, but let me tell you, I have cough syrup that tastes better than this. But I'm getting ahead of myself. The "hotel" did not have a decent night life. (How could you when there was 100 kids jumping in the pool bar and peeing in the bushes with no adult supervision whatsoever?) This trip was our first time in the Dominican Rep (probably our last) as well as the first time going through Apple. The Apple representative was kind and knowledgeable but guess what happened? The bus was a half-hour picking us up and they did not have the proper sign to show us where to go. My girlfriend even asked the guy if this was the excursion we were going on and he said no. 20 minutes later, the SAME guy comes back and picks us up. I almost lost it when a Riu Bambu Hotel rep tried to extort me with using their phone to call Apple about our bus. A dollar a minute he says. My rear-end a dollar a minute to use THEIR hotel's phone that one of THEIR excursion companies messed up. We ended up having a blast on the excursion and the people were very friendly and spoke great English. Overall, we had a good time. But if you're going with your significant other, do not go here. Go to an adults only resort. I don't think I'd go back to the Dom Rep, but again, I'm getting ahead of myself.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, by the stage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmo316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,006 - 2,012 of 6,037 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

july 2013
we had to spend 2 nights here because our stay at macao had ended and our flight cancelled.due to tropical storm,it was like goin from the ritz to pontins,pool was crowded and and minging like a swamp,staff were arrogant and buffet was like a cattle market,i woudnt let my dog swim in that pool,yes we were spoilt in the macao,but there is no need for this filth in any hotel specially one that is supposed to be a four star.

Room Tip: if it was me i would look for another hotel and pay a little extra,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

the weather fantastic having to get up at 5.45 in the morning to get a sunbed is not my kind of holiday.The reps was very helpful and staff polite they should have separate smoking areas as going for evening meal the reception area was bad with smokers. There was 90 mins free WIFI throughout the day but later in the day it was full of ppl smoking and there is children around inhaling all the smoke. Would not go back all-inclusive as i do not drink or eat much food as the oil they cook the food in upsets my stomach. Enjoyed swimming with the dolphins :)

Room Tip: Take plenty of sun lotion as its really expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonnie920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I dont even know where to start. The pool was really disgusting, smelled like public restrooms. Alcohol were mixed with water, towels filthy, rude staff. It was like a joke. Buffet had restaurant leftovers, glasses were smelly and dirty, did I said rude staff? God! If you don't enjoy working at a hotel, PLEASE!!! Make yourself a favor and quit. I paid 10 american dollars to get a copy for my room keys and they where supposed to gave me my money back at the end but they didn't!! I was making my check out at 7am and Alex, the guy from front desk told me that he needed a recipt, but they never gave me any. I asked for a manager to get my money back and he told me the manager wasn't there. He had a really bad attitude and wasn't helpful at all. Had to go without my money cause my bus was about to go. The only people treated me really good where: Edwin from front desk, he is really professional, Licarina, the bartender at the sport bar made me feel really welcomed, and entertainment staff. Dancers where outstanding. Michael Jackson show where really good. Besides that... The beach. Nothing else. Frustrating experience!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 6,514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had a 5 apple square deal and was sent at the Riu Bambu, July 1-8th.

I was kind of worried after reading the reviews but once I got there everything was great.

Lobby: The view from the lobby to the beach is spectacular, especially when sunny. The lobby does have free wifi, but I would suggest using it in the morning. The evening is when a lot of folks are using it and you'll have to wait a long time to just connect.
RATE: 4.5/5

Hotel: We were in the # 1600s, 2nd floor. We did not find any cockroaches or any bugs. We had 4 rooms, 8 people. The rooms are cleaned and nothing looked "old" as the negative reviews had said. The only negative was the pillows could of been better, having not much support for your head.
RATE: 4/5

Pools: There are about 3 pools, the main one medium sized, and 2 small pools. The main pool is always crowded in the afternoon-evening and usually there is activities there. The swim up bar is ALWAYS crowded by little kids or puerto ricans/dominicans. If you cant stand the noise, the beach is the place to be.
RATE: 3.5/5

Beach: I would rate the beach a 4.5/5. The beach is one of the best with a nice shinyt turqoise water. It looks great when sunny. The only negative part would be that there really isnt a beach bar. There are also no umbrellas but the palm trees n my opinion are better and you can get a good shade in them.
RATE: 4.5/5

Buffet: There wasnt a lot of variety of food in the buffet. There were also people that would come up to the table and sing to you.
RATE 3.5/5

ENTERTAINMENT: Starting from 10-midnight the entertainment was great. I would definitely recommend doing the daytime activities with the great staff. If you win, you get to go up on stage and receive a certificate and a small prize. Definitely try to attend those. The staff works very hard to make sure everyone participates and has fun. You'll LOVE the guy with the heart shaped hair.
The evening shows were OK meaning they had a lot of dance shows with music which can get boring. The ideal couple is always the best.

It was my 3rd time in D.R. (Barcelo, Now Larimar, Riu Bambu). Overall, I had an amazing time at the Bambu and would recommend it but I would probably not go back since I dont like visiting the same resort again.


Im sure I'm missing more, but I'm in a hurry.

TIP: Do not read the NEGATIVE reviews, it really is a great resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was one of the best vacations I ever had!! There was no reason to leave the resort? You have full access to the beach which is no less Ghana mile for the room. There's plenty of water activities available (for additional costs) and if you walk along the hotel grounds you'll find a few shops for little souvenirs and trinkets. They also offer a number of activities on the grounds that is included in your original package..The staff was super friendly. The room was nice and always kept clean by the janitorial staff. The only down side was the food. If you're a meat lover you'll be I heaven. There were very limited seafood options.. You are guaranteed to have a good time!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monique N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently stayed at Riu Bambu for family vacation. Folks 55th wedding celebration.
I had read some negative reviews re cleanliness but it was far from what I experienced.
While some in our party did have ants the hotel moved them and gave them upgraded rooms in newer section.
Food in main buffet sink g hall was excellent for breakfast lunch and dinner. Probably best food at place.
Only negative re food was reservation requirement. The reservations had to be made at 6-7am. If not you were shut out of the restaurant.
Mexican restaurant was only restaurant that was not good. It tasted great but half of our 18 member group got stomach problems that night. I got it worst and was out for one day.
But overall i would recommend this place. Staff was polite and helpful. Bartenders tended to our every desire. Maids and mini bar persons were nice and efficient.
I would go back there in future.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank duvort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#74 of 114 in Punta Cana
5,284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Hotel Riu Naiboa
#80 of 114 in Punta Cana
3,321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#57 of 114 in Punta Cana
3,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Republica
Hotel Riu Republica
#66 of 114 in Punta Cana
2,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#38 of 114 in Punta Cana
4,203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bambu

Address: | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#71 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $169 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive ClubHotel Riu Bambu is open all year round, is located in holiday area Punta Cana on the Dominican Republic's eastern coast (on the Playa Arena Gorda beach) and it is part of RIU Resort with 4 sister hotels. The Caribbean Street is 600 m away, next village Cortecito (10km) and Punta Cana International (PUJ) is 25 km away. The hotel has 1000 comfortably furnished rooms and offers modern amenities. Relax with a massage at our Beauty Salon or get in shape at our gym. 5 outdoor pools, 2 children’s pool as well as Water park "Splash Water World" at Riu Punta Cana. For the youngest guests, there is the RiuLand Kids Club(for children from 4 to 7 years & 8 to 12 years old), Riu4U (for teenagers ages 13 to 17) and for adults, day and evening entertainment as well as Riu Pacha discotheque, many water sports activities. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main buffet as well as Mexican, Italian, Asian, Steakhouse, Gourmet and Spanish cuisine, 6 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bambu Punta Cana
Riu Bambu Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing