We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a FIVE star resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Ranked #79 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed at many resorts in the Caribbean - most of them 5 stars. We booked the RIU in December 12, at the last minute, on the basis of it being a 5-star.

While the beach was lovely, the food and drinks were low quality and there was no variety at all.
For example - breakfast only included bacon on one day out of seven and included many wierd dishes that appeared to be leftovers. The house wine was totally unpalatable and had a strange chemical taste - I tried red and white wines twice - all were bad. I really wanted a good wine to have at the a la cartes, but there was no wine list. The a la cartes provided a slightly higher quality of food - but not like what you would find at other 5-stars. Overall, this doesn't make or break a vacation, I go there for the sun and the beach, but you have food expectations for a 5-star that this resort does not deliver.

I also have to say that the customer service was unimpressive. The staff did not seem to care about their work. They did not come to take drink orders at the lounges at night - you had to go to the bar to order. The waitresses cleared the tables but didn't take drink orders. In the buffet, the waiters were regularly seen drinking glasses of beer surreptitiously and were a bit surly (maybe it was the beer).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,241 - 2,247 of 6,032 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just arrived home from 6 days at this resort. We had no idea what to expect after reading all the reviews, but were impressed with the resort. We had a deluxe room 3700 block, a bit of a walk, but well worth it. Rooms was spotless each & every day, bed was great & lots of closet room. Fresh towels everyday.

The food is all nicely presented & there was always something to eat. It's not as impressive as some places we've been, but certainly nothing to complain about. Staff was always freindly & helpful. Bartenders remembered what we were drinking.

The beach is why we went & it was all worth it. We have never seen such beautiful beaches. The sand is so fine. We spent a lot of time walking the beach & in the water.

The one thing fellow travellers should know is that there is no need to exchange money into DR pesos. Just take US dollars. There is a $10 tax on the way in & $20 on the way out & the only money they would take on the way in was US, good thing we had some $1 along for tipping. We did manage to use up our Peso's but it was a challenge. Even the stores in the hotel wanted US dollars. Good thing our Sun Wing rep helped us out changing some Can. to US so that we had tip money. They never ask or expect a tip, but are most thankful when one is given. The staff all work very hard to make sure everyone is happy.

It is very hard to make a reservation. I got down to the Lobby at 7am one morning & could only get a reservation in the Steak House at 8:30. After that we never bothered. When we are on holidays I don't want to have to get up at the crack of dawn to make a dinner reservation. The buffet was just fine & we went when we wanted.

Overall we were very satisfied with our holiday & would recommend it. Would definately go back. Weather was beautiful & the sand & water exquisite.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ryanair5749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Bambu dec. 22nd through the 29th. Ramon was the clerk at the desk when we arrived. He gave an excellent service. Our rooms (1 for us and 1 for the kids) were ready although we had requested a king size bed which was not available, not a big deal...the rooms were very nice, mini bar and a selection of 4 different alcohol (dispenser with full size bottles)were available and resupplied daily.

The beach was excellent and no problems finding long chairs. The bars were ok but the drinks were average (not what you'd expect from a 5 stars hotel)...the beach towel attendant (the older one, they were two) was anything but pleasant, giving you a hard time when you wanted to replace a wet towel and even being impolite with my wife. He needs training on customer service.

Food, what to say about food...again not what you would expect from a 5 stars, even the xmas eve's dinner was at most, ordinary... A la carte restaurants, Chilly's, the Mexican restaurant was excellent as for the other ones, who knows it was impossible to get a reservation(unless you got up at 6 from what we heard)...

We have travelled many times, probably over 30 times in the Caribeans, ranging from 3 stars in Cuba to 5 stars in Mexico, Dominican Republic, St-Marteen, Costa Rica etc. this hotel doesn't make the cut, it is probably one of the last one if you compare price vs quality.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road, more quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norm394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just got home from a nice vacation at Riu Bambu. The grounds were very well kept, beautiful pools and bars. Entertainment was okay, shows could have been a little better compared to other vacation resorts I've been to. My only main concern was the restaurant reservation policy. In order to eat dinner in one of the four specialty restaurants, they require you to wait in line in the lobby between 7am and 10am to ensure a reservation. All 4 mornings we got in line(which was no later than 8:30am), the reservations were already full which was very disappointing. Overall, we had a very nice time, and would recommend this hotel, just be prepared to not eat a very wide variety for meals.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Theresababay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

First of all -I want to thank other Tripadvisor reviewers. The reviews I read for this hotel, the positive ones, were 100% accurate. The few that had negative comments just had an off week or trip. I am sorry that they may have experienced bad times. We had none. I took my family of 5. We had two rooms. My husband and I in one room and my three twenty something year old daughters in the next one. Staff was beyond helpful in lobby, bars, restaurants, pool and beach area. We had no problem with towels - they were oversized, clean and very soft and always available. The hotel was sold out and busy as the time, but still nothing suffered. Our rooms were cleaned perfectly every day. I saw ONE bug the entire time I was there inside the room, not even one outside the room. Clean towels in our room every day. Bottled water in our room everyday. Soap and bath gel were in our room. No shampoo. I think you could use the gel, but we brought our own. Beds were the only negative, and even they were fine. Not your luxury high end soft sink in feeling beds, but rather stiff instead. All in all, you are so tired at end of day, you sleep anyway. Ask for more pillows, if you need them. T.V. worked great, room fridge was great and safe was large enough for iPad, phones, purses, etc. We were in bldg 2900. I thought it was a great location. Entertainment was ok, not the best, but it was fine..just fine. The casino was small, but great for one night out. The grounds were immaculate, the pool always clean and the beach was spotless every day. Plenty plenty of seats everywhere. Vendors on beach were occasional and were not bothersome to us. The massages on the beach were fantastic. We got 5 massages for 51.00 US each and tipped 10 bucks each. Well worth the 55 minutes. We also did the para-sailing - gone for an hour - up in the air for 10 minutes - and 33.00/per person US dollars. It was fun. The ocean was so blue- sand was so soft. Make sure you tell bartender you want alcohol in your drinks - they assume you want them to be virgins (the pinacoladas and daiquiris). The shopping nearby was adequate. We did not leave the resort except for the Sanoa Island excursion. I highly recommend that excursion through VIP Tours. From start to finish - perfect. I have never seen an island so beautiful. Bring sunscreen. Keep you hotel towel from the day before because you leave at 7:20 a.m. and towel place is not open yet. Hide it in a bag as they don't really like you taking them off property. We did and we were fine. The wi-fi was only available for free in the lobby. That was a little too restrictive. Pay the 20.00 US and have it in your room or pool or wherever.
The food was nothing to write home about. The presentation each meal was. Wow. They are very talented people. Make your reservations every day. However, we found that we could get in each night if we changed our plans. Food was not the high point, it was sufficient. Eat the fruit. It is awesome. We used Dominican Airtransfers company - found it online - and paid for it in advance (90.00 US for 5 of us - roundrip) they were early both directions and were extremely polite. I can honestly say that the DR people are incredibly hospitable, kind, sweet, helpful, patient - just great folks. We will be back.

Room Tip: I like being closer to the lobby/pool area - ask for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank allison k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The grounds were very well kept and when you needed something they were quick to help and to rectify. The food was the same everyday never changed .A la Cartes were good but not what you expect in food choices for what they were called. Yes the rooms are outdated but they were fine other than the beds being rock hard (No Cockroaches). The 24 hour food (sports bar) is not what I would call food ..It was meat on bread or hot dogs/hamburgers you warm in a microwave . The beach was always clean and very well kept but its true the land sharks are never ending and continually bug you and waves are fun ...can't snorkel here not calm waters . The entertainment staff were very good but the shows are the same everywhere and they don't always continue with the music after the show they tell you to go to next resort to join them and the disco is not at this resort it is also at the resort next door . Super expensive at the store there so don't forget your sun lotions or aloe as they charge $26.00 and $33.00 for same tubes here in Canada for $9.00 . They will barter with you at the little shops but gets tiring getting them to do that so we would tell them give us your best price once or we leave .. They over price themselves so we walk away and than they are at the price they should of been in first place but their loss when they do that. All in all was a good trip I would recommend to first time travelers and families with kids .

Room Tip: All rooms are the same and close proximity to everything and not a lot walking actually a nice strol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeW07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Was there in November. The club is nice, the beach is fabulous. But the food is a real disapointment. No variety, everything has same taste. At times food is not maintained at the right temparature, can be harmful to health. Personnel is polite but not doing the extra step.
In my opinion, this club doesn't deserve a rating of 5 stars.

Room Tip: Rooms are located in quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
#74 of 114 in Punta Cana
5,275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Hotel Riu Naiboa
#80 of 114 in Punta Cana
3,321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#56 of 114 in Punta Cana
3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Republica
Hotel Riu Republica
#65 of 114 in Punta Cana
2,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
Hotel Riu Palace Macao
#38 of 114 in Punta Cana
4,195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bambu

Address: | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#71 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $169 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive ClubHotel Riu Bambu is open all year round, is located in holiday area Punta Cana on the Dominican Republic's eastern coast (on the Playa Arena Gorda beach) and it is part of RIU Resort with 4 sister hotels. The Caribbean Street is 600 m away, next village Cortecito (10km) and Punta Cana International (PUJ) is 25 km away. The hotel has 1000 comfortably furnished rooms and offers modern amenities. Relax with a massage at our Beauty Salon or get in shape at our gym. 5 outdoor pools, 2 children’s pool as well as Water park "Splash Water World" at Riu Punta Cana. For the youngest guests, there is the RiuLand Kids Club(for children from 4 to 7 years & 8 to 12 years old), Riu4U (for teenagers ages 13 to 17) and for adults, day and evening entertainment as well as Riu Pacha discotheque, many water sports activities. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main buffet as well as Mexican, Italian, Asian, Steakhouse, Gourmet and Spanish cuisine, 6 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bambu Punta Cana
Riu Bambu Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing