We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Bambu
Nearby Hotels
$395
$201
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $284/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$516
$387
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$412
$193
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$173
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$573
$369
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$293
$226
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$352
$263
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Caribe Tropical(Bavaro)
$293
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$371
$290
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
$391
$288
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $320/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (6,295)
Filter reviews
6,295 results
Traveler rating
1,815
2,169
1,257
615
439
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,815
2,169
1,257
615
439
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barcolonial restaurantdeluxe roompalm treescaribbean streetevery other daythomson repsentertainment staffsteakplenty of sunbedsmain restaurantmini barmama juanadominican republicsmaller pooloutback safaribeautiful beach
Filter
Updating list...
2,403 - 2,408 of 6,295 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just got back (last week) from two lovely weeks at the Riu Bambu,

Looking on the positives the building and grounds are immaculate and are a credit to the hard work the staff obviously put in.

The beach is one of the nicest I have ever seen, soft powdery sand and the occasional butterfly fluttering down wind.

The sea is the Carib-Lantic as Punta Cana is on the point where the Caribbean Sea meets the Atlantic so during the time we where there it was quite choppy on some days and not really safe to swim in.

The food in the hotel was ok, having now stayed at two other Riu’s it was not as good as the other ones but by no means was it bad, there was always something to eat and a good selection, the Asian restaurant was especially nice.

There was some building work quite close to our accommodation but this did not impact on the holiday and did not make much noise

No gripes or moans all in all it was a excellent value for money holiday

Room Tip: Rooms near the tennis court are next to the building work
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Cletus_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel location is great. We got a nice room on House #1 on 2nd floor after we wrote to the hotel. They made it possible. House #1,2,3 are closer to beach.

Beach is really nice.. a little waves but white sand and blue skies and ocean. Nice to relax. Plenty of beach seats....

Front desk people are nice, as well as bar tenders and waiters. Rooms are big OK because you do not want to saty on the room... go to the beach !!!!.

Breakfast menu and dinner are OK... not the best food quality but for the price you paid it is acceptable.

LUNCH is the worst menu I ever seem in a buffet, not too many choises and always the same... They had a sport bar 24 hours... whre we can get hamburguers and hot dog frozen and you have to warming up on microwave...

Free Internet on Lobby is really bad... better to said that it is not.

Pretty much everything was great until the time to request a taxi.

Asked on front desk for a taxi and they said, it will arrive on-time.. and it was... we were told that should be 38 USD to airport... WELL .. this is something I hate....

After arrive to hotel... I tried to pay this taxi driver from hotel with some Dominican Pesos and some Dolars but he has not change ... so I decide to pay with only dolars and he said that does not have change... I told him.. give back some Dominican Pesos and he said that does not have .. I could not believe it.. I got so upset of this.. so I had to let taxi driver the keep all change because I was on a rush...

Really unpolite this situation ....

Room Tip: Ask for a room next to the beaches ... those will be house # 1,2,3 and other similars I guess. Get exact change to pay Taxi, otherwise, they wont give you change - sorry for telling this but it was my experience -
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Juan_Alejandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Check in was well organised and quick,Rooms very spacious and clean.The mini bar was only replenished every two days with 2 small bottles of beer 1 bottle of water and a small coke and orange.The pool areas and swim up bar were clean with plenty of sun loungers.The food in the main restaurant was very poor for the first ten days mainly because it was cold or under cooked.We complained several times to the manager about this and there was a 100% improvement for the last four days.We only used the pool /beach restaurant once because there was no dress code and it is not nice rubbing shoulders with sweaty people with no shirts on whilst dinning.The best restaurant was the Asian which was excellent closely followed by the Italian restaurant.The steak restaurant was a big let down as the hot starters were cold and the steak very fatty.
The hotel is well laid out with a very nice clean beach and friendly staff.
The highlight of our holiday was a day out on the jungle rally with George of the jungle as our guide.He was very informative pleasant a very funny.Thanks George.
A lesson for all of you,use the safe provided in your room,my sister-in-law had some jewellery taken from a drawer.
This is the worst Riu hotel we have stayed in just because the food was not up to the high standards Riu hotels mormally provide.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrcarrow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

travelled to punta cana in june & stayed at riu bambu, went with family & friends for my daughters wedding, cant understand some of the bad reviews i have read as we could not fault in any way. from the moment we arrived to the day we left we were treated so well from all members of staff who made us so welcome & they all worked so hard lovely people.the beach is right on your doorstep gorgeous white sand & plenty of sun beds to go around.i would like to give a special mention to entertainment staff Pelluca,Obama,Ashleigh & all the others wonderfull people would go back in a mnute loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mr170661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rooms at the Riu Bambu are good a spacious and have good balconies. It can be a bit of a walk to the pool/beach if you get the far away rooms, but given the lovely weather it's not too much of a drag. The hotel is very clean and reception reasonably helpful. In particular the Thomson rep was really good and very helpfull with calls back to the UK on your mobile (cheap calls). The main pool is not exactly huge but is ok. It could be cleaner but with all the activity in and out of the water I suppose it is an ongoing job. A midday netting of the pool would be really great. The beach is absolutely fabulous and you will never have to reserve a sunbed. There's hundreds of them!! The pool bar seems to get hogged by all day drinkers - but there are many other bars around (not pool bars). The food selection is very good and there is no way any body should ever go hungry - there is something for everybody. One downside is the booking for the speciality restaurants. Unless you are in the queue in reception at 7.00am you are not going to get a reservation - and you cannot book a restaurant other than on the day on which you queue. This hotel is definitely good value for money and I would go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews