We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Ranked #75 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Aberystwyth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wedding trip”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We arrived as a group of 14 and ended up as a group of 21, with added people coming in. We were there for a wedding-mine! The staff generally were very helpful and the wedding co-ordinators were very efficient. the arrangements were sorted out on the first morning in about an hour, leaving us to get on with our holiday.
There was easily enough to do, over the 2 weeks we stayed, and the beach was lovely- not quiet but not so crowded you were on to of each other.
Quick tip- If you're getting married here definitely get the Antillia photographers. We had 2 photographers and a co-ordinator for several hours at a fraction of the cost in the UK. They were brilliant and the results were absolutely amazing. Also for your wedding dinner, if you are in a speciality restaurant and you have vegetarians in your group sort out a veggie option beforehand.

Room Tip: Block 23 is behind the entertainment area- so you might want to avoid it if you're an early to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,632
    1,950
    1,141
    563
    392
See reviews for
1,761
2,135
83
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (891)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Having just returned from one of the best holidays i have had, i really worry about some peoples comments on her & think maybe they actually stayed at a different hotel to us! Do not read the negative comments.
When we decided to go the Dominican Republic we had a price limit & the Riu Bambu was within that limit. People look at the holiday brochures first to see why you have a price difference in hotels, the Riu Bambu does not claim to be a top class hotel with butler service, if that's what you want then pay more for a top class hotel!!
From the minute we arrived the staff could have not been more friendly & helpful.
The hotel on the whole is extremely well maintained & clean.
Rooms are a good size, beds are huge & i found very comfortable. I am a very poor sleeper usually & i had the best two weeks sleep ever!
Air con was a blessing, safe in room was great saved going to a lobby every time & we had nothing tampered with!
Maids clean rooms every day, towels changed daily, bedding i'm not sure how often as i didn't check. Every few days the maid left us a different design of towel art with flowers which i thought was a lovely touch. Not fussed about TV channels as I don't watch TV on holiday, my room is to sleep & get changed in.
The food was absolutely wonderful, again people remember you are in a foreign country they don't eat & cook the same as us, if you want a classy dining service being waited on then stay in your own country. Personally i like to eat the local foods to try different things which at the Riu Bambu you can sure can do. I have to say for a two week stay the variety was excellent you will never go hungry.
We did go to the steak restaurant once & i thought that was worst meal i had out there, I don't like chewey meat, the rest of my party thought it was just ok. The Italian was good, but our favourite was the asian we ate ther 3 seperate times & would highly recommend to try it.
We was very impressed with the bars & friendly helpful staff, all i have to say is as yummie as they are, take with the cocktails as they are full of fruit juice giving you the laxative effect!
The bar staff/waiters are so friendly & even though they are not there to fetch & carry for you they will if asked. We brits tended to treat them with respect, asked politely & gave a little tip in return, but we did witness a few guest being rude to them & not tipping.
We had no issues with the pools, sunloungers great & the supply of towels fantastic.
Not a beach person normally but i could not resist this time, i actually looked at my surroundings whilst sunbathing one day & felt like i was in paradise.
Entertainment was all day long, if you are into joining in games you will not be bored & evening shows very well done, the staff work so hard out there & always have a smile on there faces, such lovely people.
We went on two trips one to swim with the dolphins which was a lovely experience & a MUST is the Safari Adventure trip which i have to say in all the trips i have done on my past holidays was the best. Our tour guide Angel was brilliant & he gave us a great insight to the country & its culture, totally fascinating.
Would i go back to this hotel.....YES, for the money it's excellent value.

Room Tip: Had no problem with the room we was allocated on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crazygirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2012

How disappointing that we where not informed before visiting the Bambu that the hotel next door was being demolished and that there was working being done on the Bambu this spolit the tranquitly on the beach as construction work could be heard all over the complex.

Our bedroom was very clean no complaints there

Food was very average never did get asked if we wanted a jug of coffee with our breakfast.

Bar staff firendly and hard working as so was the animation team

All in all thought the Rui hotels had gone down hill compared to our visit two years ago to the Hotel Merengue at Punta Plata which was complete bliss

Room Tip: Keep to the back of the complex we where in roonm 1509 if it was not for the demolition work this ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Not sure where to start. Upon arrival check in was easy enough, but far from informative. The workers at the hotel desk were far from polite. After getting our key and heading to our room we found that wee had a "king" bed. However the version of thier king bed was two twins pushed together with separate sheets and blankets. The blanket was SUPER thin so if you get chilled at night you may want to bring your own blanket.

When going back to the hotel desk to express my disappointment about the twin bed ordeal I was informed rudely that the RIU Bambu does not have any king beds. I explained that this was interesting since another couple that was with us and right next to our room had a true king bed. After a very frustrating conversation with the lady at the front desk and denied the option of speaking to a manager I just gave up and tried to not let it ruin our vacation.

After a few days we noticed that the room had small bugs all over the floor in the bedroom as well as the bathroom. When we asked about having them sprayed they said they would take care of it. After our next room cleaning we didn't notice as many of them.

On to the pool area, and beaches. The beach was BEAUTIFUL! The pool was very nice, however I was very disappointed to find that it's hours were not the greatest. The pool is only open from 10am to 6pm. Also the pool bartenders were far less experienced than our trip to Costa Rica's RUI.

Ok now the food..... I must say the buffet was very limited, the food was often cold as well. Now here is a HUGE disappointment. There are 3 dining restaurants. Steakhouse, Italian, and Asian. The main issue was that ONLY ONE is open each night, big bummer there. The Steakhouse was HORRIBLE. If you HAVE to eat their get something besides the steak, it was 80% grissel. The Italian was good, and the Asian was EXCELLENT! Needless to say if the Steakhouse is the only thing open do the buffet instead!

All in all if we had it to do over again we would have booked at a newer RIU as it seems they do not put 100% into the older resorts, its FAR worth the extra money to book the newer hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a TRUE king bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FAIRCHILDIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Punta Cana hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Bit late with this review went 21 feb for 2 weeks booking in process was quick got top floor room I asked for,room was clean and served purpose was happy with room,food was was the same as all Rius I have been to,buffet always something to eat,steakhouse well my wife has a good pair of mashers not a chance of chewing it I give up after first bite ever mind we gave it a try,Asian I liked that one good selection went 3 times never tried the Italian ,beach what can I say one of the best I have seen ,pools a bit small for the amount of people the swim up bar a bit noisy for me and nobody got out of the pool for a weeeee,the bars where ok did not like bar staff I did tip they just don't like tourists unless you are a pretty young girl .did find one of my good polo shirts was missing when I was packing did not report it,I just felt disappointed I had tipped well and they still had to do that,overall not a bad hotel for the bucks,will I return I don't know.

Room Tip: Top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowans33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Returned from the Riu Bambu on 19th May 2012. It was a great holiday. Where do I start.

The bars were good and a great selection of drinks, if you dont like the first one remember you can leave it and just ask the bar staff to put little amount of alcohol in it. I found the bar staff very friendly and helpful. Tips will be appreciated.

The food was good, plenty of choice and if you didnt like what was on show you always had old fashoined burgers, hot dogs and pizza and chips.

The rooms I had no complaints, beds were huge and maids cleaned them every day. The weather was awesome and hot so it made it easier.

The Beach... well this was stunning and spent most of the time on here, make sure you cream up well cause there is a breeze on the beach but you still get a tan.

We went on the outback Safari, we had George and Raymond as our guide and driver, George of the Jungle was crazy guy but was funny aswell, but new his stuff about the place, great day out. If you get the chance go to Saoni Island it has a spectacular beach with clear blue water, you get to go out on the catermaran where you dance and drink and have a laugh, you have dinner on the island and when finished go and find some star fish also a good day out.

I had no complaints about the place stunning scenary, just do one thing before you go dont read comments on here!!,

One slight dissapointment was that they started building work next to Riu Bambu, didnt mind about this but would of been nice to have been told, otherwise no other complaint great holiday!

Room Tip: if you get a room near the beach you get the breezer, but a bit noiser. We had one's at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickett1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Just returned from riu Bambu Punta Cana
Had really good time.
Beach really lovely.
Hotel good overall.
Staff were good especially bar staff (George,Pasqual, Victor and Alexander)
Activities team fun and friendly.
Food they try hard a lot of different people to please.
Trips - did two Jungle Safari and Treasures Of the Sea both excellent.
Met some nice people -hello Sally & Steven.
You will have a nice holiday here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anner_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
18.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#45 of 112 in Punta Cana
968 reviews
38.2 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
16.0 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#22 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Naiboa
Hotel Riu Naiboa
#78 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,151 reviews
15.8 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 112 in Punta Cana
3,384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Bambu

Property: ClubHotel Riu Bambu
Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#67 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Bambu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Punta Cana * Situated on Arena Gorda Beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Within the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino and Riu Naiboa hotels * Main building and 1-story bungalow complex * Surrounded by 46,000 m2 / 50,300 sq. Yards of palm groves, adjacent to the beach * 50 km / 31 miles from Higley * 600 m / 1,980 ft. From Caribbean Street * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Intl. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bambu Punta Cana
Riu Bambu Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing