We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds, great energy & a lot of fun!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Med Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Punta Cana
Ranked #41 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, great energy & a lot of fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Visited in early January with my college-age daughter. Overall we had a great time. (Over the past several years we have stayed at several different all-inclusive resorts - so will include a comparison in this review as well)

The resort is very large, but set up nicely in that it runs horizontally with the ocean so that there is an ocean view almost everywhere. The grounds are spectacular and even though the resort was at full capacity we never had trouble finding a chair. This week seemed to be a lot of French-speaking guests. We dined with someone from reception the last night who informed us that they had 500 French speaking, 300 English speaking (many from Canada), and 100 from Argentina staying at the moment....along with many from other countries - Germany, etc. Language was never an issue as everything was done in multiple languages - French, English, Spanish...

We stayed in the regular rooms -- I did walk over to the 'Five Trident' area and it looked very, very nice.

THE BEACH:
The beach was especially nice with a lot of palm trees providing natural shade and many, many beach chairs. We didn't have to worry about getting out early to 'save' a chair - there were many chairs available and it was always easy to find a shady spot. Sitting by the ocean also there was a nice breeze. A persistent volleyball game started in the morning and went all day for anyone that wanted to join in. The beach also had a snack bar/bar that operated beginning at 11:30. Tables were right by the ocean and they served a few basics (hamburgers, fries, salad). Bar was next door with a dance floor with 'lessons' several times during the day. The water was warm and clear and watersports were right there as well.

THE ROOM
Was ok - we had a basic room - it had a sitting area with two daybeds that could be made up into single beds and another room with a king bed and a TV. AC ran constantly and it was very cold in the room. Had a corner mini-fridge stocked with water. We had a coffee maker but didn't use it. Nice balcony overlooking the ocean. Room was basic but worked.

INTERNET
Service was available for $55/week. At reception they warned that it wouldnt' work in the room, but we found it worked everywhere. However, only one person can use it at a time.

THE POOL
Was also very nice - large, with a large shallow end as well. The nicer cushioned chairs under the huts did fill up, but there were always chairs available.

FITNESS/AEROBICS
The fitness/aerobics team and program was the best I've ever seen. Taught by an incredible group of energetic instructors in multiple languages throughout the day -- they had something for everyone. The day began with a stretch class, followed by 'abs and thighs', step, body sculpting, then water aerobics. The afternoon classes included zumba, pilates, stretch class, and ocean water aerobics. Aerobics was taught in a nice studio right on the beach with great equipment, towels, etc. Each day also had some sort of fitness challenge - a 5k run around the resort, triathlon, etc.

TENNIS
The resort has 14 tennis courts - made out of a strange surface -- seemed sort of a wooden surface which I was told was fast-drying. It wasn't too bad. They had a number of 'pros' who taught three classes daily at 9, 10 and 11, and then hosted a social tournament each afternoon at 4:30 with a different theme each day. The classes were just ok - mostly pros feeding balls to us in a line, but a great way to meet other tennis-playing guests and the pros would encourage us to play after class and set up groups to play together. Overall this was the most active tennis program of any of the all-inclusive resorts I've been to.

ARCHERY
Was fun - available all day with a daily tournament with a different theme at 3:30 each day!

ACTIVITIES
Overall Club Med has constant activities. Every half hour there were multiple opportunities to participate -- ping pong tournaments, boce ball, dance, darts, even trivia games at the bar each afternoon....non-stop. And the guests participate! The club had a very large concrete basketball area that also had a skateboarding ramp. We didn't see too many playing basketball and no skateboarding. Club also had a fitness/gym with treadmills, steppers, free weights and machines.

KID-FRIENDLY
The kids program looked extraordinary! The kids area was huge and they all seemed to be having a blast! Hands down best kids program. Each night the kids put on a show for the parents.

THE SHOWS
Were great - every night at 9:30/10 there was a show. From staff performing a lip synch to old rock classics, the Michael Jackson show and flying trapeze show.

TRAPEZE
This was a highlight for many -- we didn't try it, but did enjoy watching. Seemed pretty safe how they have it set up with harness and nets.

FOOD
The food was just ok. Lots of fancy concoctions whereas just a focus on making fewer things better would have been preferred. Also, the food is all out in the open with a lot of flies. I am not normally bothered by things like that but in this case there were a LOT of flies. My wish would be for them to keep the doors shut and put the food in containers with sterno undeneath and lids to keep the flies out. The Hispanola restaurant also had a lot of birds. We left our lunches alone for a few minutes to grab a drink and returned to find a black bird sitting right on our table eyeing our food!

COMPARISON WITH BEACHES TURKS AND CAICOS, BEACHES BOSCOBEL AND IBEROSTAR RIVIERA MAYA

What makes Club Med different? The staff and the guests. The staff are there not just to provide service, but to ensure that the guest have fun. We would find our tennis instructor at the pool doing the 'crazy signs', or in the evening teaching a dance class during happy hour. The staff would sit and dine with us in the evening, often facilitating conversations between guests that speak different languages. And the guests also are there to participate...to have fun...and to meet other guests. The last night we were there the fitness instructors conducted a 'zumba' class in the middle of the resort with probably 100-150 guests participating. At dinner it was common to be seated with other families or to be paired with other families during various games and tournaments. Club Med is for those that want to be active and that want to meet others. Don't go for the food and don't go for the rooms -- and if those things are very important to you then don't go.

The Beaches resorts had much better food, nicer rooms, well-stocked mini fridges with soft drinks, beer along with water, and friendly, fun service, but guests tended to stay with their families more and the programs were much fewer. Beaches also has a large gaming area with xbox, and lots and lots of video games which simply does not exist at Club Med. Iberostar Riviera Maya had very nice restaurants but staff was there to provide service, not to interact and activities were not as plentiful.

Room Tip: Rooms near the spa/trapeze are quieter and have a gorgeous ocean view; however, they are a longer a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mskrisanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,990
    2,352
    868
    374
    172
See reviews for
4,758
1,271
318
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I had a feeling that I would ask myself what took me so long to get to a Club Med resort after having dreamed about it as a kid. It hit the mark in all the important areas for me and my family: Setting: Well laid out, well- kept landscaping, clean facilities, beautiful, expansive beach, amazing fresh and well prepared food. Service: Friendly, accommodating, professional staff. Fun: LOT's of easy to join fun activities and equipment to use, PLENTY of beach chairs and space to relax. It took me about ten minutes of being there to unwind. Our group ranged from 11 years old to 80 and we ALL relaxed and had a blast!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

My parents took their kids and grandkids to Club Med Punta Cana in celebration of my dad's 80th birthday. There were 16 of us in total--7 grandchildren ranging in age from 13 years old to 23 years old. We had an awesome time. There was always an activity for everyone, whether you wanted to take an exercise class, do a water sport or play beach volleyball. Some of us were just as happy lounging on the gorgeous beach reading. Even though we were there during one of the busiest weeks of the year, we never felt crowded out, or had to wait long--if at all--for things like food at the buffet or kayaks or windsurfers or a ping pong table. My 13-year-old and 16-year-old kids decided not to participate in the teen club since they were happy hanging out with their older cousins, but for kids who do want to get involved with Passworld, it was clearly a fun and active group.

The staff are very enthusiastic and friendly. A special thanks to Kristal (one of the GOs) and Moka (the Chef de Cuisine at Samana Restaurant) who were the very definition of excellent customer service. When Kristal learned that I had fallen in love with a particular cake earlier in the week, she brought Moka out to meet us. Later that night after dinner, the two of them sought out my family and presented us with our very own entire cake, even though it was not the night of the week on which it is made and/or served. That went above and beyond, in my opinion, and we were very touched.

The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable. Good storage space for clothing and nice to have the separate living room in case someone wanted to get up to read. Nothing special or fancy, but perfectly functional.

The food was pretty good. Not the best we have had, even in other all-inclusive resorts, but there was such a broad range of choices at every meal that you could always find something you liked, and the occasional dish was excellent. Overall, they do a great job considering how many people they feed at once. We certainly never went hungry (although the late-sleeping teenagers in our group would have liked breakfast to remain open later than 10:00 a.m.)

I have only very minor complaints:
1. Check in was stressful as half of our rooms were not ready when we arrived late in the afternoon. One room was not ready until 6:00 p.m. and I felt that the people at reception were not particularly apologetic or helpful about it.
2. It is ridiculous to charge $55 for a week of WIFI access. WIFI costs nothing to provide, and giving this service for free or even just building it into the overall cost would have avoided a certain disgruntlement and dissatisfaction that was widely expressed by guests.

On the whole, I would recommend this resort to any families with kids of all ages.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citykid10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our family's first stay at a Club Med Resort. Prior to this, we have stayed at resorts in Hawaii, Costa Rica, Puerto Rico and Bahamas. So, we have some experience with resorts. Well, as a family we all agreed that this was the best vacation and resort that we have visited. Now, it was not because of the resorts infrastructure. That was nice, but it was the other guests and most of all the exceptional staff and management team of Abdel and Christelle.

First the guests, what a great mixture of North Americans, French and others. This combination and the amazing friendliness of all makes the Club Med experience awesome.

Second, the Staff, known as G.O.s. These energetic mostly young people bring a level of excitement and enthusiasm to club which is contagious and fun. Hats off to the Circus Staff...thanks for making my wife's week visit memorable!

Finally, to the GMs, Abdel and Christelle. GMs at other clubs hide behind desks, come out at a cocktail party and otherwise are completely behind the scenes. Not these two GMs, what a team and what incredible individuals! Abdel is everywhere and anywhere. He will take time to answer questions and learn as many guests names as he can. This guy is the bomb and his super-human energy is amazing! Christelle, is friendly and as outgoing of person we have ever encountered. She truly ready to be her own Chef de Village and her talent for singing, dancing and entertaining is inspiring. We promise if you go to Club Med Punta Canta you will absolutely agree with our assessment!

Our family plans on returning to Club Med in the future and we would recommend this Club to anyone looking for a Great vacation!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This resort exceed my expectations. I visited with extended family (5 adults and 6 children, ages 5-12) for one week and every one of us had the most amazing time. The property is gorgeous, the GOs are friendly and helpful, and we were so relaxed that we didn't even venture over to the spa for those massages we thought would be so nice to get while on vacation.

We were in a room in Colon, centrally located to the pool, mini club, beach, and both restaurants. The room itself was nothing spectacular, but we didn't go to Club Med to hang out inside. Everything was clean, the shower was wonderful, and our room was stocked with several large bottles of water each day. No complaints.

A highlight was the trapeze. The trapeze team were all encouraging, fun, and offered fantastic instruction. Classes are offered daily at times broken down by age so you are able to progress and learn new tricks throughout the week. The trapeze show at the end of the week was a lot of fun, as well. My kids were especially sad to leave Emily and Travis!

Other favorite activities included kayaking, snorkeling, Bocce ball, archery, lounging by the pool and, tennis. Fresh fruit was brought around to those at the pool every afternoon, which was a nice treat. The kids loved the granitas (smoothies) and virgin mojitos, while I was partial to the Dominican Mama. We never had any trouble getting service at the bar or a table at meal times, even though the resort was booked to capacity.

While our kids chose not to spend much time in the Kids Club or Passworld they had a wonderful time when they were there. The team does a fantastic job of keeping the kids engaged and active, and it's a great way to make friends. Between the schedule, activity choices, creativity and positive energy, it's really an impressive program! Club Med is set up perfectly to provide parents with some time alone, but it is also a safe place for kids to wander unsupervised. Ours were able to come and go as they pleased, even the five-year-old with his older sisters and cousins. We never worried about their whereabouts because we had a set spot at the pool, and a basic schedule for trapeze, meals and nighttime shows.

The food varied, with some of it just average and some really wonderful. Crepes were a favorite of the kids, and the adults couldn't get enough of the made-to-order chopped salad at Samana. It's easy to eat healthfully or to just go crazy, and we did a little of both. The staff at the restaurants were pleasant and helpful, taking used plates away quickly with a smile.

The roving photographers are a nice touch. We purchased the "unlimited" DVD with 491 photos of our trip. The cost seems expensive at first, but for the price we ended up with some great pictures, especially ones that were a surprise to me. It was a lot of fun checking the computers in the photo center each morning, only to find great shots of my kids and family that I didn't know were taken.

We loved that French, Spanish and English were all spoken, and it was fun to practice a little French and Spanish on the trip. The weather couldn't have been more perfect for the New Year week (mid 80's every day), but I hear that it can be oppressively hot in the summer.

I would absolutely return to this resort and I recommend it to anyone considering a family vacation. It's the perfect place for a large group of family and/or friends! We will be back as soon as we can make it happen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratton Mountain, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent a week at club med with a group of 15. The age range was from 13 to 78. Our father was on a walker and the staff at Club Med went out of their way to make sure he had easy access to things and to see to his needs. In particular Sun Abdel made sure that our group had a table near the buffet every meal of every day. He had a card reserving the large table and always made sure we were well taken care of. Laura, in guest services, looked out for my father even on her day off! We were at a cocktail party and she got him a drink, brought him a chair to sit on and generally always kept an eye out to make sure he was having a good time. This kind of service is remarkable and noteworthy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jguggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Took 9 of us there in Sept 2012. Made a repeat performance in December 2013. The 2012 trip was so successful, I didn't think everyone would have the same experience the second time around. They did. In fact the kids did even more this year and made lots of friends. In 2012, there were only 300 guests. This year there were 1300, many of them kids. The additional crowd wasn't a problem. The resort can handle 1800. We never had to wait for a table or a beach chair. The weather was very good except for one rainy afternoon. My family is already putting pressure on me to book another trip there for this year. I'm seriously considering it. My only complaint with Club Med is that I find there loyalty program requirements too pricey to attain. Even though I've paid for 18 persons the past 2 years, it only counts for 4 because we live in different households.

Room Tip: The farthest rooms away are still only a 5 minute walk to the restaurant or pool. One spends so lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10032016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.7 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
0.6 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
6.0 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#12 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
ApartHotel Lirio Cala
#100 of 110 in Punta Cana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fishing Lodge Cap Cana
Fishing Lodge Cap Cana
#86 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
8.0 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#9 of 110 in Punta Cana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Punta Cana

Property: Club Med Punta Cana
Address: Apartado Postal | 106 Higuey Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Dominican Republic in this all-inclusive family resort, designed over a long white-sand beach, considered to be the finest in the world. Travel to Club Med Punta Cana with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this resort which flourishes beside a lagoon surrounded by magnificent grove of coconut palms. Fun moments filled with memories await your kids at Club Med world-famous children's clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers from morning to evening, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. This newly redesigned resort has something for everyone, with amenities such as: Baby Club Med™*, a new Spa* with private pool access, exclusive private Oceanfront Family Suites, new dedicated programs for Mini Club Med™ including Le Petit Tennis(R), circus school and Baby Gym(R), Passworld for teens, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Club Med
Club Med Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing