We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Punta Cana
Ranked #45 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great trip”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. Vinitia the nurse made an extra special effort to connect with our family, since both my father-in-law and I had minor injuries that needed tending. My 6 year old noticed that all of the mini-club staff knew him by name. Pretty cool! Sea kayaking was especially fun.

Room Tip: Cortes is a lovely building!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RIR41707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,240
    2,517
    922
    388
    190
See reviews for
5,045
1,389
336
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riberac, France
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

If you are already a Club Med'der, read no further. If you are undecided which club to choose, read on if you wish.
Punta Cana, I am told, is the biggest Club Med, and you feel it.
The pro's:
1. It is first and foremost a family club, so there are a lot of children. I went alone during school term and there were 250 children, mostly tinies. The club is superbly equipped for kids of all age.
2. There is an enormous choice of activities every day, from dawn until dusk.
3. The sports facilities are good and can cope with numbers.
4. Two restaurants and a beach snack bar spreads the crowd. The food is pretty good, especially for the size of the place. I think at capacity they would probably feel like a factory canteen.
5. A decent but fairly small and limited spa. Very good massages and divine when taken in the beach huts to the sound of the sea.
6. Accommodation is spread out so you are not all packed on top of each other.
The con's:
1. It's huge, covers something like 56 hectares and you can lose the will to live if you have to go back to your room more than once a day. If you are elderly or have walking difficulties you will have to insist on being near the reception building and therefore the noise.
2. There were only 1300 of us in my week, replaced by capacity at almost 1900 the following week. That's a lot of people if you don't go as a family with kids.
3. If you like line dancing you'll love 'crazy signs'. This is a meeting of respectable people with fun in mind, who learn a dance all week and every evening dance in lines with many others, who ordinarily would never do this. A curious form of controlled hysteria, that seems to appeal greatly to Club Med'ders. You are not obliged to join in and the spectacle itself is quite entertaining.
4. The accommodation of this particular club is lacking. I paid extra to be in a sea view Deluxe room and although I could see the sea; a small triangle at least, the overriding view was of the roofs of the privileged 5 trident bungalows. The air conditioning didn't work, despite interventions of bemused technicians who banged pipes, so I spent a week sleeping in a heady 79 degrees (26 degrees C), which was a tad warm. My room flooded (thanks to the ever malfunctioning A/C) and after a couple of days I just put up with the sound of a freight train on rusty rails. I suspect many rooms are the same as the system needs a serious refurbishment. The quality of the rooms is 3 star and the extra cost of a sitting room is just not worth it. It is small, dingy, badly and uncomfortably furnished. The TV's are a nonsense and should be removed. Few people need a TV and there are two in the Deluxe, neither of which picks up a signal for an English speaking channel. If you speak Spanish, you may be able to tolerate the multi-coloured snow on the innumerable Spanish channels. The wardrobe doors were so warped they neither shut nor opened, same for the WC door and the bedding is almost transparent with use.
Apart from the accommodation it's a good club, particularly for kids, but maybe not so much for couples or singles. I met several other singles and couples during my stay and they were all of the same opinion. If peace and relaxation is what you are after, as I was, this is not the club for you. There is a bit of quiet to be had around the spa but unfortunately there were building works with heavy plant on the plot right next to it. The staff are very friendly and I get the impression are under pressure to be super-smiley all the time, which starts to feel a bit Stepford Wives after a while.
My next Club Med will be chosen more carefully.

Room Tip: Don't spend the extra on a Deluxe. Go for 5 Trident or bog standard. Choose between walking mile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mittxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and two children had an amazing stay at the all inclusive Club Med in Punta Cana last July 2013. My two teens are 4 years apart but the teen club was split by age groups so they each had their own group and a wonderful experience meeting new friends and a full day and night of activities. That allowed the two of us to do whatever we wanted to, the food is international and everything is professionally prepared and delicious, along with standby's like hamburgers, chicken fingers and fries. Again there is something for everyone. this was by far the first true vacation for all of us. They had a great time and so did we.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed at this resort for work - was extremely impressed! Jaw dropping scenery, amazing fruit at breakfast, very helpful staff, great scuba diving... definitely somewhere I'd go again if the Dominican Republic can get their political climate in order.

The only "wish I'd have known" was that there is only one restaurant with air conditioning, and the theatre is open air - plan wardrobe accordingly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have been to Club Meds before and we have been to all inclusive resorts before.Club Meds are great for the food, the sports, the international GOs, really having the whole package included (other than excursions that they do push pretty hard to sell you. We just ignored them). The place is great for a family vacation where the parents can also have some time to their selves!

If you read the reviews here, most of them can give you a list of the good and the bad (the rooms are a little in need of renovation but you don't spend a lot of time in your room), but what I really wanted to write about is the Petit Club (for ages 2-3). These guys were amazing, really. We were a little worried before we arrived and I couldn't find many reviews about it.

We dropped off our daughter at 8:45 in the morning and picked her up around 3:00 (half day option). There is also a full day option. The first couple of days she was crying a bit when we dropped her off (the GOs were great about calming her down and taking her off), but then she was actually excited to go back every morning. This is not your typical babysitting option. These guys have a full day planned for them, including pool, beach, trampoline, cooking, body painting and what not. they eat lunch with them and put them to nap. They even put up a show for the parents one afternoon.
Our daughter was especially fond of Harry and Lauranne, to whom we all owe a special thanks. Our vacation would not have been the same without you, Lauranne. We really appreciate all your help!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnatOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was my second time in CM Punta Cana and this time was even beter than the first time. Being a frequent club med customer, I thought that the team of go's was welcoming and we'll organized considering many of them had just gotten there.
The room was clean and comfortable, but paying extra for the Oceanside doesn't necessarily give you an ocean's view. Only means your are not on garden side (unless you are living in the 5 tridents area). It was the same in cancun, but if you are in cleb med Columbus, it is well worth the extra.
The food was varied and good, be sure to taste the famous white chocolate bread! There are 2 restaurants, Hispaniola having the best view and themed dinners every night.
Everyone in our group went for a massage at the occitane spa and was absolutely pleased. The massage therapists were very good and the setting is great, the outdoor space comfortable and intimate with a small pool.
The trapeze team was the best! The staff was warm, gave great advice and was great fun. Considering there was a lot of advanced people that week, they even came in 1/2 hour early for us. That was much appreciated by everyone.
The on ly down side of this trip was upon arrival, the luggage took forever to get to the room, considering it was very calm at that moment with no other arrivals. The same happened for our friends the next day.
If you are a family with young children, take into consideration that this is a big club and that there are great distances to walk from one point to another.
Finally, a big thank you to Manny and all his trapeze team, Pascal at the bar and congrats to the chef and all his team.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-JoseeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I just spent a fantastic week here with my family and was particularly impressed with the staff who were consistently friendly and helpful.

The flying trapeze school was the highlight for me and I give a special shout out to the circus staff. These folks are not only amazing athletes, but also skilled teachers offering instruction and encouragement while always exhibiting patience and enthusiasm.

The selection of activities was great and I tried the windsurfing, kayaking, archery, and even dance lessons. Far more to choose from than there was time to do it! Food was very good with lots of variety and nice restaurants. The resort property is well-maintained and situated on a beautiful beach with lots of palm trees. The little bit of snorkeling that I did was right off the beach but unremarkable in terms of fish and corals.

Highly recommended - I'm ready to go back already!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jccartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
2.3 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
3.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#41 of 111 in Punta Cana
4,618 reviews
8.0 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#37 of 111 in Punta Cana
365 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Punta Cana

Property: Club Med Punta Cana
Address: Apartado Postal | 106 Higuey Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Dominican Republic in this all-inclusive family resort, designed over a long white-sand beach, considered to be the finest in the world. Travel to Club Med Punta Cana with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this resort which flourishes beside a lagoon surrounded by magnificent grove of coconut palms. Fun moments filled with memories await your kids at Club Med world-famous children's clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers from morning to evening, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. This newly redesigned resort has something for everyone, with amenities such as: Baby Club Med™*, a new Spa* with private pool access, exclusive private Oceanfront Family Suites, new dedicated programs for Mini Club Med™ including Le Petit Tennis(R), circus school and Baby Gym(R), Passworld for teens, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med and BookIt.com so you can book your Club Med Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Club Med
Club Med Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing