We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, why did I have to leave!?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Punta Cana
Ranked #43 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

First let me say Cristal, Julie, Tim and Eddie took great care of me and Jill. They are special people. They made me feel special on my birthday.
About the food, shellfish is sorely lacking.
Lobster cruise was not a good value, and the lobster was just ok.
The vodka was not to my liking and why fresh juices at breakfast but not at the bar?
Lots more families than I expected. Very few couples without families but that was okay.
Bottom line I loved it and want to live there if only I didn't have bills To pay and was 30 years younger!
Your staff rocks!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiser0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,592 - 1,598 of 9,026 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

I'd like to first and foremost thank the WHOLE staff at Club Med Punta Cana - they truly made our stay the best that it could possibly be...and, a special thanks to Abdel (The Chief of the resort) and Zacharia (the manager of the 5 Star Resort)...you have created a great atmosphere for all families and individuals...

If you have kids and are looking for the right getaway...look no further - Club Med offers amazing day care. And, by day care, I mean a place where the GO's truly take care of your kids - ie. changing diapers, feeding, playing, etc. We used the petite club for half days so that my Wife and I were able to have some alone time, work out with the activities staff (yoga, water aerobics, beach volleyball, etc).

We decided to upgrade to the 5 star trident suite - I really recommend this to everyone, as it's well worth the extra money...but, if you can't afford it, the regular rooms are all very good...

If you're a "foodie", this place might not be for you...although the food is great, it doesn't offer a tremendous amount of different restaurants that you can choose from daily...when we were there, both restaurants weren't always open.

The Spa was good - but, not great...

the Club Med beach is probably the best on the island...

Honestly, there's so much to do from the second you wake up to the second you lay your head to sleep.

We will definitely be coming back - maybe even once a year for a quick getaway.

Room Tip: If you have the money, do the 5 star trident. If you don't upgrade to the ocean view...and also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the resort from Aug 23rd-Aug30th. Our original room was the furthest room from the center of the resort. Most of the staff bent over backwards to be extremely accommodating (they gave us options on room changes, moved our luggage over, and had the room AC running, when we moved over).
The food was ok. It was more like a B list buffet in Vegas than anything else. The breads (obviously made from scratch) were the highlights.
Though I have to agree with other reviewers, The resort is really more for families with children. When we went, the vast majority of the guests were French and most staff spoke French to them (my high school French was a bit rusty :D). But most staff spoke English so it was still a good fit (must be hard to accommodate guests from so many different locations at the same time). We have no children, so a mob of screaming (literally screaming children) parading back and forth through the compound was a negative.
The rooms are spartanly furnished. But given the weather (hot, humid, and raining fairly often) it is understandable. The room was clean. Though I do wish the Air conditioning would go down a little bit more (felt like the AC output was lowered during the night).

Room Tip: Try to get a room as close to the center as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Realrammstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were here in July, and had a great time. First, let me say that yes, this an older resort. The room we had in Columbus, seemed to have been redone recently, but was not the Ritz. The food was better than expected, it's a buffet. Some people don't like that, you need to know going in. The staff was very friendly, and there were plenty who spoke english. This is in IMHO like summer camp for families. My son (13 at the time) had a place to go hang out with kids his age, and we could lay on the beach, grab a drink, or whatever we fancied that day. We did go zip lining and horseback riding, which were great.

Bottom line, if you want the 5 star resort, go to one. If you want something not so stuffy, and very laid back, it's the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Rooms were terrible, and we saw many rooms of our class (4 stars) and all of them were the same. We were big family, so took 5 rooms and in each were problems, one of us even changed the room 3 times and it still didn't help. In each room there was smell of mold, the wall of the air conditioner fluided and in some rooms entered water after rain. But the programs were very good especially if you love sport, food was very good so if you ignore the rooms, overall all of the family had really fun!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilana1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

You will be walking a lot but the rooms are big, updated and very nice. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The pool is big and folks do save chairs in the shade with towels starting very early in the morning which is annoying. The pool is clean, the staff has pool games so even laying around the pool can be entertaining. You can do as much as you want or as little. The food is good and lots of choices. Make sure to try the different restaurants. My favorite was by the water for the breezes while you eat. If you are looking for night life, yes every night there was entertainment and dancing. It was pretty windy out. The sunset cruise (extra) is a booze cruise with loud music where we had to wade to get in the boat. So you may want to skip it for something nicer. Try the spa, that is heaven. The massages are to die for and reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lreid46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Me wife and a 2.5 child spend a week in September, the place was heavy under construction where main restaurant was closed and other common areas under repair, no one mention that when we did reservation. We had to change room twice, first day bc the room we got was musty and full of black mold, on the 2 nd day again bc AC was not cooling. Food is very average and mostly recycle, what was left from previous meal come back on the next meal with different style. Petit club was the best part, but come with $90.00 per day extra, time 6 equal to $560 extra for the week. If you don't speak French its hard to get around and seem like they care less for the non French guests. For me last time club med.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Benny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
2.3 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
6 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#15 of 112 in Punta Cana
437 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
9.9 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Punta Cana

Address: Apartado Postal | 106 Higuey Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $296 - $1,153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Dominican Republic in this all-inclusive family resort, designed over a long white-sand beach, considered to be the finest in the world. Travel to Club Med Punta Cana with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this resort which flourishes beside a lagoon surrounded by magnificent grove of coconut palms. Fun moments filled with memories await your kids at Club Med world-famous children's clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers from morning to evening, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. This newly redesigned resort has something for everyone, with amenities such as: Baby Club Med™*, a new Spa* with private pool access, exclusive private Oceanfront Family Suites, new dedicated programs for Mini Club Med™ including Le Petit Tennis(R), circus school and Baby Gym(R), Passworld for teens, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med and BookIt.com so you can book your Club Med Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Club Med
Club Med Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing