We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly high, some lows” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Med Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Punta Cana
Ranked #41 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mostly high, some lows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Beautiful setting on the ocean with a reef between the resort and the ocean. I say this because the CM website is not clear that you are ON the ocean. They talk about a lagoon but they don't say it is ocean front. We went to the CM in FL, it was on a river with jellyfish, so I wasn't sure about Punta Cana, but it was the real deal, direct oceanfront. CM has to get this right on their website.

Rooms are simple, you're not supposed to be in your room, you only sleep and bathe there. The bed made my back hurt, it was too firm. Our room was a long walk from pool/beach etc. I am not lazy about walking, but I did get a blister early in the vacation from all the walking. Therefore, I did not spend money at the spa, too bad for CM.

There is no coin-op laundry, I have never been to an oceanfront all-inclusive that did not have a coin-op laundry. We hand washed because I refuse to pay resort prices for laundry services.

Sunscreen - bring more than you think you need. If you have to buy it at the resort, it costs between $23 and $50/bottle. Sun is intense.

Tennis - we played a lot of tennis. Was better than we expected, but not as good as FL. The lessons can be more like drills, a little light on actual instruction depending on who is teaching. Some of the courts need work. Tournaments are good.

Kayaking - Bring water shoes if you want to go kayaking. I stepped on a sea urchin on the dead coral reef. The infirmary was quite busy.

Food - 98% great. The sushi, lobster, and BBQ pork was AWFUL, most everything else was great.

The teen club was disappointing compared to the one in Sandpiper Bay.

For all that you pay, I think you should not have to pay extra for the internet, which doesn't work that well anyway.

Transportation from airport to hotel and back was pretty much flawless. They said it was 5 minutes to the airport, it was more like 6 minutes, but who's counting.

The people that worked there were very nice. Everyone tried very hard to communicate in our language.

Don't bother with the short snorkeling trip, it is an expensive 3 minute boat ride out to a partially dead coral reef.

Think that's it, enjoy your trip, you can't go wrong at CM Punta Cana.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank large_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear large_red,
Thank you for sharing about your stay at our Club Med Punta Cana resort. We're so glad you had a wonderful time enjoying all our resort has to offer such as kayaking, tennis, and dining options. We're also extremely thankful for your feedback as we are always thinking of ways to improve and love any suggestions our guests may have. Thank you again for posting a review, and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,994
    2,355
    869
    374
    172
See reviews for
4,764
1,273
318
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Returned from our second trip to Club Med Punta Cana over March Break. We had a great time and having been to the resort before it was nice knowing what to expect.

The pool chairs get booked up early, so if you like having some shade you've got to snag your pool chairs before 8 a.m. Beach chairs are plentiful because there's very little shade on the beach. The main part of the beach is very busy so if you want a quieter setting, you may prefer the beach closer to the water sports (though the swimming isn't as nice). There's also a beautiful public beach with some nice shady spots, comfy loungers and a restaurant on the other side of the Tiara rooms.

My kids didn't participate in the kid's club but I did notice that for the individual activities (trapeze, archery, etc.) there's a lot of waiting around for your turn and very little hands on time. I'd say more than half the kids went to the kid's club but there was always someone to play water polo with in the pool. The kid's club is closed on Saturdays so everything was noticeably more crowded that day.

The weather was great most of the week but the nights were a bit cool so it may be wise to bring a pashmina or light sweater for the nights. It did rain one morning and though I saw the resort did spray for mosquitos on most days we did get several bites on our last night.

The food was better than I remembered from last year. I really enjoyed eating the grouper, a cheese plate and the chocolate bread every day. The small plates were usually good, though the food did get tiring by the end of the week; they could use a wider selection of cooked veggies. Some meats and the lobster were terribly overcooked. The pool bar served excellent ice coffee and mojitos. The pool bar snacks could be better (white bread finger sandwiches or nachos).

Overall I'd recommend this resort for the manageable size, beach and food. The water pressure in the showers is terrible but the rooms were a good size and at the beds comfy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenfromtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear helenfromtoronto,
Thank you for posting a review about our Punta Cana resort. It makes us so glad to know you had another wonderful vacation and that you loved our beach and dining options. We're so sorry we did not exceed your expectations as this is not the norm for our resorts. We are currently assessing the concerns you've mentioned and are so grateful for your feedback. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The bad parts....

We just got back from Punta Cana today to open our suitcases to find a cockroach !
We did see several in and around our room and advised the front desk about the situation.
It is repulsive to be in a room and a hotel serving food with a serious cleanliness problem.
Our first day there we also had sugar ants in our room. We advised the reception and they cleaned the room. It was noticeably better but there were still ants.

The good parts....
Our daughter had the time of her life at mini club. The staff for the snoopies was the absolute best. They kept the kids super busy with lots of fun activities. The day it rained they were never bored. The show that they organized in a day for the kids to dance in was fantastic.

The food was good. Breakfast was by far the best meal and the staff at the restaurants were great. Lunch and dinner had lots of options. Lots of fresh fish, fruits and a great variety of cheeses. For adults, the fitness classes were great with lots of variety. Tennis was good and there were options for all levels of play.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Hmb69,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our Club Med Punta Cana resort. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found our Mini Club, activities, staff and dining options to be great. We apologize sorry for the concern you've stated as this is not the norm for Club Med. Please know we are currently addressing the situation and thank you for reaching out to us.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Teens Club is fabulous and a great way to keep the kids active and making friends. The food was very good and lots of variety. bartenders were good and patient with other languages. All GO's very friendly and helpfull. This club med is one of the best woth the mini club and teen. Shows every night were intresting for both adults and kids. Snorkeling and trapeze both very fun activities. Overall , perfect family vacation destination.

Room Tip: Cortez is a well placed buildng.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Hazel B,
Thank you for posting a review about our Punta Cana resort. We love when our guests have a fabulous vacation and we're so glad our Teen Club, dining options and staff exceeded your every expectation. We're especially happy you enjoyed all the resorts we have to offer like the trapeze and snorkeling. We hope you visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent Easter vacation there with family. We had great fun, the food was good and the activities great, but the rooms are in need of a renovation! We went to Club Med in Florida and really loved it and therefore took this trip, but although Punta Cana is a larger facility with better water sports offering, the Florida Club Med is much better in rooms, organization and food.
Our room looked 20+ years old and we had even booked the deluxe category to be on the safe side.
The Hispaniola restaurant does also need urgent work and we almost always ate at the Samana option.
The Mini Club was a great option for the children, but as some other reviewer stated, we never quite knew what was going on and for example missed to have our kids in the show. But people were very nice although we had hoped for more Spanish speaking staff.
One very annoying fact was the difficulty of getting any space at the pool. People put towels very early in the mornings and never left and the staff never really controlled this.
If Club Med renovates the facility, this could be one of their best spots.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Johanna P,
Thank you for sharing about your experience at our Punta Cana resort. We're so glad you had a wonderful time and enjoyed all our resort has to offer such as the activities and dining options. However, we apologize for the concerns you have mentioned. We are always looking for ways to improve and truly appreciate your insights. Thank you again for posting a review, and we hope you give Club Med another chance in the future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was our second trip to this resort. We are a family of 4 with a 5 year old and a 7 y.o. and we stayed the week before Easter. The nationality mix was about evenly mixed between Americans and French during this time with a smattering of South Americans.
Our first time at this Club Med was during the Christmas/New Year holiday of 2010-2011 and I did not write a review because I felt most of the reviews here were right on at the time. That first time two yrs ago, we had a blast and it was mostly because of the amazing energy from the then Chef de Village, Abdel, which then trickled down to the GO's. The kids club was also managed with a lot of fun and spirit. I know that the chef de village changes every year and the GOs more often than that but I fully expected same level of Club Med "Ooomph." It was not there this time at the level of management and GO. Also, last time we got a basic "Club family room" which was in perfect working order for the 9 days we were there but this time I opted for the bigger deluxe family room in the Ovando bldg. The toilet started leaking in there one day so that dirty water flooded the floor (they later caulked it), the thermostat in the kids room did not work so we couldn't raise the A/C temp (never fixed). The phone in the room was all staticky so I couldn't call down to the front desk and resorted to waving down any housekeeper that happened to be in my wing to let them know about the issues. There seemed to be less GO's in general compared to over the winter holidays of two yrs ago. Most of our interactions with staff were with the waitstaff in the restaurants and the housekeepers in which case not knowing more than a handful of Spanish words was a real impediment. HOWEVER, and this is the clincher, we STILL managed to have a good time during our weeklong stay because we did not dwell on these subjects and you will too if you can overlook such inconveniences.
Because the basic advantage of this resort is not a luxury stay but a sense of community from becoming friends with other guests whom you get to know over the course of you stay, by participating in at least one or two group activities during your stay (I liked water aerobics and crazy signs), and having your kids participate in the Mini Club, which then gives you the luxury of spending quality time with your partner. This brings me to the subject of the Mini Club, which in my estimation is the crown jewel of this place. Although it did not seem to have the same energy and spirit of two years ago, when there was a different manager, it was still staffed by warm and caring GO's, and my kids got to do so many fun activities that they wouldn't have done if they had stayed with us like kayaking, archery (which start at age 6), having lunch with new friends, playing silly games. Both my kids met new best friends that they will keep in touch with. And knowing that made the time my husband and I spent relaxing under the palm trees on the beach that much more sweet.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlygirl2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Girlygirl2222,
Thank you for posting a review about our Punta Cana resort. We're so glad to hear you had an amazing vacation, and that you enjoyed all our resort has to offer like the Kids Club and activities. We apologize for not exceeding your expectations as this is not the norm for Club Med, and we will be addressing the concerns you stated immediately. We truly appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve. Thank you again for reaching out to us, and we hope give Club Med another chance in the future.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Club med was absolutely spectacular. First of all loved how the hotel was prepayed so I wouldn't have to pay each time I wanted to have a drink. Second, I loved the swimming pool, white and red sanded beaches and all the feautures within the resort.

Many activities to keep you busy during the day. Zumba, aqua aerobics, beach volleyball and even a big trapeze that you could swing on!

The food was excellent too! It was all Buffy so people could pick what they wanted to eat.

Although it was a great trip, the sleeping quality lacked a little. They had extremely loud party music that I could here from my room at 11:00 at night.

Also the people I was staying with told me that some of the chants that the kids clubs were saying were mean and not appropriate for there age group to be saying. Not very responsible of the club leaders.

Overall, it was a great trip and is good for families

Room Tip: Pick a room that is close to ammenties like the gym, pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear James C,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our Club Med Punta Cana resort. It makes us so glad to know you had a terrific time and that you found our facilities, pool, dining options and beaches to be fantastic. We also appreciate your feedback, and please know we are currently assessing the concerns you have mentioned. We hope you visit again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
1.7 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
0.6 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
6.0 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#12 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
ApartHotel Lirio Cala
#100 of 110 in Punta Cana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fishing Lodge Cap Cana
Fishing Lodge Cap Cana
#86 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
8.0 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#11 of 110 in Punta Cana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Punta Cana

Property: Club Med Punta Cana
Address: Apartado Postal | 106 Higuey Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Dominican Republic in this all-inclusive family resort, designed over a long white-sand beach, considered to be the finest in the world. Travel to Club Med Punta Cana with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this resort which flourishes beside a lagoon surrounded by magnificent grove of coconut palms. Fun moments filled with memories await your kids at Club Med world-famous children's clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers from morning to evening, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. This newly redesigned resort has something for everyone, with amenities such as: Baby Club Med™*, a new Spa* with private pool access, exclusive private Oceanfront Family Suites, new dedicated programs for Mini Club Med™ including Le Petit Tennis(R), circus school and Baby Gym(R), Passworld for teens, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Club Med
Club Med Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing