We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another member of the huge 'significantly exceeded expectations' crowd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Punta Cana
Ranked #44 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another member of the huge 'significantly exceeded expectations' crowd”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I won't review everything that everybody else has said about this resort. Just know that while it's not 5-star and there may be a few hiccups (as there are at nearly any place where you're not paying $1,000/night), it's generally fantastic and you'll have a great time. A few quick notes/tips:

- Only go if you have kids, from babies to teens. The resort is VERY family-focused and really that's the whole value-add, being able to drop your kids off at their terrific camps for the day to allow some separation, having family-friendly events/shows at night including really fun ones that incorporate your kids (STRONGLY encourage them to participate). Note that shows begin later than expected - get used to having your kids stay up WELL past their usual bedtimes--many young kids still out at 11:00pm--and relax about it - it's vacation!

- Take advantage of the free activities - kayaking, sailing, tennis, archery, bocce, fitness classes on the beach, trapeze, volleyball, etc. That said, they have a terrific beach (I'm a beach snob but this one is quite nice) and a huge pool (get there early for seats though) so fun to just hang out.

- FANTASTIC and friendly staff, especially the Camp GOs. Just went above and beyond.

- Very nice grounds, upscale common areas (lobby, main bar, theater, restaurants), good beach bar, fine (though not opulent) clean rooms.

- DEFINITELY request in advance staying in a building close to lobby/pool area (and/or Hispaniola restaurant). Colon or Ovando buildings or someplace not any further from the main lobby than Santa Maria (which is where we stayed). Here's a link to the new resort map...http://puntacanamom.blogspot.com/2009/03/club-med-punta-cana-map-and-new.html. Recommend ground level floor for easy access.

- Self-serve buffet restaurants with surprisingly good and varied food (credit the French influence here). All-you-can-consume self-serve bottles of wine and draft beer = good times!

- Initially skeptical about the all-inclusive aspect but it was great not having to walk around with your wallet, tipping everybody, being able to try all sorts of different foods/drinks, etc.

- Very relaxed on the 'rules' (e.g. wander around the premises with bottles of wine in hand). Very laissez-faire attitude permeates the place.

- Approx half of the visitors are french (could be more during French holiday weeks). That was not an issue for us--indeed as others have noted, it could be quite nice for kids to be exposed to other cultures--and plenty of English-speakers, both visitors and staff. Made friends with other kids' parents. BTW shows were mostly in English but regardless they aren't very 'oral' to begin with - more about dances/acrobatics/etc (translations show on screens when necessary).

- WiFi not everywhere--lobby/restaurants/a few buildings--and fast enough when connected. We actually did get it in our rooms. Cost a bit extra and annoying that only one person could be logged on at once (though could always buy more than one pass). Cell service was generally crappy though AT&T texts did go through.

- If you prefer pool to beach, lounge chairs go fast in the morning and can be a hassle to procure later (though we ended up with chairs every day, one time by carrying them from the beach). Can lay down towels early pre-breakfast. Plenty of space available on the beach. Beach is less crowded on other side of beach bar (near kayaks/boats).

- Really no need to leave the premises. Extra trips - scuba, dolphin watching, etc - can be pricey. Snorkeling only $36/person for a decent hour. Worth it to get out on the boat, relax on sand bar. They provide coke/juice - bring a thermos and load it with some rum/beer (no bottles/cans on premises except for wine or rum purchased in store).

Would HIGHLY recommend for families. Overall a great value for a great vacation. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cofernuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear cofernuss,
Thank you for sharing about your experience at our Punta Cana resort. It makes us so happy to know you had an awesome experience and that our staff, facilities, dining options and activities exceeded your expectations. We're also so glad you'd recommend our resort to other families! Thanks again for posting a review, and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,346
    2,566
    939
    394
    201
See reviews for
5,163
1,426
341
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhasset, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Club Med culture is different from any other resort. Club Med injects everything with a dash of energy, enthusiasm, happiness, and a joie de vivre! The international backgrounds of the GOs (who are the extensive social staff and organizers) adds a feeling of unity in the world. There are many guests from France and Montreal that enjoy this resort as well. Club Med brings out the best in you. This is my 8th Club Med, but my first in 20 years. This is my first Club Med with a family, including 3 sons, ages 12, 14, 16. The location in Punta Cana is ideal, with a beach on a cove protected by a coral reef, so the water is calm and clear. My family is very active and so we enjoyed windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, tennis, trapeze, aqua-gym, yoga, Zumba, archery and so much more. My boys also participated in the teen club activities all day and were the show one night and made friends from around the world. We loved the food and the buffet style - no sitting around reading menus, waiting for your order to be taken and served - just choose from among the scores of amazing choices and enjoy. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dannapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Dannapolis,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our Club Med Punta Cana resort. We're thrilled to hear you had a fabulous vacation and that you found our staff, dining options and Teen Club to be terrific. We're also glad you enjoyed so many of the activities we have to offer like the trapeze, windsurfing, sailing and yoga. Thank you again for sharing, and we can't wait for your next visit!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and 7 year old daughter vacationed at Punta Cana from 14 -18 February. This was our 2nd Club Med resort, as we visited Ixtapa previously. This resort is much larger than Ixtapa and the rooms were smaller by comparison. There was some dark spots around the air conditioning vents, but otherwise I would say the rooms were adequate. My 7 year old did not want to participate in the Mini Club, but there seemed to be tons of kids from various nationalities who did take advantage. Our air conditioning malfunctioned on the last night and once we reported it to maintenance, it was fixed within 2 hours. The food was uninspiring and there are two choices of buffet-style restaurants that should satisfy both adults and children. It was not unusual for us to find a GO that did not speak English. While this did not bother us - we used broken Spanish and French to communicate - it could be problematic for others. The resort was near capacity and had a true international feel, but mostly French visitors. We enjoyed the beautiful beach and took in some snorkeling and kayaking. Since we were not overly impressed with this resort, we will most likely not return since our expectations of this type of resort for the money exceed what we received.

Room Tip: I would forgo an ocean view and prefer a larger room with a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJlovethebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear MJlovethebeach,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our Punta Cana resort. We apologize for not surpassing your expectations as we assure you this is not the norm for Club Med. We are currently addressing the concerns you have mentioned and truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you again for posting a review.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

4th trip to this property. Great location on a private windy stretch of beach 5 min from Punta Cana airport. As with all Club Meds, it is what you make of it. We are sports people: up early; tennis, snorkeling, sailing, windsurfing, kayaking, archery, basketball, more tennis, one drink then bed. The tennis set up is great. Ramon, David and Eddy do a fantastic job teaching, setting up daily tournaments, and keeping everyone (from beginners to advanced) involved. 14 courts. Sailing team also excellent. The constant wind makes sailing and windsurfing great fun. It is interesting to note that even when completely full (1700 guests) sports activities are available without much hassle as many people just lounge by the pool and beach all day with a cocktail while their kids are entertained in the Kids Clubs. The food is fantastic. You will not lose weight. Rooms average. Staff are enthusiastic and helpful.
Tips: get your own transport from airport ($20US each way for a taxi); avoid rooms close to the bar if you want to get to sleep early as music can be loud at night.
What could be better: room types need to be clarified--there is confusion as to what is a deluxe sea view, deluxe family, etc. and it is virtually impossible to call the hotel directly prior to arriving to get it sorted out--nobody ever answers the phone; smoking should be limited to designated areas and the policy enforced--there are still people smoking in the restaurants, etc. The practice of putting a towel on a chair at the pool or beach at 6am and claiming it as your own for the day should be banned. There are never any chairs available even though 90% are not occupied.
Overall a great family resort.

Room Tip: stay away from the bar area if you want to sleep before midnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRealDrChaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear TheRealDrChaos,
Thank you for reviewing our Punta Cana resort. It makes us so happy to hear you had a fantastic time enjoying all the activities we have to offer like sailing, kayaking, archery and windsurfing. We're also so thankful for your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate any suggestions our guests may have. We hope you return for another vacation in the near future!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our 1st time to Club Med Punta Cana. Much of this review is based on the fact that we stayed in the Tiara Suites, which provided outstanding services to their guests. Vincent, the manager there, was very nice and went out of his way to ensure all guests were happy and had everything needed. I would HIGHLY recommend paying up if you can, and stay in the Tiara. Breakfast delivered daily to the room, private bar, infiniti pool, and the suites were so close to the water with amazing views of the sunrise directly over the ocean every morning. Our suite was very nice with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We have to mention our wonderful bartender at the Tiara bar, Arnauld, who makes you feel at home and made the best drinks! The entire resort was clean and pretty, and kid and family friendly. Our children enjoyed the Kids Clubs, which we were nervous about initially but after day one we were all happy with it. Overall, this was the best vacation we have taken as a family ever. I would highly recommend it, and we have traveled many places and found this to be the best for families with younger children (ours are 10 and 3). As for the negatives you may see in other people's reviews, I found most to be not true or not a big deal. Yes, the alcohol is weak and very low quality. Yes, there are many French guests but just as many Americans, which was a wonderful experience for my children. My son spent hours on the beach with a French boy, with the 2 of them not speaking a word of the other one's language. It was great to see them communicate with sand drawings and hand signals! We had no problems with the water provided by Club Med, and the food was very good. The comments about the birds was silly. It's an ocean front resort and birds fly around, and yes sometimes they get into the open air restaurants but there is really nothing anyone can do about that !
All of the staff were nice, and it was nice to have them join us in the restaurants. What a beautiful place, I hope to go back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Val S,
Thank you for posting a review about our Club Med Punta Cana resort. We're thrilled to hear you had an amazing first experience at our resort and that our staff, service, dining options and facilities surpassed your expectations. We're especially glad your children enjoyed our Kids Club and all the activities we have to offer. Thank you again for sharing about your stay, and we hope you come back soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

First when our family arrived one of our rooms were not ready and both of the rooms smelled horrible. The air conditioning did not work our entire stay, the phone in one of our rooms was not working and the lock to our door also broke at one point. There was bugs in our room. On one night of our stay there was music playing so loud the doors and windows were shaking my 3 kids my husband and i did not sleep at all because the music did not stop until after 2am and there was also fireworks around 1:30am. the food sucked, in both restaurants the floors are very slippery and both my husband and i slipped on seperate occasions. the petite club and baby club was not the greatest. my oldest son had a great time with his group, he is 13. By the time we left the resort my 2 babies (ages 14 months and 3 years) were both extremely sick with fevers and one of them now has a horrible rash and my kids rarely get sick. We will not be choosing this resort ever again but we will visit punta cana again because it was beautiful!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Tricia B,
Thank you for sharing about your experience at our Punta Cana resort. We're so sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations as this is not the norm for Club Med. Please know we are currently addressing the concerns you have mentioned and truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We've gone to Club Med Punta Cana two years in a row..never done that anywhere before. It was even better this year, well organized, better service in restaurants, cleaning better, food fantastic and generally better customer service. I suspect it has to do do with Eduardo and Gilles management, well done. The staff are fantistics especially Folka and Sameul in Mini Club, Yannick and sports team, Fitness instructors Lillian and Maryann, housekeeping Krisy?; bar staff; restaurant supervisors and the wait staff did a great job. We appreciated the entertainment staff and a big shout out to Chad and Texas Stacy! Great job..
Our daughter enjoyed Mini Club, we participated in all sports offered, room was great, weather amazing and food. Very few if any improvements could be mentioned; we'd go back again.

Room Tip: pay extra for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henney88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear henney88,
Thank you for posting a review about our Punta Cana resort. We're thrilled you had an outstanding second visit to our resort and that our staff, service and dining options exceeded your expectations. It also makes us so happy to hear you enjoyed our sports and Mini Club. Thank you again for sharing, and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
0.6 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
2.3 mi away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
3.4 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#21 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#39 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,798 reviews
8.0 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#32 of 112 in Punta Cana
386 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Punta Cana

Property: Club Med Punta Cana
Address: Apartado Postal | 106 Higuey Provincia La Altagracia, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 631
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Dominican Republic in this all-inclusive family resort, designed over a long white-sand beach, considered to be the finest in the world. Travel to Club Med Punta Cana with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation in this resort which flourishes beside a lagoon surrounded by magnificent grove of coconut palms. Fun moments filled with memories await your kids at Club Med world-famous children's clubs with dedicated activities and sports for children and teenagers from morning to evening, for each age group, and all coordinated by qualified and enthusiastic professionals. This newly redesigned resort has something for everyone, with amenities such as: Baby Club Med™*, a new Spa* with private pool access, exclusive private Oceanfront Family Suites, new dedicated programs for Mini Club Med™ including Le Petit Tennis(R), circus school and Baby Gym(R), Passworld for teens, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Club Med
Club Med Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing