We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service but rooms are getting a little tired looking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino
Ranked #36 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Posting a little late - trip was in January. The lobby is rather dark during the day, but does light up nicely at night. Rather large resort. Our room was in building 34, 2nd building in from the beach. Great location, close to pool and bars and food. I was very concerned about the stories I read about theft. I even questioned several of the employees about the incidents. They all seemed very concerned about those postings. We had no trouble and felt our things were safe.
The room was nice and large, with the bed being the focal point raised 2 steps up. My only problem was is you had to hit the bathroom at night, the 2 steps that were about 3 feet wide are hard to see at night, so care should be taken.
The ceiling in our bathroom was falling down. I mentioned it to the front desk, and by that evening, it was fixed. Just little things like that, that show its age. Room was spotless. Apple Vacation rep sent over a dessert tray, that I gave to my room maid. That evening, we came to a room filled with balloons and a bubble bath with flowers sprinkled all over. Very romantic and sweet of her. Little things like that impress me. Apple Vacations does throw a wonderful beach bbq with lobsters for their customers. Food and service were very good.
This is the first resort of 8 that we have tried in Punta Cana that I found a couple of mosquitos in the room. But I realized it is due to the nature area between the beach and the main lobby. Great breeding ground that should be sprayed.
We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you see where the room is before moving in. There are several buildings that are close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hardworkingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,590 - 3,596 of 10,990 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went with a large group from February 9-16. We also decided to have our wedding here. The resort is very nice and a great location. The rooms are pretty standard for the islands. On the downside there are no connecting rooms so large families that need two rooms can only be above or next to each other. We had a great location for the room near the pool, beach and food. Very convenient for a 4 year old! Thankfully despite the first night our childrens room was then moved below us the second day. Our older children were originally placed several buildings away despite the request or next to each other being placed at the time of booking. they do not seem to preassign their inventory for special requests.

The pool and bar staff were very attentive and interactive. Entertainment staff truly tried to get the guest engaged with the activities and were great. The concierge was wonderful and if it were not for Freddy we would have had so many additional problems. I understand it is a another country but the dining staff for some of the fine dine could be improved. The seafood, hibachi and steak placed were wonderful. The staff and service at the Asian, Chop, and Italian could be improved. There was little teamwork and you were often forgotten. The buffets were good and typical service and food. Maid service was friendly and very attentive. The housekeeper was friendly and interactive when my son spoke with her.

The wedding... From the beginning we had difficulties. We went through 3 people and a lot of changes on their offers. The story, options and prices seemed to always change. What we did not get in writing was an issue. What we had in writing but not contracted yet was then no longer available. We were told things could not be done but when we arrived and met in person it was different. Much of what was a no was suddenly okay when we met in person so we were optimistic. We met with the wedding person and then the photographer. The photographer packages were all wrong and the photographer when putting the hotel down for being "wrong a lot" agreed that we should fight for the photo pricing but it was not really his issue it was between us and the hotel. The price was double the pricing sheet. At my husband's insistence the hotel honored the price and locations listed. In the end the photographer did not take what was requested and we had a hard time picking 36 photos we liked. The coordinator did not do much and was not very involved. With all the changes and mix ups- they are just not ready to do weddings.

On the plus side most issues were fixed by a wonderful concierge! Freddy was wonderful and fixed any and all issues we had for the entire group. He fixed our room issue and everything we brought to his attention. He was the reason the trip was more enjoyable and what made me decide to give them a higher service rating.

Overall it was a nice property. I would go for a vacation again but I do not recommend them for weddings.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADFREED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We went to Bavaro Princess in January 2014. We had a great time and really loved this resort! This was our 4th time to Punta Cana and this has been the best resort we have stayed at! The service and friendliness of the staff was the best! Florentina was our Apple Rep and was the greatest Apple Rep we have ever had in the past 12 years of traveling to Mexico and Punta Cana. She was so helpful and caring! Johnathon and Eddy at the Reception area were great! They made us feel welcome and were there for any of our concerns. Wendy the beach food bar cook was the greatest and was so friendly and helpful to everyone! I really loved and miss Niorca who worked at filling the food bar (cocena).. I had never met anyone so happy to be there and keep everyone happy. Leonel one of the breakfast cooks was quite entertaining always making everyone laugh while waiting our special omelets! Wow, I cannot say enough about this place as everyone of the workers there made us feel special and they were glad we were there! I LOVE the beaches in Punta Cana as you can walk for miles up and down the beach, and even shopping with the vendors in their huts on the beach! Thank you Bavaro Princess for making this the best trip ever to Punta Cana!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank SusieQ49423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to this resort..When we arrive we did not get the room that we booked . It's took 1 night to resolved this issue ..Once we changed room we absolutely looked it .

The resort is beautiful and enjoyed the animals as well.

Nice beach pool etc.

The food was ok.

There was always a long lineup in the mornings to book ala carte restaurant which was very annoying.

Timeshare pressure sales tactics were annoying as well..constant harassment on the Beach to take pictures

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank ajaxmuchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is our third time at Bavaro Princess... it has always been our favourite destination. We just came back from a 2 week stay at the resort and found that some things have changed to the worse.
Front desk: since we have been there a few times, our room was upgraded to one with a whirlpool...the location of the room was great, not far from the beach. Very pleased with that.
Restaurants: food has gone downhill and certainly the selection is more limited now, but still acceptable. If food was excellent before, it is now okay. El Pescador restaurant has gone from being the best restaurant to the least favourite as the menu has drastically changed. Besides the lobster (which is now $25 pp), there is really not much to choose as all the other seafood dishes are very unappealing with a read sauce in every one of them. There is no grilled fish or mixed fried fish available and surprisingly, no shrimps on the menu. By the way, a-la-carte restaurants no longer require reservations to be booked ahead of time....it's on a first come first serve basis so be ready for long waits unless you went with Platinum. The buffets are very crowded during high season and, unfortunately understaffed and some tourists are rude and I can't even begin to tell you the things I've seen some people do at the buffet counter and for this reason I would like to suggest that the management install hand sanitizers at every restaurant. We only found ONE at the entrance of Hispaniola! We couldn't believe it given the number of people that go through the buffets every single day.
Salesmen: they're pushy, quite to the harassing point. We had to speak to a manager to get them to stop bothering us.
Entertainment: never was great and still hasn't changed; so we just have a drink or two and head back to our room around 9:30 or 10:00.
Other than that...bartenders are still great and always happy to serve you. The beach is still fabulous and the gardens are well kept. Be sure to ask a gardener for a coconut (coco)..he'll be happy to oblige (don't forget to tip him as these guys work very hard and don't get the tips as the rest of the staff in restaurants do)....add a little rum and some ice cubes to the coconut water and yummo!
We don't plan on returning to this resort but do have fond memories of our relaxing time spent there both as a couple and with our family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank savvytraveller_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This resort is like a huge garden, peaceful, clean, the room are very nice,services are very good.
I have been in the Dominican 7 times, and this place is the only one where I returned twice.

I am a safe traveller and i am not afraid of this country, it really evolved in the last 7 years.

Room Tip: Avoid the solicitors when coming out of the main cafeteria Hispanola, just ignore them. Also, be aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alain i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was our 3rd trip at the Bavaro Princess. We stayed in the Platinum section as we usually do. Staff and resort was amazing as always, Marga Rita, Freddy, Juan, Ramirez, Rodolpho, Sara, Ana Figuereo, Dulce, Belika, Carlo, Alexa, Jonathan, and many many more. The only downfall this year was the resort was at maximum capacity and some people at the buffet were very rude (not the staff, the travellers).

A suggestion is to open the 2nd section of the hispanola restaurant during busy breakfast, lunch and dinner hours, which would get ride of some of the turbulence. The other downfall is the salespeople for share buy-in, NO, means NO. After a few days they would leave us alone, however they are very persistent. We do plan on returning again as we do take time to really relax when we go.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
13.0 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
0.1 mi away
Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#26 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
0.5 mi away
Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: Av. Italia, Playas de Bavaro | La Altagracia, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#32 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#34 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: $176 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bavaro Princess, situated in the Dominican Republic in an area renowned for its incomparable beauty, the quality of the sand and the clarity of the water on the famous Bavaro Beach. Accommodation at this prestigious resort more than meets the expectations of the most demanding of customers.136 splendid Platinum Suites, 16 Honeymoon Spa Suites, 82 functional Junior Suites, or the 572 spacious and fully equipped Bungalow Suites, provide the ideal added value to enjoy an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaro Princess Punta Cana
Bavaro Princess Resort Punta Cana
Bavaro Princess Hotel Punta Cana
Hotel Bavaro Princess
Punta Cana Bavaro Princess Hotel Resort
Princess Bavaro
Bavaro Princess Dominican Republic
Bavaro Princess Hotel Dominican Republic
Bavaro Princess All Suites Resort Spa & Casino
Princess Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing