We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort but a few downfalls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradisus Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradisus Punta Cana
Ranked #22 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary
1 review
“Great Resort but a few downfalls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

Upon arriving to Punta Cana, we were told that our initial booking at the Barcelo Barvaro Palace was overbooked (everyone who was booked at the Barcelo on the Air Canada flight). Half of us were dropped off at the Paradisus Punta Cana. Our inital impression was not positive for the following reasons:
-It took almost 2 hours in line up to check in. Then we were told our room was going to be ready till 10pm (tough with a 4yr old and a 1yr old)
-Ate at the buffet while waiting for the room. Awful first impression as it is very small, not many choices compared to other all-inclusives we've been to. The cook grilled up some chicken. Upon biting into it, it was completely pink inside. Asked the waitress where the washroom, toilet, bathroom was. She only spoke Spanish and could not understand what I was asking for.

Day 2 to Day 7: Were much better. Pros and minor Cons:

Beach: Amazing beach with great beds and chairs. Compared to the other resorts nearby, this one had the best beach chairs/beds.
Pool: Great pool bar and pool along with the one at the Kids Zone

Rooms: Are room was definately the most impressive room we've ever stayed in. Completely modern with dual headed showers, impressive simulated type aquarium large wall mount, spacious with an amazing cabana bed outside (main floor room)

Ala Carte: There were 12 restaurants, 10 that we had access to for every supper without any reservations. The japanese was the exception as you had to go 45min earlier to put your name down and them come back for the dinner sittings. Great food at the majority of them.

Main Buffet: Not an impressive buffet, especially for a resort that size.
The Grill Buffet on the Beach: Pretty good spot to get lunch
Room Service: Awesome option for meals, especially for breakfast. Delivered to your room free and a wide spread of a hearty breakfast, fruit, juices, etc...

Entertainment: 5 out of 10. The shows didn't start till 10:15pm, which was a downfall with the kids. Many of the show were at the lobby bar. The 2 shows that were actually shows were the Circus and Michael Jackson one.

Resort: Very impressive Eco friendly resort with well maintained tropical grounds

Kids Zone: Great place for kids (they take kids from as young as 6months) Awesome pool for the kids

Overall, even with the minor downfalls of this resort, we would recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattdom1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,603
    2,479
    885
    445
    387
See reviews for
3,807
4,570
175
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,080)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

Visted Feb.10 to Feb.15.2010

Good points: Beach, weather and pools.

Bad points: food, rooms( regular section) deluxe with Jacuzi

Not a 5 star hotel but if you find a good deal under $1000.00 per person its worth it overall great time since weather was amazing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank True123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARADISUSPuntaCana1, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Paradisus Punta Cana Resort for your vacation, as well as for letting us know about your recent experience. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinion.

With reference to the hotel rooms, I have the pleasure to communicate you that there has started the new renovation and restorations works to avoid in the future similar problem.

On the other hand we took a good note of your observations and discussed the issues with corresponding Department Manager in order to take the appropriate measures and avoid situations, such as you described, in the future. It would be an honor to have you on a new stay and will be aware of the improvements to the quality of accommodations and services, thus having the opportunity to ensure your satisfaction and to improve yours impressions.

Best regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

Everything about this place was great, from the food to all the sun and pools. The service was great...everybody was very happy and helpful. I stayed in the reserve and that was great (I love the gabi club)...I would defonatley recomend this resort to anybody.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fort016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

I just came back from my 1 week stay in Paradisus Punta Cana with my wife, 6 month old baby, parents, siblings and in-laws. Having lived in DR most of my life until 10 years ago, I had never experienced such a bad customer service in a Punta Cana Hotel.
Similar to another poster, even though I had paid for my room 6 months ago, during check-in they informed me that they didn't have my room and that they would place me in their "Reserve" section for 2 nights then move me to a different room
We foolishly accepted and when the the time came to move to different room-- that's when the horrible customer service started:
They were requesting for us to go to lobby for check-out at 10am, drop our bags with bellboy and wait for new room around 3-5pm. Having a baby, this was an nuisance for us. After adamantly refusing to do so and speaking to multiple supervisors, they finally decided to do a room to room transfer.
But that's when all hell broke loose. Our room did not had an A/C, but a central cooling fan (temp never dropped below 72F). Mosquitoes ( which had a feast with our baby) and ants inside drawers. We complained multiple times, with no resolution of problem. they refused to move us to another room because they were overbooked. They sent a maintenance supervisor (who was very condescending) and did a fumigation service but-- nothing worked. After a while, they were just ignoring my complaints, so I decided to drop it.
Overall...STAY AWAY!!!! Much cheaper and better hotels in area ( Barcelo Palace). Also,many concierges harassing you into look into a time share offer in a very deceptive way. Only positive thing about hotel -- Some of the restaurants but believe me, this was a horrible vacation experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cguzman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

We didn"t actually stay here. We had confirmed reservations but, after 9 hours of travel with 2 young children, we were told the hotel was full and that we wouldn't have our three reserved and paid for rooms until the next day. We were offered an upgrade to the Reserve for one night after which we would have to move. With 2 young kids we told them there was no way we were going to accept a room for one night and then move. After about an hour they started to realize that we weren't going to be bullied into accepting this situation. So they decided to move us to the Paradisus Palma Real. We lost our entire first day because of this. Oh, and they made us sign a waiver not to sure the hotel. Funny that they actually had such a form available. Judging from what we saw going on in the lobby around us, we were not the only guests faced with this issue. We were told by other that we met on the trip that this happens all the time in the Dominican Republic. We also saw reviews on Trip Advisor complaining about this but chose to ignore the advice. DON'T IGNORE THE ADVICE. OR AT LEAST BOOK WITH SOMEONE YOU CAN GO AFTER WHEN YOU RETURN.
We won't be going back to the DR ever again. In all our travels we have never experienced anything like this and we don't intend to give them a second chance.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BENMARTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARADISUSPuntaCana1, General Manager at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Dear guest,
In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our services and facilities, we put our greatest interest and value in our guests' opinion.
We regret very much that we have not impressed with some of our services and I apologize for the situation presented by the overbooking of rooms and ask your understanding; overbooking is not a common policy in our hotel, notwithstanding these situations occur in all hotels around the world.
We are seriously committed to the achievement of our guests satisfaction, for this reason as a way to increase the comfort for you and your family were referred and Upgrade with your same rate to Paradisus Palma Real, witch is our luxurious sister hotel.
We assure you, that the managers of the various departments involved have been informed of yours particular observations, and that appropriate measures will be taken wherever possible.
For us it would be an honor to have you on a new stay and will be aware of the improvements of services.
If there is anything at all I can do for you, do not hesitate to contact me; I will be more than pleased to assist you.

Best regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

I've had a week at Paradisus Punta Cana to decide what this review would contain. My first impressions were of extreme disappointment, but after a week I've mellowed a little - and this review reflects that.

FIRST IMPRESSIONS
The landscaping of the resort is impressive, and we pulled up to the main entrance of the resort. A sign with a swoopy logo had our group's name on it, but no directions, so we headed into the main lobby. After waiting in line for 40 minutes listening to a woman screaming about how disgusted she was with her room - we got to checkin. The desk had four people behind it, all on the phone, all ignoring those of us waiting. We provided our names and were told "No, you're Royal Service - our VIPs. You have to go back to the bell desk and go somewhere else".

We eventually got to the "Royal Service" lounge, a musty smelling room with a selection of chairs and tables. After being made to listen to a 40 minute spiel on how amazing Royal Service is (with the exception of The Reserve, a faux-pas rapidly corrected by the "checkin agent") and a glass of undrinkable "champagne" we were finally allowed to go to our rooms...

THE BUTLER
If you're staying in Royal Service you'll have read about your "personal butler". It's an utter waste of time. The resort is so spread out this guy will basically drive you on a little cart to your room. After that - really no value here.

THE ROOM
We were allocated a "Royal Service Garden View" room - a dark room in a building near the beach with a "private" garden. Our immediate first impressions were one of adequacy - then you realise the issues:
- We had sliding doors to a garden that were broken and did not lock (or unlocked when gently shaken) - an issue shared by many of our group.
- The TV did not work
- The air conditioning smelled musty
- There were already a collection of mosquitoes in the room
- Two lamps had bulbs missing
- The "luxury minibar" contained only bad local beer (this is the only beer available at the resort at any price), water, and a diet coke. No food, no wines - nothing.
- We had no alarm clock, or clock of any description
- A large picture was missing from the wall leaving screw heads showing
- The mirror was dirty and chipped
- The hard pillows on the bed mostly had no pillow cases, and were yellowing and stained
- The bathroom had only three towels to share between two people
- The door had obviously been forced at one point and had giant gaps around it
- The garden and housekeeping staff would frequently shortcut through our "private garden" within inches of the door

THE SERVICE
We went back to the Royal Service lounge to complain, and request an alternative room. "Sorry, hotel full". No attempt to correct the issues - nothing, just general contempt from the woman in the lobby. It was the same woman all week, and her sneer got worse as the week went on.

After a lot of negotiating with various people on the 'phone, we got most issues patched. For example, we complained that the pins holding the door closed wouldn't fit properly - so someone showed up and simply removed the pins.... not fixed the door, just made it so we couldn't complain (or lock the door).

But, by far, the winner here is...

THE FOOD AND DRINK
The food at the resort is spectacularly bad. I'm amazed that they can get away with serving it. Most restaurants offer buffet food, with a couple using a menu. Expect LONG waits to get a reservation at the more edible restaurants (Romantico, Sakura, Vento being the only three).

- Juices are sweetened concentrate types, nothing fresh
- Meats are dry and tasteless
- Vegetables are overcooked
- Cheese is left in the warm open air and becomes sweaty and gross

Service is so stunningly slow at most places, expect to keep ducking out of the restaurant to one of the nearby bars to grab your own drinks - but don't get your hopes up. Only local beer (light and regular!), cocktails, and wine not worthy of domestic economy air travel are available. For a fee, you can buy bottles of marginally more drinkable wine.

ROOM SERVICE
This takes an utter eternity, is invariably wrong, and will be shrink wrapped to make it cold and sweaty when it arrives. Avoid.

THE VIEWS
The beach is beautiful, and the grounds are nicely kept.

CONCLUSION
This resort is absolutely not worth going to. We paid almost $600 / night for our rooms, and even if they'd been $100 / night it would be overpriced. The rooms are filthy, the service wretched, and the food largely inedible. You can't even drink away the pain, as the bars are slow to serve bad drinks.

If you HAVE to stay here (and seriously - find ANYWHERE else):

- Eat breakfast at the Royal Service lounge. It's the ONLY edible breakfast
- Eat lunch at the Gabi Club at The Reserve (NOT the main resort Gabi club, which is bad). Still not earth shattering, but at least they have the occasional edible meal, and really try hard with the service compared to all other locations
- Either stay on the beach, or head to The Reserve's pool - it's far superior.
- Book ahead, and eat "dinner" at Vento or Romantico. Don't even try the other places, esp. "Rodizzio", which takes the biscuit for being dire.
- If you're ordering white wine at any bar, ask for "Vino blanco". Otherwise you'll get something that approximates cat urine

Needless to say, I will never be going back to any Paradisus resort, OR recommending any one I ever meet do the same.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajgseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

The Paradisus Punta Cana is by far the BEST resort I have ever been too!!

Beach - Perfect, the weather was amazing, the sand and water is gorgeous and clear.

Staff - Ricky the entertainment guy is the best! as well as Juan the bartender who is usually at the poolbar and my favorite another bartender. They are all so friendly and fun, always playing games. My 2 daughters loved the bartenders they let them go behind the bar and help serve drinks for the night! they had a blast. They will remember you everytime you go to the bar. and best of all remeber your drink of choice! Their english isnt the best, but thats not a problem.
The room service is fabulous and housekeeping is great as well, my daughter left her Ipad, Iphone, MacBook and about 200 dollars out on the desk by accident and the maid organized it all and didnt steal .. which is amazing.

Food - always something different, and always something there if you get hungry. The Hamburger / hotdog place on the beach is so good for a snack. The food was great, always fresh and not the leftovers from the night before.

Resort - beautiful resort! the rooms were clean and a nice size ... but we didnt spend much time in the room!. The only thing that I wasnt a fan of was the trucks that barral down the paths to the beach and the service trucks .. i understand its a big resort but i think they could have built roads behind the buildings so they wouldnt disturb the guests.

We went on tons of excursions that the resort organized like .. horseback riding, ziplining, atving, snorkling, catamaran .. all were great tours.

*****IF YOU HAVE TEENAGE DAUGHTERS READ THIS .... HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE RESORT ITSELF*******

if you walk down the beach there is a little shopping area .. all huts and stands to do some shopping, for the most part the people are great, the men and disscusting pigs ... one grabbed my one daughters arm and another man grabbed my other daughters arm and they proceeded to drag them into the back of their shacks .. thank god a male tourist saw this and helped them, my daughters do not have the strength to fight off grownmen. Scared me so much. when they were leaving they continued to try and grab them and tiuch them and try to kiss them .. following them down the beach.

All in All it was a fantastic vacation and would definetly go back in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
14.3 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#25 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
2.4 mi away
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
2.8 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
1.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Punta Cana

Property: Paradisus Punta Cana
Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#18 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#33 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the unpretentious luxury of Paradisus Punta Cana Resort. An extraordinary island retreat offering a super balance of natural and man-made wonders. Open-air architecture, featuring indigenous organic materials like raw coral and exotic hardwoods, houses an impossibly sumtuous gallery of luxury suites and an exclusive garden villa. All-inclusive and all encompassing, Paradisus Punta Cana Resort is an ocean front playground for all ages. Tennis, championship golf, every non-motorized water sport imaginable, a magnificent array of restaurants, our own casino, an incredible spa for kids, an exquisite full-service spa and health club and personal world-class service all seamlessly unite to deliver you the relaxing, romantic, carefree, fun-filled experience of a lifetime. The resort features 688 oversized suites including 143 royal service suites and 4 ambassador oceanview suites, plus a one-of-a-kind oceanfront garden villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing